Positive Reviews of Patchouli 24 by Le Labo

    Find out more about Patchouli 24 by Le Labo in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 30 of 41. (Show all reviews)
    2nosedtwin's avatar

    Netherlands Netherlands

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a great exercise in how to make a very good warm and dry-smoky scent that manages to stay away from the frankincense church-category. A very dry, warm and multi-facet smoke-scent with a strange barbecue roasted chicken-note, the tarry chimney of a fireplace, that dry spicy-inky of fresh morningpaper, the hot, dry steamy-smokiness of a sauna-scent together with a nice round and smoky patchouli that reminds of a cigarette in a ashtray made of marble, all there...and the dusty, musty smell of old books. Bold and at the same time subtle. The oilyness and warmth in this scent somehow seems to mimic the human skin itself and thats the greatest thing about it. Its smells in a animalic way but doesnt really show does notes. The warmth that this scent radiates till deep in its dry-out is extraordinary, it really seems to heat itself up...
    I cannot really call this a perfume and wouldnt wear this myself but its very original stuff- i think this will go down in history as a classic (scent). Annick Menardo truly is the most original and gifted perfumer of our time.

    23 April, 2014 (Last Edited: 04 May, 2014)

    Kain's avatar

    Iran Iran

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    First time when I sniffed this, the smell was very familiar to my nose!
    Then I take a look at the perfumer and I saw Annick Menardo! he has done a really great job with a fragrance with the same DNA before and yes, that's Bvlgari Black!
    It doesn't smell exactly like that but very close and with the same DNA.
    The opening is dark and almost smoky leather scent with some sweetness in the background and also some patchouli but I would say this is not a patchouli based fragrance!
    The patchouli is there but sweetened with vanilla and very strong dose of leather that give the scent a very dark aura!
    In the mid the leather and vanilla become stronger.
    The leather note has a very smoky and dark aroma. maybe like Bvlgari Black almost rubbery but better than that.
    The vanilla in this fragrance smell much better and more natural than Bvlgari Black.
    The vanilla was synthetic in Bvlgari Black but here is much more sensual and quality.
    Still you can smell patchouli but it's in the background.
    The scent didn't change that much in the base.
    The leather note settled down and vanilla is very strong and sweet and patchouli is still in the background.
    While they name it Patchouli 24, I must say that the patchouli is more like a supporting note instead of the main note!
    Projection is really good and strong and longevity is excellent.
    A very good fragrance. I like it.

    16 February, 2014

    rbaker's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The first minutes I get a dark and harsh patchouli, but soon it is as if a cloud of black smoke has descended. It is a harsh, open-fire smoked-ham-with-Oolong note, with transient whiffs of asphalt, and without any Knize-Ten-style petrol on my skin. The beginning has a few touches that indeed remind me if Bvlgari Black's opening. There is clearly a lot of deliciously rough birchwood involved, developing into a rich, intense and edgy leather scent. After about three hours it mellows and is closer to my skin, with a mild vanilla that is never really very sweet on me - the beast is tamed. And a hair-on-the-chest tough beast it is: This is not wearing a tender silk gown like Chanel's Cuir du Russie, and it lacks the fresh elegance of Creed's CdR masterpiece. Le Labo's Patchouli 24 is a brilliant and gutsy exercise in birchwood and leather, with patchouli more an afterthought after the initial blast. Le Labo' names can be a bit like Oxford's Bachelor of Civil Law, which is really not a Bachelor's degree at all. The scent, however, is splendid, with good silage and projection in the first phases and a total longevity of nearly seven hours. Great stuff!

    05 February, 2014 (Last Edited: 04 February, 2014)

    drseid's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Patchouli 24 opens with a very earthy, near camphorous patchouli before quickly transitioning to its birch driven heart. During the early heart the earthy patchouli moves to a barely detectable supporting role as a very smoky rugged birch wood driven leather accord quickly emerges and dominates the composition through its entire middle section with hints of the birch's woody nature peeping through at times. During the late dry-down the patchouli completely disappears with the smoky leather softening, as dry slightly powdery vanilla from the base first acts as underlying support before growing into the late focus as the development comes to a close. Projection is excellent and longevity outstanding at well over 15 hours on skin.

    As many others have mentioned (and quite typical of Le Labo) the Patchouli name on the bottle is far from a good indicator of what one sniffs. The *real* star of most of the development is the birch wood driven smoky leather. The birch near completely overpowers any traces of the patchouli, and by the time the composition reaches the late dry-down the patchouli appears completely gone. Apart from the addition of the late developing vanilla there really aren't many detectable notes (though the "24" in the name indicates there actually are 24 different ingredients). To me, Patchouli 24 really is a minimalist hard-core leather fragrance through-and-through, and an excellent one at that. The bottom line is the $240 per 100ml bottle Patchouli 24 has a deceptive name and most likely will disappoint those looking for a patchouli-focused composition, but hardcore leather lovers are bound to be pleased with its superior minimalist execution, earning it a "very good" to "excellent" rating of 3.5 to 4 stars out of 5.

    29 December, 2013

    flathorn's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This fragrance was easy-going on my skin, even with the birch tar and smoke. When it opened I got an impression of smoke, patchouli and cream soda or root beer. I think it was the combination of vanilla, birch and a Lapsong-type tea note, lightly sweetened. It all swam around a roughened earthy, but not really aggressive, patchouli. I should have been offended by the combination but it was kind of comforting.
    In the mid note, I smelled more leather, which amped up the sensuality, and was my favorite part of the fragrance. There continued to be a sort of birchy root soda note. These notes weren't welded in place. They were the product of ingredients floating around creating associations, one of which was cream soda. But it shifted to Lapsong tea, styrax, leather, an agreeable earthy patchouli and birchy tar. The dry down had less leather and settled a little more solidly into the earthy patchouli and palely sweetened smokey birch beer note.
    I thought this was a comfort fragrance - there were so many associations from my childhood in it. It has a decided birch tar, but I grew up burning birchwood in a wood stove, so this is like being home. It had a fair amount of complexity built into it, what with the way the notes shifted and formed new chords until the dry down. Kind of a neat trick really. Root beer is not my idea of a fragrance note, but I can't help but like it here, wrapped as it is in so many warm smoky, earthy notes. Nice fragrance.

    11th December, 2013 (Last Edited: 07 February, 2014)

    jtd's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    fan letter

    A review of le Labo Patchouli 24, and coincidentally

    a fan letter to Bvgari Black.

    Thank you, Annick Menardo.

    If I find a genre of perfume that I like, I embrace it. I stock up. With Patchouli 24, I’ve cornered the market on the smokey-leather-tea-patchouli-resinous-vanilla genre. The other two in this category I already own: Bvlgari Black and Andy Tauer Lonestar Memories.

    When comparing apples to apples, the small differences carry great weight, and decision making is easy. I wear all three and never have the least difficulty choosing which one to wear on any given day.

    Lonestar, Black and Patch 24 share a number of notes, and in fact could look very similar on paper. But notes and verbal descriptors have little to do with the experience of wearing these perfumes. Lonestar takes a sense of intention and deliberation to wear. But when the stars align, wearing Lonestar pays dividends. Bvlgari Black, less rough than Lonestar and more tailored than Patchouli 24, is the star of the three. Lonestar is rough and Patchouli 24 is dense, but both perfumes result from the cooperation of their notes. (There was a television ad for a dog treat that coined the repulsive phrase, "crun-chewy" solving, I suppose, a millenia-long dilemma in the dog world) The term for this particular perfume synergy would be, "am-birch-tar-y."

    But Black has a different motivation than cooperation, and the logic is indisputable. It thrives on the difference of its constituent parts and makes them work together in a complementary fashion rather than simply uniting them as a boy-band would be cast. Black has the seamless coordination of a perfectly crafted mechanical device. It’s not harmony, it’s the satisfaction of perfectly milled locks and keys.

    Sweetness is the difference between the three. Black’s sweetness is the charm that results from amber, rubber and powder. Inedible, delectable. Lonestar’s sweetness is the sharp edge of tar, blanched white florals and and uncut vanilla extract. Patchouli 24’s sweetness is the key to its affability. The sweetness triggers perceptions of lushness and the sense of having satisfied a craving, but it never once falls into gourmand territory. This sweetness is the pressure valve of Patch 24. It is the reassurance of safety in a perfume that asks you to be comfortable in a place you’ve never really felt fully at ease. Trust the sweetness. You won’t fall into the gourmand trap, yet by the same token the big bad wolf (tarry, smokey leather) won’t harm you.

    It’s no wonder that no matter the form, the field or the genre, thoughtful, accomplished artists over a period of time will work out their ideas in a specific range rather than inventing a new wheel with each series of works. From Femme to Ocean Rain, Edmond Roudnitska illuminated the fruity chypre. Pina Bausch showed us the depth of change that mid-20th century Europe had to accept moving from post-colonialism to multi-culturalism. Menardo has a gem of a focus, and arguably she’s written the book on what could be fleshed out into its own genre. Consider also that she’s virtually the sole author of the by Killian line. The opportunity to shape a line, and separately to creating a genre is not a common opportunity in perfumery. I’m ecstatic to know that it’s Ms. Menardo at the wheel.

    from scent hurdle.com

    27 August, 2013

    Switch245's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Never mind my original review; after you get past the strange barbecued meat vibe in the beginning, it drys down to a wonderfully smoky smell that reminds me of cookouts in the summertime, yet with a vanilla note that reminds me this is still a perfume.

    02 November, 2012 (Last Edited: 29 April, 2013)

    Preston H's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I can't believe base notes has this as a femme scent. When I went to le labo to complete my rose 31 set I was wearing my royal English leather by creed. The lovely sales associate thought I was wearing this gem which immediately prompted me to test this in the store, love at first sniff. It's smoky and leathery without the citrus that makes a leather scent smell too medicinal IMO. This is my fifth day wearing this in a row rare for a new bottle and there's nothing stopping me from a sixth..

    07 September, 2012

    blood-orange's avatar

    Australia Australia

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Patchouli 24 is quite possibly one of the smokiest scents I'll ever experience in this lifetime. This scent is not entirely patchouli like the name suggests; not earthy and green like most fragrances are with this accord.

    There is a striking and captivating dustiness that is all too beautiful on the skin. At times this fragrance reminds me of camp-fires, ash and incense, all the things that I find appealing. It is no wonder that I love this scent so much.

    The vanilla which tends to linger softly behind the smokey patchouli and woodsy notes, is divine and rather feminine on the skin. I must say that I'm a very feminine person, and I do not agree that this is strictly for men. It is too beautiful not to be shared between genders.

    There is a touch of leather in this composition which provides a sensual, animalistic quality. For that reason alone I'm tempted to wear this out on the town to see the various reactions from men. To me, Patchouli 24 is the scent of a confident and captivating seductress.

    I love Rebella's (Fragrantica reviewer) description, "velvety smoke" which I find sums up this fragrance perfectly. Be forewarned that this fragrance is rather intense, being heavy in its projection and lasting on the skin. If you've ever tried Annick Goutal's Les Orientalistes range, Patchouli 24 smells very similar to Myrrhe Ardente and Encens Flamboyant.

    04 April, 2012

    Harvitz81's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A very powerful and smoky birch tar opening laced with a little tobacco. Some sweet patchouli emerges, but this remains smoky throughout and wears pretty linear from the get go. After many hours I can detect a little wood notes and some sweet fruit notes, but that isn’t until well into the dry down. This one projects well and lasts forever. I happen to like this one quite a bit.

    08 February, 2012

    katchan's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This Le Labo creation rocked my world. It was the reason I became perfume obsessed. It literally opened my eyes to a new way of creating fragrances. The smoky muskiness is super sexy without being formulaic. The tea, leather, and patch combo are unlike anything else I've ever smelled. Bravo!

    11th January, 2012

    alfarom's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Everybody knows Annick Menardo is a genious and Patchouli 24 is surely among her most relevant compositions but, where many of their deliveries have striked as *yummy yummy* gourmands, P24 it's more like a gourmand that nobody would dare to eat. It opens with a breathtaking smoked ham/meat note joined by leather (birch?), dark smoky tea and a rubber vibe that definitely resembles of both Lonestar Memories and Bulgari Black...but at the n-th power. Patchouli, animalic notes and vanilla make their appearance right away bringing the composition into a more comforting territory but still nowhere close being easily approachable. Leather is prominent throughout and provides a good balance to the sweeter woody/vanilla drydown.

    Overall, more than a patchouli centered composition, I get P24 as a leather/vanilla fragrance with a twist and while the similar Bulgari Black is definitely more wearable, it still strikes as a sort of edulcorated version of P24 which I see as a big step forward in the same direction. Be carefull with dosage. Super projection and tenacious lasting power.

    Salubrious and toxic at the same time. Definitely not for everybody.

    24 November, 2011

    Darvant's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Nice and heavy ambery fragrance, a strange  smokey masculine oriental in the same vein of Mazzolari Lui that turns immediately out in all its smokey, leathery, animal and vanillic temperament with a sheer presence of camphor, a barely perceivable patchouli, aromatic and rubbery birch tar and styrax, a touch of medicinal and green (labdanum). The initial animal smoke is impressive and overwhelming. The medicinal whiff is a current element in the fragrances of the brand and it cooperates to exude the boisterous first complex blast that seems to express all the strength of a scent that with time fades is a sort of ancient and vintage smoky amber-patchouli a bit cozy, vanillic, incensey and rubbery. As many others underlined the patchouli is absolutely not starring and straightforward, i perceive mostly a note of camphoraceous, leathery and syrupy amber with a touch of whiskey, a woodsy-mossy (labdanum) character and a notable smokey temperament. The fragrance is dark-brown, a bit incensey, aromatic and tarry, it's not too resinous because the incensey and rubbery feel of the styrax, birch tar and may be olibanum balance the vanillic and dense woodsy-smoky elements. From the contrast between resinous and dusty elements some woods appear in order to ground texture and stableness.

    13 November, 2011 (Last Edited: 02 March, 2013)

    spice's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Love it! Brings back memories of hospital antiseptic, but good ones.

    09 July, 2011 (Last Edited: 22 August, 2011)

    LucasKane's avatar

    Netherlands Netherlands

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Surreal scent! Memories of old books, wooden furniture, dusty rooms, campfire smoke, barbecue sauce and it's all in this small bottle. Magical, words fall short, a true masterpiece.

    07 June, 2011

    aoe's avatar

    Austria Austria

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I wouldn't want to wear this every day, but it's a fascinating scent and one that I will likely revisit when the time is right - maybe in somewhat cooler weather, although the opening burning/tarry note has a certain summer feel in that it evokes machinery operating in the hot sun (like some of the older tram cars used here in Vienna - I love the city and vintage public transport, so for me that is not bad).

    After the tar/patchouli I still find more smoke, but the smell gets a distinct tobacco note, I seem to perceive some sandalwood and gorgeous, gorgeous vanilla. With a few quick sprays from the test vial it seems to last for a long time.

    To me the scent starts very unsweet but with the vanilla/sandalwood gets less so (i. e. a bit sweeter) over time. It was clearly noticeable even outside, so there's definitely some sillage.

    23 May, 2011

    subhuman85's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Mercurial, shimmering, Gareth Pugh-esque (ie. on the razor's edge of wearability) composition from that mistress of the weird and wonderful, Annick Menardo. Explodes off the skin with a mix of lapsang souchong tea (read: campfire), cedar, patchouli (it's there, look harder), gasoline, and a bone-dry vanilla that somehow blends perfectly with the smoky salvo. Much like Menardo's Black for Bulgari, 24 is a bipolar shape-shifter, seeming sweet and sultry one minute, coarse and carcinogenic the next. Unlike the easygoing Black, though, 24 can be fickle: The drydown occasionally calls to mind a glass of flat, watered-down root beer into which someone's extinguished a cigarette. But when it works, Patchouli 24 is nothing short of relevatory, a delicously dark confection with a rich presence and phenomenal staying power. Not for all tastes, but a masterwork regardless.

    03 May, 2011

    Oh_Hedgehog's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Wielding the savage aroma of rectified birch tar, Annick Ménardo introduces a Gothic horror version of her earlier Bulgari Black, exaggerating with brilliant pungency the latter's top notes of lapsang souchong and then extending its vanilla drydown to something so distinct as to qualify as an oriental in its own right. Patchouli 24 is the brawn to complement Black's brains.

    The initial ferocity of Patchouli 24 is awesome and can be compared with Gorilla Perfumes' Breath of God (the Exhale accord), or Tauer's Lonestar Memories. With these top notes you can almost hear the cracking of burning bark and spluttering of resin fires. This black, pyroligneous uproar lasts for a good few hours and then begins a gentle transition to sweetly-spiced purple fruits, during which Patchouli 24 reveals itself to be a phenolic vanilla. Although it's a concession I'm usually willing to make, I find the oriental turn problematic – not for its implementation, which is sound – but for smoothing out the raggedness up top that I so relish. In terms of intent I'd prefer a less benign resolution to Patchouli 24, but despite the volte-face it remains darkly fantastic.

    02 February, 2011

    nsamadi's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The best fragrance in the Le Labo line, but since many find it difficult to wear or get into it, there isn't many followers of the scent. I consider it to be the cult favorite in the Le Labo line. It's the signature scent for the motorcycle riding, leather jacket wearing, beard stubble bad boy.

    Patchouli 24 is also created by perfumer Annick Menardo, who also developed Bulgari Black. Both scents although not similar in terms of smell, share some similarities, that rubber vanilla combination. I'm thinking Annick Menardo wanted to do this with Bulgari Black, but did not have the budget.

    Patchouli 24 is also a very linear scent, what you spray from the get-go, is what you get in the drydown, and it follows the same unconventional note pyramid of Bulgari Black. The beauty of Patchouli 24 is how well the notes are blended. No one aspect of the scent overpowers the other. Just an equal balanced ratio of leather, smoke, rubber, and vanilla.

    09 December, 2010

    cformosa4's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I love this scent! Great sillage, great longevity but the opening is hard to swallow. The opening smells like you have been camping and have been sitting in the smoke trail of the fire all weekend.
    However, after you let that pass it turn into a beautiful vanillic, smokey, chemically leather... Its not a sweet vanilla, its very dry.

    It smells like you're in an old old old university -- you're sitting in biology class dissecting a frog that has been sitting in chemical formaldehyde... the librarians are right outside the open window burning OLD OLD OLD books.. (That sweet, dry vanilla smell that old books get) -- the smoke from the old vanillic dry books is wafting in the window while you dissect the chemically smelling frog....

    i am going crazy with the imagery with this scent but this one really got to me.. it just reminded me of biology class, the old books in the library and smoke... so that picture just came to me.

    09 December, 2010

    Mimi Gardenia's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     


    I love Patchouli 24 and I don't particularly like patchouli. But this is done right. It downright sexy with smoke and for some reason the patchouli agrees with me . The smoke doesn't seem to last on my skin but what is left ,is elegantly risque patchouli with a certain sweetness and leather . Quite smooth and almost cognac -y in feel to me. Decent longevity - better longevity than Labdanum 18 . Unisex.

    22 September, 2010

    Diamondflame's avatar

    Singapore Singapore

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Little by way of patchouli but more of a leather oriental, thanks to the styrax, birch tar and I'm quite certain, labdanum. On first impressions, the smoke-and-leather act seems to peg this squarely as a masculine scent but a rather unisexual common thread of ambery sweetness unifies the disparate elements and smoothens out the numerous phase-shifts between notes of camphor, incense, smoke, leather, tobacco and resins. Rather reminiscent of Serge Lutens Serge Noire, come to think of it.

    While I'm not sure if I'd love to smell PATCHOULI 24 on a woman or if it even deserves the 5-Star rating by Luca Turin, I certainly cannot deny its appeal as an excellent masculine oriental.

    26 February, 2010 (Last Edited: 28 February, 2010)

    NillaGoon's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Barbecue sauce for humans! Awesome!

    I do get just a hint of camphor in the far background, which I assume is probably the patchouli. But for me, the notes of campfire and smoke are predominant. And it's rather sweet; hence the barbecue association. It lasts just the right amount of time, 6-7 hours, and has just the right amount of projection.

    I really do like this, but it's perilously close to the odor of "liquid smoke" products used as a culinary ingredient (check your grocery store's spice aisle or the section with barbecue sauces). There are various brands, and they all smell a bit different, but Patchouli 24 is right in the neighborhood. It kind of kills the magic for me, in two ways. First, it robs the scent of its sophisticated, "dark" cachet (how special and transgressive can it be if you can buy a bottle for $1.50 at the grocery store?), and second, it makes me worry that if I wear it in public, people will wonder why I smell like liquid smoke.

    Nevertheless, thumbs up because it does smell great and is unusual.

    02 December, 2009

    Asha's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Le Labo Patchouli 24

    Notes: Patchouli, birch tar, styrax, and vanilla (from luckyscent.com)

    For most Le Labo creations, the names do not reflect the true impression of the scent, and Patchouli 24 is no exception. Patchouli is clearly present in P24, but unlike most patch scents that have "Patchouli" in the name, the patch note is not the singular star. What P24 is...it is a smoky, woody, incensy, ambery, leather oriental, and it is unlike other scents which have similar descriptions (eg, Parfum d'Empire Ambre Russe or Mazzolari Lui). At the start, birch tar is the most prominent note, and it is heavily smoky, similar to what one might experience when smelling the charcoal remains of yesterday's campfire. At first the smoke eclipses most of the other notes, and for this reason, I wasn't sure it would develop very well. However, the wait was worthwhile, and I was rewarded with the other notes which added a lovely complexity without making the fragrance fussy: balsamic vanilla with woody, leathery, and tobacco qualities; warm, incensy, resinous labdanum; and a slightly herbal benzoin or sweet gum. Patchouli 24 is a unisex fragrance, but trends toward the masculine side with its smoke and leather. Even as a masculine, though, P24 keeps an excellent balance, and does not become overly vanillic--the amber base in P24 is subdued and dusty rather than rich and sweet. The fragrance is worthy of a sample, especially for amber lovers.

    29 November, 2009

    annalyssa's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I ordered a sample of this from luckyscent and from the first moment, prying off the top on the vial, I knew I was about to experience something strange and exciting.
    This has to be one of the most compelling & unusual scents I've ever tried.

    Patchouli is not what I think of at all when I think of this fragrance. Rather leather, birch tar, burnt sugar (vanilla?) and something like cloves that evoke a very moving "picture". After the first ten minutes or so of total shock, it smelled to me of a cabin with wool blankets in the woods, a cabin that doesn't get used very much..... my co-worker immediately said "holidays" as in spices and blankets and baking. Maybe a tack room in a barn near an orchard.

    Sadly I think it might be a tad too "manly" for me to wear - even though I was completely enthralled - but I might just get a bottle for my boyfriend and borrow it on days when I feel like wearing something beautiful, gritty and evocative. He liked it for himself - after being forced to submit to the sampler-wand during period two of a hockey game - which is saying a lot.
    On my hand it lasted all day and even now when I raise my arm I catch a distinct whiff....
    It's very very special, not for everyone, but SO worth the 3$ plus shipping for a sample at the very least.

    22 October, 2009

    Helle's avatar

    Sweden Sweden

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I absolutely love every bit of this fragrance. I love the smokey leather of the opening and how it morphs into patchouli-dirty vanilla to become a dry, salty comfort scent with an edge, a comfort scent for dark nights in dirty cities.

    01st October, 2009

    cpk's avatar

    Greece Greece

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is amazing. Come on! This is patchouli. A light patchouli but stop with that nonsense that what's in the name is not in the juice. And the drydown is not vanilla. It is vanilline. The cheap white powder that is used as a substitute of the expensive real thing. I always prefer the real thing when I cook but I must admit that the use of vanilline in a fragrance is ingenious. It brings the soft roundness of vanilla, without the sweetness and with a strong peppery burn in the nostrils. How come no-one thought of this before? Big thumbs up for the idea (by the way, vanilline is a by-product of paper manufacturing).

    05 May, 2009

    Narguile's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I absolutely love the complexity of this fragrance, the smoky rubbery tar opening that evolves into a hazy vanilla veil at the very tail end. It is everything I could not appreciate years ago when I first began my fragrance collecting, and now I can fully appreciate the complex structure, the slinky skin salt note that wraps through the whole delicious mix. Totally amazing and worth every minute.

    16 February, 2009

    kenji's avatar

    Thailand Thailand

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    One of the best in LeLabo line. The scent itself isn't based on patchouli like the name stated at all.
    The concept is the same as Bvlgari Black but it is so much better.
    First on the skin, I smell smoky birch tar with a slightest hint of patchouli.
    Later the scent creates a very good balance between tar and the sweetness of vanilla, whereas in BLV Black it dries down to a vanilla base with slight hint of burned tea and rubber left.

    13 February, 2009

    nthny's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Patchouli 24 is in a personal category of fragrances I like to call a "niche mess" and more often than not, I'm head over heals for everything I put into this category. Patchouli 24 is no exception. I can divide my Patchouli 24 experience into two very distinct parts. In the opening I'm treated to that "whoah, slow down there fella!" thing where all the notes come at me in a brawl of sensations and textures. There's heaps of smoke, tar, the smell of old dry things like leather or jerky, and vanilla to ground and soften what COULD be a very ugly experience. On the contrary, this is absolutely fantastic and that very vanilla seems to bind and lubricate everything dry and severe about this fragrance, so that when all is said and done, I actually consider Patchouli 24 to be one of my number one comfort scents, and instead of dry, I sense it as being very rich, if one could imagine thick vanilla tar in a molten, liquid form.

    The second part of my experience with Patchouli 24 is the cozy part for me. Not long after I apply it, everything starts to chill out and I envision a log cabin in the woods. If I might elaborate, this really does paint a pretty specific image in my mind... the air outside is pointedly cold and crisp, the sky radiantly blue, the scent of fireplace hangs in the air all around, and you take a whiff of your clean, slightly fabric softened (not the fresh smelling kind, the snuggly soft kind) flannel shirt, and you just wanna curl up in a thick quilt blanket on a big, old, worn leather arm chair and soak it all in. The end of Patchouli 24 smells like that to me. There's something unmistakably gentle and soft in this fragrance that really makes this shift in sensations a brilliant achievement. Love...it! Love it!

    14 November, 2008

    Showing 1 to 30 of 41. (Show all reviews)