Reviews of Oyédo by Diptyque

    Find out more about Oyédo by Diptyque in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 31 to 44 of 44.
    the_good_life's avatar

    Germany Germany

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Detergent people are always thinking of something new to consume, however pointless it may be. Say, cotton candy scented fabric softener. "Yeah, great idea, let’s make a sticky-sweet-synthetic-citrus-fresh fabric softener. But guess what, we'll test-market it as a niche fragrance." This was designed by one sick puppy of a nose. On the drydown it gets to smell like very hops-heavy beer spilled over a barroom floor the preceding night. Actually, that is nearly an improvement. One of the all-time lows of niche perfumery.

    02 July, 2008

    Jemimagold's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I am a huge citrus fan and I like everything from Light Blue, to Eau d’Hadrien, to Bigarade Concentree (plus I have many Diptyque candles) so I was all prepared to love Oyédo . Unfortunately, Oyédo was flat and disappointing with a distinctive overlay of sweetish powdery notes which obscured any meaningful citrus smell. To my nose, Oyédo is a close fragrance kin to my local grocery store’s house brand of lemon scented fabric softener, which is not a compliment.

    There is no zing or fun at all with Oyédo . As I smelled it, I just kept thinking “generic boring sweet lemon”. Yawn. For comparison purposes, I spritzed Etro’s Lemon Sorbet on my other wrist which was decidedly lemony, spicy and stylish, in contrast.

    07 May, 2008

    Words's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Sweet sweet citric candy. Such a thick sweetness, go with 2 sprays and you're set for the day. It's funny to see people describe it as lifesaver-like, because that's exactly what comes to mind when Oyedo is first sprayed. Orange lifesaver, indeed. A great scent, but difficult to wear as an everyday-citrus.

    11th April, 2008

    germanomio's avatar

    France France

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    thyme and mandarine
    simple fresh but a little bit too linear

    09 April, 2008

    tvlampboy's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Bizarre take on grapefruit. I really like its crispness, its odd soapy/fruity qualities and its herbal/citrus-y dry-down, really I do. Still, I just can't imagine wearing it. Not many men could pull this one off -- I give kudos to those who can. (And I wear Shalimar.)

    09 January, 2008

    madridbatabidd's avatar

    Spain Spain

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Gorgeous sweet fresh citrusy one but like jelly babie one.
    Very unisex
    i adore it

    20th June, 2007

    foetidus's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Marlen’s right…Lifesaver time. Like a tangerine and a lime lifesaver in the mouth at the same time. But it lasts a lot longer than the Lifesavers last. At least with Lifesavers, if you don’t like them, you just spit them out… of course, the fragrance is not as bad as all that and I don’t feel the need to wash it off, but it certainly is not what I want to smell like—a couple of sharp, syrupy sweet Lifesavers. The thyme does a good job of BEGINNING TO tone down the citrus exuberance, but, to my taste, there needs to be a lot more toning down. And the wood in the base does not project very much, but it is a very nice wood accord. Oyédo is a fun scent — very good quality ingredients, excellent construction, and great longevity. I could see this fragrance being deservedly appreciated by many people …just not by me.

    03 February, 2007 (Last Edited: 12 April, 2008)

    JDBIII's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Well, it started out like candy, and that didn't bother me too much. Then, it went away completely, and that didn't bother me too much. Then it came back with a vengeance, the herbal accord smelling like intense BO, and it wouldn't go away. And, that really bothered me. So, I tried it again, and I suffered through the same terrifying experience. This is my first Diptyque scent, so I guess there is nowhere to go but up.

    After trying it many more times, I can say with vigor that I detest this scent. All I can smell is a sickening blend of methyl anthranilate and cashmeram, in other words, molded grape jelly. Surely, someone at Diptyque must have said NO to this beast.

    11th December, 2006 (Last Edited: 17 March, 2010)

    Fiorello's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Oyédo is a unique citrus/aromatic fragrance for sure, it's definitely more feminine than masculine. It's interesting enough, that all lovers of this type should at least give it a try. It is definitely more suitable for casual pursuits. At the onset, yes, I can smell the connections others have made to Fruit Loops and gum drops but I feel it opens up more broadly than that. I instantly fell in love with the tangerine, (yuzu)? and lime accord which is pure, non-western sunshine in a bottle. The dryness of the lime and thyme combination keeps the lot from becoming too sweet for me--although there has to be a sweet floral note that's not listed in there. I found myself being reminded of L'Eau de L'Artisan sans its fanfare basil-mint accord and replaced with a more subdued, sweet(ish)-herb green and slight, (cedar)? drydown. This is one of those, "don't overdo it, although it's light" fragrances, although you may find yourself wanting to reapply it quite often. I would probably choose L'Eau de L'Artisan before Oyédo. I'm giving it a thumbs up though, because it is just so unique.

    17 September, 2006

    SniffQ's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Yuzu, herbs, blast of citrus. Sharp sparkle, lift-me-up-give-me-hope, then a disappointing drydown.
    Wet fruit washed with strong soap, left to dry in the sun. Stays at mid-note with a vengence. And stays and stays. The body wash is lovely. I use it to wash my delicates and its a great fresh feel.

    15 September, 2006

    czesc's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    excellent! sweet and candy-like but at the same time not cloyingly so, its very fresh and aqueous, also has a bit of a "cool" feeling to it. totally wearable by a man, i've gotten many compliments on it

    19 February, 2006

    scenteur7's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Yuck...smells like a lefesaver. Absolutely did not work for me and even on a test strip, this is nothing that I want to smell like.

    01st February, 2006

    John.com's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Pleasant enough but not particularly masculine. I found it to be somewhat sweet and reminiscent of hard candy or gum drops. Absolutely more suited for Woman.

    18 December, 2002

    opalsdad's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Oyedo was the original name for Tokyo. It is strong citrus scent with a main note of yuzu. A number of herbs are in the background and the scent is extremely long lasting for a citrus fragrance.

    26 November, 2002

    Showing 31 to 44 of 44.