Latest Fragrance Reviews, Updated Daily

    Showing 601 to 630 of 705.
    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Un Matin d'Orage Eau de Toilette by Annick Goutal

    Genre: Green Floral

    The earthy funk of shiso dominates Un Matin d’Orage’s moist, green top notes, joined soon after by a gardenia reconstruction that’s paradoxically both soapy and indolic. An impression of damp soil remains in place atop the fleshy floral accord, which slowly unravels to reveal components of stemmy green narcissus and ylang-ylang.

    Unfortunately, the floral notes become harsh and chemical in the second hour, and I find the mix of sour, musty floral notes and laundry detergent musk in the drydown uncomfortable in the extreme. Un Matin d’Orage remains potent for hours, which only exacerbates my discomfort. The fragrance exhausts all the olfactory capital developed in its early stages long before it fades, and I find myself awaiting its departure eagerly. Oddly enough, Un Matin d’Orage is better on paper, where its floral heart smells sweeter and softer and retains its integrity far longer.

    06 July, 2014

    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Un Lys by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    Genre: Floral

    A lovely, crisp, white lily fragrance, underpinned by the driest of vanillas and cooled by some very subtle green notes. Un Lys is clear, simple, and transparent in a way that few Serge Lutens fragrances are. It was made by the same Christopher Sheldrake who gave us Sa Majeste la Rose and Gris Clair, not the other guy who did Arabie, Chergui, and Ambre Sultan. This Christopher should come out more often - his work is refreshing!

    06 July, 2014

    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Un Jardin sur le Nil by Hermès

    Genre: Woods

    Extremely sharp lemon and tart green notes introduce Un Jardin sur le Nil, as if it might be some sort of steroid-boosted Eau de Cologne. There is a very harsh chemical note that is both bitter and sour underneath that I find outright repellent. This note becomes progressively more strident as the citrus top notes mellow.

    After roughly a half an hour the unique and mysterious floral note of lotus rises up out of the heart, but it seems entirely at odds with the shrill, sour accord that dominates the scent’s middle. Utterly horrible, but I force myself to wait out the development and see if anything remotely pleasant will emerge.

    Nothing does, but the whole nasty experience is over in little more than an hour, so I don’t have to scrub myself down to get rid of it. Not, I think, one of Mr. Elléna's more successful outings.

    06 July, 2014

    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Un Jardin en Méditerranée by Hermès

    Genre: Woods

    This scent leaves the bottle all aromatic green, with fresh grassy notes wrapped up in rosemary and lavender, all elevated by a healthy dose of aldehydes. The opening accord immediately brings to mind a dry and rocky Mediterranean landscape, with the blue-green sea daubing the horizon in the distance. Remarkably absent are any of the sweet citrus notes that so many “Mediterranean” fragrances lean on so heavily. Instead, Un Jardin en Mediterranée reveals a soft, pulpy fig and woods accord that completes its Mediterranean landscape. Comparison with Olivia Giacobetti’s Philosykos is inevitable, and the Hermès is a drier, sparer, and more aromatic scent. Giacobetti emphasizes the milky aspect of the fig and the sap in its branches, while Jean Claude Ellena presents the bark and sun-drenched leaves of the fig tree.

    Un Jardin en Mediterranee is linear once it establishes it’s fig, woods, and aromatic accord. As with many such light, airy scents it wears close to the skin, and I imagine you’d have to apply a lot of it to build up much sillage or projection.

    06 July, 2014

    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Un Jardin Après La Mousson by Hermès

    Genre: Chypre

    I know I’m swimming against the tide here, but I’m losing patience with Jean-Claude Elléna’s minimalist dogma. Minimalism in art is refreshing when it first appears, but it wears thin very quickly. I think back to minimalist music: the first few pieces by Riley, Reich and Glass that I heard were seductive, novel, and hypnotic. But there’s only so much you can do with two chords and a chug-chug pulse, and before the 1980s were out it all sounded the same to me.

    I’m reaching the same point with Elléna’s "Jardin" and Hermèssence scents for Hermès. While his colleague Bertrand Duchaufour has shown he can do depth, richness, and complexity with fragrances like Méchant Loup and Jubilation XXV, Emperor Elléna’s compositions become ever more slender, and I fear that he’s now getting very close to naked. Un Jardin Après la Mousson is a case in point.

    This latest “Jardin” series entry starts out as a shockingly trite aquatic melon thing. In fact, the dominant top note smells exactly like nasty pink watermelon hard candy – you know, the kind that comes wrapped in watermelon pattern cellophane. An attempt at redemptive sophistication comes quickly in the form of a bitter-crisp pink peppercorn note. I thought pink peppercorn was interesting when it showed up a couple of years ago in the top notes of Amouage’s Reflection Man, but everybody’s doing it now, and it’s frankly beginning to get old. A few more minutes into its evolution Un Jardin Après la Mousson reveals a potent and aggressively synthetic sharp woody note. And in true recent Elléna fashion, that’s it.

    I waited a few hours for something else to happen, but it didn’t. The accord that Un Jardin Après la Mousson scent arrives at would make a nice shower gel, but the thought of spending $60 on a bottle to smell like this makes me giggle. Un Jardin Après la Mousson is both simple and very loud; a combination of attributes which in humans I equate with idiocy. As a final insult, the synthetics at its core are extremely persistent, and I found the stuff very hard to wash off once I’d grown (very, very) tired of it.

    Sometimes less really is just, well, less.

    06 July, 2014

    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Un Bois Vanille by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    Genre: Woody Oriental

    More bois than vanille to my nose, and unlike some other reviewers, I find this a tad less syrupy sweet than some of the other Sheldrake/Lutens concoctions. Vanilla dominates in the top notes but soon integrates into a mélange of very rich, heavy woods, spiced with a bit of anise. I’m reminded of Feminite du Bois, but Un Bois Vanille is chunkier and less lithe than its older sister, even though it’s also less complex. Not entirely unpalatable, but not all that exciting either.

    06 July, 2014

    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Un Bois de Sépia by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    Genre: Woody Oriental

    The violet blossom and wood top notes put me briefly in mind of a sweetened and superannuated Grey Flannel, though minus the fresh citrus accent of dihydromyrcenol. If you’re thinking violet + wood + Serge Lutens = Bois de Violette Mark II, you’d be wrong. For better or worse, Un Bois de Sépia has little of its sibling’s weight, depth, or opacity. Nor, I fear, does it have much character. In fact, I’d go as far as to say Un Bois de Sépia the mildest and most reticent fragrance I’ve encountered in the Serge Lutens “Bois” series. By the (admittedly flamboyant) standards of this house, Un Bois de Sépia smells downright bland.

    The cedar underpinnings common to the “Bois” tribe are apparent in Un Bois de Sépia, but the aggressive spices, conspicuous dried fruit notes, and traces of smoky incense that lend its kin their fetching exoticism are conspicuously absent. All I sense in their place are a dab of coumarin and a milky-textured sweetened wood accord that approximates sandalwood. If the intent was to compose a woody perfume that could offend nobody, then Un Bois de Sépia might rank as a success. On the other hand, it could come in a box labeled “Generic Woody Oriental” and none would be the wiser. In the Serge Lutens line, this kind of anonymity is both anomalous and disappointing.

    06 July, 2014

    drseid's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Innocente Fragilité by Chabaud Maison de Parfum

    Innocente Fragilite opens with with a slightly sweet mild orange blossom and jasmine white floral tandem before transitioning to its early heart. As the composition enters its heart the jasmine takes the fore with the orange blossom remaining in support adding hints of gardenia to the mix as clean white musk rising from the base adds a detergent-like breezy undertone. During the late dry-down the white florals near completely vacate the composition as the clean fresh synthetic white musk turns ever so slightly powdery through the finish. Projection is minimal and longevity well below average at about 4 hours on skin.

    Innocente Fragilite is quite pleasant smelling and easy to wear. It takes the jasmine and orange blossom florals and uses the synthetic white musk to thin them out and freshen the overall effect, making the composition extremely versatile. As the presentation is so light and airy while keeping projection to a minimum, it seems well-suited to situations where one might not want to wear something so heavy -- possibly office wear when working in close quarters, for example. The only issues I have with the largely successful composition are its relative brevity and its liberal use of synthetic white musk in the base that comes off smelling a bit too similar to laundry detergent at times when coupled with the mild white florals. Still all-in-all Innocente Fragilite seems a good option for those who enjoy white florals but need to tone down the volume more than a bit. The bottom line is Innocente Fragilite provides a nice safe versatile white floral composition that despite its relatively poor longevity and synthetic nature still shines, earning a "good" to "very good" 3 to 3.5 stars out of 5 rating and a recommendation to white floral lovers who want to play it a bit safe while still smelling good.

    06 July, 2014

    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Un Air d'Habanita by Molinard

    Genre: Citrus

    This sniveling little runt of a green citrus fragrance bears not the slightest resemblance to the august Habanita. A little bit of lemon-lime, a little bit of green jasmine, and a light, fleeting vetiver base note are all there is to this. You may safely ignore it.

    06 July, 2014

    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Ubar Woman by Amouage

    Genre: Floral

    Ubar is an animalic floral scent with incense, built on the same titanic scale and in the same ornate style as Amouage’s original Gold and Gold Men. In fact, it explores territory so similar to its older siblings that I at first wondered if it was really necessary. Ubar resembles Gold (either one) most in its opening, with indolic floral notes, frankincense, and civet all present and accounted for. A few minutes on, and Ubar begins along its own path, with cooler, fresher jasmine and bergamot notes, a sandalwood so creamy it evokes coconut (you can find something like this in Frederic Malle’s Carnal Flower, too), and a deliciously smoky vanilla. It has less of Gold’s honey and spices, and the frankincense note remains farther in the background, ceding the stage more completely to the white flowers.

    What I think distinguishes Ubar most though, is a powerful green muguet accord. This crisp, cheerful spring flower lends Ubar a certain buoyancy and brightness not found in Gold, Lyric, or indeed any other of the Amouage floral scents. While it may be named for a lost Arabian city, Ubar is, along with Ciel and the two Reflection scents, among the least desert-bound of the house’s offerings.

    I have no problem detecting Ubar at a distance, and it seems to linger forever on the skin. I suppose it may be less potent than Gold, but given Gold’s atomic power, I find Ubar’s projection more than adequate. Considering Amouage’s big floral scents, I’d probably go with either Gold or Ubar, not both, especially given the cost. While the two are certainly distinct, they could easily occupy a similar position in the wardrobe. And really, how often do you have occasion to wear something this big and opulent?

    06 July, 2014

    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Twill Rose by Les Parfums de Rosine

    Genre: Leather

    I’m with PigeonMurderer on this one: what I get is mostly a powdery green rose with some spices and a touch of cedar wood in the base, and not the rose and animalic leather accord I had expected. The green rose at Twill Rose’s heart is OK, but I don’t think it the equal of Diptyque’s L’Ombre dans l’Eau. Twill Rose doesn’t project much for me, and it’s also highly ephemeral, which is to say, gone within an hour. Something of a disappointment, I’m afraid.

    06 July, 2014

    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Tuscany / Etruscan by Aramis

    Genre: Fougère

    I wore this scent as a kid, and it still brings back fond memories. When it was new Tuscany's cheerful spiced citrus fougère accord made a pleasant alternative to the curl-your-nose-hairs power scents that were its contemporaries. It was substantial, but never overpowering, with a happy expression and a jaunty gait. It's still a quality scent, and smelling it now points up just how dreadful are the aquatic eunuchs that the kids wear these days. Why they still make something this good in today's market is beyond me - maybe they've just forgotten to discontinue it.

    06 July, 2014

    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Tuscan Leather by Tom Ford

    Genre: Leather

    The purist’s leather: a rich, smoky, birch tar-laden leather accord unencumbered by much of anything else. Critics might complain that this is more of a perfumer’s “base” than a true fragrance, but if you want unadulterated leather, this is it. Linear for a couple of hours before it fades into a dry woody amber.

    Forget the jasmine, frankincense, herbs, and saffron in the pyramid. It’s about the leather, so if you think the iris and civet in Chanel Cuir de Russie, the fruit, moss, and spices in Knize Ten, and the oudh in Oud Cuir d’Arabie are all distractions, this may be your leather scent. If any of these others are your leather ideal, you might find Tuscan Leather incomplete. But I can’t deny that it smells good!

    06 July, 2014

    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Tubérose Indiana by Creed

    Genre: Floral

    So where’s the tuberose?

    Tuberose Indiana opens pretty tame for a tuberose fragrance. Citrus and crisp fruity notes blunt the power of whatever tuberose there is in here. This is very “safe” and agreeable as tuberose fragrances go. It's not challenging, but then it’s not really tuberose, either. Rose, yes, but hasn't anybody told the folks at Creed that that's a different flower? Very short lived, too - two hours or less.

    06 July, 2014

    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Tubéreuse by Maître Parfumeur et Gantier

    Genre: Floral

    Maître Parfumeur et Gantier’s straightforward soliflore takes its place beside Carnal Flower and Tubéreuse Criminelle as one of the more gratifying tuberose interpretations I’ve encountered. Carnal Flower may play up the green side of tuberose, and Tubérose Criminelle may exploit the flower’s peculiar camphoraceous aspect, but Tubéreuse emphasizes the blossom’s creamy, buttery qualities. Indeed, the unctuous olfactory texture of heated butter is so intense in this scent that I’m reminded at times of buttered popcorn. Tuberose is the unchallenged star player here, and anything else the formula may contain is strictly relegated to supporting/bit part status.

    I’ve yet to encounter a shy tuberose scent, and Tubéreuse does nothing to buck the trend. It’s potent, it projects a great distance, and it lasts for several hours without much diminution. Tubéreuse grows noticeably sweeter over time, reflecting the increasing influence of a sweet amber base note that underpins the central floral construct. The sweet amber drydown smells disappointingly bland, but the floral opulence that comes before lasts long enough to make up for a less than perfectly graceful exit. If you’re after tuberose without gimmicks, extra challenges, or complications, this may be for you.

    06 July, 2014

    alfarom's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Geranium Odorata by Diptyque

    The news of a geranium-centered fragrance by Diptyque got me all warm and fuzzy but, with much of my surprise, the house didn't nail it…at least not completely.

    Yes, I smell a nice geranium note. More of the aromatic quality than the rosy one (phew!). Sadly, the main accord is supported by a white-musky thing that immediately brings to mind of house detergents or, if you prefer, of generic, late 90s department store stuff.

    Ok, I made it sound worst than it actually is. Let's put it this way. This is a little pretty thing of pretty little interest.

    06 July, 2014

    jaguaroadster's avatar

    France France

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Tome I - La Pureté for Him by Zadig & Voltaire

    Zadig & Voltaire is the new fashionable marky name for "the every Parisian people" which respects itself. A rock'n'roll brand for rebels wannabies.
    So, I was curious to give a nose to their new masculine juice called "Tome I, La Pureté for him" : It smells not bad but here we just have another boring "clean" fragrance to be classified among Gendarme and Dlish products.
    Casual, inoffensive, smells just like white linen out of the washing machine.
    I'm a bit disappointed 'cause I was expecting something more eccentric and charismatic from Zadig & Voltaire.

    06 July, 2014

    cerjr's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Cologne by Etat Libre d'Orange

    This opens a lot like Eau Sauvage, but dries to something less dirty, more floral with the jasmine. While it does not compare to ES, it is quite nice when you want a little more niceness in your day. I was curious when Etat's advertising campaign only said "A Nice Scent" when they are clearly known for being much more verbose....but now wearing this I get it.

    Thumbs up for sure. Wish it lasted a bit longer, but it doesn't disappear in less than four hours, so I say, "well done."

    06 July, 2014

    Colin Maillard's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Rosam by Histoires de Parfums

    Now that I tested Rosam and completed my journey into this "trilogy" by Histoires de Parfums, I must say overall I quite liked Ghislain here. Petroleum, Ambrarem and now Rosam are three good scents, each with its own personality, but connected by a clear and consistent stylistic "fil rouge", which I would sum up into a sort of "post-modern", mostly tending to "dark" also, revisiting of classic themes. Rosam opens with a captivating and fascinating rose-oud accord, which smells quite unique, in a sort of industrial-mystical, austere and dry-to-the-bone way, restrained, sharp but silky and captivating, rounded by artificial means but without smelling "fake" or plastic. There is a really peculiar ghastly transparency, heavy like concrete but at the same time, breezy like a winter day. The rose notes are processed in a very interesting way, they are not "predictably" rich or dense as they often tend to be, but rather "plain" and dry in a creative way: this scent makes me think of its accords as thin, linear, white-grey fogbanks one gently floating on another, refreshed only by some delicate hints of citrus, amber and spices. Still, they manage to smell vibrant and "alive" in their own way. With my references to "post-modernism" I am not implying this is some avant-garde or minimalistic scent - it partially is (minimalistic), but it has also a prominent "mystical" and Oriental feel all over, so don't think of anything to "abstract" or synthetic. The evolution is close to zero, and fairly long-lasting. I must also note that it's not exactly a "pleasant" scent to wear, it's intellectually interesting but frankly, as a scent itself, a bit too much linear and austere – to the point it almost becomes boring after some hours. Nonetheless it's a really interesting work.

    7,5/10

    06 July, 2014

    Colin Maillard's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    D&G Le Fou 21 by Dolce & Gabbana

    Quality-wise and creativity-wise, another equivalent of a generic bath soap in a perfume bottle. Keywords: green-floral, fresh-zesty, metallic, citrus head notes, resinous-herbal-caramelised and slightly nutty-roasted base notes. Artificial, clean, not tragic, pleasantly dull.

    5/10

    06 July, 2014

    farang's avatar

    Thailand Thailand

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Stephen Jones by Stephen Jones

    I don't like the smell of it. To me SJ smells synthetic-soapy-fruity. I am fully aware that most 'natural' smelling fragrances nowadays are made from synthetics, but this one doesn't try to hide the synthetic smell, and with an initial blast of aldehydes it becomes too much and nauseating for me.

    06 July, 2014

    Darvant's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    L'Intrigante by D'Orsay

    The first D'Orsay L'Intrigante welcome is a graceful aldehydic rose/musk/neroli embrace with a more than subtle spicy (pepper/cinnamon) delicious caress. A common foundation of musk, aldehydes, pepper, rose, neroli, vanilla, woods, patchouli, aromatic patterns, ambergris, sharp floral notes and further...conjures me more than vaguely a Giulietta Capuleti Soul Drops' radiant powdery fruity rosey vibe but while SD appears by soon more intense in a fruity floral way (blue berries, violet, neroli) L'Intrigante (despite a stout intense neroli-orange blossoms presence) performs in to a more suave and ethereal rosey (languid) way. The dry down is balmy/floral, ostensibly peachy, powdery and musky with a subtle spicy-orangy and still rosey undertone. Perfect the Colin Maillard's definition "a decently crafted bijoux" and "bit of a bath-soapy poudre scent". Delicious but un-original. No more to add.

    06 July, 2014

    Francolino's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Silver Shadow Altitude by Davidoff

    juniper and pepper..than a weird aquatic with extra low duration...wonderful bottle and concept...mediocre execution!

    06 July, 2014

    alfarom's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Kashnoir by Laboratorio Olfattivo

    Disclaimer: If you don't like coriander, you should probably stay away from this fragrance.

    Kashnoir opens with a super classic citrus / bergamot / vanilla combo that immediately brings to mind of huge classics of the past. The fragrance is immediately joined by an hyper-green coriander note while a thick and powerful woody patch base starts lurking in the back. Kashnoir evolves from the sparkling opening to a darker oriental drydown in which vanilla, patch and resins are joined by smooth powdery facets while, slightly indolic white florals provide an old-fashioned vibe throughout.

    The overall effect is indeed pretty narcotic and heady. Bombastic, extremely long lasting and even slightly challenging. Probably not exactly my kind of fragrance yet very interesting nonetheless.

    06 July, 2014

    alfarom's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Salina by Laboratorio Olfattivo

    Aqua Di Sale 2.0. As invasive and bad as only this genre can get.

    Sorry!

    06 July, 2014

    badboyzinc's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Versace Man Eau Fraîche by Versace

    This stuff smells great. I love it for a summer fragrance definitely get the lemon beachy smell of it although my nose is not fine tuned to pick out all of the notes. This is by far my favorite Versace fragrance.

    06 July, 2014

    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Dior Homme Eau for Men by Christian Dior

    Genre: Floral

    Maître Parfumeur et Gantier released Iris Bleu Gris in 1988, and Divine introduced the iris-based L’Homme de Coeur in 2002, yet Dior Homme was still considered something of a breakthrough when it appeared in 2005: the first mainstream designer iris scent marketed to men. I’ve always wanted to like Dior Homme more than I do, but it’s never won the place in my heart that its two great predecessors occupy. It’s not a matter of niche snobbery, but rather a particular potent, chemical-smelling fruit note that ruins Dior Homme for me every time I sample it. When I received a sample of Dior Homme Eau, I was hopeful that Dior might have seen fit to tone down the artificial fruit, and give me a flanker that I could love. Alas, it was not to be. The cloying fruit note is still there, and I still don’t like it.

    Happily, the iris is still there too, and Dior Homme Eau is not just a lighter and more ephemeral version of the original. On the debit side, Dior Homme Eau trades in the original’s plush, leathery drydown for blatantly artificial woody base notes, so it winds up feeling cheaper and less comfortable as it wears. I’ll be sticking to Iris Bleu Gris, L’Homme de Coeur, or Heeley’s outstanding Iris de Nuit when I want my iris fix.

    06 July, 2014

    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Tubéreuse Criminelle by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    Genre: Floral

    The opening so often described as "gasoline" or "rubber" seems to me a strong dose of eucalyptus, wintergreen, camphor, or menthol. It's cool, sharp, and bracing, like a good slap in the face with a frosty mitten. Pairing these sinus-clearing top notes with the voluptuous sweetness of tuberose is a stroke of genius - perhaps even the cleverest thing Sheldrake has done.

    On its own or in combination with other white flowers, tuberose can be positively oppressive. Cut it with clear camphor, and it's outright refreshing. Unisex, too, as far as I'm concerned. Tubéreuse Criminelle wears closer to the skin than some other tuberose scents, with moderate sillage and projection. It lasts a solid six hours on my skin, with a creamy vanillic drydown. The persistent cool menthol notes make this the first tuberose scent I turn to in hot weather.

    Tubéreuse Criminelle is not the same kind of room-filling diva as Fracas, nor does it share the soft, unearthly luminosity of Carnal Flower. It is very much its own animal. It's surely not for everyone, and it probably takes some nerve to wear, but if you can get into its peculiar groove the rewards are rich.

    06 July, 2014

    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Tsar by Van Cleef & Arpels

    Genre: Fougère

    Tsar opens on a very appealing, naturalistic bergamot top note before shifting into a drier aromatic blend of lavender, juniper, carnation, and leatehr over a smoky moss and tobacco foundation. The whole thing breathes the same air of “old world quality” as Creed’s “Vintage” Tabarôme, Guerlain’s Derby, or Nicolaï’s Baladin.

    While its mossy-aromatic core reflects the 1980s “powerhouse” style, and while it offers plenty of sillage, Tsar is more understated than the bulk of its contemporaries. As a result it is not so much retro as nostalgic in mood when worn today. Tsar dries down to a classical fougère base note structure that happily avoids the overpowering and cheap-smelling aromachemicals that mar the last stages of so many recent genre entries. Tsar is not contemporary in style by any means, but it is still highly civilized and remains a pleasure to wear.

    06 July, 2014

    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Truth Calvin Klein by Calvin Klein

    Genre: Woody Oriental

    Few scents from Calvin Klein appeal to me, but Truth is more interesting and pleasant than most. It also smells very, very familiar to start with, but I can’t place it. Herbaceous green and citrus top notes smell so much like something I know. What? What???? Wait, I know! The top notes are Annick Goutal’s Le Chèvrefeuille. In fact, Truth’s opening gambit echoes the signature Goutal citrus and green floral motif that appears in varied form in Folavril, Eau du Sud, and Eau de Ciel, as well as Le Chèvrefeuille.

    Truth sweetens and becomes more opaque over time, as powdery amber, vanilla, and discreet woody notes establish a relatively lightweight oriental motif beneath the green floral accord. Properly engineered, this gambit of juxtaposing two apparently incompatible olfactory constructs can establish exceptional vibrancy and sustained interest in a fragrance. Angel, Tubéreuse Criminelle, Aramis, Sublime, and Yohji Homme all work their own variation on this trick with great success. Scents that get the balance wrong wind up as train wrecks – Montale’s Aoud Ambre comes to mind. Truth manages quite well, maintaining a highly charged, yet ideally poised balance between its bitter, herbaceous green floral and sweet woody oriental components. There are times when Truth can smell a bit chemical, but it is never boring.

    While by no means a shy or ephemeral scent, Truth is tactfully modest in its power and projection. Carefully balanced potency works very much to Truth’s advantage, as a more aggressive stance would risk emphasize the somewhat chemical quality of its green floral accord. As executed, Truth is clever, engaging, and good company all around. It also strikes me as no less gender-neutral than Calvin Klein’s determinedly unisex CK One.

    06 July, 2014

    Showing 601 to 630 of 705.