Perfume Reviews

Reviews of Bergamote / Divine Bergamote by The Different Company

Total Reviews: 25
Many have given
Youth serum to bergamot
But Jean-Claude's stuff worked.
07th December, 2017
Well its bergamot alright, the question is whether it's a nicer smell than good quality bergamot oil itself. I'm not presently convinced of that but I'm reserving judgement.
24th March, 2017
As with all citrus eau de colognes, the purpose is fleeting and so by volatile composition is the juice.

This is a perfectly decent eau with fizzy top notes of lime, lemon and bergamot - Tania Sanchez correctly recalls Lubin's 1955 delight, Gin Fizz - morphing into orange blossom and finally a rosy rhubarb and musk dry down.

Completely inoffensive, delightfully refreshing, and constantly uplifting as any eau should be. Its cost is not justified, however, as there are dozens of similar eaus out there at half or a quarter the cost.

For those seeking the citrus/rose blend, I recommend Agraria's Lemon Verbena, at much lower cost.
12th March, 2016
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Smelled it today and it is just a citrus lollypop what you are smelling and this is a expensive niche fragrance,i am shocked,just move on people....
18th July, 2015
Divine Bergamote

Two things

Firstly, I'm glad this isn't typically citrus-woody. Its citrus-green.

Secondly, spraying it is like misting yourself with sparkling water at the beach.

What makes it unique is that, I feel, it's (bergamot) a step up from lemons.

Don't get me wrong I love lemons. I love a good squeeze of lemon on biryani, Lemon and mint juice, lemon tart and lemon sorbet. But it's a bit less dimensional than bergamot.

Bergamot feels a bit more complex in nature. Not on the level of geranium or jasmine complexity but more complex than other items in the citrus basket (lemons and lime for example). I get this aromatic vibe from it that makes me feel like I'm smelling an aromatic herb but instead of it being herbaceous , it's citric.

I went back and forth between Divine Bergamote and Bergamote 22 Le Labo but finally settled on Divine Bergamote. The green facet really appealed to more than b22's woody-citric approach.

The epitome of refreshment.
22nd March, 2013
A fizzy bergamot opening you can almost chew on, but before you have time to swallow the thing shrinks to a postage stamp-sized rosey musk of no distinction.
09th August, 2012
Bergamot essential oil, lightened and freshened (lime and green notes), and with a hint of pepper in the opening which settles into ginger. Great idea for a body splash, a bit of a yawn as a perfume.
14th July, 2012
As well as others underlined i say that the most captivating part is made by the top lemony notes (lime-bergamot) that are pungent, natural and almost fizzy (also because of the rhubarb effect-i smell the association with Apparition Homme Ungaro), till when a sort of windy and more coloured fruity phase tames a bit the fizzy pleasure and introduces a final joyful, airy (ginger), slightly powdery and musky stage. This bergamot is not imperial or decadent, is just natural and a bit grassy with ozonic traces that remind me slightly the wonderful Sel de Vetiver. I don't dislike the rhubarb central element that intensifies and darkens a bit the juice turning it out slightly boozy. Not bad.
27th March, 2012
the first couple of times i wore it, i was getting fresh citrusy smell, nice, but nothing too special. i was attracted to this perfume by the promise of rhubarb and ginger - and it never got to it, as the scent would go away quite quickly. today however after a couple of initial citrus minutes all i was getting was... rose! person i was with confirmed that i smelled like rose water )) and still no rhubarb... so all in all, i am not smitten, not impressed - but it is an all right scent.
22nd November, 2011
My sample cube reads BERGAMOTE, not DIVINE BERGAMOTE. Not sure whether these are the same or mine is supposed to be less than divine, but I had pretty low expectations for a fragrance bearing the name of a note found in 33% of all perfumes and usually not playing a starring role--perhaps for a reason?

Those expectations were met and exceeded. There's certainly more than bergamot in this refreshing citrus cologne. The ginger blends in to produce a tonic which reminds me for obvious reasons of Bond no 9 NEW YORK FLING, also a citrus-ginger composition.

In a side-by-side comparison, I find NEW YORK FLING certainly more declarative but also more interesting than BERGAMOTE, probably because of the touch of florality and basil mingling with the wood. I also think that as a straight-up citrus, BERGAMOTE does not really stand out from the crowd and has poor longevity even in this category notorious for evanescence.
26th August, 2011
Fantastic!!! One of the most refined compositions of Jean-Claude, fresh and elegant. Bravo!!! a truly thumbs UP for me.
27th June, 2011
I will rather agree with the negative reviews. I recently tried divine bergamote and although the first impression was totally positive the dry down was a joy-killer. I would still not go as far as to say that it is a generic or irrelevant fragrance. On the contrary I think that it is a well made composition that as most citrus fragrances fails to last, or somehow develop the first sparkle so that the wearer doesn't feel let down soon after application.
28th February, 2010
JaimeB Show all reviews
United States
Citrus is not something I usually think of in the same context as rhubarb. Ginger, on the other hand is a possibility; I remember a little fresh juice joint that made a mix of orange, carrot, ginger, and beet juices — surprisingly yummy. The woody notes, orange blossom, and green notes make up a curious heart note for this. Rhubarb and musk make an odd base note as well. The whole thing is offbeat and kind of bare-bones, in the characteristic minimalist style of J-C Ellena. But off-beat is not at all bad, just different, and maybe even refreshing... And the rhubarb and citrus did smell a bit familiar: now I recall Ungaro Apparition Homme and its Apparition Homme Intense flanker, with their top notes of rhubarb and mandarine. But the TDC has none of the oriental notes of AH Extreme or the licorice and vetiver base of AH. Bergamote is softer and more powdery in the dry down, not at all unpleasant. Full marks to this for having the guts to be a little bit out-there.
14th January, 2010
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Divine Bergamote opens with a very tart, almost acidic note of Lime+Lime peel. it's pretty stark, intense, gritty and enjoyable. with each wear it gets better. this scent progresses from being gritty to soft notes of lemon to a fruity touch fo rhubarb (think b*men) to a very soft/powdery cloud of musk towards base with traces of lime still present. it took me couple of wears to "get it" and now it's irreplaceable, like all other TDC's!
13th August, 2009 (last edited: 18th August, 2009)
It took me some time and several wears to get this one, but now that it finally happened, I'm quite smitten. The first word that comes to mind is cheerful. Bright citrusy notes are teamed with ginger and rhubarb which give the scent a lovely tart burn, the kind you get when you eat pickled ginger with sushi. Bergamote is an easy-to-wear feelgood scent suitable for work and play and brightening up any day!
07th July, 2009
Very pleasant opening of fresh fruit with sweet note, which quickly fades into something different, also pleasant yet generic and unremarkable. Disappears almost completely within minutes.
23rd May, 2009
Amazing bergamot! Though very typical otherwise. With the topnotes lasted longer. Though the basenotes usually are more important, even the basenotes don't last very long.
06th September, 2008
A jazzy upper orange note starts this one out as a good-time scent but not undignified, you understand. It has a supremely elegant dry-down with a sherry/muscat/rose ? sheen on it that is perhaps what the company itself describes as rhubarb wood and musk, ingredients out of which I plan one day to make the world’s best crumble. Along with Rose Poivrée, this is the most inventive and fascinating of the four JCE TDC scents.
11th July, 2008
A strong introduction of an excellent bergamot, which immediately begins to degrade. I don’t know what causes the too-rapid offing of the bergamot note, but I suspect it’s the fusing with the ginger – not a good choice for pairing as far as I’m concerned. The degrading of the note doesn’t really lead to an off note; rather it leads to something quite generic and inconsequential. It is a minimalist fragrance, as so many of Ellena’s works are. I am usually very comfortable with minimalism, but with Divine Bergamot I just don’t grasp whatever is happening with the fragrance, except that it starts out beautifully then does a nose dive off the cliff. Perhaps there are wonderful things happening in this fragrance that I’m not aware of. What I get is unexciting, uninteresting, and short-lived. I’m not a fan.
10th March, 2008
Divine Bergamote opens fresh and tart but dries down to an almost powdery scent with green notes, musk and something sweet (rhubarb?). The bergamote lingers on above this soft base, ceeping it light and crisp.
If you're generally not a huge fan of hesperides, give this one a try!
14th January, 2008
I was underwhelmed by this Bergamot. Kind of blah and generic, in spite of the promise of its short-lived start-up . It doesn't have as much of the beauty of the actual essential oil but shares its drawback, which is lack of staying power. It *is* longer lasting than the real thing, but not enough for me to want to buy it at those prices.
01st August, 2006
I simply don't like this scent. In my experience, like many Ellena scents, it starts off wonderfully - very nice, crisp, green citrus scent. From there is gets musty instead of musky, like the smell of a nursing home. This one did not live up to my expectations, and so was swapped. Sorry, but I do not see the fuss over this guy's work!
25th July, 2006
generic, green citrus, nothing special here (I find this to be very typical of these new "high end" perfume start ups) - go for l'eau d'hadrien by goutal.
22nd February, 2006
Found this to be very pleasant and uplifting, however it is very reminiscent of laundry powder and I don't feel that the price is justified for such a generic smell. However, if you wallet permits, I highly recommend this fragrance as a summer scent.
29th September, 2005
This is a complex and soft citrus scent. It is not 'bergamot' like Earl Grey tea-- it's lemony and soft and greenish. It starts with a tart but not sharp burst of citrus/orange and softens but on me still lingers for about two hours--which for an ephemeral citrus scent is pretty good.
26th August, 2005