Reviews of 17/17 Homme by Xerjoff

    Find out more about 17/17 Homme by Xerjoff in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 12 of 12.
    gimmegreen's avatar

    Netherlands Netherlands

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Jeepers, which cauldron did they pull this megamongous leather from? Bag-and-sandal shop mixed in equal parts with roué’s black leather jacket after a night at an establishment with a name like The Sling or The Pit. The mix of new and weathered leather scents is an ingenious twist.
    Propelled in the opening by some herbal lavender, it soon settles into leather leather leather with an aureole of petrol fumes. Develops a pleasing creamy wood aspect in the deep dry down (4 hours). Well-made, with great persistence, will wow leatherheads to whose number I can’t say I belong.

    03rd December, 2013

    rbaker's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Rose and leather

    The leather impression - with only a small touch of harshness initially - is mainly in the opening blast on my skin, but a dark rose note is added, freshened up by a background citrus note. Later on a spicy component emerges with a touch of amber. The leather is not prominent overall, is smooth and not the wild type. It is very well blended and has good silage and projection, with a quite average longevity of three hours on me.

    02nd June, 2013

    bFlay's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Startling fresh citrus opening with a pungent herbal green and rose middle. Softens to a base of gourmand spices and talcum that occassionally pipes up with those pervasive citrus notes throughout wear. Lasts 6+ hours on skin. I do not detect leather notes at all...which I consider a good thing. Very mild after first thirty minutes and genearlly presents a mature unisex quality that is quite nice for daily or mixed company wear.

    08th January, 2013

    Darvant's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    An Imperial leather,  arrogant and high class. Birch tar, hesperides, dark leather shined by lucid foam and opaque flowers are the prominent notes under my profane  nose. Caraway, terragon, birch tar and ginger project gas and aromatic air. There is the Cuir the Russie's leathery, rubbery (polish) and oily beat in the air and a balance between spicy-rooty and soft elements completes the dry down.  This scent is a majestic citrus-lavender and leather prominent fragrance with a strong and spicy  grey-dark and green-aromatic vibe, a stiff floral subtleness and a touch of gassy rubber. There is a spicy and slightly orangy feel in the air that reminds me effectively Onda Vero Profumo although the former is less leathery and more orangy than the Xerjoff one. There is an undeniable resemblance of the former  with Knize Ten (the two fragrances feature many, many elements in common) since both are woodsy, rubbery, leathery and discreetly floral even if XJ Homme ends with a sort of soapy powderiness that is slightly different in comparison with the Knize Ten's mossy-animalic dry down. After a wonderful citrusy-herbal opening the smell slides, through a spicy-floral transition, in to a wonderful dark industrial "tamed" leather. The latter is always cool, spicy-herbal, aromatic and sophisticated by detergent-musky iris, rose, vanilla and grey amber. A touch of smoothness tames a bit the roughness of the masculine woodsy dry down. Extremely expensive and wonderfully packaged, XJ Homme is leather at its best in parfumery.

    24th March, 2012

    Dernier_Cri's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A very attractive pretty leather like freshly polished shoes is introduced splashed with a little citrus. Tres industrielle. Besides the great leather you have a little rubber too. Since we're conjuring up all this B & D imagery with both leather and rubber notes why not throw in a note from a good aromatic jute shibari rope and go for the trifecta? Just a suggestion, Xerjoff. For next time. A good jute shibari smells delicious. Homme brings to mind Knize Ten and rightfully so. There are similarities. But there are differences also. Enough that to my nose while Homme is alive and inviting Knize smells stale and shrunken. The splendid uber macho character of Homme naturally poses the question: Would this be James Dean's fragrance of choice were he alive today? And if so should an 81 year old man be wearing this? I say yes and emphatically yes.

    04th March, 2012 (Last Edited: 18th March, 2012)

    alfarom's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Review for the EDP:

    Somewhere between Etro's Gomma and Knize Ten. More consistent and refined than the former but less powerful and compelling than the latter.

    Xerjoff Homme is a butch and masculine leather prominent composition that opens with the same, characteristic gasoline note of the two aforementioned fragrances but where the Etro may result a little too literal in reproducing KT, the Xerjoff introduces a nice iris note to add some personality and soften the general harshness. Amber is clearly remarkable during the drydown but it's not as enveloping as in the Knize (which may be good news to someone). Sort of a manicured and polished version of the austrian masterpiece. Great projection and amazing lasting power.

    Personally I see no reasons to spend such big money to get a reproduction when you can have the original at 1/3 the price but, if by any chance, they will decide to discontinue Knize Ten, Xerjoff Homme will definitely become the only valid alternative.

    14th December, 2011

    EDJA's avatar

    Russian Federation Russian Federation

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Defenitely Leather Benchmark. Very Deep.
    The LV briefcase in liquid form.
    Great scent. The only issue is the price.

    21st November, 2011

    Jermel's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This one is so "freakin" sexy!!! Imagine driving in your brand new Rolls Royce Phantom Ghost... fresh off the dealership. This is what I imagine the interior would smell like. The only let down is the price. Although the price is a bit sickening, Homme is one of the few (expensive) fragrances that is worth the $670 price tag. Trust me leather freaks of the world... Try it!

    09th October, 2011

    easycesco's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    XJ HOMME stay in the olympus of the best leather scents with knize, chanel cuir de russie and few other.
    Less flowery than Knize, Less citrus than Chanel, with a strong birch tar note. It smell of shoes polish and smoky-leather. Open with a very rich honey leather, with a bit of gasoline-camphora, and goes to a pleasant ambery-smoky-leather.
    Great. I want it.

    29th March, 2011

    Mimi Gardenia's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Parfum - highest concentration.Sampled on husband and sampled on myself. Leather-Wood .Notes of citrus,spices,cloves,lavender flowers,Lysilang,ylang ylang,leather, vetiver,woods.
    OK- this is seriously sexy leather. It's immediate, strong, apparent .
    The thought that comes to mind is a woodier ,less potent Onda by Vero Profumo. ( As much as I appreciate Onda as a quality perfume - I get TCP - in the UK - this is a strong, tenacious skin disinfectant. I apologise ! )

    Onda I can't tolerate ( sorry ! ) but this is sexy - it never verges on the ' TCP' area ,but skims around it though staying quite tart - did I say that it's sexy ? Think -' strong gorgeous man on horseback' / or strong sexy woman on horseback ...... other imagery ... " sexy man / woman in spanky new Ferrari whith the best leather upholstery smell wafting ......"
    On my husband it is manly, has that 'Grrrr' factor. *GRIN*
    On me ,it's Marlene Dietrich I guess ! The vetiver I can smell and it just enhances this perfume. A+++ ! Strong, dynamic.

    Lysilang is robertet fraction of Ylang oil - searched for and taken from the Official Basenotes Xerjoff thread.

    18th June, 2010

    Aerandir4's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The mother of all formal leather scents! It's a black tie leather scent painted on a debonair wood canister, beautiful. I definitely would consider buying this even for the price.

    04th August, 2009 (Last Edited: 31st March, 2011)

    robpmgc's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A breathtakingly beautiful citrus opening, transitioning through spiciness into the highest quality leather, made richer and deeper than anything I have experienced. Wonderful development. Rich, dark leather that lasts a long time, great sillage, truly beautiful. Absolutely holy grail territory.

    13th July, 2009

    Showing 1 to 12 of 12.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000