Negative Reviews of Encounter by Calvin Klein

    Find out more about Encounter by Calvin Klein in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 8 of 8. (Show all reviews)
    MonkeyBars's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    One thing's for sure: it smells extremely cheap, and synthetic, though not redolent of disgusting metallic/toxic/aquatic molecules at least. It's due to that I almost gave this a neutral -- but not quite. In my opinion, Encounter is an attempt to make a bland version of Zirh Ikon. Ikon's cheapness is sort of charming, and the construction is very bold with big spicy patchouli. Encounter takes the cinnamon, patchouli, cedar, and cardamom of Ikon, and adds a thin, synthetic medicinal "oud" (not terrible but certainly not impressive) and a sweet floral-fruity accord (truly vile). Double Ikon's musk and voila, another marketing executive concept meeting / focus-grouped bathroom deodorant.

    14 December, 2012

    Da Virt's avatar

    France France

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Pushing back scent. Smells like puke. Disappointing fragrance by Calvin Klein.

    27 November, 2012

    drakecito's avatar

    Spain Spain

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Hoooooorrible!!!
    Light, synthetic and cheaper.
    Smels like a "plastic wood" in the opening and lasts about ten minutes.
    Another CK waste of money.

    14 October, 2012

    odysseusm's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    It's new, and it's bad.
    Not good-bad, bad-bad.
    Intensely sweet. Drugstore cheapo. Wretched attempt at spices. Boozy notes are ghastly. Wood notes are non-existent. Cloying, heavy, clumsy. Musk is overdone.
    Can't see any redeeming features here.

    03 October, 2012

    Zgb's avatar

    Croatia Croatia

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Encounter? Ok. So, this is how I see "encounter". This is an encounter of two comprehensive school, soon to go to high school kids who are about to kiss for the first time. There's gonna be a lot of drooling and it's gonna be stupid but also exciting and fun...if you're a kid. If you're an adult - there'll be no such kind of encounters. So, dear CK, after "Obsession for men" and "CK One", maybe just maybe "Contradiction" and recent "Shock" too, you no longer have anything to give, but please do prove us all wrong. Please do so.

    01st October, 2012

    's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    It is not very original and the quality of the ingredients is questionable, to say the least. I don't understand what they are trying to get across with this release.

    26 September, 2012

    7ScentsOfHell's avatar

    Portugal Portugal

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Ahhh, how fragrances can take you back in time, remember special moments... for better or for worse... When I was a young kid I lived next to a seedy nightclub, and sometimes whenever a customer came out with his escort a nauseating "breath" of booze, cheap perfume and tobacco would invade the street... And CK Encounter brought that memory from the dark recesses of my mind... Try this at your own responsability...

    11th September, 2012

    Marais's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A ho-hum oriental of the type you've smelled a thousand times before. Smells 10 years old already and it's only just been released. That aside, it smells reasonably inoffensive at first, spicy and fruity, although I think these two components clash somewhat, like two separate fragrances mixed together rather than blended properly. Then the drydown turns into Eau de Brillo Pad, a sort of metallic detergent smell. Minimal sillage. Longevity about 4 hours.

    28 August, 2012

    Showing 1 to 8 of 8. (Show all reviews)