Positive Reviews of Sombre Negra by Yosh

    Find out more about Sombre Negra by Yosh in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 5 of 5. (Show all reviews)
    Colin Maillard's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Another example of that "revival" (especially among niche brands) of classic fougère schemes as we already saw with Roja Dove Fetish Pour Homme (Moschino pour Homme) and Puredistance M (Bel Ami). Sombre Negra may in fact be easily re-bottled and rebranded as a '70s/'80s fougère, as it has them all: the austere masculine look, the aldehydes, the dark and heavy woods, the "masculine" flowers (lavender, carnation?), the tobacco, the (fake, evernyl-ish) oak moss, a bold and humid herbal side rich in hay notes and rural nuances, and some vegetable-fruity juicy notes, like red pepper or pimiento. The only couple of things which are a bit more "new" and different are this sort of rural-vegetable accord, and a (kind of pale and plain) incense note. A nice scent overall, nothing exciting – mostly because it reminds me so many old scents – but nice, sounds like a fun tribute more than else. Plus it has that slightly depressing "pale" and restrained personality many scents have today, especially niche, I don't know if that's about decreasing quality of ingredients, of the infamous and alleged "bans" on some components, or simple laziness or lack of talent. Not saying it's a bad scent, it's elegant and pleasant, but also just a (tiny!) bit, well, dull perhaps.

    6,5-7/10

    P.S. I don't know which version I tested.

    05th July, 2014

    Francolino's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     


    This is masculine indeed and only for black scents lovers, just like having a patch of gasoline moving with you like a ghost (talking about the latest version, tobacco note gone) fizzling sizzling dark patchouli combo....
    Colonnel Kurtz signature scent...
    the horror, the horror...

    08th September, 2013 (Last Edited: 26th April, 2014)

    benzganesh's avatar

    Malaysia Malaysia

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This review is for the 2011 reformulated version :

    Thumbs up!
    Its the smell of the earth! in the light of the nocturne; smokey but rich yet grounded,herbal yet unmedicinal,boozy yet sober, warming but unclosing, the retrograding juxtapositions apart - its quite simply, one of the best/most orignal scent that i have smelled, longevity and sillage is both very good, my only complain is the size; would have been best if this was offered in 100ml than the sole 50ml.

    The offset-note, on the patchouli is just brilliant!

    I hope that YOSH releases, a few flankers so that i may find the excuse to dig into them.

    18th August, 2012 (Last Edited: 03rd September, 2012)

    Darvant's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This review is for the sharper new formulation.

    Sombre Negra is a powerhouse of new generation. It starts almost similar to Black Tourmaline (smoke, incense and turpentine) and ends like a resinous kind of vintage Trussardi Uomo. The dusty chaos of peppery and rooty harshness reminds me a bit the more fruity Shiseido Basala (despite the lack of incense from the Shiseido one). It's aromatic, spicy, woody and incensey. The incense is neither sepulchral nor ecumenical but classic, leathery and conservative. The general balance is severe. The note of earthy patchouli enhances the level of autority and darkness although i don't find this scent particularly dark. It's grey as the solitude of a widower in the Berlin's suburbia, it's serious, moody but not properly dark. The dry down is utterly sharp, peppery, incensey, resinous and rooty with the harsh smoky bitterness of tobacco and a woody kind of aromatic coolness of the forest made of cypress, vetiver, davana oil, mushrooms and moss. A touch of myrrh softens and balances the general harshness increasing the final level of mildness. A very distinctive, silent and restrained fragrance for irony and solitary mature men.

    17th February, 2012 (Last Edited: 05th February, 2013)

    alfarom's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Review for the original formulation:

    Church forniture. Extremely earthy patchouli (not the head-shop one) and incense with strong resinous/woody notes adding an "angular" aspect. In the drydown pepper and cypress play a quite relevant role. Dense, smoky and deeply dark. 


    Pitch Black!

    15th February, 2012 (Last Edited: 16th February, 2012)

    Showing 1 to 5 of 5. (Show all reviews)




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000