Positive Reviews of Guerlain Homme Intense by Guerlain

    Find out more about Guerlain Homme Intense by Guerlain in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 17 of 17. (Show all reviews)
    Marais's avatar
    Marais
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Every dog has its day

    A lot of Guerlainophiles have expressed disappointment with the Homme line, seeing it as some sort of aberration unworthy of the Guerlain name. Well, I (partially) beg to differ, although I won't argue that this is in the first rank of their scents. It must be a big seller; within 5 years of launch of the original Guerlain Homme, it has spawned 3 flankers, so Thierry Wasser must be doing something right.

    Anyway, what we have is a safe, easy-to-wear, versatile scent that suits all ages. There is nothing in the least challenging about it. Does this make it boring? Yes, a bit. But sometimes boring is good. It's the sort of scent you can wear in situations where you don't want to draw attention to yourself; for example, meetings where action plans are drawn up and tasks assigned. Let's face it, we all have days when we don't want to smell like a French tart, BDSM addict, or rotting vegetation.

    This is where the Guerlain Homme line steps in. And the lack of olfactory interest is compensated for by the fact that what we do have smells pretty good. As far as the 'Intense' flanker goes, there's some lime at the open, lots of grapefruit, mint for the first couple of hours (the best part I think), something boozy that's supposed to smell like rum but doesn't really, and some non-specific woody notes in the base. Overall, this one smells less airy and deeper and darker than the rest of the line. No detectable Guerlinade, but that's not compulsory anyway. I get good longevity; about 8 hours from 5 sprays.

    So there you have it, a good everyday scent, earning a good 4 star rating.

    Pros: Better then adequate
    Cons: Less than stellar"

    08 October, 2013

    Jus's avatar
    Jus
    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Masterpiece

    Overtime, a glorious Guerlain for men. Fresh without being corny, fine without being cutesy, elegant while being modern. A juice very versatile which shows that Guerlain is still able to make excellent perfumes. It beats 90% of niche fragrances. To have, do not ever get tired.

    19 September, 2013

    Arij's avatar
    Arij
    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Neo-Guerlain at it's finest.

    This is a crowd-pleaser that stands out from what you usually encounter in public places of major cities. Inoffensive and safe, it's great at the office or the night out. It's not the type of cologne that would overpower your meal and/or date, while it quietly lingers for hours. I picture this best at a lounge bar terrace, on a breezy summer night. I would suggest this one for those who hold Bleu de Chanel in high esteem and wish a similar strikingly modern offering from Guerlain. Intense is my preferred choice amongst the Guerlain Homme series.

    Pros: Unique crowd-pleaser.
    Cons: Guerlinade not included."

    31st August, 2013

    's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Actually this is only a bit stronger than the regular one, with some notes added that did not change much the original smell. The mint, the rum and some florals gives an edge.
    It has more lasting power (around 8 hours).
    Smells nice as the others from this line.
    Worth it? If price aint a issue, then absolutely.

    20th December, 2012 (Last Edited: 02 March, 2013)

    cerjr's avatar
    cerjr
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Picked this up in Italy after not being able to find a confident seller in the USA, and man am I glad I did.

    The positive reviews on this site were what led me to grab it when I saw it, and I was not disappointed.

    Amazing fragrance. Strong lime opening with a solid masculine base. I wish this would last more than half the day though, which is my only disappointment when compared to other Guerlain fragrances.

    16 November, 2012

    FISS80's avatar
    FISS80
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Great Juice!! Very sexy and classy. Another great fragrance from the Guerlain house

    12 March, 2012

    silentrich's avatar
    silentrich
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Didn't know what to expect with this one as I've never smelled the original. The opening is STRONG! This has a fantastic mojito accord and even though it's strong I couldn't get enough of it. The rum note dies off quick and what your left with through the heart are the minty/rhubarb notes of the opening with the woods taking center stage along with a bit of patchouli. The drydown is all woods and patchouli and a very nice one at that. Projection and longevity are average to good. Great fragrance.

    05 December, 2011

    kokonut's avatar
    kokonut


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Such a fun fragrance. It's like fruity rum with woody base. Very nice, with a touch of sweetness.

    Very cool!

    23 October, 2011 (Last Edited: 18 June, 2012)

    turbocharg3dazn's avatar
    turbocharg3dazn


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Amazing scent. Rhubarb, Rum, and some mint. A little bit of mojito sets this off. This scent is amazing. The original and this one have some issues with projection and longevity, but anyone that gets up close to me loves this scent.

    19 October, 2011

    Shaheen's avatar
    Shaheen
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    An improved version over the original. Remove Homme's sugarcane note and powdery texture, and mute the mojito accord. Now add wood and rhubarb to the base and a dash of L'instant, and you now have Homme Intense.

    Those that despised Guerlain Homme are still not going to like Homme Intense, however those that found Homme mediocre in composition might enjoy this one. I didn't like the sugarcane and powdery vetiver notes in the original, and this has been corrected in Intense. (thank you Guerlain)

    Thumbs up for this release!

    26 September, 2011

    Pollux's avatar
    Pollux
    Argentina Argentina

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Short review: not ground breaking in the top notes, but marvellous in the mid and the base notes. Is there hints of the Guerlinade in it? No, I don't think so. This does not diminish its allure, despite its lack of projection and longevity.

    Not liked by purists, indeed by me.

    28 July, 2011

    Bartlebooth's avatar
    Bartlebooth
    Germany Germany

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Intense is probably the fragrance that the original should have been. It solves the problem of the longevity, and offers greater consistency and cohesion during the various phases of development.

    The top notes still evoke the interesting mojito note, but it is one of the few areas where the original is superior. Intense remains subdued as it develops a soft chocolate quality pre-empting the heavier wood phase to come. The dense wood presence could easily have swamped the whole fragrance, but it remains sufficiently tethered to offer an excellent finish. The bold tonka note also forces Intense to dry down with significant warmth.

    More of a true Guerlain than the original, but still some way short of the greats.

    25 April, 2011

    NyallW's avatar
    NyallW
    Scotland Scotland

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Imagine laying on a sunchair in a green garden, the grass has just been freshly cut and you're sipping on a refreshing mojito, cooling you from the hot sun. Guerlain Homme Intense reminds me of exactly this, refreshing, cool, and uplifting. This is one of my favourite fragrances I own. Double thumbs up!

    08 February, 2011

    mrclmind's avatar
    mrclmind
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Having been in the seeming minority, I actually really like the original version of Guerlain Homme. The Intense version is a bit of a departure, but not by far and is equally as satisfying as its predecessor. It opens with a similar fresh, fruity rhubarb mint accord, but is at once a heavier fragrance. The mojito has been spiked with a few more flowers, geranium and dark rum in the heart, and the base notes (being much more pronounced in the intense version) lean much more toward the tonka bean although they are rounded by the woodiness of patchouli, cedar and rooty type vetiver.

    All in all, a hit for me!

    03 November, 2010

    provguy2's avatar
    provguy2


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Fabuloous!! Yes Fabuloous!! Very earthy yet fragrant. Good Sillage, not excellent. I've never smelt anything else like it. Ha! Not black but brown. Some people can't handle brown. Try it , and have fun!!

    28 September, 2010

    milhouse's avatar
    milhouse


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a top quality fragrance. It's perfect for wearing in the office during spring, summer and autumn.

    I have had loads of people getting closer to have a sniff - finally Guerlain has created a modern fragrance which lasts!

    Very classy indeed :-)

    22 August, 2010

    perfaddict's avatar
    perfaddict
    Nigeria Nigeria

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Guerlain Homme Intense is a delightful surprise from Guerlain. I believe its main problem will be that it is a modern scent from a traditional house. Human resistance to the new will be its bete noir for a while.

    Its opening rhubarb and mint accords are just great, IMO. An aromatic delight. I really wished they lasted longer. My consolation is that the fresh yet woody accords which follow are such a joy. It is a sweet scent, but not in the toothache-inducing sense. Here, the woods counterbalance the sweets so well, yet they do not cancel eachother out. Rather, the balance creates a dynamic (perhaps what some reviewers call "tension") that adds gravitas to the blend.

    GHI is one of those frags that make me twist and turn in order to catch a whiff of it. It makes me feel good all over. GHI has substantial sillage and is serious longevity.

    I dare say that if this frag was released under a different name and from a new house it would receive more favourable acclaim. However, it is a Guerlain, and we will all be looking for Habit Rouge or Mitsouko or (fill the blank) references from it, and our sore disappointment will result in negative reviews. GHI is a new direction, and i am glad it is a direction i like very much.

    Thumbs up!

    20th June, 2010

    Showing 1 to 17 of 17. (Show all reviews)