Art & Olfaction Award nominees announced

01st April, 2016

Earlier today, The Institute for Art and Olfaction announced the finalists for the third annual Art and Olfaction Awards, which will be held at the Hammer Museum in Los Angeles on May 7.

As with last year, two winners will be selected from the categories Artisan and Independent, and one winner will be selected for the Sadakichi Award for Experimental Scent. Each winner will receive The Golden Pear, which continues to cement its status as a prestigious achievement in the independent, artisan and experimental perfume world.

The finalists were selected by a group of highly qualified judges from the perfume world, the art world, and other creative industries. The artisan and independent category submissions were judged blindly, presented in generic vials and tracked by a numerical code. The preliminary round judges selected the finalists, and the finalist round judges will select the winners.

The Judges

Independent Category Preliminary Judges:

  • Steven Gontarski
  • Yvettra Grantham
  • Neal Harris
  • Laura Johnson
  • Sherri Sebastian
  • Lizzie Ostrom (aka Odette Toilette)

Artisan Category Preliminary Judges:

  • Antonio Gardoni
  • Hank Jenkins
  • Ashley Eden Kessler
  • Daniel Krasofski
  • James McHugh
  • Persephenie

Independent & Artisan Categories Finalist Judges:

  • Mandy Aftel
  • Mark Behnke
  • Sarah Horowitz-Thran
  • Kaya Sorhaindo
  • Andy Tauer
  • Luca Turin

Sadakichi Award for Experimental Scent Projects Judges:

  • Allison Agsten
  • Dr. Kóan Jeff Baysa
  • Peter de Cupere
  • Deji Bryce Olukotun
  • Ashraf Osman

The finalists for 2016 hail from 14 countries and represent a broad diversity of practices and styles.



Century’s Breath

Cat Jones - Sydney, Australia


Dear Enemy

Christi Gast - Tierra Del Fuego, Chile and New York, USA



Carrie Paterson - Los Angeles, USA


The Juice of War – Hiroshima and Nagasaki

Maki Ueda - Amsterdam, The Netherlands


Western Drive

Kellen Walker – Fort Worth, USA




Albino (A Study in White)
by DSH Perfumes - Boulder, USA

Bird of Paradise
by Thorn & Bloom Perfume - Somerville, USA

Cape Cod Wild Beach Rose
by Nomaterra Fragrances - New York, USA

by La Curie - Tucson, USA

Love for 3 Oranges
By Aether Arts Perfumes – Boulder, USA

by Auphorie - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Musk Rose Attar
by Rising Phoenix Perfumery - Atlanta, USA

by Frazer Parfum - Capetown, South Africa

Peach Tree Garden
by Phoenix Botanicals - New York, USA

by Papillon Perfumery - Salisbury, UK



by Zoologist Perfumes - Toronto, Canada

Dark Ride
by Xyrena - Los Angeles, USA

Elephant + Roses
by Maria Candida Gentile Maître Parfumeur - Sarzana, Italy

Fougère Nobile
by NOBILE 1942 - Genoa, Italy

by JUL ED MAD Paris - Paris, France

by Olfactive Studio - Paris, France

Past | Presence
by Roads - Dublin, Ireland

Rose de Taif Extrait
by Perris Monte Carlo - Monaco, Monaco

Salim Attar
by Tabacora Parfums - Jelesnia, Poland

Waiheke Dreams
by Juliana Parfums Co. - Auckland, New Zealand


The winners in each category will be announced at the Third Annual Art and Olfaction Awards on Saturday, May 7 in an open-to-the-public event at Hammer Museum, with special guest emcee Zackary Drucker (Whitney Biennial 2014; Co-Producer, Golden Globe and Emmy award-winning Transparent).

More information is available at

  • Share this


    Advertisement — comments are below