Positive Reviews of Speakeasy by Frapin

    Find out more about Speakeasy by Frapin in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 7 of 7. (Show all reviews)
    alfarom's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    If you like complex and non-linear fragrances, this is something worth checking out. Mr.Corticchiato of Parfum D'Empire's fame gives yet another confirmation of his talent by composing an interesting gem.

    An extremely aromatic green lime note is paired with other citruses and booze to give birth to a sparkling opening. A mint / geranium combo which is not *that* distant from the one found in Geranium Pour Monsieur, joins the party right away reinforcing the overall exotic and summery vibe. I was ready to dismiss the fragrance as yet another citrusy summery thing when it suddenly started to change form and morphed into a bolder tonka / tobacco driven middle phase. Gone is the mint, the citruses and the summery vibe. The transition from the opening was really smooth and so nicely handled that it all felt incredibly plausible and natural. The middle sweet tobacco base lasts for quite a while and when you would expect no more evolutions, Speakeasy is still able to surprise the wearer by introducing an amber / immortelle base to provide even more extra body. Very nice.

    Given the notes involved, I would have probably expected a bit more potency and tenacity but I can't honestly say the fragrance is weak either.
    My only concern is that this stuff is probably a tad too sweet to my tastes but if you're fine with it, this is indeed a solid delivery by Frapin.


    16th March, 2014

    Darvant's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Really particular, cultured and manneristic fragrance from the great Corticchiato (which I appreciate really a lot for its eccentric and refined creativity). Not for everyone for sure. An aromatic/fruity semi-oriental concoction with a creative approach and its own almost unique olfactory message. The first Speakeasy's blast is absolutely interesting with its gorgeous and almost luxurious rum/bergamot really minty, fruity (undistinguished mellow fruits plus orange) and almost aristocratic accord. In this phase I'm more impressed by a sort of lingering type of classic (almost baroque) luxuriousness than by a real tropical feel just vaguely (really vaguely) arousing its effect especially due to a sort of waving undistinguished mellow fruitiness. The bergamot (as well the orange itself)!provides indeed a really luxurious effect in its boozy expression evocative about cultured and aristocratic ambiences while the stout mint/immortelle presence provides a weird aromatic (royal) twist which is the "bridge" towards a following leather/musk/tobacco slightly powdery accord playing the role of main dry down connection. The minty vibe is durable throughout and (in its link with leather) provides a weird cool/leathery undertone which (expecially in the central phase) counteracts any sort of "expected" (by a rum/tobacco chord I mean) sultry/exotic feel. The dry down recovers a bit of simil-tropical appearance cause the leather/mint vibe barely recedes and the final aroma appears indeed a sort of fruity suede/aromatic musk accord rounded by a perfumed styrax/tobacco/tonka/seasoned woods accord still a bit (but far less) aromatic and yet fruity/boozy/ambery. The final olfactory expression is refined and seasoned, a rounded "sensible" and at once vaguely licentious type of aroma evocative about cultured ambiences, refined interiors, eccentric travellers in decadence, fine cognac, chandeliers and old books. A must try for all the studied/affected un-common concoctions addicted.

    16th February, 2014 (Last Edited: 28th May, 2014)

    rbaker's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The opening is quite unique with a mildly boozy and spicy davana, where bergamot with mint are adding a very nice twist. The drydown adds a pleasant tobacco note, and the base gets muskier without losing the davana. Towards the end styrax makes and appearance and fits in very well. This all is very well blended and original. Furthermore, on my skin the performance is excellent with very good silage and projection; the longevity is splendid at ten hours. For autumn days a scent that is not too heavy.

    21st January, 2014

    sierra 18's avatar

    Switzerland Switzerland

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Very happy to haqve purchased this one

    Since purchasing Frapin's 1270 some years ago, I've been a very ardent consumer of most things Frapin. Not every scent of theirs works for me, but I'm always interested in anything produced by this house and when I saw Speakeasy become available, I purchased a bottle sight unseen online.

    Immediately upon application, I get a strong mint that has a gentle citrus twist. It's not the best mint I've ever experienced in a cologne, but it is quite acceptable and sets a brisk, pleasant tone of alertness and purpose, thus best applied at the start of a busy day.

    On me, Speakeasy evolves and warms into a very pleasing, yet subtle, accord of leather, a rum taste, and citrus. This is the body of the scent for me, and it continues in this vein until the end. The only change for me is the gradually diminishing longevity.

    This Frapin scent is different from all the others of its family for me, in that the boozy rum accord is much more subtle to me than the very ubiquitous and specific rummy taste of other members of the Frapin clan. This fragrance therefore strikes a different, more alert tone, with a pleasing, spicy-leather body. Other Frapin frags like 1270, 1697, Caravalle Epicee and Passion Boisee all have that flat-on-my-back, dopey grin of the perpetual rum-drunk feel, a saturation of rum. Speakeasy, similar to Frapin's L'Humaniste, is outside that heavy Frapin-rum scent that I love. It is fresher, lighter, yet with the spice and boozy accords, still a member of the Frapin family; it just looks like the fair-haired, fresher-faced younger brother of the boozier-flavoured Frapins.

    I use this one regularly when dressing for work or for casual social affair; its never overwhelming. I will definitely replace my current bottle once it hits the end of its life.

    Pros: Distinctive combinations of mint and citrus
    Cons: Lower-end longevity"

    15th October, 2013

    RunSun's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    These are the notes as listed : Rum extract, Indian davana, Sweet italian orange and Fizzy lime from Brazil, Cold russian mint and Egyptian geranium, Oriental leather accord, Ciste absolute, Labdanum absolute, Styrax essence, Turkish tobacco accord, Tobacco absolute, Liatrix absolute, Everlasting flower absolute, Tonka bean absolute and White musks

    What do you get when you combine all those notes? Hawaiian Punch at first notice. If you do not know what Hawaiian Punch is, its a fruit punch-flavored soft drink. That is not to say that this smells cheap or synthetic, but rather that it smells very strongly of a fruit concoction. The top is very much dominated by this fruit smell and while it certainly won't be for everyone, I loved every second of it.

    As it dries down, the leather and tobacco make a subtle appearance that blends very well with the remaining rum, orange, and lime. There is a nice hint of mint throughout, very faint, but it is there. While this is suppose to represent the Speakeasies that were prevalent during the Prohibition-Era, I liken this fragrance more to the wild bars of the Cuba that was frequented by many celebrities in the 50s before the revolution.

    The only downside of this fragrance is the short lived longevity that seemingly plagues the Frapin line. I only averaged 3 hours when wearing this beautiful fragrance and that can be a tough pill for many to swallow when you are looking at the price per mL. Overall though, it was not enough for me to drop this fragrance to a neutral. This is quickly becoming my favorite of the Frapin line that is right next to 1270.

    07th January, 2013

    surge's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This one is AWESOME; it's basically a Mojito themed fragrance...I think this will be really amazing come summertime. Lime \ Rum \ overall freshness on first blast is wondeful...makes me think I'm at the bar.

    06th December, 2012

    Buzzlepuff's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The opening lime and rum accord is soothing and very masculine while being fresh and eye opening. From here though the lime burns out in the first hour and the tobacco blend becomes more and more prominent. This is a very finely blended tobacco fragrance that settles into a softer and softer comfort blend as you wear it. Very subtle after three hours, but still nice to smell. It whispers soft tobacco plus a hint of leather, an idea of incense, plus a memory of lime zest in the background. SPEAKEASY is blended by perfumer Marc-Antoine Corticciato who brought his magic from the Parfums d' Empire creations (Wazamba, Azemour, Ambre Russe, Cuir Ottomans etc) to the Frapin perfume lineup. Like all Frapin fragrances, along with their world class cognac brandy's, the blending here is seamless and the results are extraordinarily fine.

    19th November, 2012

    Showing 1 to 7 of 7. (Show all reviews)




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000