Reviews of Black Aoud by Montale

    Find out more about Black Aoud by Montale in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 30 of 108.
    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Genre: Woods

    Savage splendor – that’s Black Aoud: an uncompromisingly dark and woody rose scent that makes hash of the notion that roses are for old ladies and potpourri. In my earlier, unenthusiastic review of Black Aoud I wrote that I was disappointed with the scent because it was linear and had a simple structure. That conclusion, it turns out, was based on two mistaken premises.

    First, I have learned over time that simple does not mean “inferior.” In fact some of the greatest modern fragrances I know have simple structures: En Passant, Parfum d’Habit, and Tam Dao come immediately to mind. So even if Black Aoud is simple, it’s pungent oudh, exquisitely rendered rose, and robust leather and patchouli foundation make for an outstanding combination. Indeed, one of Black Aoud’s most distinctive and appealing features is its brash, almost barbaric, impact ill served by too much nuance or complexity.

    My second complaint, that Black Aoud did not develop, was simply unfounded. Black Aoud does indeed develop, and in interesting ways. The trick is that it takes up to twelve hours for the development to commence! Given Black Aoud’s twenty-four hours plus longevity this ought not be all that surprising. When Black Aoud finally does start to evolve the rose note recedes to reveal more of the leather, which in turn takes on a warm, animalic edge. At the same time a rich, creamy sandalwood note emerges from the depths. The wood and leather notes are seasoned by patchouli, and then sweetened ever so slightly by the barest hint of amber.

    As I’ve implied above, Black Aoud is an extraordinarily tenacious scent. In fact it’s one of the longest-lasting scents I know. It’s also extremely potent and leaves a great deal of sillage, so I advise applying it sparingly.

    10th June, 2014

    sjg3839's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Dark and rounchy Oud and rose (not in a bad way) make this one a winner for oud lovers. Settles down to a lovely patchouli and light rose with the oud still pushing for space. I like this one, but I am not that big of an oud lover. For that reason this one is not FBW for me. 7/10.

    18 March, 2014

    PerAxel's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Not a scent for the shy and meek. You absolutely have to be confident in yourself to wear this. A very dark rose and oud Incredible lasting power. Just a little spritz is all you need. It is a very arabian oud and rose.

    18 March, 2014

    Kain's avatar

    Iran Iran

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    You know, there are some jokes that are funny only in particular countries. when you say it among your people, they may laugh to death but if you say it in other country they will just stare at you and say ..... so ?! O.o
    This fragrance has the same situation!
    It's really interesting and exotic fragrance for many folks in US, Europe but if you live in Asia and specially countries like IRAN which I am and countries at the same area, when you wear something like this that mean you smell like the cheapest rose extract that is called "Golab" and you can buy a 1 liter bottle of it for less than $1.
    People will make fun of you when you smell like this!
    There is a city in IRAN called "Kashan" that is very famous in the world for having very big rose gardens and special rose extract that is exactly the smell of this fragrance!
    This rose extract has different uses! mostly they use it in holy shrines and also we use it in our funerals on the body to smell good and also has usage for making local cookies in some cities of my country!
    Do I like to smell like a holy shrine or a body before bury?! hell no!
    Also oud has a very small role in this fragrance!
    All thing that you get is syrupy sweet musky rose for a very long time and only some oud in the background and also patchouli which was the only part that I enjoyed.
    And please for god sake don't tell me how oud smell like because I've grown up with smell of oud and rose like every other guy in my country!!
    Both projection and longevity is amazing with this!

    01st February, 2014

    doncmleon's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Love/Hate Relationship with this juice....

    Me and Black Aoud a love/hate relationship... we fight.. Often. Usually about once a week.

    One day, she's sexy, mysterious, her boobs are popping out of her blouse, her breath smells great, her eyes are stunning, and she's all over me.

    The next day, she's a crackwhore, she smells like a cheap old lady, she has bags under her eyes, and she wants nothing to do with me, or I, her.

    But when she and I are on the same page, it's a beautiful thing: They make sappy chick flicks about the things we do, R Kelly writes an X rated song about the things we're doing by the fireplace, classic porn is produced, and babies are made in the shower.

    Yes, there's some rose in it for the dark lady. The oud is in there for that strong, suave man that needs to announce to every woman in the room, that he's different from all the other men in there, and wants to take her home.

    I LOVE this fragrance.. about 3 days out of the week

    ..the other 4 days is a toss up. Sometimes we work, sometimes we fight.

    Pros: Longevity
    Cons: Me and Black Aoud figh a lot!

    29 June, 2013

    lairdangus's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Synthetic rose, with hints of spice and wood

    Never have I struggled so much with a fragrance as with Black Aoud. I wanted desperately to love this scent, so much so that my bias interfered with my nose. After 3 wearings, I still couldn't tell if I liked it or not.

    Then I read all about the controversy surrounding the Montale company. I was disappointed, even offended at the deception. I allowed this to affect my perception of the fragrance.

    Now, after about 10 wearings, I am finally beginning to form an *honest* impression of Black Aoud.

    First, the obvious: this is potent stuff. A few drops are enough to project across a crowded room for 10 hours. Black Aoud has the strongest projection and longevity I have ever encountered in a fragrance.

    It is not an overly complex scent, to be sure. It opens with a frozen clang of synthetic rose, supported by aoud and perhaps a hint of underlying sweet spice.

    And then....well, nothing happens really. Black Aoud does not evolve. It simply "is." I could detect virtually no change from opening to heart to base. If anything, the rose note may have intensified over time. I wish I picked up more patchouli and spice, but the rose was so expansive it drowned them out.

    I don't see this as a particularly "gothic" or dark fragrance, like some of the other reviewers. To me, it is a satisfying masculine rose, a good summer scent in warm-ish climates. The only cautionary provision is not to overapply!

    Scent: 4/5

    Sillage: 5/5

    Longevity: 5/5

    Pros: longevity, clarity of the rose note
    Cons: linear, a bit synethic

    24 June, 2013

    ryangiggs's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Awesome in one word!! Must try. Not quite sure if ladies would like it or not. Try the samples at least. Trust me it's worth trying it. Very special and different smell. Silage and longevity is more than expected. Love the smell

    08 May, 2013 (Last Edited: 09 May, 2013)

    noideawhatimsaying's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is the epitome of a dark rose scent. I imagine an older lady, quite evil, wearing this. Can a man pull it off? He better be dark and mysterious. Can a lady? Only if she's old and evil.

    Not my thing.

    13 April, 2013

    reveillee's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Got a sample of this and was shocked how awful this was. Smelled to me like a very powerful old grandma fragrance. Had to wash it off. For some reason I tried it again a few years later and now I love it. Even bought a bottle. As they say, this is a powerhouse fragrance and lasts ages, especially on clothes. Still a love or hate fragrance for many.

    03 March, 2013

    NorthernTiger's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Black Aoud is a strong rose scent with an equally strong agarwood and patchouli base. It is clearly made of quality ingredients. It boasts great longevity; however, like many other fragrances I've sampled with great longevity, Black Aoud is a fairly linear scent.

    I gave this a neutral, though, because it is simply not my style.

    11th February, 2013

    rbaker's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Lots of Oud and dark rose atr the two dominant components - a dark and rich mix of beautiful density and intensity. Over three hours this has good projection and is one of the best Ouds I know. I wore it in cold weather and it might be quite overwhelming in heat. A great composition.

    11th February, 2013

    Preston H's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Smells like Tom fords noir de noir with twice the oud. Normally I hate the smell of oud, very overrated note. In fact the reason I love creeds royal oud so much, is the oud is faint, almost nonexistent. Ok, back to black aoud. This is so rich, like eating gourmet chocolates. Rose and oud up front, it's almost as if the two notes go back and forth, sharing the spotlight giving way to a very convincing musk and sandalwood base. Here's the only problem, I own TF's noir de noir and even tho this scent is outstanding, ndn is constructed so much better. It does something to me psychologically, knowing that there's a better version of this fragrance on my dresser. If you don't own noir de noir, go pick this up ASAP one of the better rose/oud combos out

    05 January, 2013

    's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is one of the most beautiful fragrances i've ever smelt. This is a well done blend of dark roses, oud and patchouli that has a incredible sillage, lasting power and projection. Smells very unique and sexy. Winner for sure.

    02 January, 2013

    Possum-Pie's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a fine brooding rose fragrance. It is not as smooth or feminine as Montale's Luban, which my wife own. Luban is more feminine, but Black Aoud is a medicinal, brooding more masculine rose. It's oud is hidden among the very powerful rose fragrance. I don't give number ratings, but this is on a level below Dark Aoud and Louban among Montales. I still enjoy it and love Montale's longevity and projection.

    18 December, 2012

    IndianapolisVet's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    "Rose air freshener. Would be good as a candle." -my wife

    08 December, 2012

    JackTwist's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This seems to my nose identical to Lalique's classic from the same year (2006), Perles de Lalique.

    The definitive rose chypre - strong, dark rose with the usual chypre support. Musky, sensual and definitely unisex.

    A winner - regardless of who stole from whom.

    12 November, 2012

    hunguy74's avatar

    Hungary Hungary

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I tried it today and after 60 minutes it is just rose and rose and what? another dose of rose. not for me....... passing this one

    15 October, 2012

    Kingpharroh's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I had high hopes for this disaster of a fragrance, after seeing numerous vlogs praising this juice in the black aluminum can. So with reckless abandon, I ventured and received a sample of the stuff from luckyscent. Out of the bottle, it is so fresh and aromatic. The rose just blooms before your nose and is ever so fragrant. I don't think I have ever smelled a rose that comes across so strongly. I smelled the rose before I even opened the vial. Things were looking pretty good so far with such a fantastic opening. Once the vial was opened it literally filled up the entire office. Very nice! I dabbed some on my wrists and I was wowed and amazed at the projection. This stuff projects very far and away, a couple feet in fact. Then, it starts going downhill with the oud creeping in sinisterly. I was overcome with this strong dark medicine-like odor. Which was very unpleasant. Kinda smells like camphor, which is in Vicks Vapor Rub and other cold medicines. After smelling this camphorous medicine note for a while, it started giving me a headache and I have not worn it since. The oud is this is much too strong and potent for me. When added to the overly fragrant rose it is nauseating. People who are thinking of picking this one up. Do yourself a favor and sample this one before you buy. This is not a blind buy.

    12 October, 2012

    's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A fantastic aoud and rose marriage that is too quickly ruined by a crappy wood base.

    I suspect the spartan list of ingredients--aoud, rose, patchouli, and mandarin--are to blame for Black Aoud's rapid disintegration. Too bad.

    20th September, 2012

    pianist75's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    this is the best there is!!! no need to talk about it! powerful juice ! my favorite so far

    23 August, 2012 (Last Edited: 30th August, 2012)

    anglomania's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I so wanted to love this fragrance and couldn't wait to get my hands on some. I'd read all the reviews and knew what to expect - the initial medicinal/band-aid blast - check (it lasted about 5 minutes) then came the synthetic rose fast on its heels (it actually smells like some very, very cheap toilet cleaner). After roughly one hour this rose fragrance died away and i was left with - well i don't exactly know what it was - it didn't smell bad, it didn't smell good it was just there - but very, very subtle. I'd read about the monster sillage and projection, i'd had two good squirts - but nothing after two hours the smell had completely disappeared.

    Not to to deterred, the next day before work I gave myself 3 blasts - started the same - band-aid, rose for one hour then fade. Next - nothing, nobody commented, said they could smell anything - eventually two hours after applying it, I asked a few of my co-workers if they could smell anything - a few said they could vaguely smell something very subtle and some said they could smell nothing.

    Whats going on?! I so wanted to love this, but unfortunately I can't - It's expensive and for the result's im getting, i might as well have bought some cheap air freshener - it might have lasted longer

    28 July, 2012

    gimmegreen's avatar

    Netherlands Netherlands

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Want something fresh and light? Soap up a helium balloon.
    This is a strong, attar rose (far removed from the real thing due to the concentration/amplification) layered onto a serious resinous and sweet wood backdrop, with a touch of musk and cured tobacco for additional warmth. End of story. But what a story. It has the consistency of fudge, yet darts up the olfactory passages like some mentholated fiend. The richness is velvety, pitch black and head-spinning, and acts as the prompt to heightened emotion and lust for extremity that some drugs must achieve for some people. Warms and softens beautifully over time.
    In me it evokes memories of gutka – the mixture of highly perfumed sweetened betel-nut and little sugared bits that our parents warned us would crack our teeth and give us throat cancer (and to be honest, it does), but which we as junior school kids found irresistible. I’m sure it was the fumes that went through one’s being when consuming the stuff that had us hooked and high. Elevatory.
    (The bottom of the box contains the injunction to ‘consume without moderation’, which, given this perfume’s strength and staying power, is surely the company having their little joke. On the other hand, this is definitely not the knock-you-dead perfume some have suggested – it may give that impression on a card, but it blooms exquisitely on the skin and I can usually wear two or three sprays without anyone complaining or getting a headache myself. )

    18 July, 2012

    KillerScent's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This starts so medicinal, as many Montale fragrances .Then comes a strong rose smell , like many old woman fragrances .The best part is the dry down , when that strong smell of rose disappears .
    Longevity and projection are really good .
    Yes , I would say this is quite dark or gothic .

    Smell:6
    Longevity: 10
    Projection: 8

    11th July, 2012

    Candide's avatar

    Germany Germany

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Black Aoud - the promise of everlasting youth and self-renewal.
    Black Aoud - its beauty certainly is genius.
    Black Aoud - it seems immortal to me.

    18 June, 2012

    Jack Hunter's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    On application I get a strong blast of rose and patchouli making the fragrance smell dark and gothic. Later on I can smell white musk and another note that comes into play which helps brighten the dark rose accord. This scent strongly reminds me of Hdp's Noir Patchouli.

    I cannot really smell the Oud as the rose/patchouli dominant the composition. This fragance has monster longevity and projection but it is just not to my taste at all.

    17 May, 2012

    Akahina's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I bought this about 6 months ago directly from Montale in Paris. And yes, I got extra concentration. So this grandiose fragrance is even stronger! And..I love it. One spray, maybe two is all I will ever need to smell wonderful.

    For me this is a dark and mysterious rose scent complemented by the Aoud. A deep earthy patchouli brings down the rose and integrates well with the Aoud. After several hours the musk adds its sweet presence to the blend with a hint of labdanum. All these together create an aura of intrigue which is both heady and very masculine, although a woman can definately wear this too.

    Silage is amazing on this and longevity is also phenomenal lasting over 12 hours. Lasts forever on clothing. Certainly one of the best if not the best from Montale.

    Definately best in the cooler months but I can also see wearing this clubbing in the summer, but go light on the trigger at all times or even decant some and dab on a little bit. Nobody will miss smelling this fragrance and you don't want to kill them by wearing 6 sprays! This one will not disappoint unless you over apply.

    12 May, 2012

    lupin's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Searing rose, like an old lady soaked in isopropyl.

    Then you wait two hours...

    Then the most wonderful, earthy, woody, DIRT smell overtakes everything.

    I'm glad I didn't scrub it off, but I'm loathe to reapply...

    08 May, 2012

    dougczar's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I do like rose, but I like L'Artisan Voleur De Roses better - the rose is more pronounced.
    This stuff is ok, but I have had people tell me that it smells like an old woman. I don't think it does really, but this does destroy everything in its path. not soft. not subtle.

    28 April, 2012

    TimeaZsofia's avatar

    Hungary Hungary

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Black Aoud is the most astounding fragrance I've ever smelled. Similar to others first I thought, this is too much for me...but now, I am in love with this divine scent!
    Some think it is masculine, but I think it is rather feminine, because of the tons of rose. I adore it on me, but interesting, I adore it on my boyfriend too. Cannot wait for my 50ml birthday parfum! :)
    An absolute favorite one!

    30th March, 2012

    DanWano's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A perfect composition for the rose lover. A wonderful fragrance that have an insane lasting power on me. Can be compare to No. 88 from Czech & Speake, but Black Aoud is better imo.

    20th March, 2012

    Showing 1 to 30 of 108.