Reviews

Reviews of Bois de Santal by Creed

The opening had a definite presence of civet which gave off a fecal smell to it. This lasted approximately 30 minutes before the civet started to tone down. While this was happening, there was a light amount citrus, some floral, and a hint of green notes which became more apparent as time passed. The sandalwood was apparent throughout the entirety of the scent but increasingly noticeable, beginning right around the heart of the scent, once the civet faded into the background. At the base the sandalwood became a bit creamy with the contributions of some of the vanilla and tonka bean notes. The overall scent lasted approximately 5 hours with moderate silage for the first 3 hours. Personally, I would have to say this is one of the best if not the best sandalwood scents that I have ever smelled. This is a definite yesteryear masterpiece from the classic Creeds. Outstanding fragrance!
18th January, 2015
The greens overpower the citrus but as it dries down you get a nice sandalwood with vanilla to sweeten it. To me this beats Tabarome Millesime hands down. This is also better than Original Santal. The scent is long lasting and powerful. If you like vanilla and sandalwood this is the ticket but what's funny is that you'll have to wait a good hour for it to show up after the greens die down. The character of this fragrance really changes.
23rd November, 2014
bhanny Show all reviews
United States
Very nice indeed. Definitely some civet up top, with some very subtle citrus and floral elements. Evolves to a really nice creamy sandalwood. Stays close to the skin after the civet fades, but lasts a good while.

Sandalwood enthusiasts really should get their hands on some of this, a pretty good and realistic take on sandalwood for sure.
27th February, 2012
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

A classic, rich sandalwood that dominates with a hint of neroli and initially a touch of orange. I find it a fragrance that changes little on my skin, which might be different for others. A nigh monochrome sandalwood experience with restrained elegance and never cloying. On the formal side, traditional and delightful.
05th February, 2012
bokaba Show all reviews
United States
Bois de Santal is a lost gem these days. In my mind it clearly evokes the essential of high-end French perfumery in the Belle Epoch period c.1910. Bois de Santal features notes of orange, lemon, greens (likely petitgrain and neroli), Mysore sandalwood, vanilla, and tonka bean, and possibly civet. It is a shining example of using luxurious quality ingredients no matter what the cost and constructing them brilliantly to form a breath-taking composition, which might I add, becomes more and more of a lost art as each year goes by. I don't think there's a lot of development or complexity here, but there doesn't need to be. The quality of the sandalwood oils used stand for itself. In a way, BdS reminds me of the old, vintage Guerlains and Chanels. Collectors and enthusiasts alike conjecture that Bois de Santal contains a significant dose of the real oil, too. Of Creeds, sandalwoods, namely Original Santal and Santal Imperial, Bois de Santal is a masterpiece beyond reproach. Along with Viloresi's aromatic and spicy Sandalo, there is no better sandalwood perfume.
12th November, 2011
The "civet" note is definitely there, yet short-lived.
The rest is extremely soft, rich, and long-lasting.
A very fine take on sandalwood.
Worth owning, if you can find it!
03rd April, 2011

The opening presents a sandalwood variation that exhibits a near fecal note. I’ve encountered this note before in certain sandalwood oils – I think it’s more indole than civet, but it’s pretty darn close to giving a strong civet ambiance, and it accomplishes a less typical version of creamy sandalwood. I don’t smell the citrus or citrus leaves in the opening… the wood note overpowers them. After the near-civet / wood opening, the fragrance quickly moves to a straight, mild, unobtrusive sandalwood note, and there it stays in its sandalwood simplicity and purity to the end. I don’t smell the sweetness from the base – only a gradual lessening of the sandalwood note that delicately gathers an airier character. The presentation of Bois de Santal is quite restrained… soft, and beautiful. Low sillage, good longevity, and a very easy wear. Totally elegant and enriching.
04th March, 2011
I've now tried this fragrance, and yes it is officially discontinued since around 2008. Unfortunately, in my view, I cannot say that constitutes much of a loss. The opening note definitely contains more than a subtle hint of civet, though not in a unique "Kouros" type of way that one might enjoy.. It simply lingers in the background, barely there, finally drying into a very dry and floral sandalwood. By the time the transformation from top to base note is complete, you're left with something rather orange, floral, and hinting at sandalwood, though not very distinguished. It tends to lack the level of depth or character throughout that I've enjoyed in other Creeds. In a day and age of myriad scents, this comes across as common yet very dated in its feel. It lacks an identity that sets it apart and becomes significant to the wearer. It wouldn't be a favorite in my collection, and while intriguing at first sampling, it transforms very poorly for me over time. If collecting rare and vintages Creeds is a hobby or passion, it's one to seek out for historic value; its not one I enjoyed wearing nor could recommend.
22nd January, 2011
It seems to be a straightfoward sandalwood fragrance for me. Between neutral and thumbs up i think. The sandalwood here is more woody and dry than most of sandalwood fragrances, but what really mess up with the fragrance for me is the animalic opening. It`s almost fecal, and it`s on clear focus at the first minutes on skin. When this goes away, you have a nice, creamy sandalwood, soft sweet, but more woody. There`s something on the drydown that reminds me of a leather accent too. Longlasting, although subtle after the blast of the fecal note on me.
04th January, 2011
This fragrance has more wood than Original Santal, but the sweetness in this one makes it too perfumey and definitely in my eyes an older woman's scent.
24th May, 2010
I have now tried the three Creed offerings with ‘Santal’ as part of their name. Bois de Santal avoids the cloying sweetness of Original Santal. And it provides a greater potency than the weak Santal Imperial. What disappoints me here is a very clear civet note (which thankfully one other reviewer alludes to). For me this remains from application through much of the drydown. The civet does not enhance the experience for me; rather it mars the sandalwood. I find myself ambivalent to this one. On reflection, I think Creed’s Bois du Portugal is their best wood dominated offering.
13th October, 2009
The official list reads orange leaves, lemon, sandalwood, vanilla and tonka beans, the description additonally mentions "notes of greens." The opening blast also unmistakeably features, if only briefly, a Jickyesque fecal civet note, which mercifully drops into the background to enhance a beautiful creamy-sweet woody oriental that manages to smell of true sandalwood, whether by artifice or nature (I suspect at least some of the former). Bois de Santal avoids the cedary character of many supposed sandalwoods, as well as the incomplete feel of Santal Imperial or the monomolecular harshness of Floris Sandalwood in their current sad states. It is very much a unisex fragrance - Creed lists it as masculine, on the net it is frequently classed as for women. It seems unavailable except, ocassionally, from one ebay retailer, which is a shame as it is easily not just the best Creed sandalwood but at the top of the entire genre. It lends to its wearer a distinguished air of old world sophistication and for me is very much an evening/romantic scent, perfect with a fine suit, though more relaxed and pleasurable than the somewhat austere vintage Tabarôme and certainly not misplaced in a more casual "cold autumn day promenade" context.
01st September, 2009
A wonderful sandalwood creation, somewhat akin to Chanel's Bois Des Iles in its warm sandalwoody creaminess, it is a simple construction of quality notes.

It opens with an old fashioned sour lemon and green petitgrain and drops into a aldehyde and sandalwood accord which lasts the remainder of its journey. I agree with my esteemed colleague zztop that this does contain a little indian sandalwood oil, but in my opinion only a touch of the real deal while the rest of the accord is a superb construction from other elements, maybe some other real sandalwood from other parts of the world, some other woods and some synthetics. The ghost of the lemon note with aldehydes adds some of the milky sourness which is an integral part of natural mysore oil, the smoothness is all there and the dry woody drydown too.

Still a very good perfume, and the best composed sandalwood perfume I know after Bois Des Iles (though I haven't smelled a recent version of that, maybe it has suffered a similar fate?), this must have been outstanding when availability meant it could contain a big quantity of real mysore oil.

Highly recommended, one of the few sandalwoods out there which is still worth the name, it is made from excellent materials which are used in a straightforward way.
13th January, 2009 (last edited: 20th August, 2014)
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

zztopp Show all reviews
United States
Top notes: Orange leaves, Lemon
Heart notes: Sandalwood
Basenotes: Sandalwood, Tonka, Vanilla

Bois de Santal (BdS), technically a part of the Creed private collectiona, is exclusive to Harrods in London and Saks in NYC. Its one of the old world Creed wonders, and is the big daddy of the Creed sandalwoods (the others being the metrosexual woody-spicy Original Santal and the austere sandalwood-ambergris Santal Imperial).

Bds opens with tart lemon slightly softened by an orange note before quickly moving to a luscious, powerful and woody heart of sandalwood ...indeed, BDS is dominated by an arresting sandalwood note which smells like its loaded with beta-santalol, the key ingredient of indian sandalwood (indian sandalwood has a higher beta-santalol content than alpha-santalol, while its the reverse in australian sandalwood). The slightly sweet, ambery-woody and medicinal aroma dissipates off the skin and into your nostrils, surrounded by remnants of green citrus undertones left over from the top notes. I am no chemical lab rat and can't verify the individual constituents of BDSs' sandalwood note, but based on my experience with oils and other sandalwood fragrances, BDS does indeed smell like it contains a high percentage of the indian variety (mainly due to its beta-santalol overloaded note). This is a sandalwood note which is not adulterated by cedar or rosewood. Nor is it artificially engineered by presenting a good beta-santalol loaded sandalwood top which then falls aparts during further evolution (ala Etros Sandalo). The sandalwood note is stable and consistent all the way into the drydown where it smoothly links to a base of vanilla and tonka. Longevity is around 8-9 hours and although not a sillage monster it does create a decent radius of sandalwood aroma.

BDS is a sandalwood tour de force. Instead of constructing a fragrance with a lot of multifaceted notes in the top and heart phases, Creed take an uncluttered approach and rely on the complex nuances of a top shelf sandalwood accord to drive the fragrance to high levels of awesomeness. The only thing is ..an indian sandalwood shortage might threaten to rip the heart out of this superb juice and it remains to see how Creed react to that..

Rating: 9.25/10.0

26th October, 2008