Perfume Reviews

Neutral Reviews of The One Sport by Dolce & Gabbana

Great fresh, aquatic and spicy. Projection and longevity is terrible.
25th June, 2015
I love the combination of aquatic/spicy rather than the typical aquatic/citrus and the opening blast is amazing. On my skin, however, I typically get no more than a few hours of longevity and practically no sillage. I'm torn on how to rate this juice because although the overall scent is spectacular, I would expect better performance from an EDT produced by such an esteemed house.
03rd June, 2015
Average

Apparently doesn't have much to do with original One. It's an okay aquatic scent but completely generic and boring. Probably would be okay as a gift for someone who doesn't have any other fragrances and thus has no good frame of reference. I must have smelled a few dozen of scents that were identical to this. Why bother..

Pros: Clean, not offensive
Cons: Boring and easily forgettable"

20th September, 2013
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Safe pick for the youth market

Something a lot of reviews leave out is this is aimed at a youth market -- for the gym, the summer, guys who don't yet know that less is more. (Some never learn that lesson!)

A lot of perfume reviews come from niche enthusiasts, I think, and the tell is the demand for an Extreme or an EDP. But if Sport flankers weren't selling, there wouldn't be so many of them. These are the same people who complain that most movies feature a young male protagonist discovering how awesome he is. That's who is buying tickets to the movies, folks. So it is with Sport scents.

If a coworker asked for a recommendation on what to buy their 16-year-old son for his birthday, I would recommend this without hesitation. The rosemary aka "dew of the sea" enhances the marine notes of The One Sport, blending nicely with the woody spicy notes and fresh citrus. There is a touch of a salty ambergris smelling note, undoubtedly fake but thoughtfully represented.

This could easily be a Creed, but the price is even a little steep for mainstream. You can find it on sale in many places, since it was released in February, and we're reaching the end of summer. That is a big part of The One Sport's charm, too, is its trendiness. Whether it holds up to time depends.

Pros: Respected house, pleasant smell
Cons: Pedestrian, unoriginal, generic"

28th July, 2013
Flankers have something to prove to begin with, above and beyond the original. The original was average, but this is average average generic. I couldn't pick it out of a mass of other sport flankers.
05th May, 2013
A soccer team of boys and girls sit on the sidelines of a game. They are waiting to play on an uncomfortable metal bench. They didn't get to play the first half. Eagerly, they eat oranges for energy. The mix of citrus and their varying deoderants are strong due to their close proximity. They queitly talk amongst themselves about things other than the game at hand.
16th October, 2012
Because the original wasn't weak enough.
Not bad, just painfully boring.
11th August, 2012
I guess it was only a matter of time. It is not bad, just not new or different or special enough to warrant purchase. That said, it is one of the few sporty orientals on the market, just not sure that is a good mix.
15th April, 2012