Neutral Reviews of Z by Ermenegildo Zegna

    Find out more about Z by Ermenegildo Zegna in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 14 of 14. (Show all reviews)
    Halael's avatar
    Halael


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This was my first real fragrance. In middle school, everyone loved it on me, and no one else owned it.
    I recently bought it again to see if it held the same charm.
    It's definitely not me, anymore, but it's not awful. It's interesting to note they've changed the front of the bottle. The current bottle design has a silver "Z" next to the Zegna, as opposed to the original design where Zegna was superimposed on a large white "Z".

    It opens with bergamot and... something fruity and tart, but within minutes I'm getting oakmoss and iris. By the end of the first hour, though, it's just patchouli and spice.

    If you're looking for something that's just slightly different than what everyone else is wearing, here it is. As unoffensive as possible, but also not spectacular or even particularly noteworthy.

    25 January, 2013

    silentrich's avatar
    silentrich
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Zegna Z is a more fruity/tart version of ADG. If you work in a fragrance free or light fragrance environment this is perfect for these kinds of situations. I actually enjoy this more than ADG and it works great in hotter climates. It gets a neutral because of it smelling so much like ADG and the fact that it's about the same price. Not the best in the Zegna line.

    27 December, 2012 (Last Edited: 22 February, 2013)

    Grottola's avatar
    Grottola
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A spicier Acqua di Gio that unfortunately lasts about 2 hours on my skin.

    03 February, 2011

    JMang's avatar
    JMang
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Its a nice scent, my ex purchased this for me in high school, and its definitely a frag for the younger crowd.

    In my opinion, its better than Acqua di Gio, though Z doesn't wander far from the aquatics aimed for the younger generation. Its also cleaner and not as chemical/synthetic as AdG. Opening notes are very citrusy, very clean, very fresh, similar to Chrome in that it can almost be harsh. The drydown is much better, and though the fragrance doesn't evolve very much, its still very sporty and fresh.

    A summertime fragrance thats definitely worth a try if you're tired of the Cool Waters/AdG. Whether or not you buy it is your choice.

    08 March, 2010

    Kaern's avatar
    Kaern
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    As far as masculines go, this is not half bad. A herby, woody fragrance that smells good, but not good enough for me to purchase.

    04 March, 2010

    Mapletop's avatar
    Mapletop
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I see alot of reviews comparing this to AdG. I think this smells exactly like Polo Black but with more of a floral note instead of the citrus. In all this just smells like a mixture of other colognes. I like aquatic scents so ill give this one a neutral.

    20th January, 2009

    scentsitivity's avatar
    scentsitivity
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Early development of Z can be considered cool and crisp. I get soapy and peppery aspects as well. But the dominant aspect to my nose is a citric tartness. The tartness suggests citrus, but not any specific fruit: rather a generic tartness. Eventually soapy and peppery aspects die out and what remains is the tartness. Tartness by itself feels cold and sterile, nothing that I really want in a fragrance. I don't think it to be hideous, just not for me. Hence a neutral rating.

    04 July, 2008

    jdnba's avatar
    jdnba
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    i think this is acqua di gio purple...its just ok...i liked it the very first time i tried it...now that i own it, i rarely reach for it

    27 December, 2007

    rodent's avatar
    rodent
    France France

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    i don't understand how people can compare this to Issey or ADG. Z is dry, a bit spicy and peppery, a bit on the synthetic side and not terribly aquatic -- certainly nothing like the elegant ambiguity of ADG or the intense, very organic citrus-floral blast of Issey. i find it - like Zegna's clothing - well put together, a bit formal, and in very good taste, but ultimately a bit uninspired; definitely appropriate for the office. i bought a bottle and am using it as my daily EDT while on business trips, but i certainly won't miss it when it's gone. staying power is so-so - slightly less than ADG and a LOT less than Issey.

    02 November, 2007

    Stelios_X_opa's avatar
    Stelios_X_opa
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Very plain and boring. Not a BAD fragrance, not annoying, not offensive in any way. Just, nothing THERE!

    07 August, 2007

    odysseusm's avatar
    odysseusm
    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I agree with the reviewers who find Z to be a bit generic, blah, unexciting. This is a basic brisk, crisp, dry scent. No problems: not sweet, not annoying... but not much of anything. I can’t think of any reason to seek this out when there are more interesting scents out there. Maybe if I work my imagination hard I can detect interesting green-wood or bamboo elements, dusky florals from the iris, etc. It finishes on a vaguely unsatisfactory note: green stalks, slightly metallic. Nothing to get upset about, nothing to endorse. Thumb firmly sideways here.

    14 June, 2007

    foetidus's avatar
    foetidus
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    As several of the reviewers have said—déjà vu, all over again, or maybe diGi-ó all over again. Will the designers never get tired of making these copies? Probably not as long as there are consumers willing to buy it. I’ll admit that this is cleanly done—it’s nice—perhaps a little nicer than Acqua di Gio; however, it is not any nicer than Herrera’s or Bulgari’s or some other versions IMO. Its use of wood, iris, nutmeg, and moss is very well done. Z Zegna has good lasting power, but no better than AdG or the others. My question is, if Zegna had the ability to make a nice fragrance like this, why didn’t they go the extra 10% and make it a little innovative rather than a make it a clone of something that has been around for eleven years?

    04 March, 2007

    Ronald's avatar
    Ronald


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Smelled really good on the magazine sample so I ordered a bottle and am somewhat dissapointed to find that it smells almost exactly like Echo by Davidoff which I already own. Not bad, has decent staying power, but nothing special.

    09 October, 2006

    F_Frez's avatar
    F_Frez


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Smells classic... maybe so much classic. In the fresh/fougere line, it don't have catchy top or base notes. In fact, it's almost the same aroma until the end.

    24 November, 2005

    Showing 1 to 14 of 14. (Show all reviews)