Reviews of Rochas Man by Rochas

    Find out more about Rochas Man by Rochas in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 30 of 140.
    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Genre: Woody Oriental

    Rochas Man is one of the several popular gourmand woody orientals that followed A*Men’s lead in providing extreme alternatives to the aquatics and Cool Water clones that comprised the bulk of 1990s male perfumery. A prominent and persistent licorice note aligns Rochas Man especially closely with Lolita Lempicka au Masculin and Body Kouros, not to mention the original Lolita Lempicka, all three composed in close succession by Annick Menardo. Rochas Man represents Maurice Roucel’s take on Menardo’s basic formula, and for the most part sticks close to the model.

    No one could accuse any of these scents of subtlety, but Rochas Man is possibly a touch less loud and sweet than the others, and it shares with Body Kouros and Lolita Lempicka a degree of balance – imparted I suspect by astringent herbaceous notes – conspicuously lacking in au Masculin. As other reviewers have implied, it actually benefits from being slightly less complex and dense with olfactory detail than its peers. I might even go so far as to argue that Rochas Man is best defined by what it lacks: the strident patchouli of A*Men, or the shrieking horror woody amber drydown of Lolita Lempicka au Masculin. I’m not normally one to enjoy the more neutral outings in a given fragrance class, but in a genre virtually defined by excess, Rochas Man pleases more than most. Were I choosing a scent of this sort, Rochas Man would stand beside the original Lolita Lempicka and Body Kouros as an acceptable alternative.

    25 June, 2014

    LoveCologne89's avatar

    Australia Australia

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This cologne has high ratings and reviews for a solid reason and that may be the lavender itself! Almost a cherry like smell when first applied but as a man who loves to wear a fragrance for his own personal joy the best thigh you can receive out of any scents you own is compliments. And if it's the opposite sex that's making those remarks I think it' adds to the fragrance itself.

    21st March, 2014 (Last Edited: 22 March, 2014)

    Sybaris's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Recieved a sample of this and glad I only got a sample.

    The opening was great, warm and fruity and then after the drydown it closely resembled something else I had tried recently....... CK Shock...............or rather CK Shock resembles Rochas Man because Shock was born about 12 years after Man. Regardless, the lavender comes on too strong for me and I've never been a big fan of that note.

    21st February, 2014

    Zgb's avatar

    Croatia Croatia

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Eroticism in the bottle

    I'm lucky. I'm lucky to own it and then I'm lucky that I don't have any issues with longevity or projection with it as it lasts for 8+ hours easily on me. I love it from the first moment, the first spray. It was a blind buy btw. There is a connection with Givenchy Play Intense which is stronger, sharper but somewhat more bitter. Rochas Man is more sensible, sensual and more refined. It's a real shame this fragrance is not widely available, at least not in Croatia. This is a scent of eroticism and seduction and yet again masculinity, maturity, care and responsibility for self and others around - do not be fooled by the shape of the bottle and the colour of the box. This scent was made in 1999. but it's ahead of its time, made for the future just like Le Male was or Armani Code even. A superb creation indeed.

    Originality 10/10

    Fragrance 10/10

    Longevity 08/10

    Projection 07/10

    Pros: Original, gourmand, erotic, masculine, smooth, seductive, refined, longevity
    Cons: a bit synthetic if you really want to look for it, projection"

    18 October, 2013

    chopwet's avatar

    Switzerland Switzerland

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A too-sweet one trick pony that is better for those who love ponies.

    This is a failure of a fragrance. It is very sweet, much too sweet for a grown man to wear and that is why it fails. If it was called Rochas Boy or Rochas WoMan then it might be closer to giving you a real idea of what kind of ride is in store for you. Calling it Rochas Man is laughable. As it is, as a man's fragrance, I cannot endorse it. I don't usually slate fragrances but this is honestly nauseating.

    Many people describe a mocha note. I several ristrettos everyday, I know what coffee smells like. Rochas Man does not smell anything like it. I get the lavender but it's not well done in the way Caron Pour un Homme does it. I get a bit of vanilla but it's the of the worst sort: highly artificial just like the lavender.

    Overall it's very artificial in feeling and just too sweet, I always imagine candy floss sweetness in terms of its smell but without any of the delicious burnt sugar.

    Definitely better on women.

    Pros: Interesting bottle, that's about it really.
    Cons: Far too sweet, far too artificial smelling."

    09 September, 2013

    RichNTacoma's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Review of Rochas Man by RichNTacoma

    Very, very sweet at first. I get the cotton candy notes, as well as the lavender. These fight to keep the gourmand notes, coffee and cocoa, or perhaps even a cafe mocha, at bay. This is especially true if you spay at all on your shirt; avoid this mistake. It stays too sweet and coying on fabric. On skin only, it takes a half an hour for the sweetness to give way to a bit more complexity and subtleness. The projection of the gourmand notes is not great, and once the sweetness fades, it becomes a skin scent unless you spray a good deal, and in which case I find it overwhelming.

    I bought this blind to have a gourmand in my collection, and for 23 dollars for a 50ml bottle, I am glad I did. This is not a signature scent or a daily wear, and again, keep it to the skin!

    23 August, 2013

    Gary F's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A Guilty Pleasure

    This is one of those sweet fragrances that men in their late 40's are not supposed to like, but I'll wear what I darn well please! The fact that the sweetness is so beautifully balanced with lavender lends it more of an air of sophistication. Sadly, I need to reapply this periodically throughout the day, but as inexpensive as it is and as much as I love it, I don't really mind.

    Pros: Sweet without being cloying
    Cons: Poor longevity on my skin

    20th June, 2013

    noirdrakkar's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Rochas Man by Rochas

    This is a creative and original fragrance at an affordable price, however, I personally don't like it and wouldn't recommend it to people. Just because this fragrance has a high approval rating doesn't mean it is for everybody.

    My problem with this fragrance is not that it is sweet, or that it has gourmand elements or that it is borderline feminine. I love gourmands. My problem with this fragrance is that it is extremely synthetic, and the gourmand elements of it are dominated by fake nauseating leafy and woody notes that completely take away the focus.

    Yes, this has been compared to New Haarlem, and while they are similar, New Haarlem is exponentially better in terms of note quality (as well as performance) and the fact that it is a richer more dedicated gourmand, and in my opinion, it is well worth the price difference.

    Despite Rochas Man and New Haarlem being similar, New Haarlem is one of my all time favorites whereas Rochas Man is a bit unpleasant for me. And most fragrances are likeable but not for me, though Rochas Man is actually not pleasant for me.

    29 May, 2013

    comfortablynumbbg's avatar

    Bulgaria Bulgaria

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Not powerful enough. Smells very nice, but gourmands are meant to be worn in colder weather and this just doesn't last in colder weather and wears way too close to the skin.

    12 May, 2013

    Darvant's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     


    The sadly discontinued Rochas Man has been an "olfactory sensation" for years, a really argumentative fragrance (for some people a genial experiment for others an hazarded failure) and surely one of the better received (by the market) Maurice Roucel's creations together with Helmut Lang Cologne and Musc Ravageur. This fragrance plays for sure a game of contrasts, being at once herbal/aromatic and gourmandish, sweet and salty/( vaguely ozonic type), initially fresh and finally enveloping in a warmer (but never cloying or soffocating) way. The beginning is intoxicating in a fresh, citrusy and aromatic way, a burst of lavender (the element that urged many to reclaim the presumptive A* Men inspiration to Rochas Man), bergamot and herbs. As soon as (in a short while) the soothing elements (balmy, moderately sweet and smooth) keep to rise up from the base (with a weird rubbery/"caffeinated"/musky kind of vibe balancing the ambery vanillic sweetness), a sort of central salty/peppery touch juxtaposes its substance in the general artistic struggle of opposites. The dry down (with its sweet/opaque sort of smell conjuring to some the cappuccino aroma) is musky and balmy and suave, kind of milky/boise with undertones of "untoasted" dark coffee, saltiness, musk, tenacious lavender and may be dry fruits or berries. The ambery final presence is prickly and masculine with its sort of dusty/incensey penetrating virility. An unconventional and pioneering oriental that, despite does not embody my ideal olfactory solution, stands out for its versatile and appealing power.

    09 April, 2013

    AHS's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This was a blind buy after reading reviews, as i was looking for a new gourmand fragrance to wear casually.

    At first it came off abit feminine and the top is super sweet. However, after about 2 mins of this settling after being sprayed, it turns into a amazing moca, vanilla, strawberry shortcake type sent with chocolate in the drydown. Amazing...

    I wear this to school and casuaully and it smells really nice!

    Thumbs up all the way.

    25 March, 2013

    leto's avatar

    Turkey Turkey

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Been the reference cappuccino smell for years, this is a good one. The blast of semi-sweet notes matured by a cleverly added lavender note shows Roucel's art. It's become so popular that you can find the sell even in wet-wipes. I like the fragrance but it is so over-used, cloned and replicated by cheap synthetics.

    06 December, 2012

    sjg3839's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Very sweet, light vanilla scent which is pretty good. The Lavendar comes right at you on the initial spray and the bergamont suppresses the lavendar for a nice top note. The basenotes are a light (kind of synthetic) vanilla which makes this a pretty good frag. Reminds me a lot of Givenchy PI. PI is done a little better with the vanilla though.

    13 November, 2012

    The daddy's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Love it. I have tried and tried to get into a*men. The burnt rubber note is just too strong and it takes 3 to 4 hours for the initial blast to calm down and smell nice. When it does settle down it becomes quite nice but nothing compared to rochas man.

    This stuff is great. As everyone else has said it their reviews - it's a warm caramel, coffee sweet smell with a strong masculine vanilla note. Try this if you find a*man too offensive.

    Completely inoffensive and universally loved. A keeper.

    02 November, 2012

    's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Delicious scent. Very well blended, much more softer than New Harlem and not sweet as Play Intense. Goergous drydown and average lasting power, with soft projection. Brilliant.

    30th October, 2012

    Francolino's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    the grand pa of A*Man ,thought it was better, yes cotton candy bottled!

    26 October, 2012 (Last Edited: 27 October, 2012)

    RickS1169's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    not a bad gourmand. extremely sweet. not a ton of projection, decent longevity, cheap. it is synthetic, so be careful with it. overall a good fragrance for the $25 price tag.

    08 October, 2012 (Last Edited: 14 March, 2013)

    abethouin's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I enjoy rochas, one of my more complimented colognes. Smells like cotton candy. stay away if you don't enjoy sweet scents. Lasts fairly well and projects decently. a solid fall/winter scent. Pretty versatile, won't choke anyone out with it.

    08 October, 2012

    calilove's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    the opening is just a blast of lavender with hints of vanilla an if you smell carefully mocha. i absolutely love this fragrance. a compliment monster. something i love to wear when out with a women its not a masculine fragrance but if your comfortable with yourself you should have no problem wearing this now the only reason i give this a neutral is because when i smell when i really smell and and try to separate the notes i get a whiff of burnt coffee and sugar aside of that amazing stuff

    25 August, 2012 (Last Edited: 10th September, 2012)

    DrAdotP's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Rochas Man...in my opinion....is burned sugar syrup that was accidentally placed under an coffee machine for a split second.

    I think younger generations (<18 yo) will love this because of the sweetness...but for a Maurice Roucel creation, I cannot find the quality in this.

    Roucel makes beautiful fragrances of the highest standards and qualities. Rochas Man is what Roucel made when he was drunk.

    Not bashing the fragrance because it's not one my favorite perfumeur's best works, but because this is a linear scent of sugar with no evolution or dry down.

    On a man? Oh god, I doubt any woman wants me to smell like this unless she's blind and lives in a gingerbread house and wants to cook me.

    On a woman however...I think it's much more apt and could be appealing.

    If a man were to buy this, i would STRONGLY reconsider for there are much better sweeter scents out there. If price is an issue then go for it absolutely, but I would rather pay the money for a decant of a more expensive sweet oriental than buy a full bottle of this stuff.


    4/10

    02 March, 2012

    OBNJ's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Bought about 30 ml or so from a local fragrance store for $15, overall l think it was money well spent. This is a terrific scent. I love the warm chocolate aroma and my wife is absolutely bananas about it. My only disappointment is the lack of projection.

    18 February, 2012

    shoguns2480's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Smells way too young and feminine and that's coming from a guy that loves the Iris "make-up" note in DHI!

    10th February, 2012

    del's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Rochas Man is a true definition of Suave.

    The strong floral opening is an attention-grabber, and will definitely pique your interest. It is inoffensive after 6 sprays (2 chest, 2 neck, 1 back, 1/2 for each wrist) on a winter afternoon; the projection is average, but I like it that way as I don't want people complaining about my scent; the longevity is great -- I can still smell it 7 hours after my first application. I detect a chocolate scent somewhere between 2nd and 3rd hour and the sweet, vanilla scent on the dry down is just nice and comforting.

    With the right application, this can be worn at work or at school, even at church where proximity to other people is close.

    Can't wait to get the full 100 mL bottle.

    03 January, 2012

    Oproust's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Rochas Man, the woody oriental creation of Maurice Roucel, is a delicious gourmand that starts with a strong lavender note accompanied by green leaves and citrus. The lavender is long lasting until the coffee, vanilla and amber mid notes emerge, forming an oh so smooth and silky accord that tells you you've landed firmly in gourmand land. The mid notes also include a smattering of floral notes and a surprising milky accord. Rochas Man is basically a lavender, chocolate and vanillla fragrance. It is not dark coffee bitter like its fraternal twin New Haarlem, also of Roucel's making. Rochas Man is one of the better gourmands available and is relatively inexpensive. I find it to be a comforting scent, perfect to spray on after a long day at the office or after your favorite football team gets trounced by a lesser opponent. I enjoy gourmand fragrances and Rochas Man is near the top of my list. It really isn't prone to being trounced by its opponents, related or otherwise.

    10th December, 2011 (Last Edited: 20th December, 2011)

    dollars&scents's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Rochas Man by Rochas - In its opening, a pleasing lavender and bergamot arouse the senses. From afar, a sweet and creamy vanilla bobs eagerly. Thankfully, the lavender remains throughout the composition to rein in the sweetness. The tantalizing vanilla does intrude on that grassy lavender, and brings its sugary sweetness to the fore, steering it to its heart. The middle beckons, stewing with its coffee, semi-sweet chocolate, cedar, and rasberry notes, as well as some, lovely jasmine and lily-of-the-valley accords. The sweet vanilla blends nicely with the heart, creating a delicious mocha cafe, with hints of wood and floral twinkling. The smooth base with its amber, sandalwood, and glimpses of patchouli, usurps the melange, softening it, and evolves into its enticing drydown. It's a well-constructed gourmand. This delightful fragrance's longevity is good; and its projection is average for the first 3 hours, then sticks to the skin.

    20th November, 2011

    mrblah's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I love this gourmand scent.

    Rochas Man smells like hot chocolate or mocha/vanilla latte with a floral opening, but the projection and sillage is not as intense as Amen. Its very discrete, which I tend to prefer. I could wear this everyday in a office environment, on a date, or just hanging out. You can wear it in hot/cold environments. Also, did I mention that this is probably the least expensive gourmand frags out there.

    .

    01st November, 2011

    FISS80's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This scent is a godsend for gourmand lovers on a budget. You cannot beat the quality of the product in comparison to the price. The opening is very sweet. Dry Cotton candy with a hint of coffee, chocolate, and vanilla. Projection is moderate which is welcomed for a night with a special someone cuddling at home or going out to a movie. Warm, sweet, and cozy. I could also see a confident woman wearing this fragrance.

    29 October, 2011

    Vitamin B Complex's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This fragrance is the smoothest, most pleasant scent I have when it comes to the opening 5 minutes.

    It's a beautiful smell, it really is. And the price is good too. The longevity can vary, I've had 4 hours before, I've had 12 hours before. One time it even lasted overnight on my hand. The more I've worn it the longer it lasts on my skin.

    Projection isn't a beast, but that's fine, it's not meant to be. This is the perfect scent for cuddling with someone.

    Unfortunately I am single.

    26 September, 2011 (Last Edited: 28 September, 2011)

    Roper-Hall's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This classic is elegance in a bottle. It not only will add a new dimension to your comportment while you wear it, but also will demand a new level of attention from those around you. This chef d'oeuvre of fragrance is what will complete you, like the Jag on your Jaguar, and the sparkle in your eye. This is not about the notes and accords, its about the complete package, and why we choose to wear enhancements at all.

    22 September, 2011

    BrianFantana's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Rochas Man kind of sneaks up on me as a very sugary cotton candy scent at first. I don't really get the coffee/mocha hint until about an hour into this one. Smooth and sweet pretty much define this one. As for me I am very picky when it comes to sweet fragrances. If it is too sweet then it makes me want to vomit. The key with sweetness IMO is balance, and I feel like this is well blended and balanced enough to appeal to the masses. Longevity and projection are not the greatest, which leads me to believe that this one is better suited for date nights where there will be plenty of cuddling and smooching going on. I did blind buy this one and was not disappointed. However, if you are unsure whether or not sweet fragrances are for you then sample it first.

    Longevity: 7 The most I got out of this was 7 hours.
    Projection: 6 A close contact date night scent.
    Compliments: 9 This fragrance is well received by a variety of women.
    Smell: 9 I wish this one would project more and last longer on me because I love the smell.

    Overall: 7.8 out of 10

    04 September, 2011

    Showing 1 to 30 of 140.