Reviews of New York Amber by Bond No. 9

    Find out more about New York Amber by Bond No. 9 in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 11 of 11.
    rbaker's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Amber heaven! This is the summary of the opening blast: Amber galore of good-quality ingredients, with fresh undertones, and a touch of floral spiciness with saffron when heading towards the drydown. This is an amber that is not heavy, has a brighter sparkle and is of some elegance without lacking depths and richness. After the first couple of hours we are crashing to the ground of more mundane levels of existence, as the flowery-osmanthus middle notes are fare less exciting, and the woody ambrox base is plain and simply generic, although not ouright very bad, just mediocre. The silage is allright, the projection excellent initially, and the overall longevity very good at about seven hours, albeit close to my skin for the second half.
    This then is a glorious scent initially and a more average and restrained creation later on - ideal for a cool-season office scent that pampers in the initial hours and then is more unobtrusive. With the overall decent performance I would give it a positive score overall - just.

    24 May, 2014

    Sly2scents's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Talk about loud mouth when that trigger is pulled. A lot is going on within the first hour of wearing this fragrance the jasmine, sandalwood and oud pounds like subwoofers in Shaq's truck. After a few hours the amber emerges large and in charge. I wouldn't consider myself an Amber fan but this is ok.

    13 May, 2014

    krsams1's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Easy on the trigger. This is a stand alone, knock your socks off fragrance. Not for the timid or faint of heart. Extreme in a very good.

    05 May, 2014

    jtd's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    AMBER

    I would prefer that higher end perfume producers be more honest about their higher prices. For god's sake, just say that certain perfumes cost more because people will pay more for them. Bond no 9 present their merchandise as luxury items and therefore charge expectable luxury rates for them. They don't claim materials culled from rare exotic sources as, say, Creed do. They don't tout the perfumer-as-attraction like l'Artisan Parfumeurs. Naming perfumes after neighborhoods of the affluent isn’t quite the implied vision of the Lutens line.

    For Bond it’s just the 50/50% of derivation and catch-up. Actually, it's a bit of whack-a-mole:

    • Take another shot at the contempo-floral? Bam! Central Park South.
    • It's hot out, so let's push another cologne clone. Wham! Little Italy.
    • Chasing the Angel fame? Pow! Nuit de Noho.
    • Need an entry in the male aquatic market? Ka-Bam! Wall Street.
    • Fuck! Everyone else has an oud! Fire somebody and get me NY Oud!

    In Amber's case, it's: need an oud-rose floriental to keep up with the nichier niche lines? Blammo! Amber.

    Amber is a whole lotta' everything! It's an oriental that minored in gourmandise. It's rich and overstuffed. Unfortunately it's also from the pile-on-the-diamante school that produced Boucheron de Boucheron, a monster chemo-floriental that typified the 1980s.

    Amber doesn't have a cutesie NYC name and it should. How about "NYC Climber: Over-Leveraged"?

    24 September, 2013

    phi's avatar

    New Zealand New Zealand

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I'm blown away, spectacular fragrance by Bond, nothing new to say that hasn't been said already

    01st April, 2013

    rogalal's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The first few hours of New York Amber are just wonderful. It's a perfect balance of interesting smells and textures. There are minty champagne aldehydes and a pinch of black pepper for lift, a fuzzy peachskin smell for texture, a shot of frankincense for woodiness, a smear of ambrox and a touch of creamy pink pepper for richness, a touch of smoke, and a hint of saffron to give a subtle leathery oud flavor that adds the perfect darkness for contrast. And all this is perfectly matched. It's slightly feminine but also vaguely masculine. It's interesting and "niche-smelling" without being too weird. Simultaneously, the aldehydes and pink pepper give it a touch of Coco-esque familiarity, but the smoky woods keep it in the realm of art.

    Sadly, this brilliance slowly unravels over the course of the day, as a textbook synthetic "woody amber" base comes in (you know, that mainstream aquatic bleachy rubbing alcohol smell). It's subtle and kind of nice at first, but eventually, it swallows everything and leaves New York Amber smelling like a generic mainstream masculine. It's especially sad, because the frankincense and ambrox in the topnotes had me expecting a deep, rich incense base ala Tauer, but no. It's just a generic "Bleu" smell laced with sad tendrils of the brilliant topnotes.

    23 December, 2012

    Possum-Pie's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I tried many Bond no. 9 scents, and honestly, nearly all of them had an underlying chemical smell that gave me a headache. I really wanted to like NY Amber, and tried it several more times. I don't notice the chemical smell in NY Amber, or at least not much, and LOVE this scent. It starts out just about how it ends up on me. Amber, saffron, sandalwood. It keeps a sharp amber note all along. Like most Bond fragrances, NY Amber has incredible longevity, sillage, and projection. waking though an office, you leave a "wake" of fragrance behind you. Bond fragrances are expensive, but last hours and hours, so don't need to be reapplied.

    18 August, 2012

    Cambo48's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is great stuff. My wife and I have been trying other oud fragrances and have found this to be the perfect one. The oud is so well blender with the amber and rose that it doesn't become tiring. Yes, I mean tiring not cloying. I've tried Montale Black Oud, New York Oud, Tom Ford Oud Wood, M7, and Christian Dior Leather Oud. I find the oud in this to be closest to Black Oud and New York Oud. The biggest difference is, I don't get tired of smelling this on myself. IMHO, this is a great entry level oud fragrance and overall, very beautiful and well blended.

    13 May, 2012

    leto's avatar

    Turkey Turkey

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a very good fragrance and it has a unique shocking wave, I can also call "the wow factor". Saffron opening, floral heart notes and a delicious amber at the end make this fragrance unique. Sillage and longevity are crrazy with this one and you can easily get 24 hours by two sprays. That's the thing every scrooge fraghead should take into account. If you have several bottles of different fragrances that you use in a cycle, that one is really impossible to use up, and besides it's really very expensive. But go for 10 ml decants if you can, it's great stuff.

    11th March, 2012

    killerloop's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Stunning, beautiful, elegant; all of these words describe New York Amber. That being said, I'm not quite sure that this is one that comes off as masculine with my body chemistry. The composition is really amazing on this one. There are definitely quite a few Bond's that are just way too much and feels like there are notes flying all over the place, with sort of no rhyme or reason, but the notes in this one fit together so damn well, like they were really made for each other.

    I'd say an absolute must-sample for anyone in the market for a Bond fragrance. This composition was done amazingly.

    25 January, 2012

    johnponder's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This stuff is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. LOVE IT LOVE LOVE IT. I first smelled it on a friend at church and was immediately struck by it. I KNEW I had to have some. It is POTENT and GORGEOUS, with huge longevity and sillage. It is on the sweet side. It is less amber-y than Ambre Sultan or Ambre Precieux, and I can smell the rose and the oud, well-balanced. I own 125 different colognes and have sampled over 400, and it is definitely in my top 5. GLAD TO OWN IT, and it's NOT CHEAP.

    06 January, 2012

    Showing 1 to 11 of 11.