Latest Fragrance Reviews, Updated Daily

    Showing 271 to 300 of 330.
    JackTwist's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Gauloise by Molyneux

    What a delightful find!

    A warm "rosy floral," as described by Barbara Herman. This is certainly unisex and one of the few rose scents men can wear easily - think Pehnaligon's classic Hammam Bouquet.

    There seems to be a controversy as to whether this was named after the "popular French brand of cigarettes" or the direct translation as the essence of the "Gallic woman." The resemblance of the bottle design to the actual cigarette package design tends to shift the question one way, but if one considers that the cigarette itself was designed as expressing the other argument, you have it both ways.

    There is an interesting tobacco scent underlying the rose bouquet. This takes its unique place alongside Caron's classic Tabac Blond, as being specifically geared towards the woman who smokes cigarettes - a tobacco quite different from the pipe or cigar variety aimed at men.

    Quite a gem and luckily still available on Ebay.

    Top notes: Bergamot, Coriander, Hyacinth
    Heart notes: Jasmine, Rose, Orris, Tuberose, Muguet
    Base notes: Musk, Cedarwood, Vetiver, Oakmoss, Amber, Civet

    25 August, 2014

    Casiquire's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


    Rose Water & Vanilla Cologne by Jo Malone

    This is about as sweet as it gets. I feel like someone whose day job is making cotton candy on the beach--the distinctive strawberry and caramel tones of fresh cotton candy being spun aren't exactly the same as this cologne but there are distinct similarities (I'm not talking about the smell of cotton candy itself, more the smell of a cotton candy machine). Oddly enough I actually like this and can't stop smelling it, it just smells so delicious. I can't think of a single situation where it would be appropriate to smell like this other than on a weekend when I'm lounging around the house and don't plan to see anybody. Maybe on a day when I'm sick and just want to smell something comforting all day. The scent is just so cozy. I almost gave it a neutral for the fact that it's almost unwearable but another whiff convinced me otherwise.

    25 August, 2014

    MysteryBuff40's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Invasion Barbare / SB by MDCI

    Walking the Piazza Barberini in Rome, I stop at the most elegant barbershop I have ever seen. Marble floors, crystal chandeliers, supple and glittering barber chairs. Everything about this salon speaks of quality and old world sophistication. When my $300 haircut is finished, I would expect my barber to dust me off with finest talcum powder, and it would smell like Invasion Barbare.

    Smooth, creamy talcum powder sums up Invasion Barbare. There's a little fruit in the background, but it's talcum powder from start to finish. Natural smelling, high quality ingredients, very good projection and magnificent longevity. But still, at the end of the day, talcum powder.

    I just can't think of many occasions when I want to smell like talcum powder so badly that it would justify the expense of this scent. Invasion Barbare is a fragrance I can respect, even admire, but not particularly want to wear.

    25 August, 2014

    rickbr's avatar

    Brazil Brazil

    Show all reviews

    rating


    MAAI by Bogue Profumo

    What to say about this one? It's intriguingly familiar and at the same time it's quite unique. Is the son of a relationship between Vero Profumo Rubj EDP and Kouros? Or Maybe his father is Santa Maria Novella Potpourri? Or Maybe both? Kouros is the first fragrance that comes to my mind, a descendant of its fougere structure with hints to its animal nuances but without the powdery aura. But soon the clove and resins stands out and i start to see the angular bones of potpourri too. And then, his mother Onda EDP sweet tuberose and orange flower pops up in a way that i almost start imagine a passionfruit aroma on this too (which i know it doesn't exhist). And then, all the familiar resemblances goes away and what is left is an spetacular old fashion resin floral base which is made modern for my by its very direct approach - this doesn't have any flourish aromas that don't make a good contribution to the structure. Very good indeed.

    25 August, 2014

    rickbr's avatar

    Brazil Brazil

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Farnesiana by Caron

    Caron Farnesiana EDP - this is pleasant, but is less gourmand than the parfum concentration. The opening is more powdery and floral, with a more noticeable retro thing. Then the powdery part goes, the mimosa shows it's almond nuances and is joined by a pleasant vanilla and opoponax base. It's lovely, but i still favor the marzipan wonderfullness which is the parfum.

    25 August, 2014

    DuNezDeBuzier's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Vanitas by Profumum

    I was silly and mixed this one up with Victrix (spicy & green) on a split. I was bummed when it came. I don't care for many vanillas and with its hyper sweet candy floss vanilla this is one of those. I gave it to my favorite lady and she digs it. It's such a thumper that I've had to ask her to dial it back a little... more than once.

    So, red + green = yellow.

    25 August, 2014

    Darvant's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Cologne de l'Empereur by AbdesSalaam Attar Profumo

    La Via del Profumo Cologne de l'Empereur unfolds by soon its classical hesperidic "eau de cologne" outlook recalling easily in style (in a hyper natural way) historical pieces of perfumes a la Eau Sauvage, Blenheim Bouquet, 4711 Echt Kölnisch Wasser, Roger&Gallet Open, Gold Medal Atkinsons, several Guerlain Aqua Allegoria, Mugler Cologne, Eau de Rochas Homme and more (but also the more recent Il Profvmo Imprinting, partially the Meo Fusciuni's "Note" di Viaggio, Askett&English Essential etc etc). You can easily detect a solid main accord of minty lavender, oregano-basil (probably further aromatic greens), bergamot and neroli. The floral heart is refined and romantic, so royal and aristocratic with a stout rose-hesperides (may be jasmine) ethereal hyper Victorian dominant accord. A minimal final touch of animalic civet provides warmth and rounding appeal affording a twist of vibrant sensuality. The outcome is virile, stiff and classic but somewhat dynamic and encompassing. Natural, charismatic and comforting.

    25 August, 2014

    citypark's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


    Bogner Woman No. 1 by Bogner

    Bogner is a German fashion brand in the higher price segment, they are also known for their sport outfits. So, it is amazing that their perfumes are not so well known (except for Woman No.1 I haven't seen any others in the shops) and that Woman No.1 is sold for such a low price.

    No.1 starts with citrus notes and develops soon into a smoky vanilla. The flowers in the heart notes don't really join in on their own, but I think the amber supports the vanilla in its smokiness. No.1 reminds me of Shalimar, not only from the smell, also regarding the structure. However it is lacking in longevity and sillage compared to Shalimar. Ideal for people on a budget or those who don't want to take their bottle of Shalimar with them / on a trip.

    24 August, 2014 (Last Edited: 30th August, 2014)

    soythepanda's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


    Allure Homme Sport by Chanel

    With rich notes of mandarin and bugspray, this cologne is the perfect way to spend far too much and reek of pretension. It seriously smells like the citrus section of a back alley green grocers, and as for the "sport" side of things: The only thing athletic about this cologne is evoked sense of running through an orange field trying not to choke as it is chemically dusted.

    24 August, 2014 (Last Edited: 26 August, 2014)

    drseid's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Azemour les Orangers by Parfum d'Empire

    Azemour opens with juicy orange citrus over traces of underlying cumin spice. As the composition moves to its early heart the initial juicy orange morphs to sharp relatively dry, slightly bitter, fresh green grapefruit-infused neroli as the underlying cumin spice grows slightly in its intensity. As the composition makes its way through its middle the cumin dissipates as the composition turns more green through the infusion of a mossy accord rising from the base that couples with orange flower and the green neroli, resulting in a slightly dirty bitter-green orange accord. During the late dry-down the cumin spice completely vacates the composition leaving remnants of the green moss to add additional support to the starring slightly sharp woods and supporting coumarin derived hay base notes. Projection is minimal with the composition just a little more than a skin scent and longevity average at about 7-9 hours on skin.

    Azemour les Orangers is a very different composition than I expected. Yes, the orange fruit is definitely there early-on in particular, but the composition is much more about the fresh green neroli aspect of the orange tree, incorporating even aspects of the tree itself late. The presentation is quite a welcome departure from the usual "orange". Something *not* as welcome is the subtle to moderate use of dirty cumin spice through the early heart of the composition. The cumin is never intrusive, thankfully, but it does seem unnecessary and the composition shines brightest when it is unnoticeable. The late dry-down is quite different than the rest of the composition, with the moss and coumarin in the base completing the chypre structure but its focus turns quite woody with almost a sharp vetiver-like bent, and an extremely slight saltiness noticeable only if one pays close attention. Save for the unnecessary cumin the whole thing is quite well put together and exudes some of the spirit of the great Monsieur de Givenchy at times (without the orange, of course). The bottom line is the $145 per 100ml bottle Azemour could have been truly excellent had it not marred its presentation slightly with its relatively minor use of dirty cumin, but even "as is" the end result still merits a "very good" to "excellent" 3.5 to 4 stars out of 5 and a solid recommendation to all.

    24 August, 2014

    Colin Maillard's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Casmir by Chopard

    Casmir opens with a bag of fruits on sandalwood, vanilla, ylang, Oriental flavours of spices and cinnamon. Briefly, a sweet and creamy fruity bath soap, which however is restrained and complex enough to smell better than most of other scent of this genre. Despite smelling a bit like Fructis shampoo, in fact, Casmir reveals some more structured and intriguing nuances and a compelling deepness of notes: it's plummy, sweet and creamy, but in a sophisticated, mellow, decently-executed and polite way (in other words, it is no sickening teenagers' gourmand and does not smell too much artificial). Not a masterpiece for me, but in that disgraceful family – the "fruity-floral bombs" – surely among the nicest I've ever tried.

    6,5/10

    24 August, 2014

    Colin Maillard's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Chamade by Guerlain

    Chamade (vintage mid-'80s bottle here) is a dark, powerful herbal chypre opening with a foggy, grey, masculine austerity all over: a bouquet of herbs, humid flowers, musky notes, a powdery side, a dry leather base. But most of all, herbs, like in a man's fougère. The reference here seems to be halfway classic chypres à la Guerlain or the (unfairly underrated) great Guy Laroche, and Cabochard or Habanita, that family of "bitchy", skanky feminine scents, although more refined and adorned here by a beautiful, impalpable cloud of lively, radiant, graceful hyacint-soapy talc notes which are not "on skin" but you can clearly smell them in the sillage (an "effect" I totally love). Basically a classic structure which recalls echoes of memorable chypres, with flowers, woods, herbs and resins, just fairly darker, greener, bitter, more ambiguously sensual and nastier, especially for the first hour or so, almost like a chypre for gentlemen if it wasn't for an overall subtle but perceivably soapy-talc softness and a dark, carnal but feminine sensuality running underneath the blend (aldehydes, flowers, vanilla, musky notes). Classy and compelling like "the great ones", perhaps a little less original as to me it smells pretty much a "déjà-vu" to most extents, but surely worth a try if you are a fan of the genre.

    7,5-8/10

    24 August, 2014

    Colin Maillard's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    L'Arte di Gucci by Gucci

    L'Arte di Gucci is a remarkable forgotten classic, a robust aldehydes-floral scent with carnation, geranium, benzoin, white flowers, sandalwood and vanilla, a dense juiciness and a luminous, pleasant and refined subtle carnality. Initially it's all – deceptively - about brightness, flowers and spring liveliness, rich and dense but tending more towards a soapy-powdery kind of denseness. After less than a hour, though, it then starts to evolve and change; a dark and austere base accord arises slowly like a stormy cloud, a powdery-waxy leather with salty and earthy notes of vetiver, discreet and understated but shady and animalic. The transition is great, perfectly executed; it's still a rich, romantic floral scent, just with a bolder darker shade below. I've rarely experienced such a smooth, mellow, effortless and refined change of mood in a scent, with the right among of consistence and "fil rouge" of notes from one stage to another. Rich, sophisticated, terrifically good-smelling.

    8,5-9/10

    24 August, 2014

    Colin Maillard's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Vendetta by Valentino

    Vendetta opens with a beautiful blend of juicy, plummy fruity-floral notes, dense and bright, with pleasant aromatic hints of bergamot and green notes on a soapy base of ylang, sandalwood, vanilla, a lively cloud of luminous sweetness and gentle flowers brilliantly blended with a shady, sticky and carnal side of benzoin and leather – initially hiding behind this deceptive overall sweet fruity-floral "plushiness". A balsamic-herbal breeze completes the landscape. A classic architecture embellished with a golden, luminous and radiant brightness which then progressively darkens towards a more austere and refined chypre territory. Simple, romantic, solid and classy.

    8/10

    24 August, 2014

    Francois Blais's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Sculpture Homme by Nikos

    I'm so happy I discovered that one!
    Bought it blindly and don't regret it!

    The scent is quite close to Minotaure, my very first scent about 20 years ago.
    It's lighter, and it's a good thing because you can easily wear it in the summer.
    The tobacco trail is lovely.

    Two thumbs up!

    24 August, 2014

    Ceecee474's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Suggestion Eau Cuivrée by Montana

    I really like this a lot. Has a bright green opening and a very grounding cedar in the base with beautiful fruit and floral in the heart. It's mostly plum, carnation and rose to my nose, and the well balanced whole is stunning. Long lasting with projection of about a foot. This review is of the original formula) very warm and sensual scent.

    24 August, 2014

    rbaker's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


    Miyako by Annayaké

    The predominant component throughout on my skin is a delicious cinnamon with some cardamom, mixed with a softly gently rich incense note. Wood and jasmine start the drydown, with yang-yang and a whiff of sandalwood included. Rose and a faint amber in the drydown add to the richness of this composition. Quite restrained, creamy, rich but not heavy and well very well blended of quality ingredients. The silage is poor and the projection limited at least, but the longevity is a stupendous twelve hours on me, with the last six very close to my skin. Overall a good spring office scent.

    24 August, 2014

    ActionJackson864's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


    Aventus by Creed

    This was the first creed I ever smelled. I think also the first "niche fragrance" I ever smelled. At first I wasn't fond of it. It smells good, but it's still not my favorite personally and I still don't see why people love it so much...however, every time I wear this stuff women stop me, smell me, and ask what I'm wearing that smells so good. I've heard women say "what is that smell?!" start looking around...been told I smell awesome and absolutely amazing. Creed Aventus is hands down the number one fragrance I've owned out of hundreds if I want to get attention. Number one compliment getter. Women absolutely LOVE this stuff.

    24 August, 2014

    Infini's avatar

    Wales Wales

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Fleurs de Rocaille by Caron

    The opening of Fleurs de Rocaille is very aledhydic, though on my skin the aldehydes only last a short time, giving way to almost bittersweet floral notes (which remind of me heather and gorse). After 5-6 hours it is still very strong, and becomes very animalic: I have seen some fragrances (most notably Kouros) described as having an almost urine note, which is definitely evident in this stage of Fleurs de Rocaille; maybe it's a type of musk. It's not unpleasant, but definitely animalic.

    Apart from the aldehydic notes which only last 10-15 minutes on my skin, I can't compare Fleurs de Rocaille with perfumes such as Chanel No5 or Arpege, as I have seen a number of online reviews doing. Fleurs de Rocaille is very elegant and sophistcated, and certainly not dated.

    Do not confuse Fleurs de Rocaille with the newer Fleur de Rocaille, which is a much more modern and in my opinion, not very pleasant floral fragrance.

    24 August, 2014

    rbaker's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


    Theorema by Fendi

    A citrus-floral combination, mainly orange and jasmine, opens this one, the floral seeing a rose note emerge with ylang-ylang and a mildly spicy note added in the drydown. On my skin the prominent component now is a delicious cinnamon, creamy, rich but never heavy and very well balanced; it gives the whole composition a soft and creamy vibe. The base sees a whiff of amber over woodsy notes mainly, and for the last hours this is on me a skin scent. This is to my the drawback of Theorema: poor silage and projection to a disappointing extent, with a good longevity of seven hours though, but whilst this is not an attention-getter, on the other hand this restraint makes is an ideal cool-weather office scent that is never intrusive. 3/5

    24 August, 2014

    Casiquire's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


    Opium by Yves Saint Laurent

    After reading so many people referring to this fragrance as "unisex" and speaking of how well it wears on men, I have to respectfully disagree. The moment I sprayed this, the first thing I thought was "old lady perfume". I tried wearing it myself to see if maybe it wears differently on my skin. The smell is so recognizable and has been so over-worn for so long that I can't imagine why a man would wear it. Even if I had never come across a woman wearing this scent it's still distinctly feminine. It is very floral and spicy but in a distinctly feminine way. I have nothing at all against crossing gender boundaries and some of my favorite scents are the ones that blur the distinction but it's a bit foolish to do so with a perfume that's so well-known, memorable, and recognizable. If you've ever met a sweet mature woman, the kind who wears large round or oval earrings and with roughly half a dozen rings and bracelets on and with a face plastered with makeup (or at the very least wearing liberally-applied rouge), then you've smelled this perfume.

    Anyway judging the smell on its own merits and without any of the vivid associations that come with it, it's nice but cloying to my nose, very sweetly floral and rather loud in my opinion.

    24 August, 2014

    Casiquire's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


    L'Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

    I'm surprised to see how many people here don't notice the similarity between this and Nuit, it's very obvious to my nose. The big difference is that L'Homme has none of the fruitiness of Nuit de l'Homme. This almost smells like a generic "base" cologne and Nuit is the finished product. The assertions that this cologne lacks some character is true in my opinion, if only just because I was such a fan of Nuit. I definitely got a strong note of apple right off the bat which was interesting but once that faded away it became a pleasant, light, unobtrusive scent. Definitely the kind of thing you'd want to wear if you want to smell good but you don't want to stick out because of it. This is the kind of thing you'd wear at an interview for someone you don't know who may or may not be very personable, and may or may not judge every detail about you, including your cologne. It was nice and long lasting on my skin, I can still smell it ten hours later (much like Nuit which lasts similarly long on me) but I had to use more sprays just to get an idea of the smell in the first place. All in all I don't think I'll be getting a bottle, Nuit is definitely much better, but it's quite good for just a plain old cologne.

    I debated between thumbs-up and neutral and figured I'd go with thumbs-up just because of the longevity on my skin (which admittedly typically holds scents pretty long).

    24 August, 2014

    tempest moon's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Fendi Uomo by Fendi

    Complex, mature and quite elegant

    I have nothing but admiration for the old italian style of perfume making, and Fendi Uomo is typical of this.

    The fragrance opens up with a host of notes that can be almost overwhelming but which work together really well to give the impression of a well dressed, slightly conservative image of a man. Pure masculinity in the old tradition.

    With lavender, cinnamon, carnation and herbs, followed by rose, iris and vetiver, with leather, patchouli and amber constantly in the background. It can be dense and a little heavy, but it dries down beautifully with leather and earthy, herbal florals to give this impression of masculinity. Think expensive cut suits with wide lapels, the finest Italian leather shoes, immaculate grooming. I don't see this primarily as an "old man" type of fragrance, but more of a "classic" style type of scent. Like a young man in an old Italian film or magazine dressed in the best male fashion of his day.

    In this world where this kind of smell is slowly disappearing (Fendi Uomo has been discontinued for some time now), it really is nice to smell the old classic style of masculinity once again. Nostalgia, yes... but certainly worth it.

    24 August, 2014

    ConvertedByWetShaving's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Enchanted Apple by Victoria's Secret

    I had a girlfriend in college who wore this. I don't know if I'd care to get a scent of it again as I prefer to live in the present, but I do recall finding it absolutely enchanting.

    24 August, 2014

    citypark's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


    Candied Mallows by Yves Rocher

    A perfume which was on sale before it disappeared completely - a limited Christmas edition and I had missed all the limited Winter editions before.

    "Mallow" is too unspecific for me to identify it with a plant, "mauve" however is a wild mallow with a light purple colour. On the box they refer to violets, but that doesn't seem to be the case here.

    Candied Mallows/Mauves Cristallisées starts with almond, sweet almonds as in marzipan. After a while I can sense the musk, the sweetness of the tonka beans and something faintly flowery (mallow and rose?). This is not a complex perfume and you have to spray in several layers to get a stronger and longer lasting smell. If you don't like gourmand and sweet perfumes, it is not for you. It has some following - some say it is close to other Winter editions - but it is discontinued.

    24 August, 2014

    sourlemonzest's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


    Hesperys by Phaedon

    No one appears to have a reviewed this yet so here goes:

    The scent: This an aromatic fragrance; a herb garden in spring dominated by Lavender but also other fragrant herbs such as Rosemary, Sage and Thyme. One can also detect a light and sweet citrus in the form of the petitgrain that is never astringent, just enough to brighten up the composition. The initial blast also includes a very noticeable amount of Chamomile whilst Orris gives the composition a certain powderiness. Overall the smell is linear and I have never really smelt much of a drydown so much as a die-down. However as time progresses, the smell does become more lived-in probably due in part because of the melding of the fragrance with ones own scent and in part due to the musk and patchouli in the base. Coriander and nutmeg are present although I cannot reliably pick up the notes individually; rather the two blend into the fragrance to accentuate the sweetness and flavour much like cinnamon does with flapjack or cookies (not that this is a gourmand fragrance - far from it!)

    The audience: Overall those looking for a journey with twists and turns may be disappointed with this one. However if you like bright yet calming and therapeautic scents this may be a good option for you. I'm surprised this has been labelled as masculine; it's marketed as a unisex option but I imagine it would have a stronger female following because of its dainty nature.

    Performance: I get good longevity (over 12 hours on well-moisturised skin) but this is more of a personal fragrance in terms of projection.

    23 August, 2014 (Last Edited: 25 August, 2014)

    jumpfrog's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


    Spicebomb by Viktor & Rolf

    Horrendous. Do you have the top three buttons undone on your shirt? Do you wear chunky gold chains and bracelets? Do you slick your hair back? If so, then this is the fragrance for you! The first sniff was an utter assault on my senses. The spice is so overdone, so cheap, and so synthetic I was quite taken back. What follows is sweet. Sweet. Sickly sweet. And then some. It is the epitome of "cloying". The scent is as obnoxious as the butch, uber-alpha grenade bottle it comes in. "Spicebomb" is best worn by slimy second hand car salesmen or equally slimy used jewellery salesmen. I couldn't help but picture Del Boy rubbing his hands together and saying, "lovely jubbly" after dousing himself in it, before jumping in his reliant robin. A total shocker this one. I just do not get all the positive reviews.

    23 August, 2014

    Darvant's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Fougère Royale by Houbigant

    Houbigant Fougere Royale 2010 is not properly an updated version of the original hyper-aromatic and truly green-mossy vintage formula but a sort of brand new "re-issue" which strikes for simplicity, discretion, mediterranean airy-tasty initial light greenes (culinary herbs), suave romanticism and "clean" modern balance (but also in my opinion for its lack of innovative inspiration despite there are no doubts the whole olfactory fatigue is masterfully executed). The aroma is not that aromatic green vigorous master-work which the original used to be since I detect far more a sort of general floral aqueous woodiness throughout (more than that herbaceous stout temperament several reviewers talk about and which I absolutely don't catch) in a way the juices jumping me in a while on mind are not properly renowned fougere a la Azzaro Pour Homme or Paco Rabanne Pour Homme (with all the huge respect for the hyper qualified Way Off-Scenter) but more markatedly ultra dry fluidy chypre a la Romeo Gigli Sud Est, Gucci Pour Homme, Nino Cerruti 1881 (ok aromatic mediterranean fougere finally ultra-cedary) and Cashmere For Men by Cristiano Fissore. The initial lavender/mediterranean herbs accord is pale (I detect far more bergamot at the beginning which conjures me indeed far more the hesperidic Givenchy Monsieur's opening than for instance the aromatic Drakkar Noir) and in a while you can forsee the "melancholic" floral-woody-soapy upcoming evolution somewhat pleasant but faintly articulated. There is by soon something like a sort of tea-chamomile hesperidic fluidity (well combined with rosemary in particular- but also with further aromatic herbs) conjuring at the beginning scents a la Bvlgari Pour Homme and Roger&Gallet The Vert. Woods, orchid, musks, may be cinnamon and heliotrope are soon hallmarking as finally rounded by a touch of vanilla while I hardly catch a noticeable herbal aromaric vibe (the herbs seem indeed by soon like diluted in a dry spicy woodiness). The dry down is dry, musky woody, warm, softly spicy, delicately floral (vaguely rosey), balanced and discreet. I appreciate this final outcome for measure and comforting warmth. An interesting "Chypre Royale" for us.

    23 August, 2014

    Riallus's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Malaise of the 1970s by Etat Libre d'Orange

    The citrus jumps out at you when first applied. Almost having me feel that it would be too sweet for comfortable respectability. However, once this mellows down, the sweet mellows into the amber and patchouli, giving this a rich warmth. Really enjoying it.

    It makes me think of a 70's era, with a lot of flash and music, but with undertones of a thumping base and seductive dark corners.

    23 August, 2014

    Infini's avatar

    Wales Wales

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Amor Amor by Cacharel

    I'm not a fan of Cacherel perfumes anyway, but Amour Amour is the worst I've tried so far: on my skin it smells exactly like cherryade I remember from my childhood (not an altogether unpleasant smell, but I'd prefer not to smell like a sweet and very artificial fizzy drink!). Certainly not an expensive smelling perfume. All the more ironic when it shares its name (albeit with a slightly different spelling) with the distinguished Jean Patou perfume.

    23 August, 2014

    Showing 271 to 300 of 330.