Negative Reviews of Eros by Versace

    Find out more about Eros by Versace in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 14 of 14. (Show all reviews)
    Picknenders's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Welcome to the factory of vanilla powder. Pure trash.

    02 August, 2014

    Eugene Tooms's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I've tried this one from a sample for the last week, on and off. It's exactly what you'd expect from a mass market brand - utterly bland, designed to be characterless so as to offend as few people as possible and thereby to appeal to the widest market. It's "nice", up to a point, but it's also instantly forgettable. It doesn't create a mood or enhance one's spirit, it doesn't intrigue or elevate. It just sits there being polite.

    Give me something with distinction any day.

    1/10

    07 July, 2014

    Skilar16's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Don't like it. It kind of gives me a headache.

    26 May, 2014

    odysseusm's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The usual tiresome, sweet, fruity, synthetic, charmless, obnoxious, loud dreck.

    15 April, 2014

    Loki11's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The bottle is a masterpiece, but it goes downhill from there.

    I was expecting a quality masculine aquatic but this is sweet, sickly perfume in the style of 1 Million. Avoid if you are over 18.

    23 January, 2014

    rogalal's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    To be fair, Eros isn't as bad as I expected. I assumed from the blue bottle that it would be just another "bleu" Windex aquatic. Don't get me wrong - it IS a Windex aquatic, but the harsh chemical smell is tempered with mint and lavender and paired up with a sour-milk caramelized marshmallow smell instead of the ubiquitous grape drank or fake citrus that scents like this usually use.

    That being said, I haven't really liked Eros. It's REALLY obvious that this was some marketing team's attempt to make something that smells like One Million and, even if it were more unique, I just don't like that sharp Windex chemical smell, and I dislike it even more when awkwardly paired with Angel-esque super-sweet notes. Oh well, more for the youngsters...

    13 December, 2013

    rbaker's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Too sweet and synthetic

    Mint, ambroxan, vanilla, synthetic, sweet and sickly all throughout. Excellent longevity of seven hours is prolonging the agony...

    05 September, 2013

    Companion Cube's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Alright, nothing to get too excited over

    I went to Macys a week back and I smelled it. It had a good top but when it dried down, I smelled like a bag of christmas candy and that has been sitting there since like 1960. It is not a good fragrance in my opinion and it makes me sad because I do love versace.

    Pros: Very Cool Bottle, and Sweet Smell
    Cons: Smells very cheap, and a little girly"

    09 July, 2013

    heo's avatar

    Norway Norway

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    synthetic ! puts me off. try it before you buy it.

    09 May, 2013

    Darvant's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The combination of the warm-fresh notes is abstractedly interesting and courageous but it should have been requested an uncompromisingly natural substance of the elements which are indeed finally at all synthetic and cloying. The effect is similar to the one i undergo inhaling Neroli Portofino, namely a soapy, chemical, thirsty and finally dull mess rather than something fresh, natural, daring, defined and sparkling. Anyway, Eros is the Versace's recent attempt to create a modern fougere with an oriental twist (a risky yard). The aroma smells soon lemony and minty but in a general "tendent to warmth" atmosphere elicited by the dense combination of vanilla, tonka and ambroxian unfolding the oriental soul of the aroma. The combination of mint, geranium and finally oakmoss imprints a fougere dimention which is anyway overwhelmed and ruined by an excess of oriental notes than finally congest the smell and turn it out in a less interesting and elegant form. The initial combination between mint oil, citrus and sour green apple (also in the association with smokey tonka) produces a typical sour and vaguely bitter (tobacco) vibe which interacts with the sweetness of the oriental elements. The cedary final touch is noticeable for sure. A must try for the lovers of these new particular mixtures but not for me for sure.

    30th April, 2013 (Last Edited: 21st July, 2014)

    Zgb's avatar

    Croatia Croatia

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Dreadful, utter rubbish. Synthetic gourmand with no character or style.

    26 April, 2013

    leto's avatar

    Turkey Turkey

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A 1 Millionized fragrance with reminders of Guichard's previous works such as mint from le Male Terrible, but this one is a mess. I'd never wear it but I see that it was designed as a money maker, I think it will sell more then ok especially to teenage males.

    25 April, 2013

    TheNotoriousMAZ's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I agree with CoL, they were trying to do way too much with this one. It smells like some synthetic, cheap, alcoholic swill that you could get for $7.99 at Marshall's.

    24 April, 2013

    CoL's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Completely synthetic horrible chemical mess. DREADFUL!

    23 April, 2013

    Showing 1 to 14 of 14. (Show all reviews)