Reviews of Rume by Slumberhouse

    Find out more about Rume by Slumberhouse in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 11 of 11.
    purplebird7's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Prunes. Fruitcake. Mincemeat pie. Rum. Candied citrus peel. This registers as gourmand. Red wine note, or fermented grapes. Honeyed labdanum. I like it, but I'm not falling hard for it.

    30th June, 2014

    Colin Maillard's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Extremely powerful explosion of bay leaf, fruity-oriental notes (dried fruits), rhum, tobacco, licorice, a strong, sticky, threatening resinous note, olibanum, a slap of cloves, overall not that far from the dense stickiness of Zahd (or to name other houses, Norma Kamali Incense) but with a really peculiar vein halfway dried-fruity, herbal (the bay leaf, extremely bold and realistic, a sort of visionary version "of steroids" of it), boozy and medicinal. Now, as most of those notes are apparently not in the composition, I guess that's a genius interplay of nuances due to a sort of "fermentation" of cistus, bay leaf, spices and resins. Pungent and syrupy, on skin it's a super dark, oily, thick smell, compact, strong and quite hard to "read"; on the sillage it "blossoms", giving life to all the notes listed above – dried and spicy fruits à la Lutens' Arabie, laurel, a bold boozy feel, a bag of cloves. Dry and strong woody aftertaste, smoky and camphor-like, which perfectly blends with the medicinal side. Like other Slumberhouse scents, Rume is stuffed with Lobb's obsessions and visions, here turned into a bizarre Oriental-futuristic archaic harmony of fruity, spicy, woody, herbal and resinous notes – which as I said, like other works by Lobb, fairly remind me in some aspects of Lutens. Quite a fascinating work, but frankly too challenging to wear in my opinion. Surely, uniqueness is not an issue for Josh!

    7/10

    16 June, 2014

    Tony T's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Holiday Frag

    this is my first from slumberhouse. I have a sample that gave me a solid 8 hours. great stuff but would be hard to wear on a consistent basis. smells of apples spices and potpourri. I like it but would not by a FB. unisex also IMO

    Pros: long lasting and different
    Cons: not complex"

    12 August, 2013

    Diogenes65's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This opens with a fermented spicey monster projection. I have tried 10 Slumberhouse frags, and the commonality is that they are all over-poweringly strong. It's like hearing a great tune, but turning up the volume to the max...it is too much. This dried down to a more managable mix.

    11th March, 2013

    Darvant's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     


    Rume is the Sova's naughty cousin. Both are sort of "country rustic fragrances" of the farm (i mean rustic in the effect but extremely sophisticated in the cause) and either introduce a spicy sort of vaguely bitter kind of accord but where Sova is more introverted, opaque and stressed over an hay-bitter tobacco-piquant spices accord finally tamed by barely mild balsams, Rume is sweeter, less assertive, less dry/stark, more resinous and more sweetly pungent, being centered over a bay leaves/cloves accord with a following burnt sugar dominant sticky temperament produced by the interaction between the huge amount of cloves and the resinous balsams/labdanum (roasted) chord. Where the bitter vibe in Sova is centered over a licorice accord here in Rume the ostensibly similar effect is bitter/sweet and sugary/smokey with all those honeyed cloves blended with balsams. Sova is by soon starker and drier, being all about hay, tobacco and piquant spices finally tamed down by balsams and honey but hardly sweetened and "coloured" while Rume is more aromatic and spicy in a sort of caramellous sweety way. Rume is delicious and evokes some spicy jammy cakes filled with honeyed fruits, dusty sugar and cloves/cinnamon. Another "ambiental" issue from an interesting niche brand able to conjure up in my mind far memories about a rural childhood spent in the middle of the nature in a full contact with animals, natural fruits, spicy meals, obscure barns, haystacks and workers of the land.

    08 February, 2013

    NorthernTiger's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Opens with a strong honey and spice scent. Quickly drys down to reveal resin. The myrrh lends a bit of a medicinal flavor. A beautiful fragrance.

    24 January, 2013

    Marais's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    An intense Christmas-spice scent, with dark orange, cinnamon, clove and stewed fruits. Great projection and longevity. Avoid spraying on white fabric as it leaves a light green residue. Overall, a bit too close to pot-pourri for me to consider as a personal fragrance. Would be great in winter, with the cap removed and a few reeds stuck in it.

    20th January, 2013

    RM84e's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Very interesting fragrance, it creates an accord of mulling wine. The dominant note I think is certainly the bay leaves, followed by clove and cola. Very sweet indeed, and though I would usually not appreciate that, it has a nice balance to it, with the spice and wood. Lovely.

    27 November, 2012

    odysseusm's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Notes: bay leaf, myrrh, labdanum, clay, cola, filbert, hay.

    The comparison to Serge Lutens is very true, this is definitely in that style (sweet, powerful, dried-fruit).
    The website has a fanciful description, "pralined fur laced in dark red spice" -- and that did not cause me to look forward to the trial in happy anticipation. :(
    It is very sweet, intensely sweet, aggressively sweet. It is like dried dates steeped in warm, spicy rum. That may sound attractive to some -- to me, not.
    There is a clay-mineral note behind the sweetness.
    Very quickly a coumarin note appears to suggest hay and cured tobacco.
    The scent gets more interesting as the uber-sweet blitz burns off.
    This becomes a very gentleman's club sort of scent: it evokes images of humidors, polished wood furniture, pipe tobacco, old leather books.
    Very powerful... and yet I don't find it to have longevity. Essentially done in an hour for me.
    Not my style, but more problematic for me was the relentlessly sweet opening.

    04 October, 2012

    rynegne's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Rume will be my go-to this winter. It's a thick resinous fragrance with a light spice and hint of clove. I really like how the clove is used in comparison to other Slumberhouse fragrances. The smell of Rume instantly reminds me of Christmas and winter. It's a very unique and powerful fragrance that I'd recommend to those that like thick, sappy resinous scents in the forefront with a sweet honey and spice note in the background. Josh has really created something special with Rume. Easily my favorite in his Slumberhouse line.

    08 August, 2012

    alfarom's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Rume striked me as very Lutens-like. A full bodied composition where a strong resinous presence (myrrh and labdanum) is joined by clove and bay. Somewhere between Serge Noir and Fille En Aiguilles. It has an overall burnt-sugary, sort of roasted, vibe. It's spicy and slightly (slightly) medicinal. The myrrh remarks its presence with pungent accents while a honeyed note adds even more density.

    Nice and very reasonably priced.

    16 February, 2012

    Showing 1 to 11 of 11.