Positive Reviews of No. 89 by Floris

    Find out more about No. 89 by Floris in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 19 of 19. (Show all reviews)
    Marais's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A staid woody rose. Not quite shorn of all frivolity (q.v. VC&A pour Homme), the mood is lightened a little by a touch of sweet powder. It makes me think of a dusty, dark wood-panelled office. Ergo, it suits a mature professional. The scent lasts all day with low projection, not quite a skin scent (from 6 sprays). Along with Eau de Santal, the best of a generally uninspiring line-up. Nice but unlikely to enrapture.

    11th August, 2014

    rbaker's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Traditional orange with bergamot and nutmeg with a geranium-flower note added in.
    Top: Bergamot, Orange, Geranium, Nutmeg. Later on the nutmeg takes centre
    stage in a pleasant way, to be followed by classic soapy English barbershop scent. A great classic English Gentleman's scent. Good longevity of about four to five hours.

    03 August, 2012

    Transmeta's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Perfect daytime fragrance! Orange perks me up in the morning, nutmeg adds an edge, lavender sets stressfree mood, and already in the bus there is this soothing rosy scent which dies down with sandalwood, vetiver and cedar. In the afternoon these earthy scents ground me from days hustle and bustle.

    Proper gentleman cologne without being stuffy old guys scent. Pure class!

    15 June, 2012

    zsfb115's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is the only scent I wear apart from Acqua di Parma on occasion - not that I don't love other scents, it's just that I haven't found anything else that comes close to the unique freshness of it! Quite powdery, which won't appeal to all, but I love it!

    05 April, 2012

    Redbeard's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Here's a traditional man's scent: a spicy, slightly floral fougere, with some wood already evident in the opening. Santos meets Azzaro, with a little bit of Trumper's Marlborough. It has the usual anise, but it's well-buried among the other bracing aromatic herbs. Possibly a little violet as well. It hints at heavy floral darkness, as seen in Van Cleef and Arpels, but never fully heads in that direction. What's strange to me about this scent is that I recognize so many parts of it, but I'm not quite sure where to file it away mentally: with the green scents, the barbershop spice, the masculine florals, or even the sweet orientals because a bit of vanilla pokes its head out during the base notes. Breathing warm air over my test spot brings out an amazing orange-blossomy vanilla, which if it were stronger would be as interesting as Endymion, or as Caron PUH's vanilla, minus the powder. The final base notes are mostly just expensive soap, but very convincing and not feminine at all, like a hint of Richard James. Even though I don't like the middle phase so much, I'll give it a thumbs-up for its boggling, chameleon complexity, and for hiding feminine notes so harmoniously in certain places in the base. Intriguing.

    15 December, 2011

    drseid's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    If indeed this scent has been reformulated, I can't comment on its latest iteration (as my bottle is vintage) but that said no. 89 is one of my favorites. It has an invigorating citrus opening that wakes you up and gets you ready to take on the world, and then it transitions to a fabulous masculine rose with musk and lavender notes mixed in for good measure at its base. I always wear this scent when I need a confidence boost as it just exudes class and does not smell dated despite its age. Great stuff and highly recommended. 4.5 stars out of 5 for the vintage version.

    22 August, 2011 (Last Edited: 28 December, 2012)

    kierroo's avatar

    Scotland Scotland

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Stocked up on this when John Lewis had a big bowlful of samples for like a month and i knew it was the aftershave of choice for 007

    Even from the first drops on ur neck or wrist, you can feel and smell that 89 is Suave and sophisticated yet totally understated. Bergamot and flower flavours, the early notes are mostly dominated by the lavender and citrus smell, while moving to rose and ylang ylang.

    sophisticated bottle, this defo not for daytime wear, but for a nice black-tie event or date in the evening time, wear your tux and spray this on to take on the world.

    El classico

    11th February, 2011

    JonB's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Nice citrus on top that actually lasts quite a while on me. Once dried down, it's a nice soapy masculine rose. The rose it not so prominent that men should be deterred. More of a nice clean everyday scent. 89 seems quite versatile. Longevity is quite good. Sillage is moderate. Definite thumbs up.

    18 September, 2010

    Esquire's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This may seem a bit powdery to the wearer at first but I can assure you that it is not. I may not be an expert in Fragrances but No. 89 is a rare delight, it has been rumored that Prince Charles uses No. 89 from time to time. Your female companion may love or like it but I think it is impossible to hate this fragrance.

    14 May, 2010

    Kaern's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Floris is one of the oldest extant perfume houses and they have an extensive range of fragrances for both sexes -- none of which are much good. Their main store is in Jermyn Street in London -- just walking in and out of the shops in the street is a pleasant but rather strange experience -- like being stuck in a time warp, all suede loafers, cravats and gentlemen's barbers. No. 89 is a dry manly rose and pretty much a soliflore. Floris have pretty much thrown their lot in with synthetics nowadays, but I wouldn't be surprised if there was some rose oil or absolute in here. It's cheap and very nice indeed.

    04 March, 2010 (Last Edited: 10th March, 2010)

    Bartlebooth's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a beautifully subtle production from Floris, and I thoroughly enjoyed the whole journey from application ,to it's termination some ten hours later.Normally I bemoan a fragrance that has little or no evolution, but when the opening is as refined as this, I will make an exception.The drydown had the blended sharpness of the rose and ylang ylang to ensure that this never strayed into the sentimental. My initial feeling was that this might be a little stiff and formal for varied use, but I think when something has this much class, you can wear it anywhere.

    11th February, 2009

    scentsitivity's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Per the Floris website, the notes are different than previously listed, so I give them here:

    Top notes: bergamot, lavender, neroli, nutmeg, orange, petitgrain
    Heart notes: geranium, rose, ylang ylang
    Base notes: cedarwood, musk, oakmoss, sandalwood, vetiver

    To me, No. 89 is a gentleman’s scent with a gentle floral heart. A slight bit of spice (nutmeg), a bit of powderiness and a clean floral character. I get a fruitiness that vaguely suggests peach. A delicate woody base that I adore. I think this is very well constructed. It takes a few wearings to fully appreciate this gem, so do give it a chance to grow on you. I am glad I did!

    22 December, 2008

    bokaba's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    No. 89 is truly one of the best midcentury scents available. It does have that Georgian-Victorian flair of musty citrus, white flowers, rose, sandalwood, and musk. No. 89 certainly carries Floris's house citrus note in the opening, but that dries down to a beautiful rose that is enriched by spice, musk, and moss. Overall, very nice and I suggest you try it. It will not of course wow anyone because that's not what is was meant to do--it was meant to be dry, conservative, lightly floral, and lightly musky.

    12 December, 2008 (Last Edited: 15 November, 2009)

    Fiorello's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I can appreciate its English sensibilities overall but the nutmeg note is too off-putting for me to wear. Its strongest asset is the unfortunately, short-lived but wonderful, citrus/floral melange. The nutmeg/orris/sandalwood connection is prominent throughout the entire course.

    The clearly evident, earthy-dry, floral orris note definitely conjures up images of some kind of institutional stuffiness. No. 89 seems more likely a purchase for a mature person.

    21st May, 2008

    zztopp's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     


    Notes:

    Top: Bergamot, Orange, Geranium, Nutmeg
    Middle: Orange Blossom, Rose, Jasmine, herbal notes
    Base: Sandalwood, cedar, vetiver

    No. 89 is Floris' flagship fragrance and the favorite of Ian Fleming, James Bond, Inspector Gadget, Kim Jong Yil and few other high profile celebrities and fictional characters. It also shares a few properties with No. (89 - 1).

    No. 89 is based on a formula which is intended to represent what an english gentleman is smells like. Some say it also "reeks" of funeral parlors. I haven't been to a lot of funeral parlors, but I don't think that they would smell like No. 89, which is a grand yet understated aromatic woody floral. This is no "old man"/"dead" smell, nor is it a sombre scent. No. 89 opens with a complex citrus-floral-spicy accord which then gives way to a prominent flowery middle notes phase. However No.89 is never overly floral because of a well assimilated nutmeg note which provides a spicy kick to the mix...yes, the overall impression is still of a gentleman's rich aromatic floral fragrance, but its never overbearingly like Enya's garden.

    Comparisons to Czech & Speake no. 88: No. 88 and 89 share some similarities. Infact the notes pyramid share a lot of notes. Both open with a burst of bergamot; No. 89's opening is more elaborate, but the heart notes are what sets the two apart. No. 88's luxurious and powerhouse notes of rose otto, cassie and frangipani in concert with sandalwood introduce a distinctively full-bodied accord which is missing in No. 89. Instead, no. 89 has a less potent rose note, and features an equally dynamic if less ravaging spicy-floral mix as its distinctive accord. No. 88 also has a longer march to its drydown, which richer and fuller than in No. 89 due to its richer concentration of oils (its an EDP). No. 89 has a soft woody floral drydown - I don't get a lot of vetiver or cedar, but instead there is an outlier of a sweet floral note which is kind of interesting and lends a certain powderiness to the drydown.

    No. 88 and 89 do share some similarities and No. 88 was probably inspired by No. 89. If you find the rich composition of no. 88 too much to handle, try the floral-spicy concoction of no. 89; the reduced potency and the diluted rose notes alongwith the nutmeg might feel fresher and less daunting. Eitherways, No. 89 is a fine fragrance in its own right, and a true classic. I can't picture the grim reaper handing it out at anyone's "going away" party.

    Rating: 8.6/10

    04 November, 2007

    Mario Justiniani's avatar

    Cuba Cuba

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I like this juice but it's an odd duck. Strong citrus opening and smooth base, but the heart is just plain flowery soft. Not that it calls attention to itself as in Egoiste or Dunhill '34--or other great frags, it just says 'hello, I am here' in an undistinguished, inoffensive way; which, depending on your way of thinking is understated class or just plain officewear.

    14 April, 2007

    christosheppy's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    All I know is my girlfriend loves it. Good enough for me.

    07 March, 2007

    Joe_Frances's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I wouldn't describe this as a soft fragrance. Maybe it does soften through the day, but if anyting, I would say it starts off rather tight. It is a fairly strong fragrance if worn too heavily. It is great, cool, complex frag best for warmer days IMHO. Very masculine, but not a barbershop fragrance. Subtle and cool is how I would describe it. One of my favorites for Spring and Summer.

    22 December, 2005

    solar's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    No 89 is a very interesting scent for men. At first hit you are exposed to a very fresh citrus type smell, but its not hard, its softened by the use of flowery notes. This middle note stays with you for a long time, and settles to a very soft and woody end note. It lasts all day, and re-releases as you heat up. It works very very well at the office, and I've not been tempted to try it anywhere else. Its a gentlemans scent, and it just oozes class.

    23 August, 2003

    Showing 1 to 19 of 19. (Show all reviews)




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000