A few days ago, a member notified me that they were receiving a virus warning advert from the website. The advert was a pop-up.
It seemed odd to me, as I don't like pop up advertising, and do not allow it on the site. I replied to him with some possible explanations. I also thought it may relate to a rogue advertiser on the site. When I went to have a look, I received the pop-up too.
As a result, I removed all adverts from the newest provider I had signed up with, as they seemed they would be the most likely source. As after removal I no longer received the popup, I thought that it had solved the problem.
Yesterday, this thread was posted in which other members had seen the same thing.
http://community.basenotes.net/showthread.php?t=207692
When I checked my email, Trebor had emailed me about the thread. My initial reaction was to remove all advertising until the suspect was found. I then thought to take down the whole site, in case the server had been compromised.
Having research some of the links in the above thread, it seems it has been caused by an advertiser. I have no idea which one. We have two advertising networks on BN at the moment. Adtoll and Google. I think it is unlikely that it is Google supplying an ad like this, but do not want to take any chances and have removed all advertising on the website.
If anyone receives a pop up now, it means that it is coming from a different source. Please inform me immediately on gosborne@gmail.com if this happens again.
*** If you received the pop up and think you may have downloaded this software, there are links to sites that can show you how to remove it in this thread here:
http://community.basenotes.net/showthread.php?t=207692
My apologies for the stress and concern this may have caused. It is as much a shock to me as to you.
It seemed odd to me, as I don't like pop up advertising, and do not allow it on the site. I replied to him with some possible explanations. I also thought it may relate to a rogue advertiser on the site. When I went to have a look, I received the pop-up too.
As a result, I removed all adverts from the newest provider I had signed up with, as they seemed they would be the most likely source. As after removal I no longer received the popup, I thought that it had solved the problem.
Yesterday, this thread was posted in which other members had seen the same thing.
http://community.basenotes.net/showthread.php?t=207692
When I checked my email, Trebor had emailed me about the thread. My initial reaction was to remove all advertising until the suspect was found. I then thought to take down the whole site, in case the server had been compromised.
Having research some of the links in the above thread, it seems it has been caused by an advertiser. I have no idea which one. We have two advertising networks on BN at the moment. Adtoll and Google. I think it is unlikely that it is Google supplying an ad like this, but do not want to take any chances and have removed all advertising on the website.
If anyone receives a pop up now, it means that it is coming from a different source. Please inform me immediately on gosborne@gmail.com if this happens again.
*** If you received the pop up and think you may have downloaded this software, there are links to sites that can show you how to remove it in this thread here:
http://community.basenotes.net/showthread.php?t=207692
My apologies for the stress and concern this may have caused. It is as much a shock to me as to you.






! I'm also on a Mac, and i've got a pop up blocker and anti-virus, so I really hope I wasn't affected (effected?!)!

