Positive Reviews of Arden Men - Sandalwood by Elizabeth Arden

    Find out more about Arden Men - Sandalwood by Elizabeth Arden in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 12 of 12. (Show all reviews)
    Andrewthecologneguy's avatar

    Nigeria Nigeria

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    It's OK

    I bought this looking to explore sandalwood as a single note. Unfortunately, this is as related to sandalwood as fettuccine alfredo is to Italy. What you get instead is a pretty standard fare, generic old school edc. It's light, barbershop opening, then a simple woods and spice combo that relies on your skin's natural musk to carry it along...which suggests it would be a hit on the right skin, just not mine

    I use my bottle to add that certain old school flair to modern day frags that are too 'today' for their own good. Cool Water Deep plus this is a beauty I find hard to resist.

    Pros: Defines old school, good reference scent
    Cons: Where is the sandalwood?

    30th June, 2013

    Swanky's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Old School to the bone - bone dry, that is. Denizens of the barbershop era of men's colognes: Brut, Aqua Velva, Jade East, et al will recognize the DNA of Arden's sharpish lavender-sandalwood accord. Apart from the hint of lemon, I don't get much more from this than those notes. No problem. It's 1957 and Frank's singing "I'm A Fool To Want You" on the turntable and the fire's roaring away in the fireplace. And Kim Novak's taking your tie off...

    21st March, 2013

    shamu1's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I really like Arden's Sandalwood, and I love sandalwood, but I can't say this will appeal to your average sandalwood fan. That's because the sandalwood in this is not the warm, sweet, milky grade of sandalwood we're all used to. Instead, the sandalwood here is dry and soapy, and it's not until a couple of hours into your wearing this that the sandalwood loses its astringency and starts to develop a semi-creamy texture. The drydown is almost all sandalwood, and it is smooth, but it never becomes sweet. The sandalwood is austere, rather than soothing.

    However, that's not a problem for me. I like this scent because it's a total throwback, old-school fragrance that is representative of its 1950s birth era. For the first hour or two, it has as much lavender as it does sandalwood, and together they create a scent that is at once soapy and powdery. Arden's sandalwood is the antithesis of hip.

    Open minded sandalwood fans would do well to check this out, since it is an atypical presentation of sandalwood. Fans of old-school colognes like English Leather or Kanon, however, are sure to enjoy this.

    MY RATING: 8/10

    09 April, 2012

    Late-Hit's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The newer version opens with a stong cedary lavender, soon becomes a quiet mix of lavander and sandalwood, and then is very soft. However, the older stuff is distinctly sandalwood from begining to end, and without much lavender at all, and the creamy sandalwood is notable in the drydown.

    The new version is OK, but the vintage is really better... at least for someone who appreciates the nuances of natural sandalwood.

    30th October, 2010

    jayjupes's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    this fragrance is aromatherapy more than perfume/cologne

    i've kept three essential oils in my home pretty much all the time for the last 6 years
    lavender, sandalwood, and tea tree

    this smells like lavender, which i only use for acne and do not enjoy especially
    this is not sandalwood so much

    there's a hint of it in there, but it's heavy on lavender
    luckily, it's not the piercing medicinal kind i would associate with a type A elderly nurse
    but it's not sandalwood

    still, it's grown on me and i'm glad i have it as it layers well with musk
    it's simple enough to temper sickly sweet things and soft in its herbish ways and means

    most people would find it pleasing, as do i

    24 February, 2010

    xmen's avatar

    Singapore Singapore

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    If you love sandalwood, and I do, Arden Men should be in your wardrobe. Pretty lenient, this eau do cologne scent has surprisingly strong sillage and longevity. If you want to smell as if you've just stepped out of the barbershop, all clean and lightly powdered, you can't go wrong with a genial classic like Arden Men. I ardently love it.

    06 April, 2009

    AnimaSola's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A wonderful sandalwood fragrance. It is ostensibly masculine and harsh upon first spraying, but its character is tempered by warm woody notes and a soft drydown that make it almost a unisex cologne. An appealing and genial aroma.

    29 September, 2008

    Joe_Frances's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    First of all let me say that this is a fantastic barbershop fragrance! One of the best I have encountered in a long time. Where Antico Caruso and Rive Gauche for men are great Italian and French barbershop smells, this is a great American barbershop scent. It is a stylish classic. Maybe it's a tad dated, but even in allowing that, I mean "dated" in a good way. It's the smell of a well-groomed gent. Yes, it's a little nostalgic, and it would probably appeal most to men over 40, like me. The name is a bit misleading, Sandalwood doesn't really play a leading role for most of the development of AMS. At first there is far more lavender than anything else. Then, a little later, lavender shares the stage with sandalwood, and they do a terrific duet. Then it becomes mostly sandalwood with lavender support, but at that point, 4 to 5 hours after application, the fragrance stays pretty close to the skin. It is by then soft, dry, mellow, straight-forward sandalwood, but it is subltle. It is clean, masculine, and gobs of lovely character. Where some others try, and sometimes suceed,in evoking a classic scent--this is the real McCoy; the iconic scent they are trying to emulate. The makers were out of their minds to discontinue this. All I can say in summation is: if you "get it", and if you can get it, go get it!

    27 October, 2007

    Jon_Remy's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Don't tell me they're discontinuing this?!?! This is the PERFECT fragrance for a man from the 60s. It is almost purely sandalwood (a very popular scent for incense in the 60s). I LOVE this fragrance and am disappointed that they're discontinuing it. With all the woody fragrances around like Gucci PH and YSL's M7, as well as Creed's Tabarome Millesime or even Vintage Tabarome, this fits very nicely within that group. Yes, I'll say it, the sales execs at Elizabeth Arden are STUPID to discontinue this genuine one-of-a-kind fragrance. And the fact that it LASTS is good too. There are too many fragrances nowadays that don't last even 5 minutes. Instead of discontinuing this fragrance, they should try promoting it and re-launching, directing it at those aging baby boomers and older retirees who play golf all day. It is the perfect scent for them! In my opinion, it really smells like a wealthy man's fragrance. So, if anyone from Elizabeth Arden reads this review, PLEASE don't discontinue this quite yet. With the right promo, it could be a BIG seller.

    25 May, 2007

    Cinnamom's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a fragrance that I've always loved to smell on a guy. Interestingly, it always reminded me of a freshly-opened bar of Neutrogena soap . . . not in a 'soapy' way, but that clean, healthy aroma that always made me want to help them hurry up and get a little dirty! I've purchased a bottle recently, but, as with a couple of other discontinued fragrances I've bought, it had that 'off' smell. The nuances are not there. I do wish they'd bring it back. Sigh.

    14 March, 2007

    tvlampboy's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Potent stuff, and definitely NOT for those who eschew heavy doses of lavender. (The opening sprays are akin to cannon fire, not cologne.) But give it time to dry -- PLEASE. This is one scent that will either grow on you (as it has on me) or be put up for swap very soon. (As with A*men and other frags, there seems to be no middle ground on this one.)

    The sandalwood used here is positively bone dry, but the opopanax helps give it more depth in the drydown. The cedar notes may bother some twenty or thirty minutes into the drydown, so be forewarned. (They don't bother me, but I know how many folks are with cedar.)

    A good, solid, old school men's scent all around, but will have its definite detractors in the "Tommy Generation."

    Still fairly available even though discontinued.

    02 November, 2006

    opalsdad's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I first purchased this in the late sixties and had not seen it for many, many years. I recently found it on-line and bought a fairly large bottle. It's like meeting an old friend again. It is a smooth, heavy mixture of lavender and sandalwood and would be ideal - in my mind - for a guy in a tweed jacket. Although discontinued, it can still be obtained at a number of on-line merchants.

    26 November, 2002

    Showing 1 to 12 of 12. (Show all reviews)