Perfume Reviews

Reviews of Jacomo de Jacomo Original by Jacomo

Total Reviews: 45
This is a nice vintage fragrance with a clove note. The fragrances released around this time, 1980, are some of the best, and this fits into that category.
15th May, 2019
One of those fragrances that so wholly belongs to a past era that it now feels bracingly new. Jacomo de Jacomo is intensely, almost thrillingly masculine. A background aura of sandalwood anchors what is a very dry, spicy fragrance; it's smooth with a hint of burn, bringing to mind a smoldering clove cigarette.

After a good four or five hours of wear, it's as though the fire has gone out you've only got the mellow aftershocks, and you get a gentle drydown similar to that other early 80s masculine classic, Santos de Cartier.
08th March, 2019
I've always felt that notes pyramid listed here for Jacomo De Jacomo was a bit off.Here's what my nose gets...

Sandalwood,tobacco,clove,cinnamon,incense,lavender,and vanilla.

Very woody,creamy,and spicy upon initial spray.It's not dominanat of tobacco instantly but as the syrupy clove heavy and light cinnamon combo comes out this began to blossom tobacco and wafts of incense through the clove structure.The creamy and semi-sweet quality of a warm vanilla and dab of lavender keeps in the background for quite a while.

Probably for the first 4-5 hours this remains a clove cigarette kind of quality that reminds me of Djarum Black with something with some of the harsh edge rubbed down a little through vanilla.After that hour range though to me this goes into a kind of Captain Black White(Vanilla/Original) scent.That vanilla expands and absorbs the sandalwood and clove creating a vanilla pipe tobacco but the sandalwood and clove provide dry and spicy tones to it still reflecting something old fashioned,but a little more detailed.

Jacomo de Jacomo Original is an 8-10 hour yielding moderate projection for at least the first six hours in my opinion.Casual wear for sure,this does nothing for a suit or grants any style to formal wear.Smells pleasant though and invokes a certain nostalgia behind it's retro...strangely reminds me of the malls back in the 80's era.Lots of plants with wood paneling,old-fashioned street light style and chandelier fixtures...70's decor style that carried over into that decade.The scent of someone strolling through the corridors leaving the fragrant aroma of pipe tobacco behind cotributing more to the atmosphere of more noticeable European element in the United States.
05th May, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Jacomo de Jacomo is the house's follow-up to the debut masculine Eau Cendrée (1974), and has a similarly geometric bottle that in recent years was augmented with a Zippo-like flip-top lid. I often say that many of these darker moss-heavy 80's powerhouses have lineage from Eucris by Geo F Trumper (1912), and never more is it apparent than here. Jacomo seeks to "out-gloom" that venerable Mary Shelley novel-in-a-bottle by being even smokier, dustier, and drier. If One Man Show by Jacques Bogart is the Led Zeppelin of powerhouses with it's bombast, then Jacomo de Jacomo is easily Black Sabbath, with sinister distorted tritone guitar riffs. I do believe this is the one that probably started that whole train of thought, taking the steep oakmoss of Ralph Lauren Polo (1978) and marrying it with the Gothic construction of Eucris, and adding a Prohibition-era jazz room feeling with the smoke. It's all delightfully heavy metal, and the perfect scent for a man so inclined to such an emotionally bleak and serious aesthetic. It's surprisingly not harsh, aggressive, or commanding like some things to follow, just brooding, moody, and humorless like that kid dressed all in black that sat in the back of class. Something this morbid could have been marketed in Hot Topic to the Mall Goths of the late 90's, but fortunately Jacomo didn't stoop to that level of desperation. Fans of mossy fragrances will instantly love Jacomo de Jacomo, and anyone looking for something with vetiver-like qualities but even more intense will also fall in love. There's not even a lick of friendly or approachable here, but neither will this offend. Christian Mathieu was the nose for this, and would stay on with Jacomo throughout the 80's. It really felt like this was a continuation of concept from Eau Cendreé, just dialed in darker, starker, drier, and more severe, with melancholy replacing the swagger of that earlier scent. Fascinating, and irresistible in it's single-mindedness this is.

Jacomo de Jacomo opens with grassy galbanum (but not a ton), lavender, cardamom, and vetiver which gives it that beautiful smoke. The smoke is very close to the deliberate "ashen" vibe of Eau Cendreé, but without the burly swirl of bay rum-like spice that made the previous Jacomo masculine such a macho affair. Surprisingly there's no bergamot here, but that would make the opening too bright for the desired effect of the composition. The barbershop staple geranium are joined by clove and cumin, one adding that familiar bay rum masculinity to keep this on track, the other giving Jacomo de Jacomo the dirty "nether region" smell popular in the hyper-male fragrances of the time. The transition then eases into rosewood, which is the only wood present, and the only patch of illumination here. Patchouli, coumarin, and heaps of oakmoss are all you get in the bottom of this headbanger's ball, and the whole thing wears like an episode of Dark Shadows with a Blue Oyster Cult soundtrack. Smoke in the beginning, spice in the middle, wood, patchouli and moss at the end, with the lavender, geranium, and coumarin seemingly only added so it qualifies as a fougère, but not making their presence readily felt like in most things they're usually a part of from this genre. Performance is obviously good, sillage is steady but not overt, and longevity can be adjusted by where and how much you apply. Do be careful if you have the Zippo lid bottle, as it pops open easily. Vintage is an easier removable cap but only comes in splash, so you'll have to decant if you want to control it's power by spraying.

This must have been a real shocker in 1980, and undoubtedly made enough waves to actually cement Jacomo's name in the masculine market, as everyone talks about this but never it's predecessor nor many of the also-quality male scents that followed. Jacomo de Jacomo is less-amicable in tone than every other masculine they've made before or since, plus would see the smoke it possesses carried over to Anthracite Pour Homme (1991), the third of what must have been an unofficial masculine triptych. Jacomo overall has the same issue as Jacques Bogart or Van Cleef & Arpels: they live in the shadow of the sometimes over-hyped major design houses which get all the praise and attention. Indeed, like a one-hit-wonder band, Jacomo only really gets mentioned by guys for "that one scent" they make; Jacomo de Jacomo is that one scent. A vanguard of the powerhouse era which is anything but typical for it's decade, and one that must be tried if not owned, Jacomo de Jacomo has no real equal, although of peculiar interest is the fact that the "nautical" Avon Windjammer (1968) semi-presaged this with a similar but less-intense dry down. It's Johnny Cash presentation and smell that reminds me of an old 1920's speakeasy from a black and white noir film isn't really for everyone and is a hard sell in any modern context, but most suited to fall, winter, and maybe early spring. Is it a masterpiece? Maybe. I wouldn't say it's the one to own over all others from the genre if only because of how narrowly-defined it is. Jacomo de Jacomo definitely gets bonus credit for being a presage to nearly an entire decade of male perfumery, and it was successful enough to spawn a litter of flankers. Hello darkness my old friend, I've come to talk with you again!!
06th March, 2018 (last edited: 09th June, 2018)
Stardate 20170814:

Vintage Blue Label Version:

Yes it is an aromatic fougere.
Yes it has Spices and Patchouli
Yes it is from 80s.

But do not be fooled, it is nothing like typical 80s aromatic fougere.
The blending is exceptional and you get this dark brooding incensey masterpiece.
Smoke without the dryness.

It may be the one that started it all. One can see its influence on Montana, Smalto, Nobile, Salvador Dali PH.
Get it while it is still cheap.
14th August, 2017
Budget fougère that starts off with a thrilling whiff of smoke only to get shrill in the body. Like many things in life you get what you pay for.

**

Modern version
06th April, 2017 (last edited: 15th November, 2018)
Jacomo de Jacomo is dark, dry and austere. But it is not brooding. Instead, it provides comfort and solace in almost a spiritual way. Perhaps it's the use of incense. It's also dusty and nostalgic. It very successfully captures the smell and atmosphere of a late night Durga pandal in Calcutta when everyone has left. Not the big pandals, but the small, quaint ones at home or the little corner in the neighbourhood. It's almost a lost scent from a lost era. Yet, it is approachable and provokes thoughtful reflection.

This might work if you are into cloves, incense, spices and dry fragrances. It is also not powdery as such. Depending on one's tastes, this might come across somewhat old-fashioned.

Acceptable sillage and tenacity.

3.5/5
17th April, 2016
Smoke, patchouli and greens. Jacomo de Jacomo is pure smoke and masculinity in a bottle. The first whiff of the top notes is extremely strong and potent, nearly stomach churning. I won't lie, it might make you feel sick and uneasy from the initial blast. It's like being trapped in an ashtray, or sitting in a cigar room with no ventilation and incense musk burning.

However, do NOT be fooled. Once the top notes settle down, 45 minutes later the middle notes develop and it slowly becomes a very manly blend of patchouli, greens, leather and smoke. It projects very well without being cloying or irritating for several hours in this stage. Pure beauty. The drydown in this is simply amazing, the complexity of going from being purely nasty and then morphing into pure manhood is unbelievable.

Imagine a couple-days-unshaven, aviator shades wearing guy wearing a leather jacket with a vintage T-shirt and jeans, smoking a cigar outside the hole in the wall trendy bar in the city kind of smell. A confident, cool, knows the ropes kind of dude that plays guitar and rides a Triumph. That's what this is. The base notes are pure patchouli, leather and tobacco.

After about six hours it stays closer to the skin and gives you a subtle and sexy, almost natural smell. Lasts at least 10-12+ hours in longevity for me with ten sprays (neck, wrists, shoulders, chest), with above average sillage and projection.

I've owned about 100 different colognes over my lifetime and I've never come across ANYTHING that smells like this. It truly is one of a kind, and holds a special place in my collection, and it will be in yours if you're a true collector or enjoy powerhouse 70's & 80's fragrances. Highly recommended.
09th January, 2016 (last edited: 21st December, 2018)
Swanky Show all reviews
United States
Smokey Joe's Cafe - Wow, the smoke in the top of this bad boy might turn some off but for me it's what sets this winner on the right track. Yes, it's very dry as many others have witnessed with a leathery, woody heart. A bottle such as this does point out the downside to a large fragrance collection: something like this can get overlooked. I should reach for this more, because when I do I like it more each time. Iko Iko indeed.
05th December, 2015
Jacomo de Jacomo opens with a hyper-black, hyper-dry fougère blend dusted with an intoxicating, overwhelming dose of dry and bold spices, notably cloves – pungent, harsh, almost rough. Really modern, if you ask me: the structure is of a classic masculine cologne (leather, patchouli, oak moss, woods, etc.), but this ultra-dry, black, spicy fog is pure “future baroque” for me. A really creative variation on the theme. Can’t really describe the smell exactly, but it’s really pungent, sour, dry and as I said, quite harsh. Together with oak moss and leather it creates a threatening and austere feel, like crashing on the dusty arid soil of a black planet (any Sisters of Mercy fan out there?). Think of some dark powerhouses like Krizia Uomo, Krizia Moods, Smalto PH, just with a crazy dose of cloves. Then however, quite soon a bit of the charme fades away; after one hour or so, as the spices tone down, it emerges the bone-structure of Jacomo, which is a more conventional and softer “barbershop” scent: woody, herbal, mossy and soapy, still spicy, dry and dark but a bit more friendly, lighter and more wearable (but also slightly more dull in a way, as without that crazy initial blackness it becomes more close to just another “generic” barbershop scent like many others – still good and still different, just with a bit less of that “special” added value). Anyway: an austere, creative and shady take on the classic masculine scent, fascinating and quite ahead of its time for sure, well crafted and a must for any “gloomy fougères” enthusiast.

7,5/10

(vintage version)
21st December, 2014
Jacomo De Jacomo opens like a whatever green aromatic fougere from the late 70s / 80s but it then quickly turns into a spice bomb dominated by a central accord of clove and cinnamon. The clove gets at traces overpowering with its salty and kinda metallic aroma while a soapy leather-patchouli mossy base keeps the fragrance well linked to 80s powerhouse territories.

Nice and it still goes for pretty cheap too but perhaps not completely exciting to my tastes.

18th November, 2014
A genuine beauty, the worst of this perfume is the opening, the galbanum note is too strong and may turn some people off, but I think it is probably necessary in order to maintain the galbanum note throughout the whole development, and the heart and drydown are glorious because of it.
After that strong first impression, and just in a few minutes, the spices come full force balanced (barely) by some flower notes, the drydown is the best part, a very spicy patchouli that feels very dark due to a great oakmoss note (not as good as the oakmoss of the 70's, but much better than the punny oakmosses we are getting lately thanks to regulations)
In summary, a great perfume that should satisfy most powerhouse lovers, and in my opinion, one of the few perfumes that still captures the spirit and attitude of a real powerhouse fragrance. Five stars all the way.
Sillage and longevity are superior.
08th March, 2014
Glorious stuff and still one of my most beloved. A black (rubbery) aromatic herbal fragrance which I tend to wear sometimes for work daily time during the winter season when the sky is sombre and my mood is full of melancholia. Yes, serious and a bit threatening, the Bvlgari Black's ancestor in my opinion though Jacomo is aromatic and classic in structure. Jacomo introduces something (a bombastic barber-shop lavender for instance) in common with the classic Pomellato Uomo which is drier and finally more fluidy and less smoky, anyway either the fragrances possess a common foundation made of lavender, bergamot, aromatic herbs, aromatic and prickly spices, sharp floral notes (geranium and may be carnation), mint, oakmoss, patchouli and amber/suede. While Pomellato ends down basically suited by hyper dry aqueous/aromatic and mossy fougere Jacomo deflects towards the leather/smoke/burnt tire/birch tar side (actually more rubber than leather) anyway preserving a lavender/coriander/clove-dominant characteristic top twist, a notable oakmoss/patchouli association and a final subtle floral amber/vanilla spark in the middle of the basic burnt rubber-tobacco. The patchouli (resinous, tremendously spicy and black) is a key note which you can catch in the air especially after many hours from the first spray on the skin and overall on clothes, the smokiness (smoky cardamom, toasted tobacco, steamy incense??) is rubbery but throughout mossy, slightly minty and aromatic/herbal, especially in the central phase of the evolution. Jacomo strikes immediately indeed for its own juxtaposition of herbal/aromatic (slightly medicinal) patterns (a lot of coriander, lavender, mint, sharp citrus and rosemary ) and rubbery/ashtray type/incensey elements (really smoky and i say literally smoky steamy namely cigarette stub type more than tobacco based) rising up from the background in a while. In the rubbery smokiness I detect a Knize Ten's conjuration but where the latter is more oriented towards the soapy/leathery/barber-shop side Jacomo is more properly smoky/incensey and dusty-spicy (at least for a part of its evolution). Anyway, I'm almost sure that the real Jacomo's "inspirer" is the great Geo F. Trumper Eucris which is anyway less properly rubbery and more spicy-mossy (Eucris is actually one of the juices which Jacomo resembles mostly to). I detect, expecially at the beginning, several Body Kouros's incensey/aromatic/green nuances in the air too (Serge Noir jumps on mind too for its "stickiness" and its plenty of spices, cloves in particular). Strange strange evolution, what is unusual indeed (for such a type of fougere) is that the herbal/barber shop vibe (some nuances in common with Drakkar Noir and Quorum too for sure) is at the beginning less prominent and veiled by a sort of almost sweet rubbery vanilla (yes almost coconutty and cinnamonic) wave which almost disappears in the central phase coming than back (but faint) in the dry down. I don't detect actually tobacco, anyway any trace of sweet tobacco, just may be some toasted (really dry and burnt) one. The sweetness is mainly provided by the central note of clove (absolutely starring), some cinnamon, by a ghosty (secret) touch of booziness and by hints of mild balsams notable prevalently in the top and along the base. Jacomo is dark for real, i mean an obscure aromatic/peppery "lotion" where the deep blackness is aroused by woods, rubber, cardamom, birch tar and smoke. Really black type for sure (and the blackness is not subsided by the aromatic notes) but not properly noir (in the sense of "lasciviously" due for a "seductive" night out) and probably too much aromatic/barbershop yet old-school for the current "poor and manipulated" taste. I'm "backward-looking" anyway my friends :-).
P.s: try to mix Black Tourmaline (as base-first spray on the skin) with a tad of Jacomo over, in my opinion a fantastic mix with the Durbano's incense/oud support to all those common (with Jacomo) notes.
30th November, 2013 (last edited: 22nd October, 2016)
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

I really like the smokiness of this. The incense dry-down is great. I always get compliments on and my GF once said I smelled too good to be leaving the house...
06th September, 2012
woody,aromatic and spicy scent.Strong,long lasting and dark fragrance.Powerful,complex opening -the drydown pleasant but still vibrant and energetic.Typical masculine scnet of the 80ties.It´s a unique scent with a high recall value.I personally dislike the persistent smoky and incense smell.
Beside all criticism this is a very particular and interesting scent, maybe a bit dated and linear (it opens the same as it ends and you smell all the time this smoky incense note) but in comparison to all the simple, silly and sober light marine -aquatic unisex stuff launched today ( so often I am imaging myself some nerds and muppets standing in a pea-soup designing all this trash making the fool of themselves and ourselves !)
Jacomo is still a singular statement ! ( 31 years on the market!).Good work!

04th September, 2011
green, dark, cloves, lavender, large-scale
I do not think aggressive, amber, moss and vanilla soothe the black knight
obscure, interesting, confusing?
want to feel that everyone feels this aggression
but he only Demonstrate the top notes
then ride to calm his horse, wearing his dark
a quiet dark knight.
31st May, 2011
They still make this? Why yes, yes they do! Dark and rough around the edges, kind of like that black leather motorcycle jacket you've had buried in your closet for the past 15 years. Plenty of cloves, oak moss and musk to prove that you're still a man, this is not for the faint of heart. Cinnamon & patchouli give JdJ some depth between the heavy cloves and the animalic musk. Not for every man but surely a guilty pleasure to wear and enjoy for the informed few.
01st April, 2011

Smokey woodsy dark leather. One of my all time favourites.
21st January, 2011
After reading the reviews I was convinced Jacomo de Jacomo would be the product of Paris at the dark end of the 70s. Yet even though it is a dark scent it also is never gloomy or oppressing. One reason for this (and ultimately its weakness) is that Jacomo de Jacomo lacks strength. Which is a shame because Jacomo de Jacomo could have been the stuff of legend if it had some longevity and proper volume beyond the opening/heart.

As it is, the beautiful proto-Comme des Garçons opening gives way to a discreet base that is quite acceptable and somehow a dead ringer for the same phase in Prada Amber Pour Homme (a good thing of course.) While it lasts (say 5 hours on a really good day) it is a fairly unique scent that does indeed smell of smoke. Not real smoke but memories of cigarette smoke moving through thin air in a club with your lover in proximity. Call me crazy but this feels like a clubbing fragrance and I have a feeling Jacomo know this too; notice how the white letters on the box give off a metallic/rainbow sheen. Very disco.

Lovers/collectors of bottles will want to investigate because Jacomo de Jacomo comes in a very cool bottle which resembles a big lighter.
04th September, 2010 (last edited: 14th October, 2010)
This smoke bomb is da bomb!
SMOKE, SMOKE, AND MORE SMOKE. It's like the campfire at a camp for French couture designers. Have to be in the mood for this...only in the cool to cold months. It's not an everyday kind of thing and a little goes a long way. A bottle will last you forever. It's a sexy, furry, cozy kind of thing...like making out with Paul Bunyan or the guy from the Brawny paper towel label. If Tom of Finland came out with a fragrance, this is what it would (should) smell like. But it's kinda classy at the same time. That was the 70's though, wasn't it? Kinda dirty and classy at the same time.
By the way...who is "Jacomo"? Is he a person? Wasn't he DEVO's side-kick?
07th May, 2010
I like it, however fleeting it is. The clove - dominant top notes makes it quite attractive for me, albeit the analogy to insect repellent as mentioned by other reviewers- blame it on weird tastes if you like. From then on the Jacomo leads to musky notes with the prevalence of the same spicy accords mentioned before.

I ask myself how this one made it after so many years for J's style is at odds regarding the overly sweet blends in style today. As I said, longevity is limited, but the initial sillage is quite strong. A good choice for week-end wearing.


09th December, 2009
Bloody marvellous! A clove laden and woody bouquet whose dry resonance always reminds me of solid mahogany batons being banged together musically. Not macho, just utterly masculine, this is simply the most masculine scent I can think of and the one that I use whenever I want to feel irresistible. Highly distinctive with good sillage, and can usually be found at a great price. Best suited to cool weather, and unlike the wimpy releases of recent years this classic fragrance has the potential to polarise opinions. Despite some longevity issues (4-5 hours tops), this will always be in my top-5 fragrances, and we also have the equally impressive Rouge from the same house.
04th December, 2009 (last edited: 13th February, 2011)
Mmm, smokey... Winter scent. For macho, hairy chested men who have a secret longing for a gold medallion when they go to the club. Dry down is better behaved with less clove and more smoke. Use sparingly, and not in the office.
30th November, 2009
bokaba Show all reviews
United States
What a wonderful insect repellent! I bet it would work, too. The opening is a clove bravado followed by a musky, synthetic, mossy base. Not good at all.
20th November, 2009
shamu1 Show all reviews
United States
Jacomo de Jacomo is a very dark, dry, ashen-smelling aromatic fougere in the style of the 1970s. Though the sharp intensity of the opening clove and lavender blast diminishes after five or so minutes, the accord itself does not disappear - it merely softens an lasts into the drydown, which is reminiscent of the smell of a very dark leather jacket and smoke.

JdJ is definitely an extremely masculine scent, and it maintains an unusual but interesting feel of being dark, smoky, and soapy at the same time, throughout its duration. It makes me think of cold smoke. It also has absolutely no sweetness whatsoever. The jet-black and gray metal bottle is very appropriate; this is a very "black" fragrance.

To give you another idea of what this smells like, imagine Jaipur without the sweetness and vanilla base, with a little less powder, and more clove, and you've got something similar to Jacomo de Jacomo. Unlike Jaipur, however, JdJ does not strike me as an oriental fragrance, but rather a fougere, due to the prominence of lavender, a slight note of barbershop talc in the background, JdJ's dryness and its complete lack of sweetness. The patchouli and oakmoss are very subtle, and in fact I don't even detect them until several hours after application (longevity is very good on my skin or to my nose), where they seem to join with the enduring clove note to create the "black leather" note I smell in the drydown. I doubt leather is an actual ingredient here, so I have to think it's an olfactory illusion created by the clove, patchouli and oakmoss. This is a very well constructed fragrance.

My only problem with JdJ is that, I hate to say it, it does smell a bit outdated today. When I smell it, it reminds me of my growing up in the 1970s, when I remember smelling this scent (or something similar to it) on men in shopping malls, in waiting rooms, etc.. I remember my pediatrician wearing something like this. These aren't really images I want to think of when I wear a fragrance. JdJ is an excellent scent, but I'm not sure it's relevant these days. It doesn't quite have the timeless quality that a true classic fragrance has. However, because there is real quality here and I do like this, I have a feeling that more exposure to this will make JdJ seem not so outdated.
24th September, 2009 (last edited: 25th September, 2009)
We rarely talk about this line and i doubt if many here have/tested more than one scent from this line. Basenotes reveal Chicane as Jacomo's first release (1971) and Scents like Ambro and Anthracite have seen some followers/admirers. both those scents have garnered only positive reviews, that too from avid reviews of BN (russlan et al).
Now, coming back to scents that are still available, Jacomo de Jacomo (1980), i'm sure a lot would have changed since the time it was released, but i have read that it's pardonable. saying that, this scent is no sleeper, hardcore, peppery/clove assualt with oomphs of spices under it's belt and incense in it's breath. After the intial assault of colves, which is done in a very classic 80's way, this scent settles in a very smooth, almost powdery accord of woods, spices, musk and amber. real gem. call me whack, but i find this as the inspiration behind Parfumerie Generales Querelle(caraway; clove replaced by sharp vetiver, (by no means they smell alike, at the same time, very hard to not make this comparison)
13th August, 2009 (last edited: 18th August, 2009)
i guess, this is my first absolutely negative review. and probably a fragrace purchase i regret the most!
so far i liked more or less almost every fragrances jacomo has released. but man, this fragrance is a crap! i can hardly believe that a fragrance company released such a scent in 2008!
i'm not competent in perfume ingredients but i resemles slightly to davidoff's cool water but it somehow has even less character. when i first spayed it i knew it reminded me to something. now i know that it smells like those toilet freshers back from old times... :( it really does! and also resembles old deodorants (axe or denim) with pine and marie impression.
even my harpic toilet fresher smells better and nicer than this crap.

jacomo de jacomo deep blue smells VERY CHEAP! so if you want to spend money for a deodorant scent for price of an eau de toilette, go and buy this stuff!

(jacomo de jacomo deep blue "eau de toilet" :)))))))
06th November, 2008
Bigsly Show all reviews
United States
I wonder if this has been reformulated. The base seems really "synthetic" to me, compared to the strong oakmoss base of another inexpensive fragrance, 273 for Men. Anyway, I think I'd buy a bottle of this fragrance is it smelled more natural to me. As it stands, because I already have 273 and don't need the strong clove of JdJ, I don't see any need for it. So, unless you know you are getting a bottle from the 1980s, I suggest samplinng 273 first, and if you think you'd rather have a similar fragrance but with strong a spice note (and you don't mind it if it's a little "synthetic"), go ahead and give JdJ a chance.

My original review, from August, 2008:

I agree with Foetidus fully. The clove is too much for me, and this is simply not the best "cheapo" of this type. I prefer Carven Homme, for example, though if you hate rosewood you should avoid CH. Longevity isn't great for JdJ and it's quite tame after about 45 minutes, so I'm not sure who this will appeal to, because those who like the strong clove won't like the timid drydown, while those who do like the drydown won't want to wait 45 minutes of strong clove before getting to that drydown.
13th August, 2008 (last edited: 25th April, 2011)
Predecessor of Drakkar Noir with a heavy spice. This isn't as powerful as Drakkar Noir. Just a good spicy oakmoss. I wouldn't advise wearing this on hot summer days. The projection is overpowering. A tad soapy but otherwise fine.
29th June, 2008
This could be Versace Black Jeans' darker misunderstood cousin. Always a little distant, annoyingly self assured, given to occasional excess and at once off-putting and beguiling
03rd August, 2007