Latest Fragrance Reviews, Updated Daily

    Showing 271 to 300 of 469.
    JackTwist's avatar
    JackTwist
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Gin Fizz by Lubin

    A fresh light green scent with a peppery herbal quality to it that makes it a very refreshing summer splash.

    The lemon and rose are the first notes that pop out at you with the aldehydes giving it its "fizz" quality. This was ahead of its time, looking forward to the lighter, greener scents that would dominate the 1960s and as a pre-cursor, it is quite fresh and pleasant.

    Top notes: Lemon, Iris, Ylang Ylang
    Heart notes: Rose, Vetiver, Benzoin
    Base notes: Oak moss, Sandalwood, Amber

    03 April, 2014

    deadidol's avatar
    deadidol


    Show all reviews

    rating


    Insolence by Guerlain

    A big old flowery, peachy explosion structured around the merging of violets with aldehydic fruit notes. It’s a huge, thick scent that feels surprisingly dated given its 2006 release date. There are a lot of berries upfront, but they don’t feel too jammy or even real—more like a culmination of food flavoring with a heavy dose of artificial sweeteners added. The sweetness lacks body and comes off a tad waxy, yet the whole composition is dense—which sort of contradicts the sweeter aspects and makes for a bit of a destabilizing wear. The fruits are too aldehydic—too dry and fake smelling, and it feels like it should have been far more diaphanous than it actually is. Consequently, rather than evoking the impression of, say, a fruit orchard—or even a bowl of fresh berries—I get more of an image of ‘70s hair salon in which the scent of loud, screechy berry shampoos are passed back and forth amidst the noise of hair dryers, running water, and loud chatter. This scent is cacophonous in more ways than one, and after thirty minutes, I wanted it off my skin.

    03 April, 2014

    The_Cologneist's avatar
    The_Cologneist
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Boss Bottled by Hugo Boss

    I like smelling Boss Bottled on other people, just not on myself. It's very synthetic smelling, chalky and dusty in feel, and extremely cloying. I love the smell of it, just not on my skin. Candied apples, cinnamon, powdery vanilla, woods and spices.. sounds masculine as hell right? This is more of a boys scent than a mans though. Try Baldessarini Ambre for the grown up adults version of Boss Bottled. Leave this one for the children.

    03 April, 2014

    deadidol's avatar
    deadidol


    Show all reviews

    rating


    Chamade by Guerlain

    This one starts off with a massive wall-of-sound green note that sits somewhere between powdery and bitter. It’s a great opening that’s chased by a wild bouquet of florals and aldehydes, but surprisingly the whole scent doesn’t lean too floral, maintaining instead a slightly spiced oriental parity. It’s super vintage smelling and a bit schmaltzy, but buoyant and kind of fun all the same. However, after all the interesting opening stuff has burned off, what’s left is a powder bomb over a snoozy base. While they last, the opening notes are crystalline and expressive—real attention getters—but the remainder just seems to be going through motions.

    03 April, 2014

    deadidol's avatar
    deadidol


    Show all reviews

    rating


    Forest Walk by Sonoma Scent Studio

    For those who find Juniper Ridge too crude, and Norne to be too vivid, Forest Walk is probably one of the most viable alternates in the game. It kicks off with some bitter coniferous notes that are rooty but also carry hints of the syrupy house aesthetic. (They're somewhat reminiscent of the bitter notes that emerge in Nostalgie to get that incredible chypre/aldehyde effect). As it settles in, what you get is an array of blue/green alpine notes that hover above a subtle cedar. It’s a complex forest floor effect, but it is one that's aesthetically sanitized—stripped of some of the more rancid characteristics you’d find in such an environment.

    The depth and aspect of the forest is prismatic and quite trippy. Notes of fir and pine needles are detectable, but keep from going down the industrial air freshener path through the presence of the hemlock—a dark, sharp material with a slightly animalic bite. The residual bitterness is juxtaposed—somewhat awkwardly—against the sweeter notes of florals, but they’re turned down quite low, serving chiefly to take the edge of some of the rougher coniferous parts. While the blend is as meticulous as everything else from the line, it does strike me as a tad disordered—not quite as complimentary and unified as others, but largely due to the choice of the notes and the subject matter than the levels themselves. The odd juxtaposition of the florals does sort itself out over time in that the sharper pine/fir notes outlive the sweeter florals, and so an hour or so in, it starts to feel a little more considered and mellow.

    I personally have a difficult time with certain coniferous notes, and I’ve yet to be able to really stomp down on what my beef is with them. I find that it’s herbal / shrub notes—what I would describe as more grey/teal than green—that can bother me. Although there’s nothing herbal at work here, it’s a shade of green that’s slightly too tainted by other tones for me to enjoy it fully. It feels somewhat contradictory in relation to more photorealistic compositions, rendering it as a tad too close to composed perfume in a genre that seems (to me, at least) to call for a little roughness. One other point of contention with this fragrance, albeit a mild one: compared with the other scents in the line, this one opens with a great deal of force, and it’s slightly overwhelming at first, eventually taming down into something more tranquil.

    Even though my gripes are minor and hugely subjective, they might work in others’ favors—especially those who find some of the scents I mentioned at the outset to be too much forest. The sweetened section gives it more an aldehydic character; and rather than representing a specific forest space, Forest Walk strikes me as more of a collection of the author’s preferred facets of the forest that are polished and presented in a bold manner. Whereas I’ll stick with the nuanced brutality of Norne, Forest Walk can be perhaps be considered that scent's softer, more civilized counterpart.

    03 April, 2014

    del's avatar
    del
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Aqua Quorum by Antonio Puig

    Aqua Quorum has no resemblance to the original Quorum at all. AQ smells clean, fresh, a little fruity, and somewhat sweet… really brings back memories of Polo Sport. The main difference besides the cheap price is that Aqua Quorum performs way better.

    In the midst of freshness, there's a non-persistent sour note that doesn't quite belong, but it is just brief. Some elements of Cool Water could be detected when the initial sharpness settles. In some reviews, AQ was even compared to Wings, but the latter is too sharp and highly synthetic, whereas AQ is softer, gentler, more natural, and smells ten times better off of skin.

    Aqua Quorum is lively, casual, sporty, and versatile. A very pleasant scent to refresh with after a workout. Truly enjoyable and very easy to like. Blind-bought and will reorder again.

    03 April, 2014

    Captain's avatar
    Captain
    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Balenciaga Paris L'Essence by Balenciaga

    This is Balenciaga Paris with vetiver for me and I love them both! It is green and fresh, even more aromatic and with more oomph than Paris. It could easily be unisex! Violets, earthy vetiver with a touch of sandalwood. Charlotte Gainsbourg is the perfect face for this scent!

    03 April, 2014

    Mr. Nosenaught's avatar
    Mr. Nosenaught
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    No. 5 by Chanel

    Mistakenly received this in the place of Allure Sport. I had a good fifteen minutes before noticing the sample's label. Plenty enough time to be hooked. Even though my typical favorites are very powerful masculine scents via 70's, 80's, 90's, I will gladly wear this out the door with no fears.

    03 April, 2014

    ClarkScent's avatar
    ClarkScent
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Gentlemen Only by Givenchy

    Yawn. Spend your money elsewhere. I cannot believe a fragrance this boring has been released this late in the game. Should be about ten bucks.

    03 April, 2014

    Francop's avatar
    Francop
    Spain Spain

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Horizon by Guy Laroche

    Gorgeous spicy aquatic scent with great longevity and projection from the French House of Guy Laroche.

    The scent starts citrusy, then turns marine salty with beautiful herbal aromatic nuances followed by a long lasting drydown of wood, patchouli and pronounced moss. Very Nice!

    Beautiful sporty bottle too!

    Thumbs up!

    02 April, 2014

    Darvant's avatar
    Darvant
    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    I Love New York for Marriage Equality by Bond No. 9

    Really well made citric/spicy soft amber with a soon heady blast of fresh and fizzy spices (supported by a watery accord of citrus and ginger lily), a central spicy floral heart and a balanced dry down based on sweet woods and smooth amber. The initial accord of sweet spices, mandarine, pepper and plums is mastering throughout and is fairly linked with amber and woods. The dry down is still sweet and ambery (with a still really notable nutmeg) but in a dry and woody/fresh way, still influenced by an initial sparkling citrus/fresh spices/fruits accord. For the lovers of the supremely spicy concoctions. Its peppery/dusty fluidity makes me to figure in mind an ideal sort of sweet 7 de Loewe's twin. Consistently sweet and fruity (may be too much for my taste). In the general desolation of the "I Love NY" line For Marriage Equality seems almost a pearl.

    02 April, 2014

    Aiden's avatar
    Aiden
    England England

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Snake Oil by Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab

    I was very dubious about trying this. But I managed, finally, to get an Imp sized bottle to try. The label that was on the bottle smelt very sweet. I could definitely smell the aroma of Vanilla along with a very old musky smell to it. I also noticed after wearing for a few days that it smells slightly different every time I wear it, which is very intriguing. Depending on what your specifically looking for, it has all the qualities I wanted...something totally out there, that most people don't know about. A mysterious scent that nobody instantly recognises. But try not to put to much on. Though judging by it's current exclusiveness, I have stopped wearing mine for the time being because it's proving to be very hard to get.

    02 April, 2014

    yellafella789's avatar
    yellafella789
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Aventus by Creed

    I have a 30mL decant of the U01 batch which was made in 2013 and I mainly get smoke, flourals and oak moss. There seems to be a tiny hint of pineapple but the note isnt that traceable. I have a bottle of Gucci Nobile at home and to me the scents are very similar at this very moment. Dont get me wrong, I regard Gucci Nobile as a very classic and appealing scent, but this was totally unexpected from Aventus. I would have hoped to smell more of the sweet pineapple freshness but I've been let down thus far. I will give more time and see what happens and if that doesnt work I might even try to oxidize the fragrance to see if it will liven it up a bit.

    02 April, 2014

    wormstir's avatar
    wormstir


    Show all reviews

    rating


    Blenheim Bouquet by Penhaligon's

    Not liking this at all, smells very odd on my skin, a bit like sitting in a pine-scented sauna after having just got out of a chlorinated swimming pool. It is very austere and unfriendly.

    02 April, 2014

    JackTwist's avatar
    JackTwist
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Colony by Jean Patou

    Pineapple meets Bandit!

    One of the first fruity chypres ever created, Colony balances the sweetness of pineapple against a dark, leathery chypre base. This is subtly and very well done. Too bad it is out of production as it is certainly a classy 1930s scent.

    From Barbara Herman the notes are:

    Top: Pineapple, Ylang Ylang
    Middle: Carnation, Iris, Vetiver, Opopanax
    Base: Leather, Musk, Oakmoss

    02 April, 2014

    Francolino's avatar
    Francolino
    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    34 Boulevard Saint Germain by Diptyque

    feeble sillage and rather linear on cinnamon!

    02 April, 2014

    deadidol's avatar
    deadidol


    Show all reviews

    rating


    Ambre Noir by Sonoma Scent Studio

    This is a dark, rose-y twist on the resinous amber genre; a vivid, labdanum-heavy composition in which agarwood is flushed with dark vetiver and patchouli to provide a singed effect—one that conjures up the impression of smoldering leaves. The rose—prominent and bitter—is backed by a sharp olibanum serving as a counterpoint to the semi-sweet and medicinal labdanum, situating the scent as somewhere between gothic and bohemian. For an oriental, it’s dry, veering more acerbic than sweet; and even though it’s comprised of several key items, it makes a fairly singular statement, shifting only at the beginning and at the final stages where it becomes an ashy merger of sandalwood, oak moss, and incense.

    Oriental is my genre of choice, and I’m particularly drawn to dark, heavy amber and incense scents that are perhaps a little overcooked and dramatic. To a degree, this is playing many of the notes that I enjoy, but the rose and the charred components—clearly central to the composition’s overall theme—impede my enjoyment. The goopy labdanum, merged with the rose and what appears to be a touch of leather, juxtaposes a chypre-esque bitterness against balsamic aspects of the amber. The result is closer to what you find in Tauer’s Incense Rose or By Kilian’s Rose Oud than the name suggests, and for me, it causes a bit of cognitive dissonance. Ambre Noir isn’t really a straight-up dark amber; it's primarily a dry, charred, labdanum-rose fragrance. But as with all scents from this line, the composition is jaw-droppingly polished and perfected and the structure is stable enough to carry the scent for a full day’s wear. It’s sombre, haunting, and develops beautifully, and so if rose, incense, and smoky notes are your thing, this fragrance is absolutely worth checking out as it's one of the best genre-benders around.

    02 April, 2014

    rbaker's avatar
    rbaker


    Show all reviews

    rating


    Very Irresistible for Men Fresh Attitude by Givenchy

    The grapefruit-mint opening is loaded towards the sweetish-grapefruit on my skin, but in spite of the evidently synthetic nature of these top notes the overall impression of the opening blast is not bad. Then it becomes rather dull, with a green-woodsy drydown that mixes the generic with the expected. Silage and projection are all right, and with nearly six on me the longevity is very respectable for this somewhat summery scent. I am not surprised is was discontinued after only a few years.

    02 April, 2014

    OCNBreeze7's avatar
    OCNBreeze7
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Armani Mania by Giorgio Armani

    The "Mania" continues...

    It has been a while since last using Armani Mania... What a pleasant surprise..!!

    Mania is a successful blend of floral, fruity, musk, and woodsy notes that I truly enjoy. It opens with a burst of the floral and fruity notes then settles close to the skin with woodsy notes and musk finish. In my (humble) opinion, Mania breathes "class" like a fresh laundered shirt, but offers great flexibility to include wearing with a comfortable pair of jeans and that favorite t-shirt. Additionally, given the fruit and floral notes of the fragrance, the target time(s) of year may be Spring and/or Summer, however, if your body chemistry allows the musk and/or woodsy notes to project, Mania could be worn any time of year or for any occasion. Very well done Mr. Armani..!!

    Longevity and projection/sillage are moderate, making it ideal for an office setting, but sufficient some 4-6 hours later saying, "gee, I still smell Armani Mania". It lasts much longer on clothing. While I haven't had favorable comments from the opposite sex, i.e. the "Wow Factor", it has the potential. Not sure how many of my female employees feel comfortable saying, "gee boss, you smell great today..!!". To reiterate, Armani is a "class" scent that has great potential for the "Wow Factor".

    Similar to the fragrance, the bottle is a classic design. I am drawn to the clear glass bottles to allow the user to see the clarity of the fragrance. The "smoky" color of the fragrance, and perhaps tint of the glass, adds to the positive mystique of the fragrance. The packaging is also well done.

    A check of the online pricing of Mania, shows that it is still moderate to medium pricing (in the $50 - $100 USD) range. For that price and the quality of the scent, it is highly recommended to add this to your collection.

    Out of a possible five (5) stars, my evaluation of Armani Mania comes in at 4.4 stars. Great fragrance...

    Daily I.M. - Ride the wave and don't ask where it goes...

    02 April, 2014

    lespritz's avatar
    lespritz
    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Dior Homme Eau for Men by Christian Dior

    This would have to be give-away for me to buy it. Never smelled the Dior Homme intense(but want to), Dior Homme Sport sucks(and in no way smells like the original) and of course Dior Homme is sexy. This one smells like it, if it were lemony, lighter, and cheaper(quality). You don't need to smell this if you're that curious.

    02 April, 2014

    Katana's avatar
    Katana
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    cK One Shock for Him by Calvin Klein

    Love this, from beginning to end, especially the drydown/end - I see a lot of people not getting much longevity, but I, who normally do not get great longevity get at least 7-8 hours with this I DO use about 5-6 sprays though. I didn't get any sort of Shock" from it though - it was smooth all the way through even the initial 20-30 minutes were not harsh or off putting as many I find are. - This can be had pretty cheaply and is showing up at Gordmans, TJ Maxx, Ross etc - it's VERY worth the price and more and if YOU don't like it, someone will so you can give it away or sell it (good chance someone who likes it will be your g/f, in fact, it's pretty unisex IMO)

    02 April, 2014

    The_Cologneist's avatar
    The_Cologneist
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    L.12.12 Noir / Black by Lacoste

    Watermelon? Cocoa?? Where??

    First and foremost.. this is a copy more or less of Cool Water Game, another fragrance I can't stand. Game is a synthetic watermelon/patchouli fragrance, a bad combination in my opinion, but hey, some people must like it. Noir is the same, only the watermelon note doesn't last as long, and there's no patchouli in the dry down, rather leather. Patchouli is listed in the base, but I don't get it at all.

    What I get here is cheap watermelon/apple opening, that disappears quite quickly. It becomes more lavender, with a soapy/slightly herbal/slightly floral vibe, before a hefty dose of leather takes over from the middle to the end. Leather is nice, but not with cheap fruity notes.. not my thing. There's too much of a contrast here with the notes, they don't mix well.

    I just don't like it.. but maybe you will.

    01st April, 2014

    The_Cologneist's avatar
    The_Cologneist
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Adidas Ice Dive by Adidas

    I pulled the trigger on a 3.4 oz of this recently. Not a big deal, cheap as hell, but who wants to be stuck with bottles just sitting around if they get no use. I own Moves which is quite nice, I've owned Dare, Moves Pulse, Adrenaline, and many other of the more expensive fragrances of there's... although they are all still cheap.

    So I went with Ice Dive because the reviews looked the best for this. Boy was I wrong. This stuff is crap! Firstly. it only lasts about 2 hours, which is actually good, because I don't wanna smell like a bowl of cheap mint all day. Let's not go through all the notes, just what I get. Yuzu, yes.. a plasticy yuzu note opens this one. It quickly (emphasis on quickly) turns into nothing but geranium. Seriously.. this is a geranium monster! There's a soapiness there, maybe a little bit of patchouli behind it, but mostly just a ton of geranium.. which to me, geranium smells like a floral mint. Projection is pretty weak, and it just feels very cheap overall. I know body sprays that do much better than this. I don't pick up most of the notes listed here, except geranium, patchouli and yuzu. I certainly don't pick up on the notes listed from Fragrantica, which include kiwi, lavender, vanilla, mandarin.

    Well, this one will probably be given away, or used as a room spray. I do plan on trying more from this line though.

    01st April, 2014

    bookwyrmsmith's avatar
    bookwyrmsmith
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Essence Eau de Musc by Narciso Rodriguez

    Clean, aldyhydic,soapy white musk with accents of citrusy-floral and a dry down of sharp rubbing alcohol mixed with " cedar" . Dry down is yuck in my opinion ,in the same genre as D&G Lt.Blue which likewise is pencil shavings and rubbing alcohol on me. I paid $15 at a discounter for my bottle which with it's mirrored glass is the nicest thing about this perfume. I'm going to return this if possible and see if I can get Burberry the Beat or something else instead.

    01st April, 2014

    Darvant's avatar
    Darvant
    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Les Jeux sont Faits by Jovoy

    Another interesting Jovoy's creation though slightly too much "agricole" for my taste. Les Jeux sont Faits conjures me soon in a while some of the spiciest Slumberhouse's and scents a la Idole de Lubin, Frapin 1270 or Cuir Velours (with all the specific differences). It is a supremely boozy/spicy aroma with a deep, carnal and almost syrupy sort of exotic fruitiness in its soul. The aroma is sexy, sultry and "un-educated". Really spicy, almost piquant (but also sparkling and aromatic) since the beginning. The first approach (surely the part I prefer) is by soon slightly intoxicating, wet and boozy, paradoxically almost fancy/glamour despite the final aroma will reveal itself as a sort of unrefined "potent raw fuel" under my humble nose. I detect the inebriating fist by cumin and cinnamon, some complicated (slightly damp and mouldy) earthiness (hints of angelica roots) and a following boozy fruitiness afforded by a main accord of rum/cognac and dry fruits (like a sort of mélange of soft dry fruits from the woods, dry plums, cherries, orange and apricot) with a sort of burnt sugar/licorice secret undertone. The more the aroma evolves the more it slides towards a smoother mossiness with leather/tobacco accents (still fruity/spicy and liquorous). The tobacco becomes more influent in the dry down as soon as the humid spiciness keeps turn out drier and hints of smooth/musky well rounded amber plus sweet woods draw in depth the smell. The final aroma is drier for sure but unfortunately still a bit too crude and wild for my full pleasure. Les Jeux sont Faits is such a type of aroma which with you can't stop sniffing continuosly your wrist but which misses to get a final jump towards a more civilized level of olfactory refinement.

    01st April, 2014

    Card Board's avatar
    Card Board
    Germany Germany

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Eau de Gentiane Blanche by Hermès

    Cool, austere, dank yet dry, powdery-dusty, vegetal, foggy, and maybe slightly smoky (but not warm); a greenness steeped in an old stone and dirt-floor cellar. I don't know gentian, but what I perceive here is a big dose of iris, mostly root. In this respect, my mind connected it to Eau d'Italie's wonderful Bois d'Ombrie. In the latter, the rhizomatic note is enhanced by other facets; here it far more front-and-center, sweetened only the tiniest bit by musk and something that strikes me as grapefruit pith. I don't really get incense from this at all, unless it is the faint, slight smokiness, which I would be equally attempted to attribute back to iris. Ultimately, this strikes me as gothic and aloof--for Heathcliff out on the moor. Some have called it depressing; I find it transporting. In all, a very cool and unconventional scent, appropriately presented in a sleek and minimal dark grey bottle. I don't know its concentration, but with 3-5 sprays, this out-performs some fragrances purporting to be EDT/EDP.

    01st April, 2014

    RCavs's avatar
    RCavs
    Brazil Brazil

    Show all reviews

    rating


    L.12.12 Rouge / Red by Lacoste

    Mango note combined with Benzoim and Acacia bring a nice fruity/sweet smell, that makes this fragrance a bit different from the usual "red" ones out there. It's sporty and refreshing, great for everyday use. Although It shares the mago note with Polo Black, they're completely different fragrances.

    01st April, 2014

    RCavs's avatar
    RCavs
    Brazil Brazil

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Gentlemen Only by Givenchy

    Starts green and spicy, and instantly reminded me of Givenchy pour homme (red bottle). After a few minutes, turns to a nice, slightly formal, sweet patchouli fragrance, surrounded by spices. I can't deny this fragrance is above average.

    01st April, 2014

    RCavs's avatar
    RCavs
    Brazil Brazil

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Paco by Paco Rabanne

    Well, got it as a birthday gift and It's almost exactly what I expected: a very green/lemony fragrance. I'd say It's a mix between CK One and CH 212. If you like Ck one but think It lacks "personality" and longevity or if you like 212 but can't put up with its incense note, Paco is what you've been looking for.
    By the way, Longevity is average.

    01st April, 2014

    RUDOLFO512's avatar
    RUDOLFO512
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Avant Garde by Lanvin

    I have never owned a honey and tobacco based cologne. I must say that I love Avant Garde by Lanvin. I wore it for to work the first time today. It is very masculine and sensual. The beginning is a very spicy and then turns soft and alluring. It is perfect for the office because it is not loud or offensive. The bottle is one of the best looking ones in my collection.

    01st April, 2014

    Showing 271 to 300 of 469.