Reviews of Castile by Penhaligon's

    Find out more about Castile by Penhaligon's in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 31 to 46 of 46.
    primetime34's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I didn't catch the rose notes at all...to me it simply smelled like soap. Not cheap soap mind you, but still soap nonetheless. Clean and fresh best describes this fragrance.

    16th January, 2008

    JackTwist's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Absolutely superb - the best neroli I've encountered (including my former favorite Floris #127). It is a superb balance of neroli, rose, clove and bergamot - sweet floral yet masculine and sophisticated as well. This has to be experienced to be bellieved. Highly recommended.

    5 notes:

    Top: Neroli, Petitgrain
    Middle: Bergamot, Neroli, Rose
    Base: Musk

    11th January, 2008 (Last Edited: 13th July, 2011)

    tvlampboy's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A rose heavy (but not rose dominant) frag for those who generally hate rose heavy frags. No, the emphasis here is a clean and fresh neroli that bursts out of the bottle and puts a smile on your face. This is sunny Spain, soft and warm and romantic -- don't go in expecting Catholic gloom and doom in the Escorial.

    n.b.: This one wears very close to the skin and produces relatively low sillage; furthermore, its longevity is lower than that of other Penhaligons frags. Still, a big thumbs up for classic, balanced composition.

    11th January, 2008

    the_good_life's avatar

    Germany Germany

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Boring? Just because there's Schoenberg or John Zorn, does that make Mozart or Benny Goodman boring? Perfume should not just be measured by our consumer society's hysterical demands for relentless innovation and ever greater excess (required apparently to pierce through its proportionally increasing jaded numbness), but by an appreciation of craft and beauty proud of linking up to traditions worthy of preservation. This is one of the handful of fragrances presented in 1998 that embodies quality and impeccable craftsmanship and the result is absolutely beautiful. Scentemental, foetidus and others have given excellent accounts that require no addition, merely a footnote: it's not all that close to Cologne Sologne, which is de Nicolai's take on the classic Eau de Cologne recipe (bergamot-citrus-neroli-rosemary-restrained wood). Here, it is indeed the perfect harmony of neroli and rose that stands at the center of attention, making this a neroli variant of Acqua di Parma (where the rose intertwines with agrumes). This is not a scent for hard partying or steamy sex, it is a proposition for gentlemen who can also appreciate the quieter subtleties of life. If you prefer a frail pinot noir to oak- drenched CabSauv, this might be a scent for you.

    01st August, 2007

    coolnose's avatar

    Morocco Morocco

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Beautiful neroli opening. Refreshing, vibrant and natural smelling. Like lying under a tree on the Costa de Azahar.

    17th June, 2007

    odysseusm's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Penhaligon’s Castile is an incredibly beautiful, truly lovely scent. It is a bouquet of blossoms (orange, rose): floral but not excessively sweet. There is a high degree of rose here, somewhat unusual in a man’s fragrance. This is rich and verges on luxury, but remains balanced and is even ‘restrained’ compared to the opulent Hammam Bouquet. No crisp notes here, all is soft and lovely. Woody musky notes emerge and the drydown is very satisfying. I would not call this a compelling scent, but it is very enjoyable.

    07th May, 2007

    mikeperez23's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Agree with the reviews that mention that the rose notes almost seem folded into the 'cologne' scents of Castile - kind of like a mild afterthought. I didn't detect the nose until after the more crisp aromas had faded and when it made its appearance, it was welcomed.

    It smells like a light fresh summer scent that I'd recommend to a newbie, however one that I'd feel more comfortable being dressed a little more formal.

    This scent is just too classy smelling for flip flops and wrinkled clothes.

    31st March, 2007

    FragranceFan255's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Smells to me like Versace's The Dreamer touched with citrus. I believe I prefer this to Dreamer though. The citrus touch doesn't make a big difference but just enough.

    16th August, 2006

    foetidus's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Opens with an excellent neroli accord—a charming feeling to it—wistful, clean, and comforting. In the mid notes, the citruses turn lighter and balance the rose which is darkening and deepening the fragrance, bringing the necessary tension that is demanded of an excellent fragrance. There’s a point in this tension when the accord—the orange blossom and the rose—is an almost overwhelmingly beautiful olfactory experience. The woods and musk dry down is a major disappointment because of its lack of projection and longevity but the citruses and rose on top earn a thumb’s up for this fragrance.

    25th May, 2006

    woodbane's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I also purchased this blind and my reaction upon first smelling it was "Oh c**p! This is waaaaaaaay too flowery for me". However, I thought I'd give it the benefit of the doubt and now I'm starting to change my opinion. My nose really picks up on the rose in this scent and I'm not a huge fan of rose. However, after the initial strong blast, it really dries down to a much lighter, sweeter odor which is the orange & neroli. It's a little on the perfumy side but has a strange quality that seems to make it a perfectly acceptable men's cologne, most probably the base notes of wood and musk, although IMO these are very muted. Still, an interesting fragrance and one I would recommend those willing to try something a little different.

    05th May, 2006

    MonkeyManMatt's avatar

    Sweden Sweden

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A very straightforward neroli/rose combo that is perfectly unisex IMO. A bit linear and one-dimensional but nevertheless great for refreshing summer usage. Great flacon like always from this house.

    21st April, 2006

    scentemental's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A fine, fresh, and true neroli fragrance in which the neroli note is not cloying nor sickly-sweet dominant as it can be in many neroli-based scents. It has the freshness and lightness of orange flower water, which is one of its middle-note ingredients. The other middle note, rose, makes its appearance very quickly into the drydown but remains muted and is integrated well with the predominant neroli accord, which, interestingly enough, once the top notes have dissipated, begins to smell sweet like orange blossom honey. The base notes of Woods and Musk remain very muted as the top and middle notes work themselves out well into the drydown. The heavy bloom in May, white-blossom brides among the fragrant groves warmed by a honeyed light.

    29th January, 2006

    n8nmc's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Castile is a very nice and well made fragrance. I think the success/failure of Castile with your personality type is huge here. Castile IMO teters on being exclusively feminine. The house of Penhaligon has not let me down yet with a truly impressive smelling scent. But i think this scent is more geared toward a woman. Again i place this as neutral because it is not to my liking, but well made nonetheless.

    29th August, 2005

    dandush's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The best men's perfume I've ever come across, no doubt. I own several of Penhaligon's scents, all of which are good. However, this one is the top of the crop. It's the smell of cleanliness, intoxicating citrus blossom at first. The drydown leaves a more sophisticated touch of exquisite neroli. I wish more people wore this perfume instead of the foul chemical scents that get so much attention and hype. It's a unique triumph that has no parallel.

    08th August, 2005 (Last Edited: 09th August, 2005)

    OCP's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I bought Castile blind and I am glad I did. It starts with a little citrus, but not too much and then goes into the Orange flower and Rose that is to die for. Not too much, but enough catch a wiff every now and then. The Rose.Orange flower stays as the Woods and musk emerge on the final dry down. This is a fantastic scent and a MUST own for me.

    16th January, 2005

    jimzcali's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I recently just purchased this and my first initial reaction was "Acqua Di Parma" but after letting it cool down abit, it seems as though i just stepped out of the shower, smelling clean and refreshed. My girlfriend truly loves this scent, she says that it reminds her of a babies clean soft skin. Although I'll admit the staying power isn't much to brag about, but it's truly worth a great scent even if it only lasts about 2 hours.

    27th July, 2003

    Showing 31 to 46 of 46.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000