Reviews of Cologne Noir by Van Cleef & Arpels

    Find out more about Cologne Noir by Van Cleef & Arpels in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 7 of 7.
    Colin Maillard's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Cologne Noire opens with a classic fresh accord of pepper, Iso E, citrus/bergamot, sandalwood, perhaps vetiver, and mossy-balsamic notes. As minutes pass the cedar note emerges more clearly, together with a slight aldehydated soapy accord. Pretty much it, a classic, clean, sharp, refined, office-safe cologne, quite dull and frankly a bit cheap and uninspired. Dozen of less expensive (is this expensive?) scents come to mind. Another grain of dust in the eternal purgatory of decent crowdpleasers.

    5,5-6/10

    29th May, 2014

    rogalal's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I've already written this in a different review, but I just can't believe that the people behind the VC&A "Collection Extraordinaire" approved not just two similar lily perfumes, but also two peppery incense scents.

    Cologne Noir is one of the peppery incense perfumes, alongside Bois d'Iris (which was mostly pepper and frankincense with iris for depth and a horrid cheap cotton candy drydown). Cologne Noir is the better of the two, but that's not really saying much. It's mostly black pepper, with a pinch of bergamot and some herbs underneath (I mostly smell oregano, so it reminds me of cooking), supported by frankincense and some thin cedar. While I generally enjoys scents like this, they've become a dime a dozen in the niche landscape and Cologne Noir isn't one of the best. It's quite weak, or maybe "thin" - it lasts all day but wears close and requires a heavy hand to really come to life, but even then it's mostly just a blast of pepper. Watered down Bang? Maybe...

    09th April, 2013

    Darvant's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I have to say that this hesperidic fragrance is not so bad at all. The beginning is a bit familiar and lovely, a bit on the Aromatic Lime Montale vein, so appealing and almost bracing in its cinnamon/pepper/orange accord on the side of a sheer heady bergamot. In this fase the fragrance is classic and distinguished in its quite sharp evocative (of some eau de cologne of the past with a sheer bergamot presence) substance. I catch a lovely peppery presence in this phase and the work produced by cardamom is interesting with conjurations about 7 de Loewe and a bit Cacharel Pour Homme (but with a more orangy temperament). I agree that in this phase the experiment is a lot on the side of some Diptyque or Comme des Garcons (or Askett&English and Crabtree&Evelyn i would add) and the classic citrusy sharpness holds on its run for a relatively long time but unfortunately not so long to persist steady till the end of the trip. A certain level of cedary powder and almost soapy linearity starts to rise up and turn the smell out more common (yes, tamed) and uninspired. At this final stage the fragrance is faint and shy, the dusty/prickly spiciness is tamed and i would have liked a more virile, ambery (ambergris/patchouli) and smoky feel. Probably minimal hints of soothing balsams swirl in the blend but it is not a so interesting story. I have to anyway say that i'm not able to dislike this dignified composition far better appointed than many other recent V&A mediocre releases.

    03rd December, 2012

    Mimi Gardenia's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Sometimes when I sample fragrances - and I am sure it happens with everyone, you get that " Oooo " factor ,feeling. This is one of those.
    After Gardenia Petale from this collection, Cologne Noire is 100 % different and enjoyably so .
    The overall feeling with this scent is light spice and pepper . Very refreshing bracing top notes ,quite savory with a hint of iris in there somewhere giving a bit of sweetness. I do smell Iso E Super in Cologne Noire. In fact Cologne Noire reminds me of Jean Claude Ellena and his haiku scents from the Hermessences. If you enjoy the spicy iris pepper lightness of Paprika Brasil from the Hermessence Line , you will most likely really like this one too. I loved Paprika Brasil though I know it is not most folks' favorite Hermessence.
    Cologne Noire is a streamlined subtle peppery- irisy - woody scent. Very unisex, very wearable and I think even a bit mysterious if worn by a woman .

    27th June, 2012

    alfarom's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Uninteresting spicy-peppery Eau De Cologne with remarkable woody undertones. Smells like if a Diptyque or a early Comme Des Garcons had received "the-modern-designer-treatment" and then had been brutally tamed down. Absolutely forgettable and overpriced.

    24th June, 2012

    Fabio Luisi's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Beautiful, honest cologne, which turns woody and a bit dark quite soon. One of the most original cologne, very elegant, rather masculine IMO.

    10th June, 2012

    leto's avatar

    Turkey Turkey

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    First comment eh? Well, I really can not imagine anyone paying retail price for this. It's a traditional lemon cologne with 30 minutes longevity and it has a very common smell. Thumbs really down Mark Buxton, for this so called "extraordinaire" fragrance. Really nothing interesting, just buy 4711 for the tenth of price.

    05th May, 2012

    Showing 1 to 7 of 7.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000