Reviews of Vétiver Fatal by Atelier Cologne

    Find out more about Vétiver Fatal by Atelier Cologne in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 11 of 11.
    Kain's avatar

    Iran Iran

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is one of the best from the brand and I quite enjoyed smelling it on my skin.
    A different take on vetiver note that I believe is successful.
    The opening is a semi fresh, woody, fruity and earthy scent that is quite pleasant and charming.
    There is sweet fruity plum note and there is noticeable amount of vetiver note beside it that both together creating is sweet fruity, yet rooty and earthy scent. I can smell some citruses in the background that they are not up front, but they are strong enough to give the start of the fragrance a semi fresh and tart aroma.
    I can smell some woods specially oud beside all these notes that give the scent more depth and also dark masculine feeling.
    After about 5 minutes or so, the fresh citruses are gone and I can smell sweet yummy plum note with earthy/rooty vetiver and some woods in the background.
    The woods are always in the background but they play a successful role in masculine side of the scent, also the vetiver!
    If you like fragrances like "Armani Code" and you want something with almost the same DNA (not the same smell!) but much better quality and more complex scent, give this one a try. there is a high chance that you like this one even more!
    Projection is strong and longevity is around 7-8 hours on my skin.
    Good one!

    27 April, 2014

    lex's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    fruity fresh, and yea like someone said maybe a fruit salad. in the introduction im feeling its a scent for the ladies. later in the dry down I feel vetiver fatal attempting to man up with vetiver and touch of vanilla

    26 February, 2014

    JungleNYC's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A whispy, disconnected jumble (with no Vetiver)

    Right away you get the "bitter orange," the "wood," and some vanilla/sweet.

    The citrus hangs around for a while, which is really the only positive point imho. Wearing this in summer, smelling like "sweet, bitter orange" isn't terrible. Although I would say that the citrus mix is almost leaves you with more of a "red grapefruit" impression. Oh well. Doesn't matter.

    It's very top-heavy. No real bottom to speak of.

    The real miss here is that you can imagine how this would've worked better. In theory, the elements are not wholly incompatible. It's just odd how they play out in reality. They never quite meld, or even mingle. Notes like shy teenagers at a sadie hawkins dance.

    Perhaps that's why the mid-top is the actual focus here. After all, you have to have a focus of some sort. It just seems the citrus got that honor by default.

    The saving grace here is that Atelier does seem to use more "natural" ingredients. So at least the citrus smells real, and refreshing.

    My main issue with this (and other frags) is the name. While I would never buy something without smelling it (and hopefully wearing it), if you name something "Vetiver" I contend that it better damned well have some Vetiver in it.

    Yes. Vetiver is hard to work with. It's complex, and opinionated. It has baggage. But when a frag house with some talent (like this one) does a "Vetiver" I expect it, at the very least, to nod in that direction. This frag does no nodding.

    Many of Atelier's other offerings are fabulous. I'll be skipping this one.

    Pros: Not offensive
    Cons: Disperate, confused"

    01st August, 2013

    Possum-Pie's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Fruit salad with marshmallows

    This smells like a nice fruit salad, with marshmallows sitting in a bowl on a blanket in a mowed yard. It smells nice, but a little too fruity for me.

    20th July, 2013

    iodine's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    fruity, nutty vetiver

    Here we are again. Another Atelier Cologne fragrance that starts very pleasant, brilliant, quite surprising: fruity- pineapple, grapefruit, almost caramelized nutty notes that envelop a clean and fresh vetiver. After an hour or so, however, the fragrance turns rather banal, at least to my nose. It seems to slump on a woody, slightly bitter base that I guess is widely and commonly used in many mainstream fragrances (i.e. it's the smell that remains in the elevator of my apartment house after my sixth floor neighbour has used it!). Given the price of this line, I'd expect something more... original.

    15 June, 2013 (Last Edited: 11th December, 2013)

    Balvon's avatar

    Lithuania Lithuania

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Vetyver Fatal Nice frag! The drydown is amazing.

    14 May, 2013

    Michael.j's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    You have to wait at least an hour, maybe two, before the fruit salad begins to subside and you begin to smell the vetiver. The transition from fruit to vetiver is gradual and gentle, masterfully orchestrated. But at some point several hours later the fruit is gone and the vetiver is left on its own, still trying to hum the harmony all alone. And it's not a good solo. It's raspy and sharp. I wish it had been a softer. If you like your vetiver on the slightly raspy side, you might like the ultimate dry-down on this one. I liked the point about an hour and a half in when the fruit, vetiver and oud were all in perfect balance. It was spectacular.

    26 April, 2013

    odysseusm's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Well, maybe I'm crazy but I expect a scent named "Vetiver Fatal" to (a) have some vetiver and (b) at least be interesting if not fatal, dangerous or edgy.
    This is a very bland scent. Some citrus and other fruits. Is there vetiver? Perhaps if I use my imagination I could detect some grassy notes... but it calls for rather hard-working exercise in imagination. The dry-down is somewhat bright and fresh. Perhaps there is a synthetic oud contributing that.
    Really, there's nothing special here to recommend or to slam.

    06 April, 2013

    's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Vetiver Fatal is somewhat a fruity vetiver.
    This scent has a wonderful delopment in the skin.
    Opens with a blast of citric tones with a sweet plum note that remains for about 1 hour.
    Then it slowly turns into a fresh vetiver, that's in the middle of Tom Ford's Grey Vetiver and Sycomore.
    Not very sweet, neither so dry, but actually a creamy vetiver.
    Also Vetiver Fatal is far away from those dark vetiver scents like Encre Noire and Guerlain's Vetiver Extreme.
    It's a very well balanced blend, with medium sillage and soft projection.
    Deserves at least a try.

    04 March, 2013

    the reaper's avatar

    Venezuela Venezuela

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Very strong. Smell like many things with a touch of vetiver. Didn't like it.

    31st October, 2012

    Fabio Luisi's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Not bad perfume, a bit lack of real personality, nice though.
    Very nice topnotes, not shadowing the Oud and the Cedar, which come through right away, which is quite unusual but nice. Elegant perfume, a "everyday" "no worries" one.

    20th October, 2012

    Showing 1 to 11 of 11.