Perfume Reviews

Reviews of Cepes and Tuberose by Aftelier

Total Reviews: 8
So, porcini mushrooms and tuberose... This is actually one of those combinations that ends up smelling very different than its parts. The tuberose contributes a vaguely floral effusiveness, but doesn't smell like tuberose. The cepes contributes a dirty, earthy quality, but doesn't smell like mushrooms. Instead, you get a completely unique, weirdly effusive dirt smell, drying down to a fairly commonplace essential oil/natural perfume base.

I suppose this is a bit of a novelty perfume, and it would take someone truly quirky to find this beautiful. I tend to enjoy perfumes that smell like "interesting dirt", but even I'm not ready to consider Cepes & Tuberose as a signature scent, but it's still very much worth a sniff, just for originality.
17th August, 2017
First sniff " We have a winner" The Gaseous of Ammoniac Perfume of Cepes is captured to a tee.
The opening has the Gassy open of the Fungus. like Pathetique this top is used to surprise and amuse provide a ammoniac balloon to highlight the heart, which in this case the Dreaded Tuberose. Trouble is that it brings the Love fllower along gently and concentrates upon the essense of the beast which is somewhat vegetal dry. This is highly contrary to the Violently Indolic overally buttered, overally sweet fruity barf inducing presentation of the time.
So this perfume, for me, comes off as a splendid indication of the tender layered beauty of the Tuberose profile.
A beautifully balanced,nuanced, artistic piece that could be presented as an Ice cream flavour savoury.
While the Boletus accord is not true, it presents with a billow, Tuberose as a Queen.

My opportunity to stop worrying and learn to Love the Tuberose.

31st July, 2017
This is a nice savory perfume, and surprisingly wearable for one that features mushrooms. The mushrooms are nicely balanced by tuberose.
02nd March, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Stardate 20170301:

I do not get any tuberose or rose.
Do get some cinnamon on top.
And then the heart has this weird smell which overpowers all other notes. Cepes maybe (whatever that is).
I don't like this note(maybe I am overly sensitive to it)

Pass.

01st March, 2017
Genre: Floral

Cepes. Boletus. Porcini. The epicure’s delight, second only to the truffle in the ranks of noble fungi. Savory, ripe, and even a bit grotty, boletus is a natural for perfumery, and I wonder that it doesn’t show up much more frequently in scent pyramids. Cepes and Tuberose opens with a dry herbal accord, backed by woods and leather. The mushroom takes a bit longer to emerge, and when it does it’s dusky, animalic essence almost begs for handmade pasta, garlic, and olive oil. This culinary moment passes as the white floral notes develop, combining with the tang of mushroom and the soft leather backdrop in a somewhat plumy, buttery mélange. The tuberose here is of the sweet and subdued sort, not the dry heady vapor of Fracas or Carnal Flower. At the center of this fragrance is a deftly choreographed, erotic pas de deux between the fungus and the flower, one and then the other taking center stage as the scenery slowly shifts behind them. The leather gives way ever-so-slowly to woods as the foreground floral notes continue to sweeten and the elusive mushroom slowly melds into the background.

Once the boletus retreats the scent becomes much more conventional, with a drydown of woods and sweet, creamy vanillic notes. The total staying time isn’t much more than two or three hours. It’s a disappointing end to an intriguing development, and I wish the heart persisted more than an hour or so. As it is, Cepes and Tuberose requires constant reapplication to stay interesting. In sum, this is a weird and oddly compelling fragrance that’s let down by a generic drydown that arrives much too soon.
11th June, 2014
l find this fragrance very difficult to describe, & very strange, but not in a good way. l get a kind of anisic floral opening, with a distinctly lactonic or coconutty undertone. There's also something vaguely woody; perhaps the rosewood. Soon after this, a peculiar note l can only describe as "new car smell" begins to dominate, & remains for most of the duration. As a child, this smell always made me feel sick, & so this is not pleasant to me at all. l detected this same note in Tom Ford's Velvet Gardenia, & l wonder if this is how my brain interprets the mushroom note. l hate mushrooms, so perhaps there is a subconscious negative association there for me.
The tuberose remains very much in the background until well into the drydown, & even here it is very soft, muted & almost sickly-sweet. lt all lasts a stomach-churning five hours on me; long enough for me to know that this fragrance will never again be allowed anywhere near my skin.
25th February, 2013
I tested this scent yesterday at the Aftelier sale. Very interesting yet elegant scent. It starts with a hint of earthy mushroom and the herbal woods that surround it. At this point it's very grounding similar to oakmoss, but much richer. After an hour or so, it emerges from the forest floor and goes floral with the rich tuberose and the earthiness is its foundation. It was still present 5 hours later. I think that's pretty good for a natural scent. Just reapply, it's worth it for the experience. It's on my short list to purchase after my Carnal Flower is finished.
12th December, 2010
Wonderfully animalistic scent that blossoms into a sexy deep alluring - yet not overpowering - one of a kind exotic perfume.
If you are a tuberose fan but want something a little less "narcotic" then most heavy flory perfumes this is for you!
All of Mandy Aftels perfumes have a good "life" on the skin and last several hours before you need to re-apply.
15th February, 2007