Perfume Reviews

Reviews of Casamorati 1888 Fiero by Xerjoff

Total Reviews: 14
1888 Fiero is actually a nice scent, with that fresh/herbal mediterranean feel - crisp, with notes of citrus, olive tree, thyme on a middleweight woody base. Quite effortless, and restrained/conservative in a good way. The overall vibe is classic, Italian, something along the lines of a modern interpretation of a vintage citrus-woods, unisex, but with an emphasis on notes traditionally used in masculine (marketed) perfumes. The quality is good, something that one would expect at Xerjoff prices.

1888 Fiero has subdued sillage, and lasts a moderate four to five hours on skin. My issue with it is not so much 'performance', but the fact that this is a bit dense/concentrated in its smell. What it really needed was to let loose the shackles, lighten up the formula (as an EdC or EdP) and make the vibe radiant, rarefied, airy and expansive, perhaps with a lighter base, like many of the brisk, traditional masculine scents.

It's like listening to your favourite upbeat track, but the key is inappropriately low.


3/5
02nd February, 2019 (last edited: 22nd February, 2019)
Fresh and sweet, Fiero fits very well in cold days but during summer too.

It's not Wow but it smells very pleasant if you are into italian fresh scents.

The wood cand be noticed after 1 hour from opening.

A nice fresh perfume but on my skin it doesn't last more than 3 hours.
14th June, 2018
Fiero wears better in winter for me. The boldness of the spices and aromatics, everything is boldly done here and it might appear heavy handed. At first it is an old world cologne with thick lemony herbal mint lavender and thyme. I am always reminded of the opening of Aqua di Parma Essenza during this opening part only a bit heavier. But as it wears on the freshness becomes a dark green (tarragon) tarry amber that smells like the finish on some leather products. The overall scent profile is far from unique and I am sure it is a classic old world formula but still it works. I like it.
27th December, 2016
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

a modern eau sauvage.
29th December, 2015
Fiero opens with a thick, zesty, slightly-sweet lemony note that reminds me of Lemon Drops candy (though it doesn't smell cheap). The citrus lasts a lot longer than I usually get from other citrus fragrances.

After a bit, the lemony note backs off a little, and an herbal-woody center emerges that serves as a nice counterpoint to the initial sweetness.

Overall, a very pleasant fragrance with sufficient staying power that people who don't normally wear citrusy scents might enjoy.
11th November, 2015
The opening of Fiero is in fact *fiercely* zesty, green and fruity, with rich, vibrant, "juicy", slightly pollen-resinous notes on the base, refreshed by balsamic nuances and a slap of quite realistic citrus notes on top. It reminds me of several masculine classic colognes, less shady and austerely "masculine" and more on the herbal-citrus side - at least initially. It then evolves on a drier and darker path during which herbs and spices arise with increasing strength (a load of cumarin and nutmeg, a blast of aromatic minty-culinary herbs), all still topped with an invigorating and nice citrus accord on top, which lasts quite longer and bolder than usual - and more surprisingly, smelling still good, green, zesty and powerful. Shortly a citrus-spicy-herbal cologne with light woods and mossy-earthy notes on the base. Classy and beyond classic. A little tacky on the spices to be honest, completely unoriginal but pleasantly comforting and well made.

7/10
23rd October, 2014
This a strong and long lasting citrus fragrance with a bit of floral and woody notes. Traditional Italian/Mediterranean style, perhaps, and pleasant. It is surely one of the longest lasting citrus fragrances I have tried, lasting more than 12 hours. I like it, but not enough to buy a full bottle.
18th October, 2014
A bit disappointed with his to be honest.

It starts great , smells fantastic, beautifully balanced and masterfully blended, this offering from Xerjoff is, without a doubt, citrus at it's very best !

Alas, it lasts all of 45min on me and thereafter, It becomes a very close to the skin scent... a couple of hours latter and, is all over!.

Now, this longevity issue is very serious indeed. Still and, although very close to deserve it, I love Fiero too much to give it a negative!

I bought this straight from Xerjoff e-boutique so, maybe it is a brand new batch and, it has not matured enough... Time will tell and, I shall re-evaluate this review in a few months.

Until then and for now, I'll stick with neutral on this one!

Please note that this review is for the new green tassel version, I believe the older (vintage so soon?) version had a gold tassel

Edit!! 25-06-2015
Well, it has been nearly a year and, my bottle has matured quite nicely. Sprayed 4 shots this morning at 10AM and, although a skin scent now, It is very much there. A massive improvement form the 2 hours longevity I was getting a year ago!
Thumbs up!
25th July, 2014 (last edited: 25th June, 2015)
Personally, I didn't have any hope for the whole Casamorati 1888 line but when I tested this one it was a huge surprise for me!
The opening of this fragrance is a tart fresh citrusy scent with some green notes and semi sweet musk.
I can clearly smell bergamot that give the scent a tart and slightly bitter citrusy aroma. there is a strong dose of neroli beside it which makes the scent green, clean and a little soapy. there is soft musky note as well to make the scent slightly sweet.
The opening is pleasant but there is nothing really special about it. but after 10 minutes the scent started to change in an elegant old fashion classic way which really got my attention.
In the mid the bergamot note settled down and neroli became stronger with more soapy aroma and at the same time vetiver and tarragon notes kicked in.
The mid of this fragrance is a beautiful bitter herbal, smoky, green and soapy scent with some fresh feeling and slightly sweet musk in the background. a classic masterpiece indeed.
The beauties of this fragrance didn't end here. in the base the scent almost looses that bitter herbal tarragon and smoky vetiver aura (mostly smoky part) but now I can smell a soft floral notes beside other notes.
The base is a semi fresh, soapy, green, slightly bitter and slightly smoky scent with hint of floral notes and some sweetness that screams class and prestige.
The base somehow remind me the smell of "Cartier Pasha" but with noticeable differences.
Projection is great and longevity is around 10 hours on my skin.
Classic lover should at least try this one. just magnificent.
19th May, 2014
Fiero opens with a breathtaking tart citrus infused with a massive explosion of aromatic tarragon and herbs. Sweet and tangy blood orange makes a brief appearance padding out the herbal heart. Fiero does powerhouse perfectly, during the opening and heart it's loud, even brash, with everything turned up to eleven. Later soft slightly ashy woods and coumarin support the drydown like a pillow, comforting and warming after the bracing opening, it's a good place to be. Great longevity and massive projection until the drydown where it settles back somewhat.

Fiero conjures a Mediterranean bergamot grove at dusk with herbal aromas arriving on a balmy breeze from the day's sun drenched wild bush hillside. It's a beautiful reference piece of the genre, reminding me a little of a denser, more luxurious and better resolved Bois de Portugal, and also sharing some of the citrus/spicy facets of Bigarade Concentre, but where BG is yellows and oranges, Fiero is verdant greens throughout. Great stuff.
08th November, 2013
Kaern Show all reviews
United Kingdom
I'm thinking Polo -- the sport and fragrance. A classic type fougere -- citrus, woods and slightly herbal scent that I imagine Polo players wearing (it's very expensive) maybe they wear the cheaper and less nice Polo though. A very lovely wear and lasts an age.
07th May, 2013
A true gentleman's fragrance, this is. This is perhaps the only Xerjoff fragrance I like, but this is more than a like. Without smelling dated, this is the most natural, green, herbal, and woody barbershop gnet's scent that I've ever come across. Imagine if Polo Green put on a tux and went to the oscars or a symphony. This is Fiero. There is something something a tad dirty brooding in the background but its never skanky. The citrus keeps the green bright and never appears as a dominant experience. The thyme, lavender, and tarragon lend to the herbal, green feel and there is just enough mint to bridge the top half to the woods seamlessly. The whole thing is harmonious and one notes never dominates. As masculine as this feels, think classy Polo Green, I agree with Darvant that it lays low to the skin despite its decent longevity. I award a thumbs up simply on the genius of the construction and pleasantry of the smell.
28th March, 2013
Is a pity a so beautifully crafted scent is so evanescent on my skin. This fragrance really  hardly works on me and my neutral rating is due to this faint kind of temperament. I have to dab a more notable amount to produce an ordinary duration. The juice is really pleasant, its combination of citrus, lavender, spices, aromatic elements and woods vaguely conjures at me a cleaner  and easier Nino Cerruti (a great one) by Cerruti's (ideal) version  which is anyway a floral one. I smell also olfactory conjurations about Sud Est Gigli and Coriolan Guerlan which are a bit in the same mood despite the differences. I detect a sort of grassy fluid that sounds lemony, spicy (nutmeg ?) and woody but with mossy undertones and a (minimal) touch of soothing final amber (i suppose or may be the softening effect is just produced by the powdery woods).The lavender and the aromatic herbs as mint and thyme are a key element of this classic kind of masculine on the trail of the great chypre-fougere tradition. The interaction of lemon-orange, mild woods and moss provides the final moderately sweet softeness so comforting and discreet, preventing the scent be stuck in the fences of the uncompromising sharpness. Lovely, slightly moody and comforting.
06th September, 2012 (last edited: 22nd December, 2013)
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Ok, while I'm not crazy about most of the fragrances in the Xerjoff range, I've to admit that they really know how to make citrus. Fiero is awesome.

An old-fashioned, sort of fougere-y concoction of spices and beatifully orchestrated citruses with a severe, kinda assertive character. Definitely masculine and old-school yet anything but aged. Dark green undertones provide a misterious facet while the woody base reinforces the overall powerhouse vibe. Long lasting and incredibly satisfying.

Terrific.
02nd May, 2012