Neutral Reviews of Monsieur Balmain (new) by Pierre Balmain

    Find out more about Monsieur Balmain (new) by Pierre Balmain in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 7 of 7. (Show all reviews)
    Redbeard's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This falls between the light sparkly lemon of most Eau de Colognes, and the musty lemon of something that takes itself too seriously (Boucheron). I really like the top but it just gets too stuffy in the base, and the herbs they've added to it are too pungent.

    16 May, 2010

    JMang's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Incredible, incredible lemon. And thats really all you're going to get; its a very linear scent. Everything about its marketing, from the yellow gold box to the yellow glass bottle, reflects lemon and thats what you'll get from Monsieur Balmain. Its very economical; I received it for around $25 shipped and personally, its a good compliment for layering other sweeter scents.

    Admittedly, its very hard to make a citrus that isn't overly sweet, synthetic, and tart. MB is perfect for summer afternoons but longevity is a question; lasts less than two hours on my dry skin.

    A good buy if you love love love lemon, but its another good scent that I wouldn't wear on a regular basis.

    11th March, 2010

    bonzo's avatar

    Germany Germany

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    leomons over lemons- not more not less- only a huge lemon juice.extremely intense lemon feeling -very fresh.if you like citrus scents there are more refined ones like eau sauvage etc- a better choice!the vintage version of monsieur balmain was definitely better!

    10th April, 2009 (Last Edited: 16 April, 2011)

    JackTwist's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A burst of fresh squeezed lemon that lasts about half an hour. This is suddenly gone, to be replaced by a light oakmoss.

    Definitely not for those seeking a long lasting lemon scent, but one of the truest lemons (for the brief while it lasts) on the market.

    10th March, 2009

    AnimaSola's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Exalted Lemon Pledge. A hundred freshly squeezed lemons. A yellow gingham tablecloth on a lemonade stand. That's what comes to mind at first whiff. The dry down muffles and mutes the overbearing bright opening somewhat, but I still feel the shocking yellow presence. There is a hint of wood in the midst of the citron, and I suppose the scent morphs over time. Perhaps I need to give this one more time.

    14 November, 2008 (Last Edited: 14 January, 2009)

    RobX's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    One of the best lemony fragrances

    Can't detect other notes though - and it doesn't last too long

    It's OK

    23 May, 2007

    MonkeyManMatt's avatar

    Sweden Sweden

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I've always wanted to "freeze" the lemon/citrus topnotes of many of my favourite fragrances. I felt Dior's Eau Sauvage, Hermès Orange Verte, Eau de Rochas pour homme and particularly the original Lacoste would benefit from prolonged citrus presence. Then I tried Monsieur Balmain... In this one the squeezed lemon note actually stays with you for hours - and guess what? It actually ruins the whole thing. My personal conclusion is that the best classic citruses are the ones with a fresh zesty opening but with an equally pleasant drydown. This progression often lands in some kind of herbal or woody base, unfortunately the Balmain stays mainly lemon and eventually a faint & not too clean musk. So it's linear and pretty boring, however - if the thought of a long-present lemon note excites you the way it did me before, then by all means give this oldie a shot. I would try Penhaligon's excellent Blenheim Boquet to though, also with longlasting citrus but paired here with a refined and elgant smokey pine making it's structure infinitely more interesting.

    28 April, 2006

    Showing 1 to 7 of 7. (Show all reviews)