Perfume Reviews

Positive Reviews of Aventus Cologne by Creed

Total Reviews: 7
The contrasts found in original Aventus are softer and more subtle for a quieter but still very crisp cologne version of the now classic Creed Aventus. The tart citrus opening is slightly softer and the dry ashen base is more transparent. Aventus Cologne is the probable successor /replacement for Pure White Cologne which has never really struck gold in the Creed line-up. I am surprised I like this as much as I do. It is not worth the price, yes, but its hard to find anything objectionable. There is nothing revolutionary or new with Aventus Cologne, but you get a well made, hot weather compatible, Aventus styled flanker that is a pleasure to wear especially in warm weather. Aventus Cologne follows Aventus original; just as Declaration Essence followed Cartier Declaration - 20 years earlier with improvements that will extend the audience, but also dilutes the personality of the original creation.
01st August, 2020
I initially thought the note breakdown of Aventus Cologne was very similar to the original Aventus but was misinformed. It lacks the fruity notes, providing for a fresher top of ginger and mandarin, drying down to a more generic base of patchouli, vetiver, woods, and musk. It makes for a cleaner, less fruity version as it lacks the blackcurrant, green apple, and, of course, pineapple.

It’s a pleasant but in my estimation, somewhat unnecessary variation of what is already a fairly fresh and robust scent in the original Aventus, which, even though it’s not a personal favorite of mine among the Creed freshies, is nonetheless an agreeable, versatile, well-done scent that merits most of its acclaim. The Cologne feels a little superfluous; I don’t personally pine for a fresher, more transparent alternative to Aventus.

Still, at the right price, Aventus cologne is still superior to many Aventus clones, even with a little less gravitas than the original Aventus. The retail pricing ($435 for 100ml) remains challenging for this and other recent Creed releases, so I’d caution potential wearers to try and find a good deal if they do like, or just try the more widely-available and batch-variant original first.

Aventus Cologne is surely good but not great, in my opinion.

7 out of 10
13th September, 2019 (last edited: 14th September, 2019)
Aventus Cologne (2019) represents a startling number of firsts for the house of Creed. Creed originally had no interest in making flankers, because part of their marketing scheme was making every creation of theirs with a unique identity, implying that flankers were a way to transfer the brand cachet of one success over to another potentially inferior scent. Well if you know anything about Creed, it is that they believe their perfumes are superior to everyone else's in the market. They are the self-proclaimed oldest and most prestigious French perfume house in the world, and the only one still using a dynastic system long abandoned by the likes of Guerlain or Houbigant. Making flankers erodes that narrative, and places them in line with the designers they claim to be so far above, yet here we are with an Aventus (2010) flanker. Rewind to 2010, and the original Aventus proved to be a smash success, becoming the best-selling Creed perfume of all time, eclipsing other big hits like Millésime Impérial (1995) or even Green Irish Tweed (1985). They had little luck in the 2000's so they were overdue for another upper-class blockbuster to keep the interest of white collars and celebrities, so Aventus arrived just in time. The scent itself was uncommonly modern even for Creed, who usually balances old-world compositional values with modern aesthetics, and set a standard that trickled down to other niche houses, then the designer realm. Creed was boxed in by their own mega-success, and Aventus was dangerously close to being mainstream for a house that averages $400-$500 a bottle for their perfumes. Anything that came after would forever be compared to Aventus as a potential successor, meaning something like Viking (2017) was doomed to failure before it ever saw a single sniff from fans, so Creed had to continue using the Aventus name. There was no choice, Creed had created a monster, and that monster was owed an heir; Aventus Cologne was that heir. Now, Aventus for Her (2016) did come before this (setting another precedent), but we don't tend to think of the opposite sex portion of a matching pair as a flanker, since neither is intended to be worn by the same market as it's companion on the other side of the fence. With that logic in hand, this is indeed the first flanker the house has ever created, but that's just the first of several new precedents being set.

The second big precedent set by Aventus Cologne is the very style in which it exists. This is a thoroughly, undeniably conventional fresh fragrance, with absolutely zero link back to any of Creed's traditionalist DNA. Yes, there is the house ambergris note under it all (likely ambroxan with the volumes they produce these days), but the rest of the scent is very nondescript. Aventus made magic happen by having just a spark of that traditionalism mixed into what was otherwise a modern forward-thinking scent with mass appeal, but in Aventus Cologne, Creed just completely concedes to the tastes of what they now know as the real audience of the original, and these aren't the kind of people that shop haute couture boutiques or want anything on the cutting edge. Simply put, Aventus Cologne is Acqua di Giò Pour Homme (1996) for the affluent. We get a familiar vacuum-distilled bergamot as with Aventus proper, blended with blackcurrant and pineapple, but an added crisp green apple and mint enters the fray, imparting something of a 90's aquatic vibe minus the actual aquatic aromachemical note. The heart has some jasmine hedione, lots of the stuff just like the erstwhile Armani, with birch listed but no discernible quantities to my nose being found. I do get the listed rose, and a neat soapy kind of a thing that reminds me of a fresh fougère like Creed's own Himalaya (2002), but the base is all white musk and the house ambergris note with bits of oakmoss. The end result is a scent which draws parallels to Dior Homme Cologne (2014) but with a price tag many times higher, and a smidgen better performance. Light, spry, and fairly ubiquitous in tone, this is the first Creed that doesn't really "smell like Creed". That final touch of finesse which almost convinces you of the brand's pedigree isn't there, and you're left with another "mall jus" that blends in quick with the crowd. Wear time is long as with any Creed, but sillage is not monstrous like the original, meaning the "cologne" tag is mostly appropriate despite eau de parfum strength. This is rather casual for a Creed, although compared to the many designer "eau de sport colognes" on the market, Aventus Cologne feels like a cut above, but more so your average 2010's "niche" creation catering to a wealthier slice of the mainstream and not something in the aspirational range of a brand like Creed. Has Creed finally crossed the line with this? I don't know. Have they delivered a common, totally safe, run-of-the-mill fresh masculine that treads the same waters designers have sailed for the past thirty years? Most definitely.

Ultimately, Aventus Cologne is the flanker it sets out to be, a lighter and fresher take on Aventus that is easier to wear and better for summer. Funnily enough, Montblanc already beat them to that punch with Explorer (2019), a scent that strips the main accord in Aventus of its fanciness and presents a bergamot, vetiver, and ambroxan one-two punch that's leaner, meaner, and easier to wear in summer too. It got derided as a clone by the cult of tech bros who worship Creed Aventus in unhealthy amounts, but the successful democratization of the primary accord in Aventus was bound to happen, in the same sense that every mega-successful accord draws inspiration, going all the way back to the numerous takes on Chypre de Coty (1917). If Aventus Cologne had released at the height of Aventus madness maybe 5 years earlier, it would make more sense as a first-ever companion flanker to the best-selling behemoth, but releasing a year shy of the 10th anniversary tells a different tale, one of a house trying to extend the life of its cash cow after failing to make a successor that instead ended up becoming another entry in the extended range. This has "if you can't beat 'em, join 'em" all over it, and for that reason, sets the third precedent of the house making a scent to directly appease the fanboys, which kills any suspension of disbelief that Creed is a noble perfume house with centuries of glamorous history who sets trends for everyone else. Pardon my intense cynicism. Do I like it? Of course I do. There is hardly anything unlikable outside the price, but all the designer options treading the same ground make it silly to buy this if you're not a die-hard Creed nut. Will the target market like it? I say mixed reactions leaning positive at best. If the only thing you wear is Aventus, with all other scents being inferior and only "the King" and it's batch variations being worthy of touching your skin, this is probably not for you. But, if you're the kind of guy who was pulled into the phenomenon by a YouTube video, fell in love with the stuff after snagging a decant, but wish you had a better warm-weather option from Creed that shared some DNA with Aventus instead of their usual dandy citrus florals, Creed is now speaking directly to you. Thumbs Up.
30th July, 2019
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

I think the idea of Aventus reimagined as a cologne style fragrance is a really good idea. Aventus is just too strong to wear in certain situations and also is sometimes a bit too strong when new customers are smelling it for the first time up close on skin or test strips. Aventus Cologne solves that problem by being lighter and more fresh than the original while still retaining much of the original DNA (minus any smokiness) and more importantly the legendary Aventus name to help lend instant credibility.

I found this very easy to wear at work. It smelled great, only projected a small scent bubble for maybe 5 hours and then lasted as a skin scent for close to 10 hours.
12th July, 2019
Everything about the new Aventus variant is confusing and weird. It's called "Aventus Cologne", cologne being the colloquial term for men's fragrance, however this is marketed as unisex (more on that in a bit). It's not an Eau de Cologne, but an EdP like every other offering by Creed. I suppose they're using the original-original definition meaning perfumes in a particular style from Cologne, but not having smelled any perfumes from the 1700s I can't really speak to that.

It has the same design as Aventus save for a light gray instead of black theme, though in many ways the two fumes are very different. I'm somewhat convinced that this started out as a different concept (maybe a fragrance for teenagers? They did make something truly awful for babies the other day), and the genius marketers decided to make the new concept an Aventus flanker to help drive sales, along with a really stupid graffiti-themed advertising from the 90s. Shame too, because it's actually quite nice.

I didn't like the original Aventus due to its fizzy fruit basket opening where it seems like pineapple overpowers everything. The Cologne's opening is only tangentially similar to that, it's much more of a fruity aquatic. Strangely, it reminds me of another fragrance (also a variant to a popular main entry that should have been its own thing) released in 2019, Azzaro Chrome Aqua. The Chrome Aqua was more soapy and a tad metallic, but the Aventus Cologne is more toned down and leans more into a ginger-mandarin. But where it separates itself entirely from other aquatics is in the mid and the base, a nice mix of wood with a touch of vetiver. It's quite nice, but...

Well, performance becomes the big demerit for this guy. It doesn't project a bunch, and doesn't last too long. Longevity is not even in the same ballpark as Green Irish Tweed, which seems to last longer than an Irish folktale, and performs worse than Millesime Imperial, which is already more of a subtle fragrance. 4-5 hours and it's gone, not good for something to wear to work or school. There's also little that sticks out about it in a lineup of other aquatics, and someone has to be right up on you to appreciate the more complex layers. Overall, it's nice, surprisingly complex, but underwhelming, I'm left wishing it was half as bold as the marketing would suggest.

Oh, and it's not unisex as Creed claims- if it is then 80% of the whole men's fragrance aisle at Macy's is also unisex. It's more masculine than Millesime Imperial, which is just barely unisex. Creed already has a number of great unisex fragrances, I don't know why they feel the need to list everything as so.
12th June, 2019
Pales in comparison to the original, yes.

But it is still the delightful enjoyable genius of a jus.

The bad - it smells like one of the knock offs.
Which I think is the point of this.

Will be rocking this for sure.
11th June, 2019
A gorgeous, unisex, compliment to the 2 predecessors. Truly a bright and spirited scent with an edge. It has lovely nods to the classic Aventus and the newer Aventus for Her, but feels like its own scent. Much more fresh, with gorgeous blends of woody notes, marine citrus, with distinct grassy Vetiver. One of my new favorites from Creed. Cant wait to wear this through our summer and into fall and winter.
05th June, 2019