Reviews of Le Mâle by Jean Paul Gaultier

    Find out more about Le Mâle by Jean Paul Gaultier in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 30 of 302.
    CGR's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I really enjoy this scent especially the dry down. I would say it's quite unique to other colognes on the market. all the notes fit together perfectly. I would only wear this scent in the winter as its quite gourmand like. In my opinion le male is one of the best gourmand fragrance out there. I would defiantly recommend this but I would say test before you buy because it might not be for everyone.

    05 August, 2014

    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Genre: Woody Oriental

    This dull, aging, straight-laced, (if socially progressive,) straight guy grants kudos to the house of Jean Paul Gaultier for openly courting the gay male market well before it was politically correct to do so – back in those benighted times when “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” actually looked like a step forward. Insofar as the packaging and winking sailor boy from The Village People ad campaign were unambiguously and unashamedly targeted – not to mention decades in advance of Etat Libre d’Orange – I say good for Gaultier. I only wish they’d given the guys a better scent.

    I have no idea what perfume critic Tania Sanchez was sniffing when she described Le Mâle as a “light, soapy lavender scent,” but to me the contents of the bottle with the bulging crotch rank among the loudest, crudest entries in the sugared 1990s tidal wave that included A*Men, Pi, Rochas Man, Lolita Lempicka au Masaculin and Joop! Homme. I find this especially remarkable given that it’s purported to be the work of Francis Kurkdjian , him of Enlévement au Sérail, Acqua di Parma Iris Nobile, L’Eau Noire, and Ma Dame. The composition smells very simple, and all I get out of it besides Ms. Sanchez’s lavender is powdery vanilla, amber, and a monstrously amplified note of ethylmaltol. This last is the same diabolically shrill, sweet aromachemical that lends the original Angel its syrupy consistency.

    The development, if I may deign to call it that, is strictly linear, and the cloying sweet central accord persists at the olfactory equivalent of deafening volume for hour upon hour – which I count as no good thing, given how unpleasant I find Le Mâle. Contrary to some others, I actually find Kurkjian’s recent floral variation, Fleur du Mâle, far more wearable and interesting.

    19 June, 2014

    Ersjr6983's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I am surprised I have never smelled this on anyone where I live besides myself. I love this notes in this one. One would think that mint, lavender, and vanilla would not work well together but they combine so well together to form a truly unforgettable scent. I always receive compliments in this scent and my wife is madly in love with this scent. A great fall and winter time fragrance.

    24 February, 2014

    pandaKrusher's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Cuba Gold has bad, tacky packaging. JPG took Cuba Gold, found even worse packaging, and raised the price from $3.99 to $64. Le Mâle is God's way of telling you have too much money.

    18 February, 2014

    rafa04's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    an excellent fragrance overall excellent projection and longevity. i use this one for fall and winter. for school or office wear only wear one spray but for dates or going out 2-3. no more than 3 sprays. its just that mine came with a defective pump :(. but i will exchange it.

    28 January, 2014

    Loki11's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The opening is on another level to anything I've worn before. Powerful, juicy and mouthwatering. The projection before it dries is a force to be reckoned with. The drydown is also nice and this stuff lingers on the skin for a good amount of time.

    Not completely masculine, but then again not perfumey at all.

    The bottle is impressive, a real quality item. I have the 75 ml and it just feels great in the hand, the glass has a really smooth feel.

    However, Le Male is of course a victim of it's own popularity. The first time I wore it on a night out, it was recognised and named by the first person I came across. For this reason I would never wear it regularly.

    Also if someone is wearing other than yourself, it it can be a bit cloying.

    4/5 - Shame about the fame!

    24 January, 2014

    jayfly2412's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    jpg le male is a true classic in my eyes. Vanilla lavender combo one of the best in the business. This projects forever and lasts a long time. Its stood the test of time so you can get this one cheap. Im not sure how you could hate this other than the fact that you prob smelled it on someone before but who cares. I definitely get compliments with this one. The dry down is strong and i like that! you can get this one cheap!
    smell 7/10 not bad i love vanilla
    longevity 10/10 beastmode
    projection 8/10 this might have been reformulated???? i remember it projecting better but idk..

    15 January, 2014

    federfigo5's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Very nice lavender/vanilla fragrance with a slightly herbal minty opening.
    Great longevity and sillage.

    05 January, 2014

    ClarkScent's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Hated. Loved. Adored. Loathed.

    No matter where you stand with this masterpiece (if you don't have an opinion do yourself a favor) this is a fragrance that is undeniable. When I wear this I am usually asked what it is...just the pronunciation of the maker and cologne does something to people. Of course those in the know either roll their eyes or smile. I don't usually go into the ingredients of colognes as one only needs to look that up- but the minty vanilla of Le Male is glorious and was a game changer when it appeared. Instantly recognizable both by scent and sight, a definite legend in its own time and in my mind.

    15 December, 2013

    the reaper's avatar

    Venezuela Venezuela

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Sweet lavender

    First time I word this fragance I was on vacation by the sea. So it always reminds me of it. I don't like how it smells in others but in me the thing makes me feel like I were meditating in yoga. Weird but that's what happens to me. By the way, the lavender of this fragrance is very very refined.

    02 October, 2013 (Last Edited: 06 March, 2014)

    winstizzle's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Very sweet.

    One of my first purchases of cologne. Very sweet smelling. Has a vanilla-powdery drydown.

    Pros: decent projection
    Cons: doesn't last as long as the original "

    26 September, 2013

    ktbrooke's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A classic scent destroyed by reformulation

    Jean Paul Gaultier's Le Male was a masterpiece of simplicity and design. Some people thought it was a victim of its own success but popularity was never due to hype or marketing, rather it was down to one simple and fundamental truth (often forgotten in fragrance world), Le Male just smelled so bloody wonderful.

    Le Male was never a complex scent, just a perfectly balance of duality - its intense vanilla dry down tempered beautifully by mint and a hint of lavender. It was also renowned for its projection and longevity across the board, something rare with so many different and subjective reactions to fragrances.

    So it's with a heavy heart that I inform the reader that Le Male has, most likely, been reformulated as a shadow of its former self. I've purchased 5 bottles over the past six months, all from reputable sources and they have all inspired contempt and frustration. The new formulation has dropped the heavy vanilla dry down in favor of something more subtle. It's not unpleasant but it's far less sweet than the original formulation and seems a little more powdery. It has also become far less potent. In fact, I'd go so far to say that its projection is weak. It stays so close to the skin as to become none existent. Longevity remains decent - around 6-7 hours, less than its earlier incarnation - but because the projection is so slight and the scent so bland, longevity becomes mostly irrelevant.

    I don't think that there has been any official word from Jean Paul Gaultier but the forums are abuzz with speculation. I remained objective in my assessment - negative experiences with scents often comes down to fake bottles or stale perfumes - but I feel confident that I've given enough time, and enough money (!), to confirm my judgement.

    In conclusion, be wary when purchasing Le Male. I suggest hunting down older bottles, if you know what to look for (it's been suggested that the older formulations have darker stripes on the bottles). Otherwise, lower your expectations of this once beautiful creation and mourn the defiling of a classic male fragrance.

    Pros: Retains hints of its older version
    Cons: Weak projection, weak longevity, lack of vanilla intensity"

    18 September, 2013

    emad91's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Best fragrance if u are looking for sweetness.

    Well I was looking for it and finally found it last night...i just wanted to check how its is coz i asked someone to get it for me...when i smelled it I was completely in love with it...that sweetness and the dry down is excellent..cant wait for it :D

    Pros: Long Lasting, Projects Good
    Cons: Expensive :P"

    30th August, 2013

    pma55525's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Fun and Lively

    Le Male by Jean Paul Gaultier is one of the better lavender and vanilla based fragrance offered to this date. This scent can have a mysterious aphrodisiacal effect at times. Just remember to put this scent on mildly. It's quite potent so please consider others and the occasion in which this will be worn. Overall, a beautiful scent that gives undivided female attention to its wearer.

    31st July, 2013

    YellowFlash's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Pleasant, sweet, great longevity

    I enjoy this scent very much. Most fragrances wear very close to my skin so even something with the reputation Le Male has, I don't smother people or invade their nostrils. The vanilla is very nice and the powder is something new for me but it is also quite pleasant to me. I think this is a fragrance that is just predominantly going to be popular with the younger crowd more so than the older crowd, and once you've smelled it you can see why. I really enjoy it and plan on continuing to use it. To each his own. Some people can spray once and get a headache from the sweetness. I can spray 2-3 on and you won't know I'm wearing it until you get relatively close to me.

    Pros: Sweet, long lasting, projects well
    Cons: Can be too sweet for some people"

    31st July, 2013

    SWAMIROSE's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Shalimar for Men. Then...... pleasant musk.

    08 May, 2013

    TheNotoriousMAZ's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I love this stuff, and it gets me noticed more than just about anything else that I own. It is another scent that seems to suffer from extreme popularity, but nobody else in my inner circle even seems to know what it is. It is a very pungent, sweet smell that follows me around wherever I go. It is strong stuff, so I try to go light on the trigger. Awesome for the middle of winter, it cuts through the cold, dry air in my area and has a good festive smell.

    23 April, 2013

    Spartan's avatar

    Hungary Hungary

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I dont really like sweet fragrancies but this one, wow. The top notes are very clean and fresh but as it dries down it gets very very sweet, mainly vanilla and cinammon. It smells so damn god, i'd like to feel this scent even when i go to sleep :D.

    I think this is one of those frags that you either love or hate but if you love its love at first sight. Projection is good, just as longetivity, but it doesnt last any longer than 5-6 hours on my skin (its still very good, compared to other frags).

    absolutely favourite

    30th March, 2013

    NathanBradley's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I know this is a very popular fragrance. And like all things as popular as this there will be some backlash. But this is a top notch fragrance. Very original and very good quality. You spray this on and it seems like it would last forever. Definitely a winter time scent. This should not even be sold in tropical countries. However this is one of my all time favorite fragrances. A++.

    27 March, 2013

    1billy1's avatar

    Scotland Scotland

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A very exquisite and expensive smelling fragrance. It is instantly noticable and recognised. I have had countless 'you smell nice' comments and it is without doubt a smell for the modern guy and the fragrance lasts for many hours. It is very well packaged and marketed and really goes down a treat with the ladies.

    11th March, 2013

    AHS's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I smelt this today after reading alot of reviews about it and..

    I was delighted :D

    As its got alot of vanilla (I LOVE VANILLA) i did adore the smell; but it did come of as abit sweet, maybe abit too sweet?

    Also, i got abit of cherry from this? Anyone else get that or is this just me? cos i was getting some cherry and alot of vanilla on the dry down?

    Anyway, even tho it is quite sweet, i am pretty sure i will pick up a bottle of this soon.

    19 February, 2013

    rbaker's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A sweetish, very synthetic scent with a sweet minty start that becomes increasigky flowery -mainly lavender - to be completely dominated by vanilla in the drydown. Overloaded and unbalanced at times, it's main fortes is a splendid longevity of eight hours in cool weather.

    11th February, 2013

    Robzrx7's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    It took me a while to warm up to this fragrance but it is the fragrance that made me realize that you actually have to wear a particular scent before you can decide whether you like, love or hate it. The opening of Le Male is what initially turned me off about the fragrance. I got a peppery cardamom scent at the beginning that I didn't particularly care for. That is what made write off this scent initially that was until I smelled Le Male on co-worker of mine that had gone into the dry down. It made me actually test Le Male on my skin... well long story short is I got to experience the wonderful mint-lavender-cinnamon middle and the vanilla-tonka-amber finish. Im still not a huge fan of the opening but still an overall great scent. Projection is good while the longevity on my skin holds for 14+ hours.

    27 January, 2013

    's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Vanilla and mint dominate this frag. I enjoy it. I keep reading how projection and longevity are beast with this more but I don't experience that.

    21st January, 2013

    CASUAL's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a very complex fragrance and it does involve into something interesting to say the least. I'll be honest and say it is semi pleasant but it is not my kind of scent and I wouldn't wear it in public. First initial impression is baby powder and vanilla.

    Try it before you buy it.

    09 January, 2013

    kbog2829's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    It's a good fragrance. Not the best, but good enough to earn a thumbs up from me. It's a powdery sweet scent with great projection and longevity. The bottle design is amazing, and it looks great displayed on a shelf :) I own the limited edition flask version though. Once i get through with this bottle, I'm going to purchase another one for sure!

    06 January, 2013

    DavidShea's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The first time I tested this I was not impressed and it was easily forgotten.
    For Christmas my wife got me a sample pack from Sephora, this was one of the frags in the box.
    I tested each one on my skin daily just to see the outcome, boy was I shocked.
    This package contained two of my favorites, D&G The One and Gucci Guilty and
    this one won me over after trying it on my skin.
    4 hours in and I swear it is just as strong as when I put it on.
    I am not usually a fan of the "soapy" smells but this one blows my mind.

    I am a huge fan.

    02 January, 2013

    Mandrake's avatar

    Venezuela Venezuela

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Crowded, synthetic. So what? If looking for a fragrance for a night out, that has good performance in skin and like the girls, this is your candidate.

    22 December, 2012

    's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    There's nothing left to say about this wonderful scent. Classic and timeless, definetely a must have for any fragrance lover. A wonderful mix of lavender, vanilla and tonka bean (mainly) that lingers for a long time in your skin. Thumbs up!

    19 December, 2012

    duckdown's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I love this stuff.. Been wearing it for years, and yeah a lot of people wear it, but it lasts a long time and I think it smells great. Asked for another bottle for Christmas this year..

    07 December, 2012

    Showing 1 to 30 of 302.