Reviews of Silver Musk by Nasomatto

    Find out more about Silver Musk by Nasomatto in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 10 of 10.
    Darvant's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Nasomatto Silver Musk is a clean, slightly aldehydic (yes dusty/metallic for a while) and translucent accomodation of un-vegetal white musk (plus faint spices, ozonic calone, aromatic patterns, citrus, probably grapefruit and pale floral notes) over a base of soapy benzoin, may be cedarwood and neutral coco-glucoside or lactic acid. I feel the silver/metallic vibe almost throughout while the dry down is basically a pale, smoother and silkier sort of ambroxan more properly than a "serious" musk (I mean this musk smells miles far from an high quality "acamporaesque" one). Anyway I like the bitter herbal/tobacco/woods dry down undertone floating over synthetic amber&musk. Acceptable but nothing else.

    31st May, 2014

    Colin Maillard's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Fresh aquatic slap on aldehydes and white musks, basically some sort of exaltolide/galaxolide wrap-up with some vague earthy notes on the very base, and a slight ambery feel too. Shampoos and supermarket deodorants. The evolution is pretty much on the same path – even worse, just less fresh and more musky. It soon settles on a weird accord halfway between a warm ambrettolide-gingerbread note and that white musks accord, with a persistent metallic feel, which finally evolves on a salty-musky-clean drydown with a subtle and unpleasant kind of "sweat" aftertaste. Cheap and useless, luckily it's at least quite delicate. If Gualtieri really managed to sell even just one bottle of this scent at that incredibly crazy price, than he should be featured as a "case study" in marketing books.

    4/10

    07 May, 2014

    dollars&scents's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Nasomatto Silver Musk by Nasomatto - Initially, one is treated to a swirling mandarin, with its sweetly tart, orangey facet. Lavender, with its fresh floral aspect, commingles with the mardain to create a zesty, herbal presence. A nascent soapiness from white musk emerges in the background. Transitioning, a lightly sweetish cyclamen carries itself to the fore along with a more softly diffusive and slightly powdery white musk. A characteristically aloof iris, with its violet-like, woody facet, wrests for prominence. Segueing, a faint metallic note, akin to metal shavings, ephemerally surfaces. A magical aldehyde imparts its sparkly clean and fresh vibe. And, a mild hedione diffuses its subtly green sensation. The white musk has taken on a waxy brightness. An alluring drydown ensues. This somewhat elegant composition has average projection and very good longevity.

    11th March, 2012

    alfarom's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    "Silver Musk? I've to taste it! The name is really promising, metal and musk wow, I guess it's one of those cold metallic but very refined perfumes I'm looking for..." Naaaaaaa, not at all. This is a clean musk with a good sillage and good lasting power, that's it. Nothing special, nothing very important, just one in the crowd.

    Two more things: First, Nasomatto packaging is amazing and so are the bottles, really really really beatiful (not enough, thou). Second "Silver Musk aims to evoke superhero magnetism"...are you guys kidding us? Ok it is funny and I really hope this was you're aim.

    06 March, 2011 (Last Edited: 04 April, 2011)

    adonis's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Very long lasting ultra clean, yet thick scent. Sillage is good as well, although others could mistake the smell of Silver Musk for a high end body wash or shampoo. Not really controversial, yet magical in an interesting way. I understand the connection to elves, LOTR, and flying fairy fantasy creatures. Perhaps this is what Sookie Stackhouse smells like.

    02 October, 2010

    dredmahawkus's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    like another one said i cant make out any notes in this other then musk......but its INCREDBILE!!!! it makes your skin smell like you just washed yourself in the laundry and hung yourself out to dry on a nice spring day! its very rare a scent moves me so much i have to go write a review and tell the world how wonderful it smell! it changes your skin to make you smell like a million dollars. i dont care the price i am buying a bottle of this ASAP! very well done scent. might be a masterpiece.

    11th March, 2009

    scentsitivity's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Another ultra-clean scent! Unlike most of this sort, it comes with a price tag: as of this writing, $148 (US) for 30 mls. The Nasomatto website says it “aims to evoke superhero magnetism.” Who writes this stuff? Not recommended.

    30th August, 2008

    Jemimagold's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Ok- I'll be honest. The only reason I tried Nasomatto's Silver Musk was because I was enamored with Escentric Molecules "Molecule 01" and Luckyscent's website said that if you like M01, you might like Nasomatto Silver Musk. So, being the mindless perfume slave that I am, I bought a sample.

    Well, I cannot say that I detect any similarities between the two. Silver Musk is a soapy, extremely clean smelling masculine green/musk fragrance with slight metallic undertones. Over time, it developed a slight "cigarette ash" note and then mellowed into a classic soft musk scent. Is it just me but does cigarette ash always seem to waft in when iris added? I've experienced that same smell in both Serge Lutens' Iris Silver Mist and Fath's Iris Gris.

    Anyways, back to Silver Musk. On the whole, it was a pleasant enough musky masculine scent if that is what you want. The bottle is oh-so-stylish with its grained wooden top. A similar fragrance to Silver Musk is Bulgari's Pour Homme. However, if you seek a similar thrill to that of M01, look no further than Ormonde Jayne's Isfarkand.

    Nasomatto Silver Musk's notes are impossible to find so I'm just going to list them as: musk and iris.

    16 July, 2008

    lizzie_j's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a beautiful skin scent. It seems to be composed of the purest, lightest musk, as soft and warm as cashmere, yet it also has a brighter, highly focused nuance as well. There's nothing at all "mushy" or haphazard about it's composition, and I find it to be a serenely elegant fragrance. It's listed as a man's fragrance, but it's equally appropriate for women. Pricey, but worth it! On my wish list.

    07 June, 2008

    mcjra's avatar

    Philippine Philippine

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Can't make out any notes...other than musk ofcourse. Really subtle, really, REALLY nice scent. If MKK is what your skin is supposed to smell like after coitus, dirty, sweaty, sexy smelling skin; silver musk is on the complete opposite side of the spectrum. This is what your skin would smell like after you've bathed in precious bath oils and flower petals. The only other analogy that I could come up with is that silver musk is what I imagine elf skin (like LOTR, Liv Tyler kind of elves) must smell like.

    22 April, 2008

    Showing 1 to 10 of 10.