Neutral Reviews of Wonderwood by Comme des Garçons

    Find out more about Wonderwood by Comme des Garçons in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 11 of 11. (Show all reviews)
    Possum-Pie's avatar
    Possum-Pie
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Peppery cedar and sandalwood. I like the "greenness" of the wood, it isn't dry sawdust but a green just cut smell. The pepper brings it together, a step above say Penhaligon's Opus 1870 which is very linear cedar. The problem for me comes in the dry-down, the vetiver becomes prominent, and overwhelming. If you like vetiver, this may not be a problem, but I don't like the smell of strong vetiver, so it is offensive.

    16 February, 2013

    's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    For me Wonderwood is a disappointment since i was expecting something great from CDG. Smells like an average woody/cedar scent. Nothing actually unique. Anyway, i cant say it's bad. No, it's good, but average, with a very simple structure despite the notes. Sillage, projection and lasting power are medium-high.

    05 December, 2012 (Last Edited: 26 February, 2013)

    andys's avatar
    andys


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Someone else in their review mentions Encre Noir - agreed, it's there, though if that's the aspect that you like in this, then also try Sycomore (Chanel) and turn up the decadance control to 11 for a moment.
    Wonderwood sits somewhere between Encre Noir's dryness and Sycomore's richness. It (probably) isn't half as good as either of them (both EN and Sycomore are exceptional vetivers).
    Wonderwood is certainly a pleasant enough fragrance.

    26 August, 2012

    digger51's avatar
    digger51
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    If you like woods then you will like Wonderwood. There is not much else to it. It has nice basenotes and I do find myself enjoying it, but it is just nice. There is no WOW to this scent. It is wood for those who like wood. It is a Niche within the Niche. I give this a neutral just because it is very limited, but if you like woods I give it a hearty thumbs up.

    08 July, 2012

    SubBass70's avatar
    SubBass70
    Australia Australia

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Very underwhelming...there's much better stuff out there and I found this to be a real let down.Could be my skin doesn't like some CDG scents as it vanished after 5 mins. Sample first, of course! Having said that I maybe should revisit it and give it another chance.

    15 June, 2012

    odysseusm's avatar
    odysseusm
    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Meh, I'm underwhelmed. I expect great things (or at least amazingly quirky) things from CdG. This is a fairly safe, somewhat bland and mild woody scent.
    It starts with a peppery note, and that's pretty well done. Some woody tones emerge, but they are a blond sort of wood; light rather than deep, young wood rather than old stock. At times there is a grassy note (vetiver), at times a bright metallic note (some synthetics), and at times a kind of toasted-nut note.
    I didn't get any oud or incense... if they are there they are quite muted.
    On my skin, this is really a non-performer, and certainly nothing special or distinctive. It isn't unpleasant, just neutral.
    Now, if you want to see CdG do something amazing in the wood line, try Hinoki! Wow.

    20th April, 2012

    almasinti's avatar
    almasinti
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    If you like a woodsy fragrance to smell of the actual woods, deep, damp, smoky, fertile, mossy...than this is not for you. Wonderwood is a nice peppery mix of cedar and tropical hardwoods. It is like a lumberyard with planks of sawn fine woods for furniture or instrument making, No earthiness here. It is also rather sweet. This would all be well and good except that there is what I take to be musk in this. Way too much musk. For me, it feminizes and to some degree cheapens the scent, and thus, the neutral rating.

    20th August, 2011

    Darvant's avatar
    Darvant
    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     


    The first citrusy blast is immediately prickly due to nutmeg and because of a detectable note of black pepper that keeps its presence throughout the trip. This kind of starting, the best part of the work, is a promise of olfactory art that along the journey will be disappointed. A sort of dusty cloud starts to envelop the wearer at once and it is made basically by incense and pepper that are the dominant elements in the first phase of the development. Some citruses imprint a touch of barber shop feel and freshness to the juice and the work of citrus, reproposed in the base, holds on this feel till the end. In a while anyway you notice that the pungent incensey initial dust keeps and rises a clear woody, a bit watery, sort of undeniable mildness that reminds me a bit the Dsquared2's fragrances. At this point the development of the scent is over in my opinion, just a touch of final smoothness rising on time. The fragrance remains linear in its shadowy woodsy temperament and i'm not able to distinguish the work of aud in the final phase that is mainly made by cedarwood, citrus, a touch of black pepper and above all vetiver under my nose. Its combination of woods, citrus, pepper, incense, nutmeg and cedar reminds me a lot 7 de Loewe that is anyway a bit floral and more easily approachable. The influence of aoud is barely present in the mix. The fragrance, in its starting and middle woody phase and before becoming smoother reminds just a bit the new Dark Aud Montale but with more dusty and citrusy freshness and without the aromatic and " petroleous" dreadful effect of a rich dosage of aoud. Here the aud is toned down and the woodsy mild feel is more notable. Well appointed the longevity.

    18 June, 2011

    Francop's avatar
    Francop
    Spain Spain

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Pleasant woody scent with a nice start although after 30 minutes all the notes start going down hill in a very generic commercial way; not really impressed.

    Poor longevity on my skin.

    Neutral thumbs...!

    19 April, 2011

    Bartlebooth's avatar
    Bartlebooth
    Germany Germany

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is unlikely to win many prizes for creativity, but it’s certainly engaging enough. It lacks a little richness for my taste, and anything of interest seems to be conducted at some distance. It starts off quite dark, even a little luxurious, and gradually diminishes into a decent comfort scent. Commes de Garcons produce some very pretty fragrances, but not always with the requisite depth and character. Wonderwood seems a case in point.

    17 April, 2011

    Kaern's avatar
    Kaern
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The creative juices seemed to have dried up at CDG and Wonderwood is a pretty disappointing offering in my opinion. It's not a bad scent by any means, but after about 20 minutes it smells exactly the same as Fou D'Absinthe by L'Artisan.

    30th December, 2010

    Showing 1 to 11 of 11. (Show all reviews)