Negative Reviews of Tom Ford Noir by Tom Ford

    Find out more about Tom Ford Noir by Tom Ford in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 8 of 8. (Show all reviews)
    Ghost_Goat's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Dreadful, headache-inducing dreck. You'd think they'd be able to nail the mainstream fragrance considering their altogether more-positive-than-not and occasionally astonishing private label output. In fact, not only does it fail as a mainstream fragrance, it makes me want to reevaluate the Tom Ford line's other work. Surely a fragrance in this position was created to do the opposite.

    22 April, 2014

    Possum-Pie's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A disappointment

    Someone else mentioned that it smells like "baby wipes" I have to laugh b/c it does smell like spicy/slightly sweet/cheap musk and...baby wipes. There are fragrances that may smell good on their own...BUT if it reminds you of something mundane like baby wipes, there is no use trying to like it!

    02 June, 2013

    Malix's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Very dissappointing.... I took it in SkySales while travelling and was unable to test. Spend a lot and gain no real value.

    12 March, 2013

    jcw122's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This literally smells like baby wipes...and if you don't know what that smells like, it's basically a mix of baby powder and ointment.

    07 March, 2013

    drseid's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Noir goes on with a sweet slightly herb-laced citrus and violet floral open before transitioning to its heart accord. During the heart phase of the scent the early citrus from the top notes all but disappears while the violet remains in the starring role, now turning very powdery as iris joins it as co-star while adding a soft synthetic smelling rose note to support the powdery starring floral duo. As the linear progression moves to the dry-down, the powdery violet and iris tandem remains as the rose recedes, now with relatively sweet vanilla and amber smoothing things out a bit from the base. Projection and longevity are both good to very good.

    Noir is really a pretty straightforward linear scent despite its official laundry list of ingredients. I remember trying it on paper first at the store and being mildly impressed with what I sniffed. Unfortunately I only got the top notes from my quick paper test that while unoriginal, are indeed pleasant smelling. When I later sprayed a sample on skin for a more complete analysis those top notes disappeared relatively quickly and then disappointment set in as the scent profile turned into a giant bottle of baby powder/baby oil. That pretty much sums things up, as once you get to the powdery heart Noir does not change much from there, only turning a bit sweet later-on. Quite frankly, if this sounds like something you want to smell like I recommend just buying some inexpensive Johnson's Baby Oil or Powder to rub all over your body and save yourself over $100 and a bunch of buyer's remorse from this 2 to 2.5 star out of 5 generic disappointment from Tom Ford.

    06 January, 2013

    sjg3839's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Too feminine for me. This is Noir De Noir on crack. Tom Ford should have just left the private blend creation alone. Returned this one. No originality at all.

    06 November, 2012

    ferdinand_the_imposter's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Drakkar Noir for those with more money than sense.





    1 All taste is personal.
    2. Smell is probably the most subjective of all five senses.
    3. Try before you buy. (On paper first, then skin.)

    10th October, 2012

    Kaern's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Is Tom on the slippery slope or is this just a shameful thrust at the Christmas market? -- could be both of course. Very uninteresting, totally generic fodder imo.

    08 October, 2012

    Showing 1 to 8 of 8. (Show all reviews)