Reviews of Muscs Koublaï Khän by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    Find out more about Muscs Koublaï Khän by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 31 to 60 of 130.
    jtd's avatar
    jtd
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    As beastly as most others find MKK, I think it's just adorable. Cute, really.

    30th August, 2011

    spice's avatar
    spice


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Filthy rich. A super classy Jovan Musk, wearable this century.

    06 July, 2011 (Last Edited: 29 July, 2011)

    Oslo-Fjord's avatar
    Oslo-Fjord
    Norway Norway

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    It took me some time, but this fragrance has grown to be one of my top-favorites. My first thought was "disgusting". Now I think "dirty, sexy, and unique". MKK is the most unique and original fragrance I have tried ever! Highly recommended if you`r looking for something totaly unique and special. One of the best from Serge Lutens.

    24 June, 2011

    anthonyrj's avatar
    anthonyrj


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I went from detestation to adoration in one day on this one. When I first sampled this, I thought it smelled like the underwear of a guy who hadn't showered in a couple of days, had just finished working out and who thought he'd only farted. All of that's there, but it only lasts a few minutes on my skin before it turns into a marvelously natural and dirty rose and musk scent. I adore this stuff, and I never buy into the hype on fragrances, but for me this one is great. I don't know how some of the other reviewers are not smelling the nasty, but if you are interested in this frag I suggest that you err on the side of caution and trust me when I tell you that the nasty is indeed present in this scent... Definitely a 'try before you buy' frag as I suspect most will not like this one. Not sure that it's worth the price, but that's probably just me because I think that about a great many fragrances. Lovely on clothes; yes I spray frags on my clothes...bite me.

    12 June, 2011 (Last Edited: 14 June, 2011)

    Ralph's avatar
    Ralph
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    It's just a beautiful, simple, dirty-rose/musk frag (and an expensive one too) but the depth here is glorious as is - I'd guess - the quality of the materials used. I have absolutely no idea why so many people get into a filth-fugue about this one: it's deep, dark, peaceful and lovely - there's no pee-pee or poo-poo here, honestly.

    01st May, 2011 (Last Edited: 18 May, 2011)

    Mar Azul's avatar
    Mar Azul
    Bulgaria Bulgaria

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The most beautiful musk I ever smelled. Were it a woman, it would be one pretty well aware of her sex-appeal and keeping it restrained to a certain point never to be crossed. She embrace you warmly instead, making you feel comfortable; yet her deep animalic nature is always seen behind; she's not actually trying to hide it. She just shows you there's more than this.
    There are dirty musks that easily turn vulgar; there are clean musks trying to equal cleanness and human beauty, thus suggesting there's light without darkness. This one knows both very well; it has intelligence. It has philosophy. It's a treatise on pure and dirty. And besides that, it's the scent of a warm skin. Dramatic.

    13 April, 2011

    alfarom's avatar
    alfarom
    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Please everybody forgive me but I don't get any fecal, sweat, rancid, camel, disgusting kind of things here. It's surely not a clean musc in the opening and can be quite challenging to someone (a lot of civet and castoreum) but it's awesome. This is MUSC as it should be (at least IMO). Not too rough or rude but neither polite and absolutely fascinating. Maybe it's because I generally don't like white muscs but I can't find a single weird thing in MKK. I simply like it from the beginning to the very end. Unfortunately I don't know many people who would wear Muscs Koublai Khan on a regular basis and if I'll ever meet one I'll make averything is possible to become at least friends. In the drydown it turns to be a bit cleaner and sweet with an animalic note (civet) that make sure that the scent doesn't get too polite. I don't see any particular complexity here but a magistrally and superbly crafted "kinda rough" musc. And really, I don't understand the post-coitum / orgiastic thing. If you smell like this after you had sex I'm Koublai Khan.

    May 2011
    After several full wearings I started to detect the infamous "fecal note". It's there, lurking in the back, scary and threatening but it's part of MKK's incredible charme.

    13 March, 2011 (Last Edited: 21st May, 2011)

    hypnotic antidote's avatar
    hypnotic antidote
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Hmmm, if this scent smells like a man's groin who's been riding on horseback then he's also rolled around in a lot of good clean dirt and bathed in rosewater. If you ever meet a man whose groin smells like this then I say - don't have him scrubbed and send him directly to my tent!!

    I love this. Honeyed skin, softened by rose, with the burr of musk. It's also a really beautiful incense scent.

    Love at first sniff. It reminds me of lying in bed just after your lover has got up, and smelling his warm presence lingering on white sheets. Comforting, drowsy, at peace with the world.

    06 March, 2011

    Spoombung's avatar
    Spoombung
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is soft, dark, warm, sweet, honeyed, comforting scent that won't fill the room. There's a slightly fuzzy, caramelised note to it - like a sweet ale - that holds the main attraction for me.

    As for the 'crotch' 'animal' 'animal hide' 'fecal' 'soiled laundry' 'sweaty thighs' references... I would recommend skipping baths and showers if you want to give a scarier, cheaper and much more effective animal impersonation.

    24 February, 2011 (Last Edited: 25 February, 2011)

    almasinti's avatar
    almasinti
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Boy, I do not like this. I do understand that natural elements that we think of as unpleasant - including a component present in decomposing bodies, human sweat and body odor molecules and animal smells - can be blended into fragrances and add complexity, richness and perhaps a subliminal sensuality to fragrances if used tastefully. However, for me, the "fecal" element in this is an instant turn-off. It doesn't matter what else is in the fragrance, once I get that smell, I cannot tolerate the fragrance at all.

    Maybe I am just another over-civilized person who does not like natural human smells, but I think there is a hygenic reason why the smells generated by excrement are a turn-off, And no, I do not associate this type of smell with any sort of sweaty, rough and ready sexual ecsapades, either. The reason I wear fragrance is to smell good, not dirty or sweaty. I suppose there is no accounting for taste, and yes, i will try this again. But for now, a definite thumbs down.

    20th February, 2011

    abysynth's avatar
    abysynth


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    let me start by saying that I think this is a brilliant composition. that being said, I'm fairly certain that a guy would not want to smell this on me. you see, after thinking & thinking, I finally pegged what the smell exactly was (at least, on me, to me, because let's face it, MKK is an even more subjective experience than most perfumes). originally I thought it was just perfume & human b.o., but that wasn't quite it actually. after the initial skanky explosion in the first couple minutes had abated a bit, I realized it smelled like freshly washed balls. not dirty unwashed balls, or post-coital balls, but balls that have just come out of the shower and are warm & smell a bit perfumey from the soap but still decidedly smell like balls just the same. hence the odd dual nature of the scent I originally detected, with the soap smell and the balls smell, which will never blend perfectly of course, they weren't designed to. after a while, this smell dries down to more of a freshly washed male underarm smell. again, no dirty/unwashed/putrid animal poo-pee/etc at all. just freshly washed skin in certain *ahem* areas of the body. which to be honest, I didn't find unappealing! that sort of a scent is one I associate not with sex specifically, but with general physical intimacy, where smelling areas like that are part of the normal experience between physically intimate people. but not specifically sex. in fact, the clean underarm smell was almost comforting to me, I could imagine it as being something I might smell as I fell asleep in the arm of my guy after he'd showered. strange huh? it's such a *human* smell. and you couldn't possibly layer anything else over/with MKK because it totally ruins that delicate balance between "just washed" and "male skin in certain areas", and changes it to a "trying to hide the fact that I smell bad by using perfume" smell (I know, I tried it!) And it really was a delicate balance, somehow ol' Uncle Serge managed to pull it off and I cannot for the life of me figure out how. it lasted for a relatively short period of time on me, ending finally as the faint smell of a man's clean skin in general, not so "area specific", which was nice too.

    this was truly an olfactory experience, veering into brilliance as I said, and consequently most amazing. however! still not so sure I'd wear it out on a date! not so sure smelling like balls would be the most enticing smell to a guy on a date with me. it would of course beg the question "what the hell were you doing *just before* our date??" heh.

    something else I found noteworthy is that while trying the MKK on the inside of one elbow, for comparison purposes I simultaneously tried frederic malle Musc Ravageur in the other elbow. as I was ready to buy a full size of the MR just a week ago, I was astounded to find that by comparison, the MR was really overly cloying and incense-y, and even clumsy! because in spite of the scent's "subject material", the MKK scent was truly a delicately balanced work of art and the MR was just stumbling & clumsy by comparison. I would never have guessed.

    yum. warm clean male skin. :)

    16 February, 2011 (Last Edited: 12 August, 2011)

    Oh_Hedgehog's avatar
    Oh_Hedgehog
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Muscs Koublaï Khän is more saucy innuendo than pornographic statement. Post-coitally supine in temperament, it is the fragrant warmth of a bedded body rising in the air. Its Rorschach-like knack for ferreting out guilt and filth is readily seen in those intent on fingering it as a trespass against human decency, when all it wants to do is to lick its groin and drift into contented slumber. MKK is a scent which all-too-quickly tickles the imaginations of salacious perfumistas and it's a scent with more associations loaded onto its back – or stuffed down its boxers – than most. Putting fantasies to one side, I'd describe it as warm (say, 37°C), unusually see-through for a Lutens, and located somewhere between the smell of raw honey and matted fur. It is a concoction of the sweet (labdanum, ambergris), the greasy (beeswax, costus), and the ripe (castoreum, cumin), and is probably the most feral, as well as the most suave, musk out there. The pong that launched a thousand frowns, Muscs Koublaï Khän was my very first bell jar.

    Addendum: There are certain specialist clubs in Berlin that insist on 'No Perfume'. For these venues, MKK offers itself as a cunning exception.

    25 January, 2011 (Last Edited: 05 February, 2011)

    Sporenburg's avatar
    Sporenburg
    Spain Spain

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    What a con. This is my natural skin scent! Just kidding.

    Thanks to all the great preceding reviews Muscs Koublaï Khän comes loaded with associations. Quite predictably the first wearing put me thoroughly in the “what’s all this talk about crotch?” camp. I was expecting a mix of smells found in a stable (which I love) but MKK isn’t like that at all. It certainly does not outstink elegant weirdos like Kouros, Jules or Yatagan. I understand the reviewer who wrote that it smells of sunburned skin (skin warmed by summer sun to be more precise.) Actually, those who don’t find this to be dirty in general seem to make this skin association. This makes for a delicious scent although also a bit strange as if you are suddenly wearing someone else’s skin, almost feels like cheating. Funny that I use the word cheating because in another sense of the word a slight paranoid fear is building that my wife, until she gets used to me wearing this, will suddenly start sniffing around me and go “okay, who have you been with?”

    It is a sensual fragrance but also bookish, I certainly sympathize with those who wear this at home whilst reading a book. Because of its deepness and elusive complexity wearing Muscs Koublaï Khän produces innumerable impressions that will make one believe you can recover those famous stanzas of Kubla Khan that Coleridge forgot. Great longevity, sillage is civilized. Obviously, a masterpiece.

    02 January, 2011

    blueyezz's avatar
    blueyezz
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I purchased this last year when it was released from the Paris boutique, briefly becoming available on the general market.

    I was shopping with a friend and, never having tried it before myself, I told her about its sweaty thighs and unwashed reputation. She sprayed some on her arm, said “Hmmmm…” and promptly bought it.

    Since then she has stopped wearing it as she finds it troubling.

    Tania Sanchez describes it as “a lost-world fantasy of firelit palaces with the soupy sleepy warmth of two beneath a quilt”. In this lost-world, the king and queen smell of Bois Des Illes and everyone else smells of MKK. They share a deep ambery warmth - the civet in MKK reeks of toil in the stables whereas BdI is a story of opulence and decadent ease.

    I don’t wear this fragrance out - I wear it to bed. It makes me feel warm and content. It smells of skin and fur, cozy and safe, with a human or animal smell that is comforting and familiar.

    If this frag was a book it would by Nights at the Circus by Angela Carter.

    28 December, 2010 (Last Edited: 07 January, 2011)

    nsamadi's avatar
    nsamadi


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I find Muscs Koublai Khan brilliant in terms of concept. It's one of the most interesting perfumes I've smelt. I owned it for a short period of time, where I mostly wore it at home, lodging on my couch reading a book. It's strangely comforting in a way. It smells like sweaty hot skin. Like a lovers embrace.

    As much as I loved it, I didn't think it was a wearable perfume, more a concept smell. You'd just spray it now and then on your wrist to smell and enjoy. I couldn't find an occasion to wear it. For the most part, my bottle just lay there collecting dust, until I sold it. The only time I'd consider wearing this is right before a romp, but who wants to smell like they just had sex right before they have sex?

    15 December, 2010

    ahuramasda's avatar
    ahuramasda
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I've always loved natural 'skin smells' and the muskier fragrances and so I was fascinated to read of people's various encounters with MKK.
    I decided it was worth the risk of a full bottle blind buy and placed an order on the Serge Lutens website. Just for info, the buying experience from Lutens was excellent, with fast delivery of an exceptionally well packaged and beautifully presented black box, the size of a small house!

    On first smelling of this fragrance straight from the bell jar I was disappointed. Nothing notorious here, just a deep, warm completely non-floral scent. If it had been music it would have been a very low note played on a cello. I dabbed some on the back of my hand and waited a moment or two before trying again. This time something was definitely happening. The deep warmth now definitely did smell of something slightly disturbing. I immediately recognised smell of my cat when he sometimes sticks his back end a bit too near to my face. Or, and forgive my bluntness here, a trace of the heavy lingering smell that is sometimes found in restrooms after toilet use. Then the animal/human hindquarter notes began to open out and expand to include an extremely dry biscuity, surnburnt skin smell. Finish with a strong pungent edge, the smell of warm, moist furry or hairy places - I immediately understood the references to crotch!

    I guess that broken down to its component parts I this all sounds pretty revolting and not a smell we should aspire to. However where it happens MKK evokes these associations because it REMINDS people of these primitive smells, not because it actually smells than way and to me, taken as a whole, I find MKK to be utterly amazing.
    On me it stays fairly close to the skin, though I've already had a couple of people sniffing the air, bloodhound style and then coming over to bury their nose in my neck! Longevity is excellent, it stays on until you wash it off and the longer it's on your skin the better it gets.

    So, for the 'your skin but better' or musk aficianodos out there I'd very much recommend trying this - I think you'll love it!


    21st August, 2010

    OM_995's avatar
    OM_995


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Having read most of the comments re MKK here I really decided to test. I was surprised not to really feel any fecal or other dirty notes in this scent as was said by many people here. To me this was fantastic, - a mystery of musc plus some subtle florals like a faint rosy smell (in a good way). Be careful with this because it chains the attention of almost everyone who smells this on you from passers by to ur friends etc. Not really understanding what it was that caught attention these people may become addictive.... to u.

    22 July, 2010

    suzi2qs's avatar
    suzi2qs
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Musk & castoreum & civet Oh My! Dorothy will never make it to Oz!! But she will be having some fun, no doubt. We have some seriously assy notes going on here Chris! What were you thinking? And why should I care? This fragrance is an animalic powerhouse and I can wear this with relish. A bit skanky as others have noted?? Absolutely!! But this gives me the feel of having spent an afternoon engaged in the most devient sexual acts known to man with a stranger in a strange land. Upon leaving him or her to rejoin the tour, I find no time to shower off the sweat of this encounter, hop on the bus with a snide smile, knowing that I have seen a part of a foreign land none of my tourmates will ever know. This is blended so well that I could wear it any day, any time, in any situation. I do not find this offensive, just primal and sexy. Makes me feel like a very bad girl, even thought I am not. I get more sex than beaver butt from this creative masterpiece. The scent of sex is not something I could ever find distasteful because it is a beautiful thing. I would recommend this to anyone in sample form just for the experience. Of course, there is a chance you may fall in love. Nothing bad about that. Do take care at the office though, you may have many of your work mates buzzing around you for no good reason.

    31st May, 2010

    jcrich's avatar
    jcrich
    England England

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I decided to revisit MKK, a couple of years after first trying it and finding it to be, to my nose, vile.

    I have slightly softened my opinion on second wearing, but I just can't get past the sweaty buttocks smell. Even a lady at work, whose opinion I value greatly, said "it smells like bottoms" so even if I did like it (which I don't), I'd not want to walk around with people thinking that I hadn't cleaned my undercarriage properly.

    Generally, I have problems with Lutens scents as I find them a touch medicinal. Can't say that about MKK though!

    20th May, 2010

    Andrewthecologneguy's avatar
    Andrewthecologneguy
    Nigeria Nigeria

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Finally, I gave my self over to the much discussed MKK. I have often misdiagnosed fragrance, mostly due to not as yet fully trained nose. I don't know if my nose is now fully trained, or if that is possible, but I smell many things in MKK, which if you are not smelling, you are missing out on what has to be the most audacious fragrance I have ever tried.

    Kouros gets a lot of flak and praise alike; the flak should be reserved for MKK. And while Rochas' Macassar is intense and quite an experience, it pales in comparison to MKK.

    I smell fecal matter (not so clean anus maybe?) phlegm and halitosis (haven't brushed in a few days) as well as armpit/pubic folicles (that haven't been washed in days either). This is the first fragrance to give me a gag reflex, maybe because I kept sniffing to make sure I was smelling what I thought was coming across.

    This is an experience not to be missed...but smell it once a year...to see what else you get.

    28 April, 2010

    cannotavoidtrite's avatar
    cannotavoidtrite


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I gave it a poor review after first trying it. I had a strong reaction when I smelled this on the blotter - it was nasty!

    Funny how things change. After giving it some time and sampling it many more times, it smells absolutely beautiful on my skin! It stinks on the blotter or on clothing but on skin it is quite wonderful.

    I am so glad I gave it many chances, all because of some of the positive reviews here. Thanks. To those who dislike it, try on your skin, one spray.

    19 April, 2010 (Last Edited: 19 August, 2012)

    MFJ's avatar
    MFJ


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    My nose gets a sweet opening of civet and rose, which starts to turn salty as it settles on skin. Though I find the vanilla/amber accords to be rather subdued, I notice how they add depth to the composition, while the scent manages to maintain a thinness to it, that feels transparent. A salty-sweet civet oriental. I had secretly wished I could break up the raving party. Alas...

    *New proud owner thanks the fragrance deities for MKK's release to the export range*

    20th March, 2010

    epicurean's avatar
    epicurean
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The various references to this scent being 'dirty' are lost on me. Unless of course those references mean to say that the sexual act itself, and its accompanying scents, are somehow dirty ... Perish the thought.
    Well, whatever: I'm just pleased that Serge Lutens had the balls to bottle the smell of fresh sex here, and a heady mix it is. This is clearly the reference "sex musk". (Oh, and I think it's pretty obvious what McQueen's "Kingdom" was based on. Loved that scent, too, but it was a bit too aggressively in-your-face. MKK is certainly strong, but at the same time mellow, which Kingdom was not.)

    13 March, 2010

    Splash's avatar
    Splash
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Yum! Human musk with sexual associations, burned cotton/linen, fertile earth, dry leaves, beeswax and smokey vanilla. Primal, alive, must have always!!!

    02 March, 2010 (Last Edited: 03 March, 2010)

    Boster's avatar
    Boster
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I purchased a small sample of this thinking that if the fecal and overtly smelly notes listed by many reviewers really did come across, next stop would be the shower. Now, I think this fragrance should be used to experiment on how different people perceive odor, because for the life of me, I can't detect anything remotely "dirty" about it. I can agree with many that the main accord evokes clean (not soap clean) skin, natural soft animal muskiness, and intimate warmth.
    Completely unisex and wears close to the skin. I have the feeling that MKK can morph easily to any person's individual character and would probably be good for layering with just about anything.
    Really, really, something special.

    19 February, 2010

    rasputin's avatar
    rasputin
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I love this one.... a friend retrieved me a bottle from the SHISEIDO salon under the operahouse in Paris... And it is worth the $200.

    To me this is a masculine smell... sweaty young male torso... like the smell of a white cotton t-shirt worn all day on a summer day by the hunkiest, handsomest 22-year-old, tattooed, goateed, dirty auto mechanic you know.

    It is undeniably animal, yet has a close-to-the-skin sillage, and can be blended beautifully with other musk-based scents, like SHALIMAR, f'rinstance.

    If you prefer the musk family of fragrances, as I do, you may well have found your Holy Grail.

    Lovers of MKK will be happy to know that it is now available Stateside at LUCKYSCENT in Los Angeles.

    19 February, 2010

    brrrry's avatar
    brrrry
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Easily in my top five. Not dirty at all, except for maybe a few minutes during the opening. It's actually quite beautiful. One of the few Lutens that I immensely enjoy along with Ambre Sultan. Another one of those scents that most people around you won't get or enjoy. But, personally I wear this for my own enjoyment and wouldn't have it any other way.

    18 February, 2010

    Thebigstinque's avatar
    Thebigstinque
    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I’m a newbie both to BN and to writing fragrance reviews so I’m appreciative of the effort put forth by Basenoters. Since I’m barely smart enough to realize that personal taste factors into all reviews, I was intrigued by some of the criticisms of Lutens’ Muscs Koublai Khan.

    I have to confess to not having the experience required to compare anything to “the fecal note...”, “unwiped backside…” or “unwashed genitalia doused in rose oil…” cited by critics of this scent – I guess I’m just hanging with the wrong people. In my addled mind these appraisals made MKK a “must try” product. I figured , what the hell, worst case, I take one whiff, my toupee starts to flap, steam comes out of my ears, my eyes pinwheel, my nose twitches, the dog lifts a leg on me…at least I can remonstrate with my (imaginary) friend Ollie about another fine osmic mess he’s gotten us into.

    So I break into the package, dip the dipper thingamajiggy, go stand next to the shower, slap the juice on my chest and assume the civil defense position expecting my hide to blister, to be raped by a horny Chihuahua or both. I wait and I wait…nothing! Bupkis! No urge to take a wire brush to my person, no flooding of the nostrils, no loss of consciousness. Instead, up floats a warm, vaguely floral/oriental note over a benign musk, subtle and complex enough to remain interesting. Now, 5 hours later, I have to stick my beak down my shirt (now THAT takes a nose!) to get a whiff of a funkier musk, but still nothing that would attract maggots.

    So what’s with the arm waving, or is it nose-pinching? My skin chemistry, as a native of this planet, can’t be all that different. “Feces”? “Genitalia”? C’mon folks, take a deep breath (yes, it’s safe to breathe now, really). If ya don’t like the stuff, that’s cool, but why shoot your own review in the foot with hyperbole? Besides, didn’t Napoleon tell Josephine not to bathe when he was coming home?

    Since this is supposed to be about the juice, MKK is worth a try, interesting, but not my favourite – a conditional thumbs up.

    09 February, 2010 (Last Edited: 18 February, 2011)

    Handsome Toad's avatar
    Handsome Toad
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I am very sad that I bought a decant sample of this. All of my other 40-50 fragrances I own have now been diminished (to me) - hollow vestiges of their former selves. I had to have this and ordered it before the smell had even begun to fade from my initial spray. Only place I found it was Barney's and they only had the 50ml bottle. Stupid purple dinosaur! I hope my decant lasts until it gets here.

    Not offensive, rank, funky, or foul, but maybe skanky in a "Come here and let's Fcuk all night and I lick the sweat off your neck before I bite you because you smell so good" kind of way. SeXXXy stuff indeed!!! This is my Holy Grail scent.

    18 January, 2010

    shamu1's avatar
    shamu1
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is probably the most animalic fragrance I have ever smelled. It smells like it’s made almost exclusively of bodily fluids and animal secretions, with just a touch of floral notes and spice to sweeten it and prevent it from smelling like someone’s crotch.

    Although Muscs Koublai Khan is animalic, it doesn’t smell dirty or disgusting at all. It blends beautifully with skin probably because it smells like skin – warm, tanned skin with fresh sweat. More like “body smell” than B.O..

    I’m not a big fan of Serge Lutens’ fragrances because most of the ones I’ve sampled seem more like overblown, self-indulgent showpieces rather than scents that can be actually worn comfortably. Muscs Koublai Khan, however, is an outstanding, fascinating and totally unique scent that is both extremely masculine and extremely feminine. It’s the kind of scent that seems to mold itself to its wearer – you really don’t need to have a certain personality or look to successfully pull off wearing this.

    This really is a one of a kind fragrance, and something truly special.

    14 January, 2010

    Showing 31 to 60 of 130.