Reviews of Castile by Penhaligon's

    Find out more about Castile by Penhaligon's in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 30 of 46.
    aim's avatar
    aim


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Afraid this smells soapy on me also, and to the noses of my family

    13 December, 2013

    Francop's avatar
    Francop
    Spain Spain

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This Penhaligon`s scent is an absolute sheer delight to wear.

    It starts fresh, crisp and citrusy until the neroli note arrives; this note plays the main theme of the scent for hours.

    Longevity on me is good; at least 5 hours with 3 sprays on my neck and chest.

    I choose to wear it on bright sunny winter days because of the uplifting effect it has on me. If the winter weather gets you down spray a bit of "Castile" on your neck and see what a big difference it makes on your mood and spirit.

    A Big winner from the House of Penhaligon`s.

    Big Thumbs up!

    05 January, 2013

    heavenscent1's avatar
    heavenscent1
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This smells like concentrated laundry soap on me, the powdery kind. Not for me, unfortunately.

    18 April, 2012

    rbaker's avatar
    rbaker


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The initial burst of orange and floral notes has restrained sweetness, and is never cloying on my skin. The floral note remains, develops a hint of rose but is counterbalanced by clear neroli that maintains a certain freshness. Musk appears in the base note too as does bergamot, and this is quite a complex fragrance that has good longevity of about four hours. A rich and elegant fragrance for warm summer evenings, and never too sweet or boring. Richer and less fresh than Blenheim Bouquet.

    15 February, 2012

    Harvitz81's avatar
    Harvitz81


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a great summer scent in the lines of a classic EdC. Starts a bit citrusy in the same veins as AdP, but quickly settles into a very nice orange and neroli throughout. There is some hints of florals in their (rose?), but overall a very nice and pretty much linear classic summer cologne fragrance that wears pretty light.

    09 February, 2012

    Elzéard's avatar
    Elzéard
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A fragrance similar in character to Blenheim Bouquet, but the citrus is not quite as bitter or distinct in this. There seems to be a soft orange blossom floral and herbal base, over which lemons and lavender glisten away. Undoubtedly pleasant, but a little too conservative for my tastes.

    28 December, 2011

    Jack Hunter's avatar
    Jack Hunter
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A nice neroli orange blossom fragrance that is perfect for that out of the shower into the Summer sun feeling.

    It does have a soapy vibe and is a tad boring if worn to much but it does have a good opening and a aromatic charm to its character.

    20th October, 2011

    cello's avatar
    cello
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The opening is a blast of neroli and it's diluted honey effect. I do get the faintest of rose in this scent, and it is a green edged, new bud rose, but this never overwhelms the neroli. This is fresh, soapy and full of orange blossom. And true to Penhaligon's usual construction, the notes are clear and concise.

    It does not last long, but for it's purpose and for this type of fragrance, it is a fault that I can overlook. After all, you can only feel freshly showered for so long, until, well, you are not.

    01st October, 2011

    alfarom's avatar
    alfarom
    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A "no surprise" eau de cologne. A blast of neroli/orange blossom in the opening joined by a subtle rose note and some floral patterns. Musk does a remarkable part during the drydown. Simple and somehow rich of clichè. I'm not the biggest fan of this type of fragrances, but my preference would go for other (legendary) compositions in the same genere. However, if you're into ADP and the likes, you may like Castile (assuming you don't get easily annoyed by a strong soapy vibe). Not for me.

    07 August, 2011

    Redbeard's avatar
    Redbeard
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I shouldn't really like this. It's a summery, soapy floral lemon to start with, like a mixture of Acqua di Parma and a good eau de cologne such as Extra Vieille. Maybe it's missing the rose in former, or the saltier herbs in the latter, but either way it just feels better balanced to me. Sniffing closer after a few minutes, it's a bit darker and greener with a wet, rich grassiness, but still somehow light and crisp; a combination seen in some of the better Gendarme scents such as Green. In the end, unfortunately, little is left beyond a well-groomed florid soap aura.

    Generally I'm very harsh in my judgments of Pen's scents because many have a common theme that seems too "perfumey" and feminine to me...Castile almost should as well, with such extensive floral notes, but I think it avoids that by its crispness, and ends up somehow unisex in a well-put-together way. Be prepared for the drop-off in strength later on, but I'd say that's forgiveable in this scent family.

    23 January, 2011

    Force of One's avatar
    Force of One
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I agree with others that the opening is very nice - but it just doesn't last long. It stays pleasant throughout, but hotel soap is "pleasant" enough. Clean, non-offensive, yet unspectacular

    31st December, 2010

    manicboy's avatar
    manicboy
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    One of the best openings going. A aromatic blast of Neroli that feels like finally a perfumer has bottled spring. Rose slowly unfurls its petals and joins the Neroli in a dance in the garden. True to its EdC nature, the drydown is short-lived and weak. Faints musks try to anchor this baby, but I find the anchor missing on most days. Still, buy this for the first hour and you won't be sorry.

    04 December, 2010

    irfan's avatar
    irfan
    Malaysia Malaysia

    Show all reviews

    rating


     


    Seriously, this has got the best opening one can find in a citrus based cologne. It's just gorgeous and definitely love at first smell. Very wearable and yet distinctive at the same time. Two thumbs up.

    13 July, 2010

    MOONB's avatar
    MOONB
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    As much as I'd like to give Castile a positive review, I just can't get past its vivid impression of truck-stop restroom soap. Nice bottle, though.

    25 June, 2010

    pcrisp's avatar
    pcrisp
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Well, to me it is fresh, sporty, and somewhat aquatic? I've got a very untrained nose for sure, but this is really good stuff. I can see where people might want to say that it is a bit barbershop like, maybe even "fresh out of the shower", either way it smells super classy and enjoyable. Several people mention the rose smell. I can sense a little bit of rose, but on a really fresh and clean side. At the first spray, it's honestly NOT my favorite. Same thing goes for smelling it straight from the bottle. However, within a couple minutes it begins to shine for me. Just now while typing this, my 4 year old son (he has his own cologne, so that he doesn't use all my good stuff) walked up to the computer. He asked "do you have cologne on?" I said yes and asked if he like it and he said "uh huh, it smells GOOD!".

    12 June, 2010

    Bartlebooth's avatar
    Bartlebooth
    Germany Germany

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I find this a rather restrained and reticent when compared to classic Eau de Colognes, but it does possess the spirit of many of the classics in that genre. Penhaligon's have avoided making the opening too potent, and instead have opted to create something that hits the ground running, and give it plenty of stamina. The citrus opening is a noble and dignified presence, and it allows Castile to slip seamlessly into the middle phase without it being a distinct shift or contrived second stage. The tartness is maintained in the fusion of neroli and rose, and this endures to create an accord of austere beauty. The base lacks a little potency and direction, and it does tail off a little prematurely. Generally, I found the longevity to be adequate, and the projection appropriate for a fragrance of this type. This is in no way ground breaking stuff, but it is awfully good.

    17 December, 2009

    rp123's avatar
    rp123


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Tried this today. Call me a philistine, but all I'm getting is a soapy mess. Bland and unattractive. Not for me....

    24 August, 2009

    loveless's avatar
    loveless
    Taiwan Taiwan

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Castile is a natural and graceful scent. What i love the most is its opening -- the neroli is so vivid and clear, it's gorgeous. And later on it changes into a soft blend of florals and musk. It is nice and wonderfully-done, however I feel it is too floral-sweet (I prefer bitter neroli) and tender for my taste. Was surprised to see Penhaligon's marketed it towards men rather than women.

    Nevertheless, very classy and elegant. Like a soft dream. Suitable for graceful people... like how it is meant for those living inside old Spanish castles, i think.

    07 May, 2009

    Uppercut's avatar
    Uppercut
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Love at first smell. This frag is one of those once-in-a-couple-years scents that makes you pause like Indiana Jones did when he laid eyes on the golden idol statue in the cave. Oft compared to AdP Colonia (and its Assoluta sibling), this frag is even better, which is saying something since I absolutely love the AdP colognes and have worn them religiously for years.

    On my skin, this frag has staying power and transforms from a bright neroli opening into a mindblowingly pleasant musk. It's not a white musk or a dirty musk - its a refined and comforting, distinctive musk. But it is NOT musky. It is the kind of scent that makes you want to nestle your head and stuff your nose into your own neck. . . oh. to be a flamingo and be able to do such things!

    In addition to AdP Colonia's opening, the drydown actually reminds me of Dunhill Man (tonka bean 2004 frag) - not necessarily in scent, but in the emotion it gives - comfort, soothing, distinction.

    From opening through drydown this is both sophisticatedly noble and classy, yet liberating and invigorating. You're not the Crown Prince, with the weight of history and your country's future on your shoulders. Rather, you're his youngest sibling. All the aristocracy of your older sibling, but none of his responsibility. Go play, Young Man1 Fly planes and drive roadsters with one hand on the wheel and the other holding a flask! Ride horses without a saddle, holding onto nothing but the beast's man!!. Date whoever you want and then tell them "mother would never approve" when you inevitably get bored of their lack of complexity.

    You're a lucky SOB and you know it. You couldn't have it any better.Castiiiiiiile!

    08 April, 2009

    bokaba's avatar
    bokaba
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a great musky floral though it ventures into laundry detergent musk territory. The opening is brilliant citrus and neroli followed by petitgrain and rose then by musk and a light wood. Castile borders closely on being too feminine to be a masculine scent, if I were Penhaligons, I would have marked it unisex, but since most Penhaligons customers are men, this makes sense I suppose. Anyway, I find Castile similar to Chanel's new Eau de Cologne except Castile is cleaner and crisper. As nice as the soap after which it is so aptly named. Buy a bottle if you can find one--this is one of Penhaligons best so far.

    02 March, 2009 (Last Edited: 22 November, 2009)

    Kakihara's avatar
    Kakihara
    Spain Spain

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a neroli I can enjoy, tempered with a touch of rose, and a musk base. A quility smell. Charming, and not too sweet. Very natural, casual but elegant. If you like masculine florals and orange/neroli based fragances, try it!!!

    09 January, 2009

    JonB's avatar
    JonB
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Let me draw on some of the descriptions is previous reviews. Classy and beautiful. Intense, vivid and colorful. A bit of a barbershop vibe going on here, but an extremely classy barbershop it is. Is there a more refreshing opening in any other fragrance?

    19 November, 2008

    Oaksbluff's avatar
    Oaksbluff
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A wonderful neroli offering, and I completely agree that it is also somewhat reminiscent of Aqua di Parma Colonia. Very streamlined in its blend, other notes sluiced together to make a very classy and clean fragrance.
    Longevity is not bad, I'd say the neroli top notes last between one hour and two on me, upon which time a light musky wood base carries the scent to completion.
    Overall, worth every penny, and if it ever leaves my top ten, it is only whim and circumstance which keeps it away for long.

    21st September, 2008

    Mario Justiniani's avatar
    Mario Justiniani
    Cuba Cuba

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    O, the pity of it!
    It does starts out with a wonderfully enchanting accord of high grade neroli which is both masculine and understated.
    Hey, this is made a by one of the old-fashioned Brit houses, so you can bet your tweeds and your pipe it's going to be understated, you Platinum Egoiste mod freaks, so there!

    But then the musk notes kick in and unless you're caught in a rainstorm in London or better still, in an Arctic expedition, the heat transforms the whole thing into something rather vile and violent. The notes start fighting each other rather than harmonizing and---well, suffice it to say I'd rather wear Kouros. Honestly, It would smell far better in the heat than Castile.

    15 September, 2008 (Last Edited: 23 December, 2011)

    mrclmind's avatar
    mrclmind
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I wear several scents which are classified as feminine, namely Y, Bandit, Cuir de Russie (Chanel), and "Tabac Blonde;" yet for a so-called masculine scent, Castille smells too much of a feminine floral on my skin for me to enjoy it. It also smells to my nose somewhat synthetic and tends to give me a headache. Sorry, but this one may be well made and all, but I just can't bring myself to like it as much as I have tried.

    18 August, 2008

    Kaern's avatar
    Kaern
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Sharp as a knife citrus opening that is very ADP, but better and quite beautiful. It then brings in some floral notes quite quickly and that's it. It then remains very linear for the duration. No problems with longevity or sillage. If you like the opening 5-10 minutes--buy it, as you won't find a better rendition.

    23 July, 2008

    SirSlarty's avatar
    SirSlarty
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Smells like roses! Then something else, like a musk. Then more roses! It's really neroli no wait it's citrus rose. Wow! Interesting. Very classy and beautiful.

    29 May, 2008

    heythatslife's avatar
    heythatslife
    South Korea South Korea

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Well, hirsch_duckfinder said just about everything I was going to say.

    Simple (I could pick off all the five notes that are supposed to be there, even with my unsophisticated nose) but elegant and classy. It combines the freshness of a good eau de cologne with longevity and sillage. Kind of similar to AdP Colonia, I think, but more intense, vivid and colorful.

    01st May, 2008

    HDS1963's avatar
    HDS1963
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    OMG, I cannot believe what some of the reviews here have said.

    This is a spectacular fragrance. The neroli opening is a magnificent opening to an orange blossom heart. Quite simply this is a lovely floral yet curiously masculine scent.

    This is like many great masculine scents, effortlessly so. This projects the levels of refinement you would expect of Heritage yet with a much fresher, livelier feel. It is what Chanel Monsieur would aspire to. This is a fresh citrussy (but not lemony) fragrance that has both longevity and sillage for a long time.

    I disagree also that there are no crisp notes here, yes there are! (Although I accept that is going to depend on skin type.)

    Creed lovers should take time out to consider this. It is a classic, elegant, fresh and articulate fragrance that any man who considers himself knowledgeable about fragrance should have as a de rigeur purchase.

    This is the purchase that the real man should consider when faced with a choice between Blenheim Bouquet and Endymion. I would buy this every time. It carries more class, more elegance and more savoir faire than either of them.

    Highly rated? You bet!

    08 April, 2008

    hirch_duckfinder's avatar
    hirch_duckfinder
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This immediately reminds me of a classic Eau, particularly Villoresi colonia. All the notes are somewhat detectable right from the start but the balance changes as it develops. It starts with lovely limey citrus like a high quality edc, light but very present neroli with the dark, heavy aspects chopped out maybe mingled with a light rose. While never overbearing, the neroli retains some indolic qualities. This sits with a clear and very excellent bergamot note which reminds me of the divine one in Patou pour Homme. Finally a very pleasant musk, with the sharp points smoothed off .The musk-neroli blend is absolutely outstanding, warm with soft spikes like a hedgehog polished by a disc sander.

    Beautifully blended and balanced this is an outstanding fragrance.

    07 April, 2008 (Last Edited: 08 April, 2008)

    Showing 1 to 30 of 46.