Reviews of Limes by Floris

    Find out more about Limes by Floris in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 13 of 13.
    marcuslaughter's avatar
    marcuslaughter
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Delightful though not long lasting

    I purchased this at Fortnum and Mason's in London while vacationing. It's easy to get overtaken by the moment in a place such as F&M (one true to the Crown would never shop at Harrod's with all those Arabs) and I was no exception!

    Why? Oh, Why didn't I purchase Floris No. 89, which Ian Flemming said James Bond wore, instead of Limes? I kick myself every time I think about it, but would suppose that because it was a lovely spring day in London, I felt that Limes was the order of the day, and so I dutifully carried my overly expensive fragrance, which consists almost exclusively of just Limes - not many notes here, and frankly those familiar with Loyall Lime will probably like that Lime better than this one - I know that I do.

    So, why own this? Well, if you like a bitter lime fragrance that is truly reminiscent of what a London barbershop must have smelled like on a hot summer day in the 1920's, then this would be the one for you.

    I will say that the bottle is really beautiful and the packaging is some of the best you will encounter, but I wish I had gotten Floris No. 89, instead of this one.

    Pros: Beautiful packaging and Bottle
    Cons: not particularly long lasting.

    10th June, 2013

    michailG's avatar
    michailG


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Limes by FLORIS sounded too good to be true. And that exactly what it was. On my skin the initial fantastic burst of citrus lasted 5-10 minutes. After that delightful opening Limes is a total let down because it becomes a fainting skin scent that lasts about an hour and then oblivion. I can understand that some people like to keep old traditions alive. If they are rich enough sure go ahead. If you value your hard earned money and like citrus fragrances try Limes a few times to see if it is worth the price asked. And for a while maybe forget the fancy box and bottle and concentrate on the juice. On me Limes started great but soon turned into the fragrance of a somewhat good quality dish washing liquid... and the obscurity of it all as a fragrance makes it purposeless.

    09 May, 2013

    rbaker's avatar
    rbaker


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Classic bone-dry lime, pure uncompromising lime that is refreshing, with a gentle lily note added in the drydown. What remains after an hour or so with a very pleasant light white musk that is very close to my skin. For a lime cologne is has a respectable longevity of well over two hours.

    03 August, 2012

    MonkeyBars's avatar
    MonkeyBars
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I agree that this is related to Eau de Guerlain, which apparently came later. Lovely crisp unsweetened herbal lime opening, followed by maybe an hour of mild floral musk. There are long-lasting citrus fragrances, so I don't see much of a point in traditional EdC's like this, pleasant as it is.

    01st June, 2012

    Redbeard's avatar
    Redbeard
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Trying to recall the other English lime scents as best I can while doing this, the Floris is probably closest to Trumpers. It's right away the driest, dustiest of these old-style EdCs, and has a bit of the sharp herbs of Wellington or Blenheim, though it's admittedly a bit hard to tell where the fresh lime rind sharpness ends and the herbal sharpness begins. I also think there's a trace of the florals that I associate with the less "barbershoppy" English houses (i.e. Floris and Penhaligons), which sometimes feminizes them a tiny bit. I don't think it maintains its lime identity very well, though. Trumpers dies off quickly but remains pure, and Truefitt is sweetened up a bit and strengthened with synthetics but is still clearly lime. The Floris dies off and degenerates into dust, with a bit of popcorny-smelling wood at the very end.

    15 December, 2011

    Weimar27's avatar
    Weimar27
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I just love the Lemon Lime opening an zesty beginning dries lovely to an delicate watery scent of Lily of the Vally
    hidden among the rocks with it's gentile
    scent and the subtle musk dry down.

    it's more of a pleasant and Diluted Version of Eau de Guerlian which it's a very power citrus aromatic fragrance
    that uses to much on mint and smelled like Mint Tooth Paste.

    12 February, 2011

    odysseusm's avatar
    odysseusm
    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Top: lemon, petitgrain
    Mid: lily of the valley, lime blossom, neroli
    Base: musk

    This starts with lovely citrus-green notes. These are quite tart, bracing, and refreshing. These top notes have good longevity for citrus, lasting several minutes. The citrus notes burn off and a classy floral-musk appears. It is not sweet or heavy; rather it is it kind of airy and has echoes of the citrus. The scent overall is clean and classic. No faux notes here. It lasts about half an hour on me. Splash it on and enjoy!

    04 August, 2010

    Bartlebooth's avatar
    Bartlebooth
    Germany Germany

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is about as simple as a fragrance can get. Lime anyone? I use this in high temperatures, or straight after a hot bath , and it is freshness personified. It's brevity suggests that it will have limited use amongst mainstream users, but at what it sets out to do, it is very good.

    16 February, 2009

    M's avatar
    M


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    as a Floris representative just recently told me, this is the same juice as that "Summer Limes". Which i adore!

    if you do NOT want a woody base under the zesty citrus (like with so many other citrus/lime scents out there), then get a bottle of this wonderful creation. i am rally astonished that it is said to be nearly 200 years old :-0 it smells NOTHING like dated ... a very modern composition i would say.

    thumbs up all the way!

    m

    26 July, 2008

    jdnba's avatar
    jdnba
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    terrrrible. do not waste your time...try truefitt and hill or trumper instead.

    01st June, 2007

    vadim's avatar
    vadim
    Russian Federation Russian Federation

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A rather un-limey take on the lime theme, this one could easily pass for a Contitental niche scent. A brisk but faint lime in the opening is all too quickly replaced by a Comme des Garcons-ish thin and dry base. If you are looking for limes proper or for something clean, fresh, manly and British, look elsewhere.

    08 December, 2006

    IPaidForThisName's avatar
    IPaidForThisName


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I’ve always loved the smell of limes. This is no exception. It’s a robust and refreshing lime fragrance. It lasts about 5-10 minutes on the skin, though.

    22 September, 2005

    levi's avatar
    levi


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    If like subtle "citruos notes" this is the one, very soft for male and female.
    remainds me of a very,very expensive cup of tea or a walk by the sea side.
    best,
    Levi

    18 July, 2004

    Showing 1 to 13 of 13.