Reviews of Black Sun by Salvador Dali

    Find out more about Black Sun by Salvador Dali in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 9 of 9.
    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Genre: Woods

    Loathsome. Whatever else is in here is overwhelmed by a crude, loud, and abrasive woody aromachemical that I never want to smell again. From the nose that brought us Sécrétions Magnifiques. Nuff said.

    09th June, 2014

    's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    That's a GREAT alternative for Armani Code. They're very close. Definetely worth it's price. Thumbs up!

    06th January, 2013

    Stratos's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Love the opening, but after awhile all I could smell was a musky powdery sort of scent. Little bit too feminine for my taste, but something I think I will still wear occasionally. Worth it for the $10 I payed for it, but not something I think I would pay full price for

    18th March, 2012

    foetidus's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    <><><><><>Salvador Dali Black Sun
    The basil is controlled by a labanum / cedar accord creating a unique and interesting masculine opening. This slightly resinous green accord gives an aromatic halo with a creamy resinousness, creating an edgy, near off-putting interpretation of “masculine.” I love the opening for its creativity even more than for its aroma. But the initial creative surge is lost when the nutmeg in the heart notes runs rampant over the sage and fir: I tend to dislike excesses of basil and / or nutmeg in fragrances… in Black Sun the basil is handled nicely with its combination with labdamun / cedar; but the nutmeg, which should be more muted by the sage and fir, escapes to dominate too much to my nose. The end of the middle accord goes a bit too sour and synthetic. The base’s vanilla, too, is ill-used. It comes off to my nose as too sharp and synthetic.

    I wish that the quality of ingredients of Dali fragrances matched their creative inspiration – they would be brilliant fragrances. But to my nose many of their fragrances too often turn plastic and synthetic… Black Sun entices with its creativity and energy, then all too soon disappoints with its synthetic ambiances. Good sillage and decent longevity.


    10th June, 2010

    Diamondflame's avatar

    Singapore Singapore

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Warm like the 'Sun'. 'Black' like it's pitch dark, and you can't see where you are going. So it is with this sweet, powdery scent. Salvador Dali's Black Sun has trouble finding its way beyond that of being the less handsome cousin of Armani Code.

    26th August, 2009 (Last Edited: 10th September, 2009)

    da_markos's avatar

    Poland Poland

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    i like this one. but maybe too much sage. anyway nice scent good for evening/night

    10th October, 2008

    SirSlarty's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A sweet, woody oriental. Gives a hint of licorice. I find this charming and warm.

    08th September, 2008

    schumi's avatar

    Romania Romania

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I was expecting much more form Black Sun... The name seemed to describe a very different fragrance: dark, funeral, introspective. Instead, I get a rather generic scent, a bit similar to Armani Code. Not as complex as I would have wanted it to be, not as dark as it should have been.

    10th August, 2008

    vespertine's avatar

    Australia Australia

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    like the original dali, its very dark, but this one is sweet, its like thinking you know someone that its dark and moody and then says something that just cracks you up and it so warm.
    different new and modern

    07th July, 2008

    Showing 1 to 9 of 9.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000