Latest Fragrance Reviews, Updated Daily

    Showing 121 to 150 of 546.
    Foustie's avatar
    Foustie
    Scotland Scotland

    Show all reviews

    rating


    White Fire by Tiziana Terenzi

    White Fire came as a surprise to me, and what a lovely surprise it is. White Fire is not a hot fragrance, on the contrary, it is a cold one. An icy, steely, airy, fragrance. White Fire is actually a White Floral. So cool that it will make you feel that you are breathing in fragranced oxygen. Smell it on paper and it will make you feel that your nose is cold!

    Take a traditional white floral, take away the density, strip away most of the indoles and anything else that you don't need or want, open it up, expose it to the air, and chill it, and what you will have left is White Fire.

    White Fire opens with a lovely bergamot, then very quickly a cool green jasmine, (only a little indolic), and some dry, airy and cool synthetic woody notes already coming through. The heart is white floral. The listed notes include "Chinese Jasmine", which as far as I am aware is common star jasmine. The jasmine note in this fragrance is not heady or heavy, it is very fresh, like garden jasmine on a cool evening breeze. In fact most of the time the dominant accord in the heart of this fragrance doesn't suggest jasmine to me, it suggests lilac. Lilac with jasmine and perhaps a little orange flower and maybe even lily. All the cool aspects of these flowers. It is a lean fragrance, white, silvery, incandescent. There is a little gentle soapiness at one point, it's slight, but it's there. I like it. In time the floral heart recedes and a woody musk which retains a little of the floral notes, settles onto the skin. It's an easy drydown, the least interesting part of the fragrance to me.

    A word, just in case you think that any of this suggests that this fragrance is "pretty". It's not pretty in my view. It is too cold for that. It's beautiful, and striking, not pretty.

    White Fire is crisp, clear, crystalline, lean, a little magical. Suitable for both the Ice Queen and Jack Frost.

    08 April, 2014

    Colin Maillard's avatar
    Colin Maillard
    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Fumerie Turque by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    Another Lutens fragrance whose name perfectly fits the scent – making reviews almost useless, at least regarding "how it smells". A great, round, uplifting spicy-herbal-tobacco accord on solid aromatic woods, surrounded by a roasting blend of honey and, as OdilonRedon perfectly suggests below, "caramelized amber" on delicate, but still dry patchouli on leather. Polar opposites melt, balsamic heights and gloomy bitter earthy shadows just become one. Superbly completed by echoes of pungent fruits – more dried than you may think – on smoky flower petals. Slowly ending in a powdery, nocturnal, everlasting drydown. Highly evocative, perfectly executed, surprisingly pleasant and easy to wear.

    8/10

    08 April, 2014

    Colin Maillard's avatar
    Colin Maillard
    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Vétiver Extraordinaire by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

    The less extraordinary thing you may think of. Iso E, hediones and ionones, a synthetic inflatable costume in which Ropion dropped a microscopic drip of that "vetiver oil" they ridicolously claim having used "large amounts" of. And basically here's again that same nauseating plastic smell of wet paint of all these grotesque "new vetivers". If you like vetiver do yourself a favour and grab a Guerlain's. Outrageously priced.

    P.S.: I am not sure about that, but chances are I smelled a recent reformulation.

    4/10

    08 April, 2014

    Colin Maillard's avatar
    Colin Maillard
    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Jicky by Guerlain

    A perfect, timeless blend of herbal notes with a darker slightly animalic soul on a soothing, cozy powdery vanillin bed. Basically the ultimate cathedral of fougères. It's useless for me to list all the notes you smell as - like for many well-crafted scents that use good ingredients and a good composition - they are all there, you can smell them apart one by one. And still the result is a harmonic, perfect, superb, unique symphony. Neatly composed like a good handmade seven-folds tie, which stands perfectly plain and compact down your neck but you can easily feel all the folds just rubbing it between your fingers.

    9/10

    08 April, 2014

    deadidol's avatar
    deadidol


    Show all reviews

    rating


    Vraie Blonde by Etat Libre d'Orange

    A sinister, incongruous formation that comes off as faux-trashy. It’s an unnerving mix of sickly aldehydes with a distinctly horrifying accord peeking through. The accord in question appears to be a combination of rose, myrrh, and peppered peach that places bitter, slightly herbal notes up against something plastic, subtly gourmand, and highly nauseating. The scenario of olfactory equivalence: a trashy off-strip Las Vegas-style lounge show, mid-afternoon, avec screaming hangover. Your table is simultaneously sticky and wet, and the smell of partially digested food fills the air. There’s the possibility of fresh vomit close by, but its location isn’t clear. That's the headspace this conjures for me.

    After a short while, the notes simmer down and you’re left with a peculiarly hollow syrupy scent—as though a key, unifying ingredient was removed. It’s somewhere between waxy candy, culinary spices, 99c store chocolate, and hairspray at this point, merged with the scent of condiment-encrusted vinyl. There’s a hint of a synthetic white musk at work as well—just enough to imply a nails-on-chalkboard kind of shrillness—but not enough to truly announce itself as such. It’s here that it threatens to go full-on celebrity scent, but teeters on the edge, clinging instead to its aldehydic strangeness.

    I really do love the irreverence of this line, but Vraie Blonde is powerfully disgusting.

    08 April, 2014

    Darvant's avatar
    Darvant
    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Bel Respiro by Chanel

    Bel Respiro is by soon a concert of musky freshness, floral nuances and sharp botanical sophistication. The first touch on the skin conjures me immediately (in a brighter and more complex way) a nice disappeared and diaphanous pearl of the past, namely the missed Mila Schon Uomo Original. The tea presence provides an aqueous and fluidy consistency and a "chamomille/mimosa" type of undertone. Yes, I detect the N. 19's general green/musky "ambience" but while 19 is sinister, mossier, shadowy and "muffled" Bel Respiro appears on skin for long sparkling, breezy and joyful (and more urban, balmy and "treated" in the final outcome). The floral patterns are intense and "lily/jasmine type" in final feel (the hyacinth is absolutely dominant in my opinion). The dry down is smoother due to a balsams faint soothing operation while the angular sharpness slightly recedes (but not the floral intensity). A leathery vein appears at distance providing a precious suede undertone for the smoother floral muskiness. The overall effect is still sensual, fresh, with an elegant/classy vegetal variegated subtleness but also a plain smooth suede final tail. In this phase I detect some conjurations about Allure but in a more "clever" and balanced way. The final touch of leather is the distinguished element of an otherwise (for long) pleasant but un-original olfactory performance. A good fragrance though never groundbreaking or properly innovative.

    07 April, 2014

    Francop's avatar
    Francop
    Spain Spain

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Krizia Uomo by Krizia

    Gorgeous green lemony piney juice which keeps itself green, happy and cheerful for a very long time. The drydown is mossy musk with the happy factor also present.

    A happy fougere to lift your spirits at any time of the day!

    Thumbs up!

    07 April, 2014

    Francop's avatar
    Francop
    Spain Spain

    Show all reviews

    rating


    GFF Uomo by Gianfranco Ferré

    A dusty rose mingled with lily of the valley, vetiver, carnation and herbs with solid staying power; initially it might feel a bit dissonant but after a few wearings I have fallen in love with it.

    Gorgeous classy retro italian bottle that you will also fall in love with.

    The overall feel is masculine from the 90`s very much to my liking.

    Thumbs up!

    07 April, 2014

    Francop's avatar
    Francop
    Spain Spain

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Esencia de Loewe Sport by Loewe

    Refined and masculine with good staying power.

    There is enough mandarin and pepper in the heart and amber and musk in the drydown to convince you that your purchase has been worth every penny.

    The bottle and golden cap are classy and elegant too...

    Thumbs up!

    07 April, 2014

    Kaern's avatar
    Kaern
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Eau de Cartier : Zeste de Soleil by Cartier

    The best of the flankers imo and great fun to wear.

    A razor whip slash opening of passion fruit, yuzu and sharpened grapefruiit puts you straight into mid July.

    Lasts a good while on me -- easy 7 hours -- has an oddly sweetened 'green' drydown rather than the normal woody version.

    Great value and highly recommended

    07 April, 2014

    Kaern's avatar
    Kaern
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Enigma Pour Homme by Roja Dove

    This is for the EDP which is over £100 cheaper than the 'parfum' version. Firstly, the top notes make me sneeze and the spray is more like a mist -- I need to give it a double coat.

    For me this is all about the base, which is a glorious mix of peppers, spice and a sort of boozy tobacco and tonka blend. I don't get much heliotrope at all -- this is no almond cognac.

    It is slightly old-fashioned - in a good way though.

    A wonderful wear and worth every penny

    07 April, 2014

    foetidus's avatar
    foetidus
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Bamboo Harmony by By Kilian

    I’m a fan of green fragrances – especially the ones like this one which attempt to closely represent the green of nature. As one might expect from the name, “Bamboo Harmony” presents a green identity, and it’s a unique one. I find it interesting because it neither tries for the sharp green of plant sap and tomato leaves; nor does it attempt the creamy green that is quite often presented as in, for example, the use of fig leaf. The green here is rich and full and complex, not sharp… not creamy. Bamboo Harmony primarily presents the richer green of maté and a diminutive, cream-reduced fig leaf enriched by a slightly spiced soft tea note. Another part of the richness is the sweet, floral, powdery green of mimosa. And there is also a refined oakmoss that further expands the green spectrum. I love this green and, better still, Bamboo Harmony comes across as linear and it keeps that rich green for longer than I thought possible… I would guess that weak, screechy green is easy to make long lasting because there is so many fragrances that have them. Apparently a long-lasting rich green is not easy - I met so few of them. I think it's the maté that makes this such an excellent green. Bamboo Harmony manages a decent projection and an acceptably long life on my dry skin… quite an accomplishment.

    07 April, 2014

    foetidus's avatar
    foetidus
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Feuille de Reglisse by 06130 Zéro Six Cent-Trente


    Interesting opening – floral but it’s a floral that exhibits more breadth and depth than is usual. The muguet seems to provide the breadth, and the depth is provided by the heliotrope and orange blossom. An important reason for the feeling of depth, I think, is that the cedar, ginger, and nutmeg of the heart notes are oils, and even provide an oily tinge to the opening. I usually get a sort of distant, airy feeling in good-quality oils. The opening, because of its floral nature, lasts for a respectable length of time. It’s not a feminine floral accord – definitely unisex. The middle wood and spices take over from the florals and they provide a blunted, indistinct feeling, again because of the combination of oil joining with cistus from the base. The cistus provides an understated resinousness to the heart and base of Feuille de Réglisse. The base is actually quite impotent except for its resinousness because its cistus and musk simply do not provide very much solidity. It turns a bit powdery toward the end.

    I don’t understand the reference to “Réglisse” because I don’t smell any licorice in this fragrance. Okay, okay. I’ll admit that I think that I smell a tiny bit of anise in the opening for a few seconds – that could be a licorice leaf reference. In spite of its name, I would not consider this a gourmand. I find it a fresh floral with an undertone of resinous cistus. It’s actually pretty subtle and quite a good fragrance – just not very interesting…

    07 April, 2014

    foetidus's avatar
    foetidus
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Scaasi by Scaasi


    I don’t think Scaasi by Scaasi EDP has improved with age since its conception in 1989 – either that or I have a bad factory sample. It’s a floral that is introduced with citrus, and ending with a drydown of musk and vanilla. The florals are not very flowery, the citrus is not very citric, and the musk and vanilla do not smell to me like a drydown of musk and vanilla. What I get is a boring texture of all the forenamed notes that is quite mundane except for being a little off. To be honest, I strongly suspect that my sample has turned, but I haven’t smelled anything in it that makes me want to find out for sure. What I am smelling is not at all noteworthy.

    07 April, 2014

    foetidus's avatar
    foetidus
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Kinski by Escentric Molecules


    Synthetic, animalic, complex, and unique. Kinski opens with a synthetic-castoreum / conifer (juniper) / and pink pepper accord, that very quickly picks up the prominent sharp, green cannabis-like note. The strong, resinous cannabis note, contributes an awful lot to the fragrance – I find it especially enjoyable, especially since it pretty much stays on for the total run of Kinski. A+ for the opening, which holds on my skin for a forty-five minutes to an hour… during which time it gradually morphs into a significant floral tone, backed up by a softer but still resinous cannabis.

    With the heart accord, the fragrance has become a mixed floral with maybe the magnolia and orange blossom dominating. I can’t separate out the rose or orchid, and the accord of florals and backgrounding cannabis is highly enjoyable. The middle has a longer life-span than the opening accord, and I find it enjoyable and quite lasting.

    The base is wood-dominant while it is in silage-producing form – I get mainly cedar, vetiver, and patchouli (and that bit of the cannabis). I pick up some of the amber and/or benzoin, but none of the labdanum or oakmoss. It’s a pleasant projection – definitely less unique and a bit weaker than the accords that preceded it in the opening and heart. It has quite good lasting performance just as the opening and heart had. This silage aspect of the base has good longevity, then it eventually changes to an almost smoky, sensual skin scent which bookends the animalic texture that was present in the opening, and lasts into tomorrow. This is a truly interesting fragrance… for the most part it might even be called blunt and aggressive, but I find it sophisticatedly so: I appreciate its directness and openness and I even find it rather elegant in its honesty.

    07 April, 2014

    foetidus's avatar
    foetidus
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Oud Ispahan by Christian Dior


    Ispahan is an excellently balanced and presented oud / rose fragrance. It performs brilliantly on the skin. Its materials are top quality. It is beautiful.

    As a rose / oud fragrance, Ispahan is also regrettably distant from uniqueness, but perhaps its undeniable quality is enough: If I wanted a quality oud / rose fragrance (which I do not), of the dozen or so that I’ve reviewed, this would be the one I would buy because it’s the safest decision. This one can’t be wrong if one is looking for an oud / rose fragrance... but that doesn't necessarily make Ispahan right.

    07 April, 2014

    Colin Maillard's avatar
    Colin Maillard
    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Ambre Premier by Jovoy

    Sweet, fresh, clean and pleasant amber opening with a sprinkle of refreshing citruses – my first thought was: nice, kudos for the attempt of making a "spring-summer" amber. Vanillin-rose base with powdery cocoa accents - the sweet side of patchouli, enhanced by vanillin. Spicy echoes. Close projection. And... I don't know, something "wrong", some plain clean synthetic feel I don't get and I don't like. Smells like the dull and untalented sister of Ambre Precieux. It is safe and wearable at also fairly pleasant, but still it does not smell right to me. Really short persistency, I could barely write my review and it's gone already (got Ambre Fetiche on my other wrist and still there burning and flaming!). Overall a bit better than other Jovoy's, but still I am afraid another "meh..." to me for this house.

    6/10

    06 April, 2014 (Last Edited: 12 April, 2014)

    Colin Maillard's avatar
    Colin Maillard
    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Les Jeux sont Faits by Jovoy

    Jovoy never "got" me much, meaning that I am usually not a fan of their scents - they're not bad, they're kind of good, kind of "meh!". However this is the best I have tried so far, so there's still a hope. Dark and bitter like a rum-stained wet ashtray, you can easily spot all the "bolder" notes (cumin, tobacco, labdanum, patchouli, the alcoholic accord), which are well balanced and work together like a well-oiled engine. The accord is exactly how you may imagine it. The dried fruits base is there as well, an echo of bittersweet dead fruits and petals, bit far but still clear. As minutes pass also the gin note emerges, while the overall blend becomes more and more balsamic opening up to a more uplifting ambiance. Fairly gloomy, organic and nocturnal. Still some "meh..." at some point, but that's me acting picky - it's quite a good fragrance.

    7,5/10

    06 April, 2014

    drseid's avatar
    drseid
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Hydrogen [1H] by Nu_Be

    Hydrogen opens with an ozonic aldehyde-laced boozy orange resembling Cointreau liqueur. As the composition enters its early heart the boozy facets disappear with the orange developing into a moderately sweet mandarin and melon starring tandem with an underlying fine powdery sheen. During the late dry-down the mandarin and melon combo dissipates, revealing a prominent vague woody base, supported by just a touch of powdery oakmoss. Projection is below average and longevity is very good at 8-10 hours on skin.

    Hydrogen opens nicely with its very fine approximation of Cointreau liqueur, but that is really the highlight of its development. The mandarin and melon tandem that dominates most of the mid-section is slightly cloying, resembling a syrupy orange cough medicine. While the vague woody base notes actually smell pretty good, there is absolutely nothing distinguishing them from many other far less expensive compositions, and the powdery oakmoss is used so sparingly that it is barely noticeable. The bottom line is the $150 per 100ml bottle Hydrogen by Antoine Lie is a competent composition, but nothing distinguishes it from many others for a lot less money earning it an "average" rating of 2.5 stars out of 5 outright, and an "avoid" when you take its relatively poor value into account.

    06 April, 2014

    deadidol's avatar
    deadidol


    Show all reviews

    rating


    Nahéma by Guerlain

    This was mainly a nutty, creamy sandalwood with traces of waxy honey and some low-level animalic facets. There’s a green, stemmy note that slides in later—a subtly bitter kind of thing—but aside from that and a splash of peach aldehyde and ionones, there’s not much going on with this. Quite balsamic and polite, but lacks any real adventure. It’s a solid enough fragrance, but feels anachronistic as, for me, it conjures up the impression of a bustling 1970s fragrance counter with lots of bad fashion and bad decor floating around. It certainly feels old, but not in a vintage sense.

    06 April, 2014

    Darvant's avatar
    Darvant
    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Stilettos on Lex by Jul et Mad

    Absolutely bright, elegant and uncompromisingly feminine. Stilettos on Lex is another well appointed concoction from the artistic niche brand Jul et Mad, a pure, radiant and soapy musky/floral beauty. A complex fragrance exuding sensuality throughout. The association of eliotrope, iris and flashy pear is fantastic. The aroma opens soon with an arresting and slightly dissonant blast of lemon, boozy heliothrope/liqueur and indolic floral patterns. Potent, "nectar centered", almost acid but incredibly carnal. I really like this opening. It requires about 5 minutes or more in order the aroma to settle down in to a more defined form. The indolic acidity recedes consistently and a "white" rosey/musky feel keeps performing its sensual feeling. I start to detect in this phase a pear/heliotrope accord supported by powdery iris and vanilla. There is a nectar/pollen presence enriching and "greasing up" the aroma. The latter keeps anyway to sharpen its status along the way arousing a congeries of sophisticated nuances (musky, rosey, balmy, fruity, eliotropic and soapy). The violet/lily in particular but also iris, vanilla, patchouli and cedarwood jump on the stage as absolute protagonists. The sillage is "long projecting" and at distance you can catch a violet/rosey sophisticated balminess with a sensual musky dominant soul and an edible pear/eliotrope spark. Wonderful....., an energetic, indipendent and extremely sensual young woman comes to mind, I figure in mind her secret lacy transparences, can inhale the organic scent from her abysses and shiver while dream to discover the secret warmth of her body.
    P.S= along the dry down's extreme tail the vanilla is more evident and the aroma appears more rounded due to a balsams/powdery-flowers/pears agreement.

    06 April, 2014

    spirit966's avatar
    spirit966
    Hong Kong Hong Kong

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Absolue Pour Le Matin by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

    reminds me of Chanel Allure Homme Edition Blanche
    White, pure, powdery, fresh, lemony. A good and tame attar boy.

    Also may remind some of white almond frangrances like L'eau D'Hiver

    06 April, 2014

    james1051's avatar
    james1051
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Une Rose Chyprée by Tauer

    For me, this fragrance does several things right: the bergamot on top is really nice. I do love bergamot. Also noteworthy, the bitter, green geranium providing a backbone for the fragrance from start to finish, and something for a guy's nose to latch onto. And, the vaguely oriental dry down is fine, if not remarkable. At this point you've got the geranium, some incense and labdanum. The fragrance has excellent projection and length.

    But, URC comes up short for me in two crucial respects:

    -I don't get any oakmoss, and boy could this fragrance use it, to balance the fruit juice. Yeah I know oakmoss has been banned by the authorities, but some houses are finding a way to put some OM or acceptable substitute into their juice. (see Chypre Mousse). I was darn tempted to inject a bit of vintage Bel Ami or Chypre Mousse into my URC sample.

    -The "rose" heart note does not bear the slightest resemblance to roses, imo. I know what roses smell like, having grown them, antiques, ramblers, teas, you name it, my entire adult life. And that experience with roses informs and limits my appreciation for this fragrance. I detect no true rose smell in the perfume, just a Fruit Juice substitute. Man, that disappoints.

    This was the first Tauer I tried that didn't really move the needle for me. But then, LADDM, Incense Extreme and Lonestar Memories are very tough acts to follow.

    06 April, 2014

    malacoda's avatar
    malacoda


    Show all reviews

    rating


    Beyond Paradise for Men by Estée Lauder

    All in all a nice scent - but throughout the day it just felt as if something was holding it back from being truly great....

    After a few hours I was finally able to put my finger on it - IMHO there is a problem with its 'sweetness'.

    The bulk of its notes give it a refined, grown up personality that, IMHO, has a lot of promise. But the nature of its sweet notes feels like an irresponsible 22 year old who wants nothing more to do with life than go clubbing.

    It's as though its trying elicit two personae at once: that of an elegant, refined grown up, (the dominant persona) and that of a youthful, carefree, rebellious youth (the secondary persona) -- only the two persona clash with each other rather than being evoked in harmony.

    I detected no hints of rotten melon or cucumber. But I can no understand why others have posted they feel this scent is somewhat discordant and all over the place.


    06 April, 2014

    Colin Maillard's avatar
    Colin Maillard
    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Cuir Velours by Naomi Goodsir

    Halfway between Daim Blond and Cuir Ottoman, a delicate but bold floral suede accord, less fruity and rich than Daim Blond (globally less "oriental", I'd say), rather tending to a sharper, more Western and contemporary approach to suede scents like in Tuscan Leather – kind of a highstreet shoes shop feel, clean, soft and cozy. Persistent talcum-sweet drydown like in the abovementioned suede-based scents. It is good, even really good, but at the same time it's just that I don't feel anything in here that would make me add this to my collection – since it already includes Daim and Cuir and they both "give" me that, plus a lot more each.

    7/10

    06 April, 2014

    Colin Maillard's avatar
    Colin Maillard
    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Eau Neuve (original) by Lubin

    Sparkling citrus floral scent, lively and spicy withouth being too heavy or tacky. Also quite peppery also even if there's not pepper. Nothing impressive, but witty!

    6,5/10

    06 April, 2014

    Colin Maillard's avatar
    Colin Maillard
    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Tobacco Vanille by Tom Ford

    It does what it says, the main accord is a silky cigar tobacco aroma (not real, raw, pungent tobacco leaves) blended with a round, still not sweet, vanilla accord. Smooth dynamic base of spices and dried fruits, with hints of cumin and saffron. Overall it recalls the safe coziness and the unisex elegance of those narrow flavoured cigarillos (that ironically, come always in vanilla flavour among others) which are usually bought either by ladies or young smokers who want to appear cool and "manly", but still can not yet physically stand the effort and show the self-consciousness to smoke a real cigar. And that's precisely how this scent works too: it is soft and elegant, in a really safe-for-everywhere way, but also light and toned down, with a rather plain personality, and all materials are bounded in a sort of soothing anonymity - clean and sharp as a posh shop. Not saying it is bad, just a bit boring and predictable.

    6,5/10

    06 April, 2014

    rbaker's avatar
    rbaker


    Show all reviews

    rating


    Oxygène Homme by Lanvin

    A pleasant opening where a nice citrus is combined with juniper berry, the latter being equally pleasant. Then cypress and a gently restrained coriander arrive in the drydown accompanied by a salty sea breeze impression , but apart from a whiff of a light musky base note there is only limited development on my skin. Good silage and projection for the first couple of hours, but then it collapses and remains very close to my skin, only be be perceived by very close sniffing for another seven hours. A total longevity of nine hours is tremendous for such a summery aquatic scent indeed. Overall, however, fairly standard and a tad unexciting and generic.

    06 April, 2014

    Francop's avatar
    Francop
    Spain Spain

    Show all reviews

    rating


    Hudson Yards by Bond No. 9

    Lovely floral spring scent from the House of Bond no 9 in NYC.

    The start and heart are floral fruity for the first hour followed by a drydown of powerful musk intertwined with iris and orange blossom. There is a lot of baby powder so if you are a powdery scent lover this scent is for you.

    The scent overall feels very feminine from beginning to end.

    Excellent longevity and projection so 1 spray will last all day (potent juice).

    Thumbs up!

    06 April, 2014

    deadidol's avatar
    deadidol


    Show all reviews

    rating


    Mouchoir de Monsieur by Guerlain

    This particular hankie’s a bit of a stinker, but that’s what makes it compelling. It cranks up the civet of Jicky and adds a hint of mustard gas (a sort of ammonia / sulphur / piss trio). This part’s handled somewhat cordially, but I think it would still scare the chickens. The rest of it is a bit of a standard-issue old-school aromatic—the lavender / vanilla / citrus hat-trick, yet more restrained. So, at first, MdM feels a bit like an inverted Jicky, but after ten minutes or so, it mellows into a weirdly subdued musk thing that makes me think of crumpled newspaper, dust, and old chewing gum. In this respect, it’s conjuring more of a headspace than a fragrance, and the space I imagine is one in which some super sketchy stuff went down. Although I dislike the boring aromatic part, I’m all about the creeper musk.

    06 April, 2014

    Showing 121 to 150 of 546.