Positive Reviews of Jeux de Peau by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    Find out more about Jeux de Peau by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 8 of 8. (Show all reviews)
    Tony T's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    light spices,mild licorce and a bit of wood is what i detect. the bread note is light upon the first few minutes then the licorce kicks in. kinda foody but not gourmand. a strange scent that i like but my 1ml sample is good enough. maybe i will splurge for the huge 5 ml decant!! lol

    13th February, 2013

    TheWickedOne's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    My first full bottle of Serge Lutens - but will not be my last! The best way I can describe this is as foody without smelling foody. I can smell the bread, I can smell the jam and the fruit, but it does not come across at all like cake or cookies, just like the best bakery you have ever been in that doesn't happen to stock anything in chocolate.

    20th August, 2012

    sfonativeboy's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Jeux de Peau
    The scent of Baked Bread like Croissants ....even a Baguette is intended and unmistakable

    On the skin, my nose picks up something of the nuances of bread which seem to
    fade into a buttery heaven,
    with an tiny bit of Fruity Confiture
    As the perfume mellows down it takes on a subtle nuances ...
    Skin and Croissant/ Baguette get confused.

    Jeux de Peau is a skin scent...
    meant to stay close to the body,
    disappearing into nothing more than a whisper.
    The Bread butter smell is very faint and you need to be very close to encounter it.

    The drydown is particularly beautiful
    Settling into a wood palette of milky sandalwood.
    .
    This fragrance is made to play with our memory of
    things we are familiar with
    and unconsciously like ....

    16th August, 2012

    hyblaean's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    (a nice) Sandalwood, hot butter and pepper :) that's what shows up on my skin. I would never buy a full bottle since it smells too masculine for regular wear, but will enjoy the sample from time to time.

    03rd April, 2012

    Maximiliani's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This smells like a scone or some sort of anise seed/immortelle/liquorice flavored bread or pastry with apricot jam, butter, and maple syrup. Some people detect chicory coffee and chocolate, almonds, other whiffs of a patisserie, but all I got were the anise bread with apricot jam and a sticky syrup. Very sticky.


    It's very sweet, and while the warm "cream" or butter and apricot phenomenon that really makes it smell good at first is a fleeting experience (which is a shame) the jammy, syrupy smell you get left is pretty good, lasting quite a while until it becomes a bit of a maple/sandlewood skin scent, as if you actually had pancakes that morning and dripped some syrup on your arm and didn't notice. You'll get whiffs of apricot and the licorice elements once in a while but be aware your skin might make this pure syrup. I'm fair and have noticed my skin amps up sweetness. I have smelled other perfumes on other people that smell like the drydown . The sandlewood/maple is nice but not mind blowing so the price tag is slightly unwarranted.

    09th December, 2011 (Last Edited: 27th November, 2012)

    Mon-Petit's avatar

    France France

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I liked this one at the first snif and immediatly wanted my bottle.
    It's a little regressive and recomforting, i wear it sometimes the evening for staying at home (not something i want to smell the morning).
    I smell an original and strong cereal note, a bread crust a little too much baked (from rustic type of bread) on a fruity/sweet sandalwood as a typical SL base.
    Something in the construction reminded me Douce amère, a constant oscillation beetween two elements: the base and the cereal/bread.
    The santal also brings a little buttered effect, for completing the toast.
    Indeed, everything for take a good breafast is there: cereals, toasted (burned?) bread, apricot jam, butter, hot milk and chicory coffee.
    Hopefully Serge didn't boringly maked a breakfast without any elegance and oriental fantasy.

    A beautiful balance between originality, the gourmand and the oriental refinement a la Lutens.


    25th November, 2011 (Last Edited: 02nd January, 2012)

    Persolaise's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Try to think of a combination of the following smells... and please forgive me if you're on a diet: melting butter; crushed digestive biscuits; Monin's hazelnut syrup; warm praline; sweet almonds; vanilla shortbread; a faint suggestion of licorice; caramel; the sticky atmosphere of a patisserie... you get the idea, right? Somehow Jeux De Peau manages to be all these things: a fuzzy cloud containing every three year old's favourite scents. But its most impressive achievement is that it evokes an abstract sense of the concept of 'childhood' without allowing itself to be reduced to any one particular image; it presents an idea of bygone years rather than a specific memory of licking the remains of the cake mix out of the bowl. It is this balance that makes it so powerfully evocative: it shows you enough of the past to convince you the memories are real, but it blurs the recollections so they remain tantalisingly out of reach.

    In terms of structure, it's essentially linear. At the very end - just before it allows you to wake up and leave its dreamland - it does display a sandalwood glow (reminiscent of Lutens' own Santal De Mysore) but for most of its duration, this is an unabashed 'oven gourmand', turning the pages of the Dessert section of your most beloved cookbook with playful self-assurance.

    11th November, 2011

    Filomele's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    French brioche, with demi-sal butter and apricot

    06th November, 2011

    Showing 1 to 8 of 8. (Show all reviews)




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000