Reviews of Tobacco Vanille by Tom Ford

    Find out more about Tobacco Vanille by Tom Ford in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 30 of 143.
    Q. R. Crumm's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I can very much understand the love for this.

    But to my nose the spice is just too agressive, I wish it would be more creamy vanilla mixed with pipe tobacco (as the name suggests) but the spice kills it for me (I can literally feel it burning at my sinuses).

    I think the cloves just went insane on my skin, and that is all I coudl smell the whole way through.

    It does calm down a bit over time, but that overpowering spice is still there.

    Has to be neutral from me, but I really did want to like this one.

    20th October, 2014

    teardrop's avatar

    England England

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    For me this is a lovely, rich & sweet tobacco with a little freshness up top & a faint touch of incense. lt's very linear & soft, but never powdery or cloyingly sweet. lt lasts around seven hours before fading out.
    This does exactly what it says on the tin, so to speak, & beautifully captures that scent of vanilla pipe tobacco that l love. A little more smokiness would have made it truly awesome, but even so, it's very nice indeed!

    14th October, 2014

    Mos's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Beautiful tobacco, vanilla, and cinnamon crafted into one gorgeous scent.
    Smells exactly like a sugar cookies and eggnog. It's an amazing fragrance that was blind bought by me and i love it BUT more importantly the ladies love it! This is high quality stuff and a little goes a long way.

    11th October, 2014

    stark01's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Tom Ford's Tobacco Vanille is Truly a Masterpiece, heavy Tobacco heavy Vanilla mixed with spices and honey notes... a perfect sent for cold weather, absoluetly in love with it !

    21st September, 2014

    nwhite14's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I enjoy layering TV with Tobacco Oud to round out the sweetness of the Vanilla. Very nice pipe tobacco that is expertly blended, hence the $$$. Do not fret tobacco frag devotees, a little goes a long way here so buy with confidence.

    Tobacco frag fans unite under the well manicured beard of Tom Ford!

    07th September, 2014

    buyers_remorse's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a lovely scent, however the price is far too high and amounts to extortionate. It is one of those fragrances which are worn close to the skin. Its projection id poor. Very Poor. You have to be within 6-10 inches to smell it. So maybe a Valentine frag. Having said that you will probably be short for a meal out after having shelled out for this! It reminds me on mother making a cake and father smoking a cigar.

    29th August, 2014

    sidewinder's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Tobacco and vanilla perfected, for sure. Try layering with Eau des Baux for more distinction. Try a decant of this or Parfume de Marley's Herod or Pure Havanne to save money. A little goes a long way if you choose TV. A true classic with some score deduction for price. 4.5 out of 5.

    09th August, 2014

    Unvisible's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I love this stuff. I don't get any chocolate, or fruits, or honey. Just straight up tobacco blended with vanilla, 50/50. Just as the name implies. Only con would be the ridiculous price.

    15th June, 2014

    G.M.K.'s avatar

    Pakistan Pakistan

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Starts very strong heady and dense but gradually settles to a smooth creamy vanilla / Almond Scent.
    Its strange to see no Almonds listed in the notes as there is a strong and persistent vibe of Almonds , Vanilla along with smooth and light Tobacco.

    Tobacco Vanille seems very similar to Dior Hypnotic Poison to me and can be a very nice option for the ladies who like HP Dior.

    I personally love smelling it on others (especially Ladies) but cant wear it, A very long lasting and sweet (in a good way) fragrance.

    Feb
    21
    2014

    20th May, 2014

    Colin Maillard's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    It does what it says, the main accord is a silky and sweet tobacco aroma (the "humid tobacco leaves out of the bag" type of tobacco note) blended with a round, rich, terribly good and still not that sweet vanilla note. Smooth and colourful base of spices and dried fruits, with hints of cumin and saffron. And something balsamic which provides a pleasant sort of fresh-anisic feel. Overall it recalls the safe coziness and the unisex elegance of those narrow flavoured cigarillos (that ironically, come always in vanilla flavour among others) which are usually bought either by ladies or young smokers who want to appear cool and "manly", but still can not yet physically stand the effort and show the self-consciousness to smoke a real cigar. And that's precisely how this scent works too: it is soft and elegant, in a really safe-for-everywhere way, but also restrained and somehow tamed down, with a somehow shallow personality, and all materials are bounded in a sort of soothing anonymity - clean and sharp as a posh shop. Now, despite it may seem so, this feature (I mean the fact it's a bit shallow) is actually not completely negative, as at the same time Tobacco Vanille smells undoubtedly classy and much good: it's sweet and Oriental, but dusty and smoky enough not to end up smelling nauseating. Think of something halfway some Lutens' spicy-candied scents, Boucheron Jaipur Homme and some more "manly" tobacco scents. A bit boring and uncreative, probably, but solid and versatile for sure - too costly for what it's worth, but nice.

    7/10

    06th April, 2014 (Last Edited: 13th December, 2014)

    ad_scott's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Beautiful. Rich, smooth and a little dark. Opening reminds me very much of vanilla extract for cooking with notes of cinnamon, some dark raisins, berries and even more complexity is present...leather, polished wood? Some notes I can't fathom but are interesting and delicious to say the least. Tough to articulate but I'm reminded of velvet and silk...This is top quality stuff. During the drydown, the gourmet aspect leaves and the vanilla changes to a pipe tobacco, a quality mild vanilla pipe tobacco with a touch of ash. I own l'Occitane Eau des Baux which some have said is twinned/similar to Tobacco Vanille...I disagree - Tobacco Vanille is certainly deeper, richer, more complex and smells different to my nose. Eau des Baux for me is a more straight forward vanilla pipe tobacco and incense blend with an overall drier edge to it. I reckon Tobacco Vanille is worth the money... It is robust with outstanding sillage and longevity...a couple of sprays maximum and it projects rich and strong - and lingers the following morning.

    28th March, 2014

    Sybaris's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The opening was cinnamon, vanilla and a pinch of cherry tobacco, then just cherry vanilla and a hint of cinnamon. Lasts a long time though

    I really wanted to love this but I don't want to smell like Dr. Pepper all day

    28th February, 2014

    lovescents123's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I originally tried Tobacco Vanille as a Christmas gift, not knowing anything about the fragrance or how pricey it is. I fell totally in love with the sweet, deep, rich spiciness. It opens with the sweetness of tobacco and an incredible blend of mature spices...I then get a creaminess and vanilla and deep rich chocolate laced with anise and dries down to vanilla and woods. It's really hard to explain, but it is a masterpiece. When I went to purchase a new bottle, I was mortified at the price. A co-worker later told me about a pure perfume oil blend of Tobacco Vanille that she purchased online for less than $40 an ounce and I thought it would be a waste of my time, but to my total surprise, it has the same deep, sweet spiciness as my original bottle of Tobacco Vanille had. For those who want to give it a try, it is worth every penny. Chemistry and Co. http://www.chemistryco.com. I am very pleased with Tom’s Ford’s Tobacco Vanille, both in the original version and the pure perfume oil interpretation. Sjnce wearing Tobacco Vanille, I have become a bit of a perfume LOVER. I never knew the journey that fragrances can take you on.

    31st January, 2014

    PungentPuncher's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Opens like smokey vanilla extract, then settles into a sharp vanilla. It's not a bad sharp, and in a way is pleasant. But it's too simple of a start and end for me to want to buy it. I don't see the fuss!

    TL;DR: Too simple of a combination for me to love. Longevity is nice, though.

    09th January, 2014

    tempest moon's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Complex fragrance...

    This one is not easy to describe as just "Tobacco" and "Vanilla", I find it much more complex than that. To me this opens up with a huge wave of honey. Honey and dried fruit, coupled with boozy vanilla, almost like vanilla extract. It's very much in gourmand territory, and I think people who like gourmands will like this one. It can also be quite sweet and medicinal, almost syrup-like, and that can be overwhelming (or even perhaps cloying) if sprayed too much. It is a high strength Eau de Parfum, and a little goes a long way (no more than a couple of sprays). In that respect, you won't need much of it and it's worth the price in many respects, as it does smell very well made and expensive. I can pick up some very faint tobacco, but to my nose it's overshadowed by the sweetness of the vanilla, tonka bean, and honeyed-fruits. In conclusion, I think it's worth the price for what you get. I think it can come across as masculine, but it's also wearable by a well dressed woman. I find it a little linear to begin with, but I do appreciate that it changes in the dry down and you can pick out individual notes. Overall a very very well done fragrance by Tom Ford. Try it first, but I think many will love it. Addictive stuff!

    28th December, 2013

    Stinkpot's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is amazing when it first goes on and the tobacco is big and bold. Within an hour or two the tobacco pretty much is gone and you are left with vanilla and cedar. That stage lasts a long time. It's nice, but this is done better elsewhere I think.

    26th December, 2013

    sierra 18's avatar

    Switzerland Switzerland

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Rich vanilla that evolves

    I received this recently, as I have been on the hunt for a nice vanilla-based fragrance. While I have Frapin's 1697, I had come across too many interesting reviews of this frag to pass it by.

    So, having worn it now for a while, I find the following:

    1. I get a very strong vanilla and tobacco-leather off the start.

    2. The leather and tobacco fade quickly on me unfortunately, but it does leave a cinnamon note that I find interesting.

    3. The vanilla is sweet, with a hint of cherry. Some reviewers have likened it to the cherry-vanilla car fresheners that you hang from your rear view mirror. I get what they're saying, but this scent is not anything like that, rather, its more of the scent of the vanilla-cherry you get when smelling certain unburned aromatic pipe tobaccos, such as the famous IQ pipe tobacco blend.

    4. This fades to soft, so the sillage is low on my skin, but the scent is there the next morning, so the longevity is long. In other words, it lingers a very long time, much as my Tom Ford Tuscan Leather does, but that lingering scent is also faint as of about 2 hours of wearing it.

    Overall, this one evolves on me, to run through a series of vanilla variations, starting with a tobacco scent, then into cinnamon, then more of a cherry-vanilla, then just smoke and vanilla at the final gasp.

    Its a very nice scent, not sure if its worth the high price. However, I thought that of my TF Tuscan Leather, and that 50ml bottle of TL has lasted me over 2 years owing to its strength (a little goes a long way) and to its heaviness (strong and complex, so not an everyday frag). I foresee Tobacco Vanille being like this; strong, and not an everyday wearer, but a very unique one.

    Pros: Strong vanilla note, with complexity
    Cons: Not as much of a dry tobacco as I would like, such as L'Artsan's (unavailable) Tea for two"

    16th October, 2013

    's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Lovely

    I love this, this was my first Tom Ford scent and it boiled down to this or Tuscan Leather. I think I made the right choice. Tobacco Vanille is a little more dynamic than TL I think although I will pick up TL at some point as well.

    This opens with a nice warm cigar-esque smell, I also think it's quite spicy at first which is later replaced with the vanilla. I have to try my hardest not to wear this all the time, once I sampled this I couldn't buy it quick enough. Is it worth £130? I'm not sure about that, it does have excellent longevity and projection which can't be said for all of the Tom Ford range so at least there is that. It's a formal fragrance and I think best suited to colder weather. It's definitely not something you can wear in a club either, way too serious.

    I keep this one for a special occasion, family meals, romancing the wife etc.

    Pros: Longevity, classy, deep
    Cons: Expensive"

    12th October, 2013

    TrueBlue's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Struth...

    I purchased a sample bottle of this and when it arrived at work i couldn't wait to open it up and give it a try..

    I went to spray some in front of me and then sniff the air but instead I sprayed myself straight in the face... :'(

    Picture a Cuban Cigar with a scent of vanilla..

    10 minutes later...

    Picture a smokers ashtray in their car and a vanilla scented xmas tree hanging from the cars mirror trying to cover the scent of the ashtray...

    omg... i washed my face twice that afternoon and it wasn't till the following morning that the scent had finally subsided...

    you live and learn I guess... ;)

    05th October, 2013

    drmike's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    starts with an incredible tobacco scent then goes horribly sweet ends up vanilla

    This is one of the most wonderfully opening masculine scents in my opinion ! so intense , very clear tobacco. i almost rush to buy the bottle but as i tested it the vanilla became stronger until it was so cloying i actually felt nauseous. Its so sad that the vanilla is just too over powering and horrible horribly sweet in my opinion. It projects well with great silage but honestly it ends up smelling of artificial vanilla custard powder. if this was reformulated to be less of a sledgehammer it would be a masterpiece

    Pros: incredible opening of tobacco
    Cons: really really horrible after about 2 hours. "

    12th September, 2013

    JCZuleta's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A MASTERPIECE SCENT.

    Sex in a bottle. Period.

    I just wish the tobacco smell lasted longer, the opening (50% tobacco, 50% vanille) fades away after a couple of hours and you're left smelling just the vanille.

    9.5/10

    Pros: 1) It's sex in a bottle. 2) Powerful, classic, quality fragrance. 3) LONGEVITY is AMAZING.
    Cons: 1) Tobacco note fades away after the first couple of hours. 2) High price. "

    17th August, 2013

    smelliott's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Less "Vanille" Please

    A gourmand with a couple of tattoos, Tobacco Vanille begins harmoniously enough: high quality spicy tobacco with a heavy dose of sweetness underneath. The delicious tobacco fades too quickly, and one is left to decipher the muddled base for the remaining seven hours of the scent's life; there is some vanilla in there to be sure, along with some tonka, and perhaps some cocoa. These notes are poorly misused in the scent, and create a sticky confection potent enough to make the pillsbury doughboy gag.



    Projection and longevity are slightly above average.



    2.6 out of 5

    Pros: Great opening
    Cons: The drydown is obnoxious"</p>

    14th August, 2013 (Last Edited: 29th July, 2014)

    N504jb's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Less is much, much more

    Grabbed a small sample of Tobacco Vanille from Bloomingdale's after giving myself a few sprays. I found, for me, just putting my finger to the opening of the bottle and dabbing each wrist--and if I really want a bit more projection in my hair--Tobacco Vanille is in a league of its own.

    I think men go waayyyyyyyy overboard with their expectations and analysis of scents. All this talk of silage, projection, and longevity is a bit anal. Just go to Nordstom's, Barney's, or a Bloomingdales, dress like you belong, say you've heard a lot about it, and ask for a sample. Not a quick spray a sample. Then see how it makes YOU feel. It's really that simple. T/V makes me feel like I belong in the Harvard Club or playing a round at Pebble beach or winter in Palm Springs. It gives me a sense of quiet, restrained power and that becomes the way I act.

    If I just get off on a scent but it doesn't stimulate some deep recess of my unconscious that alters my self-perception, it's off the table. T/V compels me to believe that even if I'm 20 or 30 years older than a woman, I can walk up to her and she'll be caught up in my belief that I'm someone to take seriously--again, if my suit and other adornments are consistent with the scent. It's grey flannel, wood-panelled walls in boardrooms, and private jets. That's quite a hat trick for a scent to pull off.

    Pros: A littler goes a long, long way
    Cons: Decant may be better way to go than spray."

    04th August, 2013

    nyguy's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Projection beast

    Wanted to own a Tom Ford fragrance so I decided to buy the highest rated one without previously smelling it. Upon my initial wearing, I was taken back...this is potent, strong, and very much simply tobacco and vanilla. It actually smells like you've smoked a cigar around a cherry tree? Projection and Logevity are amazing...I don't know if it was worth the money or if I'm in love but lets see how it does in the winter.

    Pros: Distinct, sweet, powerful
    Cons: Linear smell"

    21st July, 2013

    RichNTacoma's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Big, powerful and sweet

    This is one that I have to be in the mood for. It is big, and has a very much 1970s feel to it. It goes back and forth for me between sophisticated and raw. A cowboy college professor or college professor cowboy. The sweet tobacco begins to give way to the vanilla an hour into the dry down for me. Projection strong but not choking. I like this, but don't see this as something I would wear that often. However, the sample is still half full, so we shall see.

    Update: A little more time with this, and it is really great. The basic essence is the same, but as it calms down, it really becomes both sexy and powerful.

    12th July, 2013

    Acqua-di-USA's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    It wasn't love at first smell

    The first time I tried it I did not like it. It took me a while to fall in love with it. As far as compliments, my daughter hates it (lol), and the girls my age (30+) and older really like it.

    In simple words, when I wear Tobacco Vanille I feel like a sexy cowboy. Love this fragrance.

    It is masculine and complex, but since not everyone loves as much as I do I would recommend to try a couple of times.

    Pros: Strong silage, projection, and longevity.
    Cons:

    28th May, 2013

    Monsieur's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Very surprised by the 88 positive to 12 negative reviews..
    I get 1 hour of Tobacco and 8+ hours of platics-y, ultra synthetic vanilla.
    I much prefer the creamier varities of vanilla, but that of TV smells like I melted a plastic toy made from vanilla and smeared it over my skin.
    Projection bomb on me- NO
    Longevity monster- NO, 12 hours sometimes less which is above average.
    I go 4 sprays and some rec 1.
    Is it a masterpiece or complex- NO
    I give it a 8/10

    05th April, 2013

    del's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Tobacco Vanille opens with a strong tobacco leaf note blended with some sweetness that smells like honey to me. Syrupy or medicinal, in a good way. The tobacco remains dominant for a couple of hours on my skin, then the vanilla takes over. Reminds me of rootbeer / cream soda with hints of tobacco and spices.

    Longevity is very good (not excellent), the projection is loud the first couple of hours, then it tones down, before becoming a skin scent.

    While Tobacco Vanille seems easy to understand, it is a fine perfume that every fragrance head must smell. Thumbs up!

    31st March, 2013

    Jkidd's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a beautiful Vanilla based fragrance. I get mostly spices, vanilla, and woods, more so than tobacco. The tobacco note in this fragrance is very faint. I would have loved for TV to have a stronger tobacco presence. However, this is an excellent fragrance for winter with powerful projection and staying power.

    28th March, 2013

    Quartz's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A very nice scent. It's exactly as others have described here. It reminds me of my grandfather's pipe tobacco humidor. It does have a nice vanilla drydown but, for me, the pipe tobacco note lasts pretty much the whole time. I didn't notice any cinnamon. I can see this as a unisex fragrance. The big drawback is the ridiculous price- I'd buy it if it wasn't so costly.

    18th March, 2013

    Showing 1 to 30 of 143.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000