Reviews of Grand Néroli by Atelier Cologne

    Find out more about Grand Néroli by Atelier Cologne in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 9 of 9.
    Kain's avatar

    Iran Iran

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Well, I'm a bit confused here!
    If this is a true neroli smell, what was all other neroli based fragrances that I've tested before?!
    If those are neroli, so what is this?!
    There is neroli in this fragrance for sure but I wouldn't call this a neroli based fragrance at all!
    Not even close!
    To my nose, this is a sweet juicy citrusy smell mix of tangerine and a little bit of lemon with some bitterness of the peel and very bright floral notes and easy to ignore soapiness in the background all the way through.
    The scent gets a little more sweet and less fresh and citrusy in the dry down but all and all it's a linear scent.
    Projection is average and longevity is around 4-5 hours on my skin which is OK.
    Not a bad fragrance but also there is nothing exciting about it!

    14 April, 2014

    Tony T's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    simple orange

    A simple orange and bergamot composition with some musk 2 give it some longevity..

    otherwise it's boring and uninspiring, ok for both male and female..

    Pros: light good for summer
    Cons: does not project"

    18 August, 2013

    Possum-Pie's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Think Penhaligon's longevity and freshness

    I think of Penhaligon's House when I smell a scent like this. Bergamot/lemon/orange/neroli are rounded out with oak moss and musk.

    Pros: Clean sharp Neroli
    Cons: Suffers from fair longevity like most citrus"

    20th July, 2013

    iodine's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    pleasant orange blossoms

    As I've said in other reviews on the fragrances of this line, my appreciation depends on the delicate balance between the beautiful top notes and the rather hurried, boring when not vexing, mid and base ones.

    Grand Néroli succeeds in combining a fresh, fragrant, juicy neroli, tinged with red grape accents with a slightly powdery, ambery base that retains a floral quality for a considerable time. A pleasant fragrance on the whole, clean and sunny.

    07 June, 2013

    odysseusm's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is pretty good. It is in two parts. The first is a well-made orange blossom scent. It has the typical citrus and light wood notes, and the typical texture of a soft but dry cushion or cloud. The second part is a mossy-woody drydown. It gets nicer and nicer as it develops, and has great longevity. The vanilla is non-existent, thankfully.
    Nothing radical or edgy here, but a good neroli scent is always welcome.

    06 May, 2013

    noirdrakkar's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    While it is a safe unisex scent, it's boring and bland. This is in the same league as 212 Men and Exceptional (because you are) for men. Except you will be paying two or three times the price for more juice than you will ever use.

    A niche price for this fragrance is untenable.

    10th January, 2013

    Le Boise's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I coveted this dry green herbal Neroli scent for many months before taking the plunge. I thought it would be my everyday signature scent, but I find I can only wear this for a particular mood and time of year- on rain soaked chilly days when courage, resilience and purposeful optimism are required along with copious amounts of coffee. There's no tender powdery florality or feminine character to this one, this is the bitter boldness of sunbaked crushed Neroli leaves over a bed of moss and resins. This is a very confident crisp take charge type of Neroli that will get you out of bed. Grand Neroli is completely unisex, if not slightly better on a Man, but I wear it anyway and it is an excellent fresh daytime professional scent that, IMO, falls in the same category as Chloe's Eau de Fleurs Capucine. I like it better in the dreary bleak Winter- as opposed to many soft dewy orange blossom type scents I love for Spring and Summer. As with many Atelier offerings, this fragrance is on the lower end of the sillage spectrum compared to DSH Neroli, TM Portofino Neroli and Le Labo Neroli 36 (for example). However, it lingers for 4-6 hours on my skin and periodically strikes a chord of moss with galbanum- here, or a dash of bergamot tinged petitgrain- there. The drydown is a grounding resinous balm and I think this one good standard for the true Neroli lovers fragrance wardrobe.

    04 December, 2012 (Last Edited: 10th December, 2012)

    rogalal's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I usually think of neroli as a more masculine note, thanks to the fact that I associate it mostly with masculine classics from the likes of Penhaligons and Caswell Massey, but Aftelier cleverly feminize it into something new and different. It's got a little shot of pepper on top, and a dose of bright juicy orange, but the signature neroli comes through quickly, joined by a large dose of indolic orange blossom. On me, this citrus-plus-flowers smell only lasts about a half an hour before it gets swallowed up by a really pretty, creamy perfumey smell that's sort of powdery, sort of soapy, and sort of musky. It's actually a bit old-fashioned in a Chanel sort of way, and smells really nice tinted with the ongoing flowery neroli. Over the next hour or so, a polite vanilla note (nothing candied or cheap smelling, though nothing very exciting either) takes over, but eventually fades leaving a simple soapy smell vaguely scented with the last traces of neroli.

    The neutral review is because, while I found the transition from the top notes to the heart quite engaging, it was all over very quickly, leaving most of my day filled with dull, slightly green-hued vanilla soap and a sense that something very promising just wasn't turning out like I had hoped.

    29 June, 2012

    Joshaugustt's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    THE GRAND NEROLI IS A BIT TOO GRAND (LOUD) FOR ME. IT PRETTY MUCH DROWNS OUT THE REST OF THE NOTES.

    02 September, 2010

    Showing 1 to 9 of 9.