Positive Reviews of Sienna by Crabtree & Evelyn

    Find out more about Sienna by Crabtree & Evelyn in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 15 of 15. (Show all reviews)
    swapnil's avatar
    swapnil
    India India

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I found a bottle of eau de carven in my late grandpa's cupboard dated around 50s.
    Sienna reminds me of that... Its really amazing, not necessarily to be called old man's stuff.
    Though I wonder whats " hint of fire "

    04 December, 2013

    Swanky's avatar
    Swanky
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Sienna is viable option for fans of classic masculine structures. To quote another firm's ads, "if you love Halston Z-14 (or Tuscany or Santos), you'll love Sienna." Sienna is of the kitchen-sink school, ladling in spices, leather, patchouli, perhaps some basil. For a substantial bottle the price is quite a bargain and anyone near a mall will probably be able to access it, although there's talk of the line being discontinued.

    29 March, 2013

    Darvant's avatar
    Darvant
    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Crabtree&Evelyn Sienna is an example of what a real masterpiece in the artistic parfumery concretely  means. Sienna, a masterwork of green, spicy, aromatic, woody, boise' subtleness with the traditional english landmark, ending up as a superb leathery-beeswax (i agree with the others) cologne of unbelievable class and refinement.  If you like the powerful and bold new generation ambery-patchouli and oudh scents, well, forget it. Sienna is an archetype of discreet, velvety and straight-forward  english traditional  smell, a finally smooth and balanced aroma, the whiff of a very refined english man that smells at once softly spicy, hesperidic, green and delicately leathery-mossy, soapy and ambery. Lovely packaging.

    31st May, 2012

    HDS1963's avatar
    HDS1963
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Really like this one, will be going FB on it.

    Slightly sweet and spicy leather fragrance which is a ridiculous steal at the price point. I smelled this first and let it dry down before going back to see how much it was.

    It smells much MUCH more expensive than it actually costs and would suit anyone looking for a fairly powerful fragrance which can be worn in formal or smart casual situations very comfortably.

    Recommended.

    27 October, 2010

    shamu1's avatar
    shamu1
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Sienna is a good spicy leather scent, sort of like a less concentrated version of Kiehl's Pour Homme Essence Oil. What makes Sienna unique is the way the leather is treated: in most leather-heavy fragrances, leather has a sort of shiny, mildly oily smell, but in Sienna, the leather is pungent and smells almost like animal hide.

    The only thing I don't like about Sienna is that the notes that give the leather its pungency smell very synthetic, and its syntheticness stands out like a sore thumb for a while. On top of the base leather I smell some bitter, almost harsh, citrus and wood notes, which smell to me like lime and vetiver. I don't find this to be a sweet fragrance at all, but rather a heavy and rough scent.

    Sienna is not smooth at all, but rather is spicy and rough. It is dark and a bit crude, but its crudeness actually appeals to me. It's not a great scent by any means, but sometimes I just want to wear a rough n' ready fragrance that brooks no nonsense. Sienna is one of those fragrances, and I like that.

    MY RATING: 7/10

    02 August, 2010

    Diamondflame's avatar
    Diamondflame
    Singapore Singapore

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I received SIENNA as a gift some years ago. I found it distinctively masculine then, very much in the style of Aramis, with notes of green citrus and spices over leather. While it is not as well-executed as some of the other designer takes on the same genre, it does smell far more expensive than it actually sells for, making this one of the better releases from Crabtree & Evelyn.

    21st December, 2009

    laurent's avatar
    laurent
    Abu Dhabi Abu Dhabi

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A very very nice winter scent

    A peppery warmth with a touch of sweetness

    It is in the league of the Classics - Retro - Vintage scents - so not 2010 that it fits right in !!

    Great life on the skin

    I think this one should be kept secret as we all like something unusual and personal.

    Formal/evening summers only - but a big bold wintery scent

    Thumb thumb thumb ups

    16 October, 2009 (Last Edited: 08 November, 2009)

    bellaviola's avatar
    bellaviola
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I bought it for my husband as an intro to wearing scent everyday. He's not as nose-y as I am, so I thought this would be a nice easy push to get him into fragrance. It's working well. The sweetness blends into his chemistry really well, and the smoky, leathery spices give his macho-ness some refinement. He's getting a lot more attention than usual from women. He likes it. So do I.

    07 May, 2008

    castorpollux's avatar
    castorpollux


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Sienna , is the most leathery of the bunch (of the C&E's men scents), it's got very much the spirit of older times, but whenever i smell it it feels more like a druid's scent (think a celtic druid observance or a rural reunion or practice to an earth god) with lots of herbal and woodsy tones.
    I am not a huge fun of spices as they tend to be either too peppery or sharp on my skin but here the combo is smooth. It's sweet also, (but not too sweet) and that gives it a good twist.
    The drydown is superb. Smells expensive.

    11th June, 2007

    Joe_Frances's avatar
    Joe_Frances
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Sienna by C&E reminds me a more sophisticated, refined Italian cousin of Devin by Aramis. Where Devin is astringent and borderline caustic, this is subtle, herbal and spicy and thankfully not sweet. It is a lighter, more aromatic version of Devin, and for that reason is worthy of attention. It is calm and rich, very wearable and I would not hesitate to buy this, and may yet do so, but I find I am more drawn to the Villoresi fragrances which I feel capture the essence of the Italian ambiance more accurately, at a far more problematic exchange rate however!

    20th February, 2007

    Ken_Russell's avatar
    Ken_Russell
    Romania Romania

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Herbal and spicy opening, addictive, moderately bitter-sweet, almost beeswax- smelling, yet warm, intoxicatingly drydown. Still, overall one of the most classy scents around, especially among those who come at a more affordable cost. Old world luxury promised fulfilled- this is most likely the way truly Sienna or any other powerfull Renaissance city from Italy must have smelled during its economic and cultural heyday, or at least its most respected aristocratic citizens- not concealing luxury with discretion, but overtly and majestically displaying it yet failing to look tasteless or offensive with that. Almost similar to Bois de Portughal and Halston Z-14, tough less multilayered than BDP and with a sweeter and less leathery drydown and far less citrus and its refined acidity too, less spices as in Z-14, much more restrained in its display of fragrance notes. Nevertheless, an outstanding high-profile creation.

    03 December, 2006 (Last Edited: 08 January, 2007)

    tvlampboy's avatar
    tvlampboy
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Very nice -- possibly C&E's best yet. Bakhmet's right, though -- not a summery scent at all.

    08 September, 2006

    MonkeyManMatt's avatar
    MonkeyManMatt
    Sweden Sweden

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Sienna is a herbal, leathery melange that leaves a calorific trail. It sports much more character than it's sibling Sienna. Beautiful presentation like always with Crabtree. The new design can be viewed here: http://store.crabtree-evelyn.com/sie218000.html .
    Spicy, warm juice, but strict as well, ideal under a white shirt and bespoke suit.

    29 September, 2005

    bakhmet's avatar
    bakhmet


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is something of a favourite of mine - something to wear when it is colder out because it is so warm. I've definitely had compliments on this one. Not spicy, but more on the sweet side (but not sickenly sweet like L'eau Issey for men). Actually, smells like a good old bar of soap - clean, not too overpowering. Generally lasts the whole day on me. The packaging has improved (they changed from the splash to the spray a few months ago) and that makes application so much less messy, enables you some control. Should you choose between the aftershave or cologne, I would chose the cologne, it has more staying power.

    19 August, 2005

    John.com's avatar
    John.com
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Very aromatic. If taken to task I'd submit to you that it is somewhat reminiscent of Giorgio for Men. This is strictly from memory of a passing sniff 6 months ago. I may even return to their outlet someday and purchase.

    07 January, 2003

    Showing 1 to 15 of 15. (Show all reviews)