Neutral Reviews of Blue Sugar by Aquolina

    Find out more about Blue Sugar by Aquolina in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 14 of 14. (Show all reviews)
    Cannon's avatar
    Cannon
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Smells a bit feminine to me after smelling Victoria's Secret Pink Sugar on girls. They are the same sweet sugar and vanilla smell with only a small deviation. It is delicious smelling, but it is still rather candy sweet in a teen girl kind of way. I'd be more likely to spray this in my car as it is a fine smell, but on a man it would be a little awkward. Very carnival cotton candy mixed with vanilla smell.

    15 November, 2011

    xxxjeremyxxxx's avatar
    xxxjeremyxxxx


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    i get carmel,sugar,warm toasty vanilla, very fair ground smell.... it does exactly what its expected to do and its a great gourmand, maybe one of the best and it stays on my skin for like 11 hours !!! only thing bad for me about it is i dont know when its appropriate to wear cuz you literraly smell like caramelized sugary caramel fairground..

    14 November, 2011

    Sybarite's avatar
    Sybarite
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I have absolutely nothing against sweet (even overtly sweet) fragrances. (I tend to have a bit of a "sweet-tooth", so perhaps a "sweet-nose" as well !?) And "Blue Sugar" is certainly a sweet frag. However I found it not nearly as "saccharine" & potent as I've been lead to believe by the various reviews here. And after all the positive comments, I was expecting a far better scent than what it actually is. Which is only average at very best. (Though, I'll add that it's quality & longevity is at least much better than most frags in this same "el cheapo" price bracket).
    Seeing as it's named "Blue Sugar", the overpowering "sugar & candy floss" notes don't exactly come as a surprise. These are certainly the forefront notes that immediately assault your nose, & mostly remain throughout the 'fume's progression. However I don't understand the "smokey" & "caramel" descriptions. I got none of that ! The sugar note is not a "brown sugar" or even burnt or caramelised one, (if only it were !) it's rather much more reminiscent of pure white crystalline "refined" plain sugar, to my nose.
    And I can even understand mention of the "Licorice" note, which is definitely present in the first half of the scent. Though I didn't detect any "Anise" at all. (There are in fact detectable differences between these two, albeit very similar, notes.) And whilst certainly apparent, the Licorice note doesn't really stick around for very long, thankfully (as not exactly a fave note of mine). It soon dissipates and gives way to ......
    And here, as the heart of the scent begins to bloom, is where I get a nasty surprise. One which unfortunately totally ruins this 'fume for me.
    In fact, I'm really surprised none of the reviewers here mentioned this note yet when referring to BS (???). As it's very central to the composition. And had I been aware/warned I'd certainly not have gone near a bottle of "Blue Sugar", let alone buy one "blind". (At least it only cost a pittance).

    The dreaded note I mean, is the herb Cilantro (i.e. Coriander Leaves). When I noticed "coriander" mentioned in the notes list for BS, I immediately presumed it'd be the seeds instead. A note well suited to gently spicing up a "vanilla". Never even contemplated it might be the leaves used instead, as I'd read no mention of Cilantro in BS. But mark my words, (or be warned, if you happen to feel the same as I do) it's all about the Cilantro once the Licorice departs, & for a good few hours.
    In short, this is pretty much how Blue Sugar smells to me. Imagine this :
    Take a cup of water, and add to it as much white sugar as the solution will take. To this thin sugar syrup add a couple of teaspoons of Lemon juice, (&/or a good squirt of Bergamot if you have it ;o). Then grate/chop a Licorice root and blend with a good handful of slightly bruised/crushed Cilantro leaves. Add to solution and shake vigorously ! As a finishing touch throw in a couple of Vanilla Pods and a Tonka Bean. Leave it all to macerate. ...
    And there you have it ! - If you can imagine how this blend would smell like then you'll pretty much have a good idea how Blue Sugar smells.

    NOT a scent for "Cilantro-phobes" that's for sure. ~ You've been warned !
    Pity though, as I was kinda enjoying the rest. ...
    Otherwise it's got good sillage and above average longevity. (Especially for such a ridiculously cheap price !)

    P.S. ... Whomever thinks "Blue Sugar" is a "dead-ringer" for Micaleff's "Note Vanillee" (as I've read somewhere) must have a very "unsophisticated" nose. I'm sorry but they DO NOT smell anything alike. Not even their shared vanilla & licorice notes smell the same, even though basically both vanilla. ~ "Note Vanillee" is IMO, one of the very best vanilla-centric renditions I've smelled to date. Rich boozy and utterly gorgeous. Blue Sugar in comparison is as "a spoon of sugar" is to a "creme brulee".
    One is certainly not a viable substitute for the other. To say they smell similar is just ridiculous ! ~ (Sorry !)

    29 October, 2011

    jagmartini's avatar
    jagmartini
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Got a vial of this recently and all I can say is the name made me cringe. I dont think I'd be brave enough to wear something called Blue Sugar and admit to it.

    It's not terrible, but it smells just like A Men from Theiry Mugler minus the tar smell. Very candyish and something I would expect to smell on some teenager who wasn't taught the value of sparingly applying scents.

    12 October, 2011

    Gilgamesh2003's avatar
    Gilgamesh2003
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    To my nose this is more about the anise than the sugar - I get an opening blast of almost pure licorice. This continues to dominate, overshadowing what smells like a rather pleasant vanilla cappuccino of the sort that you get at a gas station. It has a rubbery consistency throughout. Very warm, despite the cool blue bottle. Not a complex scent.

    It's certainly an unusual fragrance, or perhaps it would have been a few years ago. It's also inexpensive. I don't dislike Blue Sugar, but I do think there are better sugary gourmand fragrances out there.

    29 January, 2011

    The_Cologneist's avatar
    The_Cologneist
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Blue Sugar is a sickly sweet gourmand fragrance with excellent longevity and projection. The fragrance is fairly linear, so don't expect much change. It basically smells like organic sugar or "Sugar in the Raw". Sometimes it smells like cotton candy, or vanilla, but for the most part it's burnt sugar through and through. Beware, this is so sweet that it makes A*Men seem spicy.

    14 March, 2010 (Last Edited: 07 December, 2010)

    PigeonMurderer's avatar
    PigeonMurderer
    Finland Finland

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I get very same style of strawberry smell from Blue Sugar as in HM or Black XS. These scents have great differences in shade; but there is definitely a strawberry in each of them. (if not an actual synthetic ingredient, then it is some very mysterious accord…)

    Blue Sugar smells basically like a strawberry jam with burnt sugar, warm vanilla pudding and liquorice sauce.
    It also reminds me of overly sweet cream fudge candies that have a moist inside.

    Blue Sugar is like a funfair: Its perhaps hell of a fun place to visit few times a year, but more intense relationship is for bad, since it can first make you very dizzy and sick, and eventually what is left is just boredom.


    Not a scent for those who have a perfect relation ship with their tooth fairies.

    03 February, 2009

    Andrewthecologneguy's avatar
    Andrewthecologneguy
    Nigeria Nigeria

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    To my nose, this smells nothing like Black XS without the strawberries, instead it (I couldn't believe it) smelled exactly like caramelized sugar...as in pour some sugar in a pan and light the fire and stir the sugar. More shockling is when I got on BN and saw the notes actually contain caramelized sugar. I am not sure why anyone would like to smell like this, and I actaully prefer A*Men to this, sure it is synthetic, but that is what makes it wearable...it is obviously cologne and not some sort of baking product.
    Neutral only becaus it is daring, otherwise thumbsdown.

    18 September, 2008

    Shaheen's avatar
    Shaheen
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Opens up smelling exactly like caramelized sugar and nothing else. About 15 to 30 minutes in, a delicious black licorice note appears out of nowhere.

    And that's about all there is to this gourmand. Black licorice is the prominent note, with the caramelized sugar in the background.

    You have to really like the smell of black licorice to be able to handle this fragrance. It's quite strong once it transitions into the heart and base.

    I think it's a little too simple and over the top for my tastes, but it's not a bad fragrance.

    30th August, 2008 (Last Edited: 28 January, 2011)

    tvlampboy's avatar
    tvlampboy
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A*men without the burned tar and scorched cocoa notes. (If you can imagine such a thing.)

    Far too sweet a concoction for my tastes, granted, but still far better than that eerily similar Thierry Mugler demon that haunts my nightmares and gives me migraines.

    15 December, 2007

    nthny's avatar
    nthny
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    It's not just about sugar which is a good thing. Reading the fragrance pyramid is almost like reading a checklist of what one experiences throughout his day with Blue Sugar, except for I get loads of cedar right at the beginning and it settles way into that background hours after application. The notes which constantly shout at me as I wear this are licorice/anise, caramelized sugar, and cedar, drying down to a buttery vanilla caramel base which is somehow not as immature as one might imagine. I can see this being a pleasantly surprising fragrance to find on - and snuggle up to- the neck of a loved one in a romantic moment, but my long day with it was a little difficult. There were moments I wanted to jump ship but I held on and in the end it really wore me, as they say.. it clashed with everything in my natural surroundings: hand soap, others' fragrances, the smell and taste of my lunch, the smell of the out doors. My whole day was ruled by Aquolina Blue Sugar and I know I didn't over apply because I have a small tester and I only used about 1/8" of it. Thus, I say, this would be a nice romantic "evening in" kind of scent, or great for a fall night in a cafe watching the leaves blow around outside. This smells great if you take it at face value and realize it is what it was meant to be: a dessert gourmand with a touch of cedar and anise to give it a masculine edge.

    14 November, 2007

    guynspfld's avatar
    guynspfld
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I was so disapointed. I read about and couldnt wait to smell it and such a let down. I didnt try it on, but did sniff and the candy smell was overwhelming...I will try it on next

    03 November, 2007

    bront82's avatar
    bront82
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Well ... if your budget doesn't allow you to purchase a bottle of Mugler's A*Men, then Blue Sugar is certainly your best bet! To be honest, I can't really smell any difference between the two, which is really quite sad considering how utterly recognizable Angel has become. I was hoping for something sweet yet dark, which Blue Sugar delivers upon opening in a very nice way, the note of Carmelised Sugar. However ultimately, you are left with nothing new, but what did you expect?

    02 February, 2007

    smellygirl's avatar
    smellygirl


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Very sweet, but more complex than the women's version, Pink Sugar. I smell coffee and caramel in this, and as it dries down the sugar becomes more apparent. The wood and tonka basenotes help keep the sweetness from going over the top, but this could easily be worn by a woman. If you like sweet scents, give it a try!

    22 January, 2007

    Showing 1 to 14 of 14. (Show all reviews)