Basenotes › Basenotes Forums › Fragrance Discussion › Just Starting Out › Newbie here, Are they fakes?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Newbie here, Are they fakes?

post #1 of 11
Thread Starter 
Hi I just bought:

Azzoro Legend
Versace Dream
A-Men
Christian Dior Fahrenheit

I'm seriously doubting the Fahrenheit because the bar code on the bottom of the box looks like it has been put on there by someone other than the manufacturer.

The other bottles ALL have stickers except the A-men which in engraved and rubber.

I bought the EDT's from cheapsmells.com, and im not sure what to do, i thought EDTs were supposed to be engraved at the bottom rather than a sticker.

They all have numbers that match the box but even i could figure a way around that if I wanted to sell fakes.


Any advice guys?
post #2 of 11
I went to cheapsmells.com and it is a certified website. You're just being paranoid.
post #3 of 11
You're fine. No need to worry.
post #4 of 11
Thread Starter 
Seriously guys, i hope its just in my head because I don't have time to be dealing with returns.

Okay, how about the Fahrenheit box? any reason whatsoever for why it would look the way it does in terms of a bar code literally being stuck on, ill try to take a pic in a sec.
post #5 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by xCarlx View Post

Seriously guys, i hope its just in my head because I don't have time to be dealing with returns.

Okay, how about the Fahrenheit box? any reason whatsoever for why it would look the way it does in terms of a bar code literally being stuck on, ill try to take a pic in a sec.

You are fine! Take our word for it! I had a box with a barcode stuck to the side of the box but it was a legit product. I assume this is cheapsmells.com's barcode so they can scan for inventory. No need for pictures if you bought from this website.

If you still have doubts, test the product! You can't make the assumption until you've actually tested the product to see if it performs well.
post #6 of 11
Just because the site has a 'tacky' name doesn't mean it isn't legit, I presume you didn't want to pay full price at 'twice the price.com'?..
post #7 of 11
I agree with everyone else. They do put batch codes on stickers. So you should be happy with your new frags!
post #8 of 11
Smell them and find out if they smell like they should!
Cheapsmells does not sell fakes anyway.
post #9 of 11
Thread Starter 
Thank you everyone. I feel better now. That Versace one is awesome.



Quote:
Originally Posted by suds View Post

Just because the site has a 'tacky' name doesn't mean it isn't legit, I presume you didn't want to pay full price at 'twice the price.com'?..

I don't recall saying anything about a tacky name, I'm talking about the bottles and the barcode on the box, THAT is all. Also, I saw cheaper places, I went with the most positive reviews but when I'm spending £50+ on a bottle, I want to be sure its legit.
post #10 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by xCarlx View Post

Thank you everyone. I feel better now. That Versace one is awesome.
You have misread my post I fear- wasn't meant to be antagonistic...

I don't recall saying anything about a tacky name, I'm talking about the bottles and the barcode on the box, THAT is all. Also, I saw cheaper places, I went with the most positive reviews but when I'm spending £50+ on a bottle, I want to be sure its legit.

You have misread my post I fear- wasn't meant to be antagonistic...
post #11 of 11
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by suds View Post

You have misread my post I fear- wasn't meant to be antagonistic...

No worries. Thanks though.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Just Starting Out
Basenotes › Basenotes Forums › Fragrance Discussion › Just Starting Out › Newbie here, Are they fakes?