Reviews of Ambra by Etro

    Find out more about Ambra by Etro in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 10 of 10.
    kumquat's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Smooth, vanillic, golden; this is my holy grail amber. I searched through countless ambers and found it. I have an old, vintage bottle which is very intense and superb. Just beautiful.

    29 March, 2014

    JDBIII's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a very odd beast. I like it quite a bit and have worn it often, but it is a rubbery amber, almost as if the resins and gums have been cooked a bit. Don't get me wrong, it's still sweet and rich, but it is also a little playful. The drydown is fairly linear but very warm and comforting, not exotic in the least. I would recommend this for evening wear. It's a bit too rich for the office.

    07 February, 2010

    Kchild's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I love Amber in all sorts of interpretations but this is my favorite by far. I love it's simplicity. I love that it's soft and still androgynous.It layers beautifully and I am one of THOSE people~always layering. I can wear it alone and not feel as if I'm missing something as well. It's light w/out being powdery~which is a nice trick. I have found that to be the exception and not the rule. Did I mention that this is my favorite?

    25 March, 2009

    themeglet's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Not such a bad amber; however, I wouldn't buy a bottle on the basis of "not bad." Yes, there's something ambery going on here, but something offsets its potential ambery goodness. I may be the odd one out, but I get more of a "custard" or "creme caramel" impression, with amber popping its head up here and there and there and here, without ever actually planting a flag. I would redirect amber-seekers to L'Artisan's Ambre Extreme--one of the nicest ambers I've yet sniffed. Etro's Ambra is nice enough in its opening, but quickly putters out into something less pleasant. (I should end this review now, since every passing minute increases the "meh..." on my skin. The skin of others may be less persnickety, though.)

    26 June, 2007 (Last Edited: 23 October, 2007)

    foetidus's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    There is a rather strange sour note in the opening that combines with the otherwise pleasant citrus/ coriander / patchouli. This note runs through the entire progression of the fragrance. It ruins the scent for me, not that the remainder of the scent is anything special. This sour note is not exactly revolting or anything like that, it is discordant—out of place. Besides this disagreeable note, the basic fragrance is rather ordinary. Etro Ambra has good longevity.

    09 December, 2006

    purplebird7's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Soft but strong, easily wearable amber constructed in the minimalist style of Etro. A touch of bergamot and orange, a hint of geranium, all subtly done to accent the vanillic goodness of the amber, which is clear and sweet. My own tastes lean toward pungent fragrances, which explains the less-than-perfect score. I think it is a fine amber fragrance.

    08 November, 2006

    sherrie11's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Someone decanted a sample of Etro Ambra for me to try. I don't care for it. I don't hate it, but it's just not my type of scent. It's too mannish for me. I wouldn't recommend it to my husband either. It reminds me of a too sweet incense I used to have years ago. I prefer subtler more complex fragrances, for both women and men.

    22 March, 2006

    scenteur7's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Better than L'Artisan's L'Eau d'Ambre, but not as good as MPG's Ambre Extreme...a simple amber scent with a hint of musk and sandalwood. Nicely done, decent longevity...jsut not very interesting.

    15 January, 2006

    IPaidForThisName's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I never thought I would call an Amber fragrance boring, or generic, but there isn’t really anything that stands out about Ambra, especially over other amber fragrances. There are much more interesting amber fragrances out there (Ambre Sultan, Ambre Extreme), and Ambra doesn’t even last that long on the skin. Not worth it, imho.

    29 September, 2005

    Scenturio's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Ambra was recommended to me by a perfume seller, whom I told, that I wanted to get an impression of more or less pure amber. Well ok, so that is amber. Woody, spicy, sweet, with an intriguing smokey basenote, but all in all quite feminine at the first smell. But worth a try, especially in the colder season. Is it sensual? Sexualizing? I am not to sure, but anyway you feel like dressed in a quite eccentric shirt - even when you have forgotten this fact, other people will notice...

    25 September, 2005

    Showing 1 to 10 of 10.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000