Reviews of Number Six by Caswell-Massey

    Find out more about Number Six by Caswell-Massey in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 16 of 16.
    rogalal's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Lemon on top, mixed with a lot of barbershoppy lavender and a pinch of something sort of piney, quickly drying down to a weak mix of cloves and verbena. It's slightly powdery and VERY old-fashioned. It's hard to imagine people with modern tastes really enjoying Number Six, but it's worth a sniff as a museum piece, like sniffing a big curly powdered wig in a bottle. That being said, fans of other historical cologne lines like Trumper or Roger & Gallet may really enjoy this. It deserves a thumbs up just for historical significance, but I'm voting neutral because, with all due respect to George Washington, I just don't really like the smell.

    02 April, 2013

    fernwood's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This has been around for some time. It smells like history in a good way. Starting with the citrus and rosemary it dries down to a spicy muskiness. Stays close to the skin and I get 6 or more hours out of this. A good old fashioned original cologne suitable for every occasion.

    02 March, 2012

    odysseusm's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a nice scent, I like it.
    It starts with very notes of orange zest and blossom, and lemon zest. These are very pleasant and lively. They are quickly joined by aromatic and herbal notes: slightly soapy anise, herbal-minty rosemary, warmly spicy clove and nutmeg. The scent is old-school and masculine in style, but it is restrained and classy (not a powerhouse). There is an interesting note which I can't quite identify. It is creamy, toasted-nutty, slightly sweet -- perhaps it is almond blossom. The dry-down is genteel and wears well.

    08 August, 2011

    bokaba's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I must begin by saying that Number Six is a nice spicy eau de cologne for everyday use. It is not as decadent as the Guerlain Eaux or Lorenzo Villoresi, but it certainly holds its own in the cologne arena. Six opens with a burst of bergamot, lime, lemon, rosemary, and possibly orange. The heart is a musty floral as others have mentioned with spice--likely clove. I find this as cross between the vaunted Berdoues no. 444 Extra Vieille and Roger & Gallet Extra Vieille though it is not as good as either of them. For the price, this is a GOOD cologne evocative of small 18th Century middle class--Farina catered to the upperclasses unfortunately for Caswell-Massey.

    06 February, 2011

    Redbeard's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This stuff doesn't last at all. It's even short-lived for a "classical" eau de cologne, though it's not as dilute to start with as 4711 is. Plus it smells like sprite or 7-up to me at first, and then turns into weird musty florals, geranium or something, and makes me envision a flowering garden shrub that's dead and just starting to rot. I'm sure it's not bad for 1780-whatever, but I've tried too many interesting EdCs, and EdC-esque EdTs, to really use this regularly. As is so often the case with real EdCs, the first few minutes are lively and exhilarating enough that I just had to keep it around, though its contemporary 4711 seems less rough around the edges. I prefer Monsieur de Givenchy on the sweeter side, and Burberry Weekend on the drier side.

    06 September, 2009

    JimHeckel's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This one is my signature cologne - very formal and very wearable. Longevity is not an issue if you use enough of it - I use about six ounces a month - and its aroma is very calming and centering. Women could wear this as well, but only with short hair and khakis. Great frag for the money, and one I would totally recommend.

    12 July, 2009

    smith's avatar

    Poland Poland

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Correct and masculine, this is a scent that can safely be worn by a distinguished City sort of gentleman who by constitution would pass up scent altogether. A good Waspy reliable that America can rightly be proud of. Years later I first encountered Jicky and there was a certain affinity there - even though I always regarded as a women's scent (then I learned that Jicky was Proust's favorite, but maybe that doesn't change all that much, ehh?)

    16 February, 2009

    Madamemagenta's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Spicey for its time. If you like traditional E.d.C, this will be intense. A little raw, but overall good manly scent. Prance around in a little history:)

    15 August, 2008

    bbBD's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Don't be fooled into thinking that this is anything like a contemporary citrus fragrance - its' not. The initial burst of citrus is balanced with rosemary and floral notes that keeps the citrus from being too sharp or bright. In fact, when I first put this on my skin I thought it was a spicy fragrance (the initial spice subsides a few minutes later). As mentioned below, the entire life of the fragrance is about an hour, but this is to be expected from what is titled 'cologne water'. Certainly worth a try!


    from CM website: "Fragrance Note(s): Bergamot, Orange Blossom, Rosemary, Narcissus, and 27 other notes"

    06 August, 2008

    tvlampboy's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A clean, fairly formal fragrance - really very much what you'd expect the gentry of 18th century Virginia to favor. Don't expect to be blown away, though -- this juice lacks in sex appeal what it makes up for in snob appeal.

    09 January, 2008

    markc's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I'm no fan of citrus based scents. Number Six, however appeals to me as not only because Washington wore this, but kind of puts me on a porch at a farmhouse in a rocking chair, just enjoying a cool breeze. This has a country feel to it. Poor longevity, but it's cheap so reapply.

    23 October, 2007

    foetidus's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Beautiful bright and sparkly citrus opening. The touch of rosemary blends in perfectly with the clean citrus notes. The heart florals stay quite discreet and excellently blended to retain the energy of the opening. I’m one who gets vetiver—subtle, very distinguished—in the mid and base notes. The musk, to my nose, is even less obvious than the vetiver. Whatever, it is a wonderfully clean continuance of the opening citrus / rosemary accord. The drydown as a sillage maker lasts only about a half hour. There is the ghost of the drydown vapor that remains close to the skin for an hour or two, but it is just too subtle to be called a drydown. When I first applied this my thought was, “Great citrus opening—this one is not going to last long.” I was right—it’s gone in forty-five minutes, but what an excellent forty-five minutes they are. Number Six is an enticingly refreshing summer scent that can be had for a very reasonable price—definitely worth a testing.

    18 January, 2007

    Vasily's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    One of my favorite scents for summer. Citrus topnotes, which are mellowed out with musk in the midnotes, and a hint of colonial spices comes out in the drydown. I don't get vetiver out of this one, either. Unfortunately, this one has poor longevity but it's inexpensive so you can refresh when you need to.

    28 August, 2006

    zenpiper's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Wonderful stuff; elegant without being snooty. It's a most comfortable fragrance that suggests gracious living. Perfect for semi-formal country outings or cocktails on the fantail. Caswell-Massey's best.

    09 March, 2006

    levente's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A masterfully blended mix of several different citrus oils and musk. Quite aromatic and long lasting for a summer scent, it stays close to the skin and doesn't project much. Others have commented on the vetiver but my nose doesn't pick this up. If you are searching for a citrus that is not overtly "fresh" in the current style, you could do a lot worse than this one.

    27 September, 2005

    John.com's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I just received a set of mini's in a nice flip-up box. Five of C-M's most popular mens selections. Number Six is the hands down Favorite. One of the best citrus scents available for men. Don't deny yourself this reasonably priced luxury.

    18 February, 2003

    Showing 1 to 16 of 16.