Reviews

Reviews of Dunhill Custom by Dunhill

I had really high hopes because I love the notes but I can hardly smell it and it doesn't seem to last. I wish it was a bit more pushy like other spicy fragrances.
25th February, 2015
Swanky Show all reviews
United States
Among a rather insipid subset of masculine fragrances, Dunhill Custom seems by far the best. This clique features a pear or apple top with a synthetic cedar or sandalwood base. Think Obsession Night, Canali Style and Guess by Marciano (the latter two, especially, are uninspired). DC manages to be a bit boozier than the others and the pleasantries last beyond the introductions. I have no longevity issues whatsoever with this offering. Nice bottle, too.

(Some enterprising soul needs to develop a Viagra pill for fragrances, to be used by those who experience longevity issues with their fragrances.)
14th December, 2012
Neutral only because of its lack of strength and longevity. Dunhill has something going here, but they neutered it by watering it down. Want something for an office setting? this (along with a bunch of other recent launches) works well. But given the packaging, you would expect to take on whiff and be knocked back into your recliner with images of masculinity dancing around your head. You get nothing like that. Launch an EdP version ASAP.
17th October, 2012
ElVee Show all reviews
United States
Apple, apple, and more apple. That's pretty much all I get on this. It didn't last very long on me, couple hours tops, and never developed into anything other than an apple cider-like scent.
06th July, 2012
HDD8 Show all reviews
United Kingdom
When I first tried this, I wasn't impressed - it just disappeared so quickly! But I've given it another go - on a warmer, sunnier day - and I'm so glad I did.

The opening is a nice, sweet apple - without being sickly sweet or overbearing. The pepper heart notes are also quite subtle, and blend well with the apple. The scent progresses into the woody heart notes which retain the gentle overall sweetness of Dunhill Custom.

In conclusion, this is a well blended, quality scent with good longevity. It has - for me - only very moderate sillage or projection. This makes it an excellent "office" scent - as has been mentioned before.

Well worth a try - and already being discounted!
19th February, 2012
Just picked this one up blind - and put a few sprays on. The wife just gave me the thumbs WAAAAY up. Pretty sexy scent, and it's lasted more than 7 hours. I get the apple from a distance, but the big one here is the woody bite. Masculine and fresh - and seems like it would work well in the office, and just about everywhere else. I'm a sales rep, so strong overbearing cologne is out - this one should work well.
24th December, 2011
I was expecting something similar to Creed Spice and Wood but this one is very different. The apple and black pepper notes do not stand out. There is no sickly sweet apple fruitiness like in the DKNY fragrances. Instead I get something similar to a subdued apple cider mixed with incense. In a way I feel this fragrance could be better with a more distinct apple and black pepper note. There is nothing really spicy about this fragrance. Overall I feel this is one of the better designer fragrances I have tried this year but the quality could have been better.

Overall rating 6.5/10
15th September, 2011
elegant fragrance. nothing that would grab your attention immediately, the color of the juice is kinda misleading, it's not that strong. it's sweet, subtle, and woody in the gentlest way. excellent for office wear. good longevity.
01st August, 2011
This fairly uninspiring fragrance works well as an everyday scent for men. I've seen people call fragrances 'office scents', and i would say this falls into that category. It's also the type of fragrance I could see men buying and wearing that were under the illusion it's expensive looking glass bottle denotes sophistication that the scent unfortunately lacks. It reminded me a little of YSL L'Homme, but not as fresh in the opening note. Custom works well as a clean scent to apply before dressing, but is in no way a statement fragrance that will draw attention. Keep it under your shirt.
01st June, 2011 (last edited: 07th December, 2011)