Perfume Reviews

Reviews of Méharées by L'Erbolario

Total Reviews: 19
Very smooth off the start: lots of creamy vanilla, cinnamon and bergamont. Hints of powder, tonka: slightly synthetic but only underneath the surface. I'm shocked this cost me so little.

The drydown adds dark rose and increases the smell the metallic undertone of the fragrance in a not entirely pleasant way. Unisex, projection is average to below average and longevity is about 3-4 hours on my skin. This scent is very intoxicating, if a bit straightforward. More suited for winter months and formal occasions.

7.5/10
13th March, 2019
This is definitely reminiscent of Musc Ravageur. They are more like cousins than twins, though. Side by side, MR opens with something a bit jammy or fruity that Lebolario just doesn’t have at all. Also, it has no clove. Some have said this is also reminiscent of LDDM, I can see that. But this is more pudding and less spice that LDDM. Lebolario is a smooth concoction of vanilla, amber and sandalwood. When people say it smells like jumping right in to the MR dry down they are not that far off. Because it is missing the spices, or clove, it loses some personality. It is a generic version of a scent in the same vein as the other two. It is a good quality for the price paid, if you can find it. Not as strong as the other two (cannot speak for reformulation speculations), but not a dollar store weakling. It can hold its own with most designers out there.
Thumbs up based purely on its own, thumbs down as a replacement for the original.
01st February, 2019
Méharées has a hint of citrus and is less animalic in the opening than MR. It really does go right into the drydown of MR, which so many love. It's a little like a medicinal vanilla with a touch of the animalic stuff that also feels too heavy to wear in the heat. A cozy, cuddle scent that takes away any of the offensive tendencies of MR.

Good projection and longevity that lasts all workday.
30th April, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Vanillary, a little powdery orange, cinnamon, and perhaps a little clean musk to it that gives it enough of a masculine lean. An attractive comfort scent. I’m a big fan of MR, find MR more complex and the two different enough to own both, but yeah they do share a lot.
08th January, 2018
Being that I have never smelled Musc Ravageur I wouldn't be able to compare this in any way with Meharees... That being said I do find it similar here and there to a few scents that I do have or had... Those being AMen by Mugler and Allure by Chanel. I would say the more it drys the more it goes from Allure to AMen on me. I do like it and I am on the verge of moving it into my top 10. I do find it linear in most respects which is fine. I know there are only 2 notes listed but I am sure there are many more... I get cinnamon, patchouli, vanilla and amber... 1.7 oz for 50 dollars US is a great deal for the quality, longevity and projection. Enjoy!
07th June, 2016
I love cheap thrills, and L’Erbolario do cheap thrills well. This is the infamous Musc Ravageur clone, and as I write this, I have Méharées on one arm and Musc Ravageur on the other. The parallels are there, but this is not a full substitute.

Méharées starts with a spicy cinnamon and a delicately metallic clove. The clove delivers a faint medicinal chill to what is otherwise a warm tea-like oriental. It’s more balsamic than sweet, and there’s a fig/myrrh kind of desiccation to it. It’s somewhere between chai and an oily benzoin. The scent is quite linear and flat, but it wears pleasantly and is absolutely worth the $25 or so that it costs for a 50ml bottle (I had a friend bring it back from Italy for me). However, if you compare it to Musc Ravageur directly, its inadequacies are revealed.

The most obvious difference between the two is the musk. Musc Ravageur has a blistering civet at the start that’s entirely missing from Méharées. Furthermore, Musc Ravageur is more bodied and refined whereas Méharées comes off as gaunt and shrill in comparison. Having said that, over the course of thirty or so minutes, the two scents drift closer together and what’s left is a fairly analogous base, but I still wouldn’t say they’re identical. Musc Ravageur becomes a rich tonka over time that remains fairly refined; Méharées is notably hollow and higher pitched in comparison, becoming more of a synthy vanilla-resin affair. Musc Ravageur maintains its raunchy musk whereas Méharées never had one to begin with. Méharées smells cheaper in comparison, but not necessarily cheap unto itself. And that’s the key here: Musc Ravageur is about 8X the price of Méharées, but Méharées doesn’t smell 8X as cheap as Musc Ravageur. One way to look at Méharées is that it’s a sturdy, simple scent that just happens to resemble a more developed and expensive scent. While fans and owners of Musc Ravageur would inevitably be let down by this, for the less nitpicky, the dramatic price difference makes Méharées well worth it. It’s no true substitute because it lacks what makes Musc Ravageur what it is: the musk. But if you hate Musc Ravageur’s animalic musk yet enjoy the warm spiced vanilla-tea that it becomes, and as long as you’re okay with a less cultivated composition overall, go with Méharées and save yourself a massive chunk of change.
12th July, 2015
I was captivated by the smooth, creamy and warm scent of the Méharées soap bar and, encouraged by the hosannas ringing on the internot, ordered a bottle of the Acqua di Profumo as a fairly safe bet. This latter is a jaw-dropping disappointment. Whereas the soap combined the dry warmth of myrrh with a silken touch of spice, the perfume attempts a sweet myrrh rendition which goes from candied orange with the most jarring synthetic screech (of the pan-scrubber variety) to an indigestible, sloppy sweet amber in the deep drydown.
The background noise on this one is deafening. I knew things were not going to plan when this opened with a blast of ‘fresh’ notes (sugary faux citruses mainly, with perhaps a smidge of lavender thrown in), instead of the grand desert caravan theme proposed by the myrrh, spices and dates which are supposedly at the heart of this creation.
Obviously this is a glorious creation for many but blind buyer beware, the perfume variant has none of the restrained luxuriousness evident in the scenting of the soap, and I for one found it quite hideous. I can’t do any Musc Ravageur comparisons as I haven’t tried MR yet.
01st July, 2015
Meharees has been compared to Musc Ravageur, and I would say there is a definite resemblance, particularly in the opening. I would state that the drydown of Meharees is different in two aspects: overall, it feels thinner; also Meharees has definite myrrh note not present in Musc Ravageur. A nice fragrance and good value!
18th June, 2015
Tmoran Show all reviews
United States
Ok so I have a decant of musc ravageur. And I really love the drydown but for me its about an hour of hell to get there so I rarely commit. Now first let me say this. 99% of the time when someone says "the new XXX fragrance is IDENTICAL to Brand XXX I roll my eyes and go about my day. I heard this about many scents from clones of aventus, SDV among others. Nearly every single time it is painfully obvious that the scent is NOT as close as people claim (wish) it is and the quality usually leaves a lot to be desired. In this case everything you read about this being identical to Musc Ravageur is true. I will break it down very simple.

BUY IF: You love the drydown on musc ravageur and really dont like its opening and wish you could have the identical scent but have it start out being that musc magic right from the first spray.

DONT BUY IF: You have a medical condition that doesnt allow you to think properly and use common sense and logic. JUST KIDDING. Seriously though If you like the opening of Musc Ravageur and feel you need that in the beginning and you just dont like substitutes no matter how good they are then still with musc.


IMHO Meharees is actually better than musc as a scent. Not only is it more pleasant in the opening but I think while the smell seems identical to musc it to me actually smells of a higher quality. Musc to me smells old and dirty. Sorta stale. Meharees is like a creed in the sense it has a freshness to the notes but never synthetic. There are very few low priced masterpieces in the world today and even less that truly beat the very thing they try to copy. I will be selling my musc ravageur. This is simply better in every way. And the performance is just as good on my skin.
03rd December, 2014
I am in love with this scent. It is spotty but it will last 8+ hours with two sprays. All around great cologne for a man. You can not over apply this.
21st August, 2014
lex Show all reviews
United States
is it true that this could be just as good and more affordable than musc ravageur?.... Yes, MR is an elite scent but at times it can be offensive with that clove note. Meharees is basically Musc Ravageur minus that clove note. Meharees is not as heavy and way more versatile. Meharees is boozier and it is less offensive. with its price tag one may wonder if meharees could be placed in the elite class of scents. the answer is hell yea. I wouldn't say that this is better than Musc ravageur. I say that these two scents are equal. one is more masculine the other can be worn in more settings.
01st May, 2014
CASUAL Show all reviews
United States
This is very pleasant, smooth, mellow, and mature. The top notes have lavender, tangerine, bergamot and rose oil. For the first twenty minutes it reminds me exactly of lemon meringue pie. The middle and top notes are where it shines, after about an hour the citrusy vibe is muted and you get cinnamon with a slight touch of sweetness from dates. In the base the myrrh and tonka bean are ever present along side the dates that never really dissipated. In the end it gives off an amazing sweet nutty almond/walnut vibe.  

I believe that myrhh cannot be the only wood present in this masterpiece. Méharées only exists in the 50ml size and it costs the same as the other L'erbolario fragrances of 100ml.  

I'm assuming that its much more expensive to produce and that's why you receive only 50ml as opposed to 100ml. I would guesstimate that cedarwood, sandalwood, guaiac wood, amber, basil, nutmeg & musk might*** also be  present in this. In conclusion this fragrance is BEAUTIFUL and a must try.
01st February, 2014
Vanilla gourmand with light spice and a slight medicinal note at the initial spray (not bad though). I like this one. Not expensive (around $50). Has that slight middle eastern vibe. Definitely one to try!
29th April, 2013
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Similar to the dry down of Musc Rav. Longevity is not great, and projection is bad. This has no character at all.
20th April, 2013 (last edited: 08th March, 2015)
Truly amazing stuff. First, I've sampled Musc Ravageur 4 times and Meharees in my opinion is superior (but very similar). Sweet and slightly syrupy to begin with but then settles down into the warmest closest skin scent I own. Always gets comments about how clean / soapy it smells. I don't get any soap, just an incredibly well blended musK that punches way above its weight. Lasts at least 14+ hours on me with 4 squirts. It's also one of those scents which is good to fall asleep to. In my top 3 of all time and is an absolute bargain per ml.
06th January, 2013
This stuff is excellent.....the more I wear it the more I love and enjoy it.....its much more versatile and wearable the musc ravageur, not to mention smells better.....if your iffy on MR u must try this.....2 sprays of this and I am projecting for 6-8 hrs, close to the skin 12+
and I smelll it the whole time, which is important to me.....it opens like the heart of MR with some dates added...and drydown many hours later to a vanilla myrrh type smell...the whole experience is brilliant
04th January, 2013
I'm neutral to this. It's definitely just like Musc Ravageur without the disgusting cloves in the beginning. It still has a medicinal feel though to a small extent and it's not the most pleasant thing. Beats Musc Ravaguer easily though, and is much cheaper.
09th September, 2012
Delicious spicy oriental with a warm woody-musky dry down, the addition of balsams (mirrh and vanilla) and with a strong dusty presence of cinnamon and nutmeg throughout. Appealing and easy. The presence of the sweet date provides a sort of edible-tasty temperament that enhances the Meharees's appeal. The dry down is somewhat musky-boise, spicy and resinous. Surprising and inexpensive.
12th June, 2011 (last edited: 04th December, 2014)
The opening and heart reminds me of a less spicy L'Air du desert marocain. The drydown is very similar to Musc Ravangeur. This fragrance reminds me of walking into a bakery and having the sweet and rich smells of freshly baked pastries. Sillage and longevity are both moderarate with 6 to 8 hours respectfully. I would recommend this to anyone that likes either of the previously mentioned fragrances and doesn't care for the clove in Musc Ravangeur.
22nd May, 2011