Perfume Reviews

Positive Reviews of Don Corleone by AbdesSalaam Attar Profumo

Total Reviews: 7
Anyone expecting a boring, cozy vanilla scent, be warned: this fragrance is more challenging than many houses' avant-garde offerings. Challenging? No that would imply something difficult in the journey and there is no part in the evolution of Don Corleone that brings anything other than joy. Maybe I mean more surprising.

I get very different openings from spray vs dabbing from the minion bottle. If you spray, this perfume hits like a version Patchouli 24, that was dreamed up in a Moroccan desert, instead of a French Lab.

If you dab, the first notes are extremely vivid impressions of real scrape-the-pod vanilla, with a fleeting glimpse of the armchairs, cognacs and unlit cigars of old gentleman's clubs.

Both applications of the scent evolve in the same direction: overdoses of elegant, sensual vanilla, with the finely spiced tobacco from a cigar that has almost stopped smoking in it's tray.

Into the deep dry down, the vanilla gets cozier and cozier until its a plush bed to curl up in.
31st May, 2019
Don Corleone along with Milano Caffe are in my opinion Two of the best products available anywhere in the world.I disagree that either of these has anything to do with femininity. True some of the ladies will use anything including Old Spice and Mennen aftershave. There are exceptions to everything.I have a very large collection of fragrances 99% of which are very expensive niche items. Don Corleone and Milano Caffe are at the top of the list without breaking the bank.
13th December, 2015
Tobacco, woods, tuberose: earth, smoke, filthy animalicness. Nothing more manly and virile than this, like in most of Dubrana’s scents aimed at men, this goes right back to old-school powerhouses’ raw darkness and thick “machism”. Much linear though, in a way almost close to some US niche acts like Sonoma Scent Studio or Slumberhouse, albeit with a far more natural, raw, almost “archaic” organic mood. On the very base, a cozy and slightly sweet accord of balmy-boozy-rooty notes with something smelling like bitter, dusty cocoa beans (it may be patchouli). Dirty, earthy, mature and indolic, it progressively gets warmer and slowly becomes more and more elegant, tamed down and civilised, still shady but gentler, with a long, fantastic transition towards a powerful and really long lasting drydown carrying mostly tobacco, woody and animalic nuances. Throughout the evolution, the tuberose note is great, delivering all its signature animalic earthiness, perfectly blending here with the warm, balmy sweetness of tobacco and cozy woods (something like tolu, too). A bit similar to Tabac by the same house, but decidedly more earthy, indolic, even almost “narcotic” (tuberose, again) with a sweeter ambery base. Great quality. Intense, dark, powerful yet gentle, classy, evocative. Beautiful!

8/10
19th February, 2015
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

What a sensual fragrance is it!! Dominique Dubrana's Don Corleone is probably the best gourmand tobacco around and one of the most carnal concoctions I've had the pleasure to test around. No doubts about, Dubrana places/roots the vetiver down in the middle of the ring surrounding it by indolic (but partially disguised) tuberose absolute, seasoned tobacco, animalic patterns, woodsy (minty/boozy) resins and edible/tasty balsams. The final rendition is simply encompassing, vaguely liquorous (anise/Pastis-conjuring) and testosteronic. At the beginning I detect a familiar undertone and my olfactory memory catch Vetiver Etro (with its realistic combination of tobacco, cypress and rooty vetiver) from the abysses of the olfactory memory. This earthy/rooty feel (far more moderate and elusive than in Etro) is anyway yet slightly leathery, vaguely liquorous, indolic, musky and animalic (probably hints of patchouli are included in the blend). Is like Vetiver Etro encounters Mazzolari Lui, HdP Tubereuse 3 L'Animale and Frapin 1270 issuing anyway a really sensual but balanced experiment. The aroma is supposed to arouse all at once the two sides of the sicilian temperament, namely the gluttony for sweet, vanilla and cakes as connected with the visceral attachment to mum and the strong machismo still nowadays present in the island's culture (sometimes sub-culture). The general balance (a Dubrana'a landmark) is extreme despite the "carnality" of the main raw materials (tobacco, vetiver, indolic tuberose, musk, vanilla, animalic patterns). I get of course the La Via del Profumo Tabac's genuine kind of humidor tobacco vibe. The final aroma is not properly sophisticated but somewhat decadent, rural and bold. Tuberose is basically kind of orangy-creamy, "nectarinic" and vaguely boozy-minty. The "sweetness level" is measured. The very dry down is evidently tobacco-flavoured, vanillic, musky and sensual as few dry downs of the modern perfumery.
15th April, 2014 (last edited: 26th February, 2017)
Vanilla Mafia

I don't know how much my impression is influenced by the name and the idea itself, but i picture this scent on my skin as the perfect aroma for an italian mafia boss. It exudes class, power, intensity, from the beginning until the end. I don't know if it is strange to me, i have already smelled and sample so many things through my journey that this is hard to classify, but i see it as very powerful. It's for me a scent of as much of vanilla as tobacco. They are the stars, where the tuberose is more of a second player on me, just providing a round, sensual touch to bind those two essences. It makes me think that vanilla is much more deep and dimensional that we might think at first. I guess that this is because we are so used with the sugary, creamy vanillas that we forgot that it can also smell flowery, a little bit animalic, erotic, but also smoky, leathery too. This vanilla is edible, but more smoky, spicy, it merges completely into the tobacco nuances. It's different, for instance, from the vanilla used in Frutti Paradisi, that is close to skin and smell exactly like the vanilla pods after you have extracted the seeds. As i expected, i love this scent and i'm impressed that a natural scent can be this way, intense just the way i like. Amazing.

Pros: Great pair of vanilla and tobacco
Cons: Don't see any"

04th August, 2013
Since i discovered i love natural perfumery i had to try this line:-)

Don Corleone:-) macho man, the boss, so at the first sniff from the vial it hit me as i expected from a perfume of such name:-) the macho man, very strong , rich, a touch unpleasant maybe, masculine fragrance , smoky like smoked ham:-) ,very gourmand, i was sniffing my oily vial, cause its dense sweet smoky scent to recognize what kind of a meet it reminds me of , what dish?:-)

And i thought i wont be able to pull this off:-)

But when i tried it on the skin,in just 5 minutes it transformed into very feminine sweet scent,to my big surprise!!

This perfume seems like very wearable scent, it projects , has good longevity, and is unisex, but men who want to wear something vanilla like but some may find it too sweat although its not!

The third most important player in this composition, tuberose, is so well hidden behind tobacco smoke, it was there but i could not identify it!!

The combination of vanilla, tuberose and tobacco make this scent very gourmand, oriental, warm but not cloying, its nothing like typical vanilla scent,

As the reviewer before said, its simple yet delicate composition, it dances between beeing too gourmand, too feminine, too vanilla, too tobacco, and in the end its one very unique scent for people who are temperament in nature! Like Sicilians are !

That's why the name fits perfect here!

10th November, 2012
This is my favourite masculine floral, and I would never have guessed that it would be tuberose!

Don Corleone plays off of Abdes Salaam's masterful hand with tobacco, and features a fantastic, fleshy, rich (but not too sweet) tuberose absolute. The closest comparison I can come up with is with HdP Tubereuse 3, but the Don is drier, simpler and more tobacco oriented. It is much more wearable in my opinion. The drydown features an equally rich and subtle vanilla.

I have no particular philosophical orientation towards all-natural scents, but Abdes Salaam's compositions have won me over with their simplicity, purity and modesty. This is an ideal house through which to experiment with new scent experiences, and one can only be impressed by Abdes Salaam's mastery of his craft and generosity of spirit.
21st March, 2012